(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

lin, i think they say better to let bb stay in womb for longer rite? is it at least 38weeks? ya, i think ur gynae's the best person to advice...

cjdg,
u can consider the pigeon sterilizer cum warmer multi function. then dun need to buy bottle warmer. safe space also. i bought that. and it can take all kinds of bottles. so dun worry about using same brand.

as for pump, i bot the medela PIS, from US online. all in, after shipping, i paid under S$400, which is much cheaper than the cheapest so far in sg $599. so if u can be bothered, can consider that.

as for bottles, there quite a few feedback that some babies reject avent bottles/teats. so i din buy that. i bought Dr Brown's BPA-free bottles cos of their patented system which reduces wind/gas intake. prob is its difficult to wash, but since i aint gonna be washing the bottles, i will let the help worry abt that. hehe... btw, Dr Brown's i also bot online. so much cheaper than what is sold in sg too. now just waiting for all my purchases to arrive.

famela>> haven seen you ard for quite a while leh.. been busy?

im using avent coz its so easy to find.. everywhere sells avent products, so dun need to worry if i need sthg and last minute i am unable to find it! :D

cjdg>> before the BPA-free bottles came into the market, everyone was still using the same normal milk bottles.. but i feel is a difference of a few dollars, so just go for it lo.. heehee

i have a lot of old wives' tales la, bear with me a while.. regarding the baby cot.. dun put it up so fast.. partly coz of the get dirty / dusty.. dun put it up until you are almost due.. or when you are week 38 and you want baby to be out sooner.. get wad i mean? i dowan to spell out everything la..

dreamygal! omg.. im so tempted to get them.. i tink my partner in crime would love them too! wahahaha

wondering if my hubby will slaughter me.. tsk tsk.. how how how

OMG!!! cannot tahan... the items there are so cute........ ya.. i'm so tempted to buy too... but also wondering whether my hubby will slaughter me ..LOL

HI gals!

Sharing some info from Mrs Wong's class. She is skeptical abt BPA-free bottles, because she said who knows, some other even stronger chemical may have been used to make them. She said most impt is to check that the bottles are not scratched because when they are, that's when they start leaking chemicals. She did not mention any other models of breast pump. She said Medela also has some other lousy models, though the PIS is good.

I'm inheriting the PIS from a colleague. She said she bought that for her no.2, because her older one wasn't working as well. She said the PIS is really good, motor still working well (she already had her no.3).

As for bottles, I bought Avent (Gina Ford recommended), BPA free. Rec'd a "normal" Avent one at the antenatal class, which I'd probably use anyway. I got the Pigeon steriliser cum warmer. Agree that there is no absolute need to buy all the same brand. I'll just pour from the Medela into the Avent bottle lor. I also bought 3 BPA-free milk storage bottles from Medela, but my friend said no need, kenna ripped off already.

Oh, Mrs Wong also said better not to buy bottles with straws or funny shapes because hard to clean. But ultimately, it's really our responsibility to maintain the cleanliness lah.

As for teats, Mrs Wong said don't use bottle for first month. Feed from breast for the first month otherwise bb will be confused/reject. 2nd month onwards OK.

Do you know whether glass milk bottle is better over plastic one?

Which brands are better?

I'm confused and dunno which to buy.

Also, for new borns, do we have to buy different teats? My mum says different teats for milk and water? Is it still true now?

thks for all the information ladies! ya, i think i'll go ahead with the pigeon sterilizer. as for bottle, seems like avent is still the popular choice.. my sis did mention Dr Browns to me as well, but this one still seems new in SG market.

hippo, ur pump is bot frm the sprees here?? ya! stores here are selling for so ex! u saved almost half!

Mie, thks for reminding! ok, i got ur point! i'll jus take note of the mattress measurements, get the stuff ready n washed first then... wait till later den put them up!

dreamygal, the hello kitty dress is soooo cute! so are some of their bibs!!! *tempting!*

cjdg,
no lah, just direct from website. thanks for mylvera's recommendation. but the voltage is US voltage. i.e. 110V, not 240V. so take note. but i already have a power transformer so can use, no prob. by the way, its this website

www.addalittlelove.com

and a bit ma fan, cos they only deliver within US but i already have comgateway account, so just arrange delivery to sg. its quite easy and hassle free so far.

dreamygal,
OMG its so CUTE!!! but very ex leh. and bb dun need the tie hair one leh. where got hair to tie?! hehe...

Hee hee, I just went to place an order on the striped outfit from that Hello Kitty link. Saw that Soh also placed a pre-order. : )

Eh, Mrs Wong said newborns don't really need to drink water if they are drinking breast milk. At most a teaspoon of water to help clean their mouth.

funzee,
u may wanna consider getting some of the parts replaced for hygiene reasons. e.g. the tubing, breastshields, etc. cos its recommended in most pregnancy books. but the parts are not cheap. actually i was gonna borrow my fren's as well, then i calculated all the parts come up to about $100+ so in the end i saw the price from US is not bad, that's why i decided to buy a brand new set.

of course its really up to your personal preference. then my fren also had the unlucky experience of having inherited a fren's old PIS, then it BROKE DOWN! and she freaked out! so she had to like just rush out to buy one right away. anyways i hope you have no probs with your fren's set. but maybe as a precaution, have a plan B to stand by, just in case.

thks for the link, hippo! will explore the possibility too of buying from US myself

time to go hm! haf a good wkend ladies!

hippo: u r quite well-informed leh. 3ct everything high quality really can cost $100k.. we sold one 3ct, IF, triple excellent cut... for only $32k. hahhaa.. cos colour only M.. but the diamond looks fantastic.. so it is really what u want that matters most.. ;)

mie: my sis says the avent pump is pretty good and easy to use. ;)

decorating cot and stuff>>> i also think better not too early. maybe end of aug can start doing it.. otherwise gets dusty!! hahaa..

pei yu > my gynae scanner i quite sure its 2D. coz' now when she scan coz' bb bigger now, i can barely see. She was like saying see the nose and there are the eyes. i was like..where? dun c it.

Bottles >
hmm.. then should get glass bottles instead? hmmm....

Mie/Sweetzinc/pigsy_sg/cjdg : So cute right. I wanna order the milk bottle romper and the combi 2 pcs. But make till my hubby is not around... Haa... Monday maybe.

I like the Hello Kitty set. So cute. But biggest size is till 24 mths only.

astro,
hee hee, appreciate your presence even more when u r in "funny" mode.

loke,
the only reason i know is cos my ex-boss and ex-colleagues quite into these things. so i hear them talking all the time. my ex-boss bot a 3ct lah, thats how i know the price. heh, i even know she paid pretty close to rapapaport price so it was a good deal.

is it me or is it getting harder to get comfortable trying to sleep these days? my HB KO already and i cant really get comfy. hmmm... maybe i gotta open my support pillow for the tummy. *ops* but i just sent it to mum's hse.

gal^,
but glass bottles are much heavier tho... i dunno... depends on yourself i guess...

xoxo,
are u awake? :p

dreamygal,
ooh! someone's awake! hehe... erm, order and make sure when it arrives, HB not around?

was at pumpkin patch with my gf and she was like going wild cos 50% + 15% (citibank card). then she looked at me, and like "eh, u not really in the buying mode yet hor?" i just shrugged.

hippo > u not in buying mode coz' oledi bought? or. .. . me again is dun dare buy much as pending to see what hand me downs am getting. (but bought a new set oledi for bb coming home from hospital *gleeful*)

dreamygal > the milk bottle rompers are so cute. tempting.. hehe

i spoke to my mum since coming over to help me out first mth. SUprisingly she is keen for me to get the sterilising tablet.

gal^,
dunno. just feel like there's so many things to buy and prob shudn't need to buy so many clothes since they will outgrow them rather quickly. i'm trying to stick to bare min... hehe... but the stuff that miemie & sweetzinc have put up are damn tempting lor.
i'm trying to pretend i didn't see them.

hippo,juz wonder hw much did u pay 4 shippg 4 yr pump?cos i using bdl n paid aro 75 bucks n tat was aft 12% shippg discount!

ong,
i know BDL more ex, even after discount. I paid only US$32, so assuming 1.5, its only S$48. thats why i was telling mylvera to use CGW instead. i was going to use borderlinx, then saw some recommendations that CGW is good and cheaper. if u buying somemore things, then use CGW in future. i definitely recommend.

oh yah, somemore CGW will re-pack your shipment for u to save on shipping. small fee to pay for more savings. so far i'm quite happy using them. i have another shipment coming, combining a lot of nonsense lah. so its good they can repack for me to save space. so far relatively hassle-free for me. and somemore my package came 4 days ahead of target date.

wahh.. u all very early hor!!! i was still sleeping like a log at 9.30!!!

when's the taka baby fair or the tangs baby fair? basically, when's the next baby fair?

oh. i bought a bouncer.. fisher&price.. very pretty!! haha.. and looks very comfy.. came together with the car seat. i feel so proud of myself. hahaha..

anyway.. i have a problem here..

my mil wants us to shift back to her house and rent out our house...
reasons:
1) 2 huge empty rooms (one was my hb's and one is his sis' and she's away to study in KL for the next 4 years).
2) hence the house is pretty empty (landed property), only got grandma, maid and mil. fil at work mostly.
3) she promised she wont overstep boundary, meaning we do our things and they'll do theirs
4) if we stay together, we can help take care of old grandma in case fil and mil got something on.
5) rent out our house, we got extra income, plus save up a lot (i.e. carpark free, meals free, electricity and water bill free)
6) cos its a huge house, baby will have a lot of space for play.. and got people to take care of also..

however, we are a little reluctant to do that because:
1) hb likes the house now. he said he's used to it and more cosy.
2) hb scared me and mil personality clash.. cos happened before.. haha..
3) if clash, hb is the one kena.. so i also dowan to put too much pressure on him..
4) i prefer to build up our own finances and family rather than to depend on the parents..
5) though she said she wont overstep boundaries, we as children will feel the obligation to help and take care of them as much as we can, especially when we stay together.
6) lifestyle difference.. i cant stand the way they wash their clothes. new clothes wash one time only become old clothes. that's last time.. now i dunno how the maid wash clothes. so better not take the risk.
7) i duno how they'll take care of the baby.. my hb and his sis all got sinus problem. actually its not inborn.. its really how the baby was taken care of when its very young. i feel very risky next time baby very difficult to take care because a lot of health problems. i feel more safe with my mum.

Some things that i can think of to suggest so that mil wont feel rejected by us:
1) leave baby with her in the morning and pick up baby at night after work.
--> concern stated in no.7 above. plus, i dun like the idea that if she's not free, then the maid got to look after the baby.
2) cant think of any others already.

both hb and i are troubled by this manz...
its a good thing to do, but yet we are quite apprehensive about it.. anybody got any such experience or has any suggestions?

loke,
i am in similar situation, tho i'm moving back to mum's. cos my old man can be quite imposing. in fact, he already been like suggesting names for our bb and that's my DAD! and i dun even like it! but of course i'm his princess so i can just tell him not to impose his views on me. but for you its your MIL and very sensitive to say things or how you feel.

i think like you said, the first couple of months may be quite crucial in baby's developments, so maybe just stick to having your mum help you first? then later on, can consider moving to MIL's place.

but at the end of the day, you have to be comfortable with the idea, otherwise your poor HB gonna be the one stuck in the middle. so even if the thot of additional income sounds alluring, i think PEACE is far more priceless in such situations?

i'm lucky cos its my HB who suggested we move back to my mum's so I can be properly cared for. but i'm apprehensive about whether my HB will be comfortable. i mean, of course he's not ngiau and princessy like me lah. but i still have my reservations. because, at the end of the day, its my parents house.

oh, and to make things more complicated, my brother will be getting married, and they gonna be living at mum's as well. at least for the time being, til they find something.

i actually quite like the idea, cos then my bb will have many pple to love. but even my own bro can get my nerves easily. he got nocturnal lifestyle one. last time always have frens come over til like 4-5am in the morning kind. and i, being empress dowager needing peace in the night, ever chase his frens home before. hehe...

so its interesting, got one big happy village peoples! but it can be a killer. so i have to proceed with a lot of care.

is your angel your in-laws' first grandchild? if so, also risk having grandma & grandpa spoil her too much. i think mine will be quite spoilt.

loke,
taka baby fair - i asked before. they only said sometime august may have. july definitely not.

so fast buy bouncer already?!
good for you.

i dun sleep very well these days. dunno why. was up at 8am man. only fell asleep at like 2am?

hippo : oh, that's cheap using CGW. I used to be using vpost long time ago but i find their service horrible and slow and i switch to bdl and it's like can c so much difference as bdl have very gd service and basically nothing much that i need to do at my end unlike vpost still need to send inv etc. They even delivered aft office hr in which vpost can't do it. Not sure if cgw do that but will explore this option in the future if i need to buy online fm US. thks for yr advice.

loke; i would nv stay with inlaw unless no choice. Maybe u can let your IL take care of bb at weekend while u and your hus can hv some couple time. We visit our IL every sunday for lunch and after tat me n hb will be out shopping or doing other errands while my IL will take care of bb and we pick the bb up at nite.

hippo: aiyo.. nowadays i KO very easily. haha. whole day full conc at work. i'm tired out by 6pm. after dinner is total KO. haha.

anyway, if its my mum's house i dun mind. cos communication wise sure no prob.. used to talking "loudly" at each other (with mum of course) anyway. haha.. but really with in-laws is diff story. fil still ok. cos working for him.. roughly know his 'pattern'. but mil diff lah. on one hand must respect, cos she really helped us a lot during our wedding also.. but on the other hand, my personality not everybody can tahan.. want to 'ren' also got limit. so hb is the vege/ham in the sandwich.

and yeah. angel is first grandchild. hehe... my mum sure wont spoil. cos her first grandchild she also 'bu fang guo'. ahha.. prob is, my mum's house is at bukit batok! and i stay at potong pasir. quite far lah...i'm thinking if i can drag, just drag until i really got to go back to work then during the time see how things go and slowly make arrangements again.

i definitely dowan to do confinement at mil's house. still prefer the comfort of my own home. so its either 1mth after baby's out or 4mths after baby's out.

bouncer>> actually my sis has TWO bouncers.. one for me and one for my bro's baby coming in nov. hehe. but this one really nice.. cant resist. anyway, its good to have one either at my mum's place or mil's place. hehe.. i'm blessed. lots of free stuff.. cot also free one. mum's house got one, sis also got one. so bro and i each of us take one. just nice. our timing is fantastic. wahhaa..

ong: weekends not a prob for us. its the weekdays when both of us are working. anyway, we work together, so ample of couple time.. hahhaa.. but working and par-toring is diff lah.. nevertheless, i'll still work around the idea of "not staying with in-laws".. haha.. pray and hope that my Angel will BE an Angel!! haha..

loke : oh ya, forgot 2 of u r workg together. hahaaa! for me, i prefer my own mum to take care of bb cos if IL taking care, sometime bound to hv clashes or different in views in the way bb are handled. If my own mum, i can just voice out my concerns but IL seems to be very paiseh. Since yr mum is staying so far away fm u, then u seems to hv no choice but to either let your IL taking care or to put in infant care.

but i heard infantcare, the poor kids always fall sick easily leh... if compare IL vs infantcare, i think i rather let IL take, tho quite unwilling lah...

ong,
my HB was looking at my painted toe nails then he said "wah, u can still paint until so nice ah? still can reach meh?" i said i'm flexible mah. hahaha... then he said "eh, why dun u get the pregnant women together and u all cut one another's toenails???" hahahaha... so spastic... but i found that thot quite funny at the time...

hippo : wow u still can paint your toe nails so your belly shld be quite std size or small! I am contented now that i can still cut my toe nails despite the needs to chg the positions.

btw, realise nt many of u seems to have bot any high chair. there is a type of high chair that can have 3 positions that u can use as high chair or as a swing(3 height) and u can adjust the backrest fm 180%(for sleeping) to 90%. think there r only 2 or 3 brands that have the swing function. One which is combi that is selling at 230+ and a cheaper version lebebes(nt very sure) at kiddy palace or OG. I bot mine 5 yrs ago and brand is lucky baby cos it is cheaper at $159(aro there). the high chair was highly utilise as my bb sleep on it during daytime and he used it up till aro 2yrs. Gd thing abt this is u can use it right away for bb as it can double up as a cot for daytime use and u can shift it aro the hse since there are wheels. For bouncer, u can only use it till aro 5mths cos there is only 1 position and bb simply want to get up once they learn hw to turn.

hippo: see you later! I'll check out your pretty toenails then! HAHAHAHA!! remember to wear pants for today's class hor! :p

happy hippo : Ya. I will order and pay when he's not around and send all the loots to my mum's house... Haa...

gal^ : Ya. Pretty. But my hubby saw me looking at that page last night. If i buy, he will know immediately... Haa...

loke : Actually, if i am in your situation, i wouldn't. Just what i think... But i will most likely let them take care of the baby when i go back to work.

I still feel that living together is difficult unless you are really those very easy going person. Cannot blame because we grew up differently.

Be prepared that the way they handle kids will be different with the way you want it. But anyway, its still their grandchild, so everything they do is probably what they think is the best for the child.

When i left my girl with MIL after going back to work, there are occasionally some disagreement with childcare issue. But most of them are small issues and i get my hubby to settle it with them.

At least if you stay in your own place, anything you are not happy with, you can go back at the end of the day and cool down. I think a bit more personally space.

And now since i am not working, if i am not happy with something she did, i will just stay away from her place. Not seeing her for a night or 2 gives me time to cool down. But i will still ask my hubby to bring Glynnis over for meals.

I am in for the idea of spending more time with them but not move in totally.

These are just my views.

Shugar,
hahaha its CNY bright red. I just wanted dat cos like sick for so long so dull looking... Ya cya later... I gonna zzzz first

ong,
tks for that recommendation. Will keep in mind. My tummy is big but i quite contortionist one leh ;)

lin,
really? Which genius told u that?

Xoxo,
as i said, not all martians exist in the same orbit. If martian 1 & 2 are on the correct orbit, pls page for the mothership to come rescue u.

Bwahahahahahaha....

dreamygal: i appreciate your comments.. agree with u too.. i'm not the really easygoing person lah. haha. cant bottle up my frustrations one. so my mum is the one that kena before i was married. now hb kena from me. haha. as much as i try not to explode lah.. it still would take time to change.. and u r right that they'll do what they think is best for the baby.. just maybe different views from me lor.. that's when the clashes come i guess..

and hippo is right too.. i'm considering infant care.. but then i also know infant care not too good cos baby gets sick very easily there. so its pretty hard to decide. relationships are tricky..

good point on being able to cool down if anything happens, if we're not staying with in-law.. that's an important thing too.. otherwise very hard to solve problems sometimes.. cos no space to cool down and think properly..

anyway.. still got sometime to think about it..

hello mummies - My baby is super quiet today since morning; can hardly feel any movement, if not nothing. no matter how i probe my tummy, he also boh chup me... i am getting worried, should i? are they supposed to be so quiet sometimes? i tell my hubby, but he keep teeling me not to disturb our son...

<font color="0077aa">hi mummies, im from the June09 thread. those of you who are planning to do tooal breastfeeding after delivery may find items below useful:

1) My Brest Friend Breasfeeding pillow - esp good for first time mummies. i had sore nipples from first few latches because i don't know how to hold baby to get her to suck correctly so lactation consultant at KK taught me how to use the pillow. within 2 days i can latch her correctly and my sore nipples went away slowly after that. my pillow is blue gingham colour below. used it gently for 1 week only. Selling for $40.

2675224.jpg

2) Mustela Nipple cream selling for $5. Good for sore nipples esp in first few days.

3) New Mama Bottom Spray selling for $20 (original price $45). Natural cooling spray to ease soreness at episiotomy wound area. recommended to me by Dr Benjamin Tham when i delivered at KKH. can be used whole day compared to spirit which is drying and can only be used twice a day. i bought from Mum's Essentials at KK and used for 1st week sparingly so 85% content still in bottle.

PM me if you keen. Im in confinement so either you can fetch it from my place in Punggol or my hubby can meet u at MRT station if convenient for both of you.</font>

hippo,yap tats d one i talkg abt.normaly u can oni c 1 model which is d 279 one at mall.tink price aro there.if there r big sales, 10% wil b offered sometimes as i saw it few wks bac n come w some foc gift.most day wil b no discount.