(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

hi glass

y u will be home alone? me not getting too, just getting my neighbour to cook for me only, but will pay her a small sum lo..... as for the rest of the rules, just listen to my mum le hor,,,

hope 30 days flies

Re: 3D scan

I've called up TMC's xray dept to check on the pricing.. the lady quoted me around 200 odd (90+100)
100+ is the price of the scan and 90 is the price of the 3D.

I asked her why there's 2 pricing she say coz need to do the scan then can capture the photo.. the best thing is when i ask her how many photos will i get she say ONE!!!...

WTF Lor.. i'm not going to pay 200+ for 1 3D photo man
is there any other alternatives ?? my gynae dun have 3D scan

wah lao eh so expensive!! and it's only a 1 time scan!! *ROAR!!!* if 100odd i still may consider..

astro: no nonsense...

i think prolonged noise is not so good. basically, use everything and do everything in moderation. if not sure.. then dun do.. cos its not really necessary.

anyway... just thought i'll share with all of u here...

haha... we just met the great great grandson of Tan Tock Seng!!!! wooohoo... very very interesting man. he calls MM Lee "Uncle Lee".. wahaha..

hippo: i shy to show my fat "ka".. hahhaa..

astro: hahha.. no leh.. he brought a friend down to check a 20ct diamond.... wahahaha.. damn cool lor... i'm only 26 and i'm seeing people like this.. i feel so honoured and so humbled manz...

last night i saw that teng was writing the chinese character 'yi' instead of the roman numeral 1 (when my mum told me teng can write 'yi').. so i told miser about it today...

miser said 'u always 'inflate' teng's abilities one.. for all u know. he is randomly doodling.. anyhow draw horizontal line.. make u so happy???'.. (wah liew.. then i told him my mother said one and i saw it.. argh. anyway)..

to prove my pt this morning.. i instructed teng to write one again on his board before i leave for work.. miser was still there flipping his papers lor..

i said 'yo.. see ah. teng writing 'yi' liao'..

then. teng.. wrote the roman numeral 1!! then i stunned.. i told teng , '写一‘.. he repeated with 1 again.. all the time!

Miser said 'see? i told u so?'..

I look at teng.. he was smiling so sweetly to me.. but i wanted to strangle him then and there!

*sigh*

loke,
did u say 20ct??? can I SEE TOO??? wah lau... *ssshhh* dun say so loud. must hire cisco guard to accompany or not??? OMG!!!
fat "ka"??? aiya pls lor, you talking to a HIPPO that has elephant legs. its nothing lah! :p hehehe...

xoxolight,
i'm trying to picture how big is a 21" pizza. but sounds big! good for you!!!! looking forward to welcoming you onboard hippo club. heheh...

glass,
i also not hiring CL. anyhow will be moving back to mum's place very soon. in fact, its a confinement "gentleman". cos in my household, my dad's the one that likes to cook. not mum. hehehe... so all those herb stuff and recipes will be from my old man. hyuk hyuk...

he's anxiously waiting for me to get well, so he can BOMB me with his stupid Dong Cong Cao + Pao Shen soup. *not looking forward*

wow! 20ct diamond?! how big is that??? nid to wear shades to see that diamond anot? hee...

i'm nt hiring confinement nanny as well.. my mum will be helping me, but i still dunno if i shld move back, or get her to come over my place. cos bb's things will b at my hse, easier.

Re: 3D scan

i no like the thought of having 3D scans lei, cos it makes our BB so crumple, but i do feel that we can see more features than the black n white scan. and feel BB is very close to us, cos we can see the whole body..

during my last visit to gynae, he sudden let me see for free, but no free printouts given la. btw, i heard also got 4D scan...

PeiYu
i wouldnt go for it cos so ex... i think they not yet charge GST lo. save the money for other purpose ba... Maybe in getting BB more comfy cot or etc...

fifi>> the normal scans that our gynae gives are 2D scans.. 3D scans then can see baby's features, 4D scans are in DVD format de.. i tink sweet's package never cover 3D scans..

Soh & siangjiao: I started using at 22 weeks. Initially hardly any response, now, depends on bb's mood lor. She is generally not a very responsive bb.

I was also at the TMC antenatal class conducted by Mrs Wong. Glass, which class did you attend? Mine's Tuesdays, this Tues was the last class by her.

Yes, she did say that some babies were born deaf. But I don't think you can't attribute it directly to the use of Babyplus. Similarly, you also can't attribute all the smart kids whose mummies used Babyplus to the use of it either. I'm also quite skeptical as to how well it will work. And of course, it will be super sian if there are no positive effects. But mainly, my concern is on the hearing damage. Also, I'm using it primarily because I want my bb to be calm (unlike me, very short tempered).

I also asked Mrs Wong about Babyplus privately after the class. She said something to the extent like up to you, if you find it irritating yourself then don't use it (basically put yourself in the bb's shoes). Well, I'm still using it now even though I find it rather loud if it is right next to your ear. I wake up slightly earlier, strap it on and fall asleep again. Sometimes I also wear it to sleep because too tired. Let me know if you change your minds about using it!

And aloevera, I would love to see a 20ct diamond. Think I might be blinded by it!

Wrt to confinement lady, I got one. But at times also think, what if our styles clash? Also, after listening to the horror stories of confinement nannies at the antenatal class, you will also start wondering if it's such a good choice too. Sigh.

Sorry to intrude. My wife is selling her Medela Freestyle breast pump. Still brand new. Seldom used.

Please PM if you are interested. Thanks

------------------

1. How old is the unit?

Bought this year. Can't remember which month. Also, the battery is brand new. Never charge before.

2. Any warranty?

Yes still have.

3. Local set (bought locally)?

Bought locally.

4. How much r u guys selling it?

Please PM me. Currently market price is $998. Robinson is giving 15% discount. I think the cheapest you can find will be at CK Tangs. 10% discount plus member 12% rebates.

5. I assume its a full set with the carrier?

Yes. It is a full set. The one that you see at the store. My wife is giving away the mum fairies super shield also. I think she has 2 sets of it.

dreamygal >> how are u today? feeling better? no more bleeding? did yr doc get back to you?

as for me, i am having a bad bout of MS today. started with the new shampoo i am trying out. pooh. cannot stand anything to do with kodomo, johnson's and pureen. and extended all the way to lunch..my sys gave up on the long john silver's. now hungry, sulking and worse, more rejects are threatening to emerge but cannot venture far because of the rain and don't dare to drive. so tahan-ing and waiting for work to be over.

hippo >> the hippo club? hehehehe...yeah, good day yesterday, bad day today. like a yoyo..i think my diet today hardly qualifies.

astro >> wat's up with the cynical miser? do u keep a catalogue of yr son's milestone block prints? like his first written alphabet and so on?

i've also booked the confinement lady. apparently quite a popular / highly recommended one. i think like what hippo says, and similar to maids, these sort of thing esp for 1st time mommies like me, it really boils down to luck.

i read the horror stories..but concurred that it'd be more horrifying for me to try to be the do-it-all in that sensitive period. heck, i am sure i cannot handle the bath times initially and no way i know what to do with the cord. erm..then there's the food to help dispel the wind and whatever not.

but i am so gg to write the CL Ten Commandments. rule #1: no advances..muahaha, my agy insisted i must pay up in FULL from the beginning and i said no. u're just going to get 50% on the first day and 50% on the last day. she's with me all the time, what expenses wld she have to incur right? that was the thing..i was quite uncomfortable with their initial dd that we pay in full. anyway, issue resolved in my favour and we shall see how it goes.

Anyone getting a maid? Any advice wrt to Indon vs Philippino or other ctys? I will likely hire a maid (maybe before I deliver) so that we can try out the maid before the bb comes along.

Dreamygal, hope all is well with you. Rest up!

xoxo: i think the same with u.. if cant handle on our own.. better not try to be smart.. just get a CL and do research before that.

about cl clashes.. my sis did mention to me that her CL, whom i'll be getting also, may not suit our living style. but from what i see, as long as she can handle my baby well and cooks really well.. i've no problem with it. anyway, its just for a month. worse if we are all tired and stressed out trying to handle a new human being and not knowing what exactly to do except to haer from everywhere about what to do.

best is ask around for recommendations. and prepare a list of questions to ask the potential CL before hiring. i think CL would be good for first time mums, unless your mum can do it herself.

20ct diamond. good clarity - VS-VVS but low colour. market price for the old style of cutting now is about $240,000. actually not too ex.. haha.. but it was quite a sight.

mie: so far the biggest diamond i have on picture is 6ct. u want? haha.. cant remember the price. i only the the diamonds = to my flat.. hahaha..

loke,
$240k??? that's a bargain isn't it? i know good colour, good clarity 3ct is already about $100k!!! hehe...

funzee,
see my post yesterday abt maid. i think for the indons, u gotta at least be able to manage some basic malay. if not it can be a headache, especially if they're fresh off the boat, like mine. but with my hand gestures and few malay words, i can get her to understand me. hehe...

miemie,
yeah, but my detailed scan already got quite a lot of 3D shots. that's why i'm asking. ah well, but i kena chop for my detailed scan lah. so cant really compare.

hippo: no leh i didnt get any 3D
damn sian lor.. why my gynae dun have the machine to do 3D sigh.... paying $200 for 1 photo and for 1 time scanning is really ridiculous. Maybe i'll go up to the xray dept to ask them personally. haa just in case the lady who spoke to me is a newbie haha!

My DS and oscar are in the package $400. but if separate out i not sure how much is it. i think the tmc really wanna chop their customers for doing 3D scans leh.. really very expensive =\ not as if i'm not delivering at their hosp lor. somemore i'm a returning customer! *nagging mood* haha

for a 20 ct, $240 000 and still not considered the best??!!! *stunned*.. now i totally believe in income disparity! *shake head* tsk tsk tsk..

xoxo: ha.. Miser is ALWAYs like that one lah.. hahahah.. no i didn't create a milestone booklet per se.. coz i used to be so focused on him acheiving his milestones that i was putting so much stress on myself, comparing teng to other kids/milestone guides and such.. that i actually miss out the simple joys of just watching teng laugh and play..
SO.. no more of that for me liao.. erm. i try la
i have a fren.. who is a christian.. she tells me 'in His time'.. i interpret it as teng telling me 'mama, in MY time'..

detailed scan:
my DS oso can't see bb face. we did count how many fingers he had though. 5 each hand. i so tempted to do 3d scan but wah..after reading Pei Yu's findings..the TMC one so ex. and only 1 pic?

xoxolight / funzee : Thanks. Today ok. Still got some brown discharge, think is the dried blood. The result will be out tmr.

gal^: u also TMC? but ur gynae can do 3D anot. mine coz she cant do 3D so i need to go up to the xray dept to do.... if i want lah.

when i asked the lady on how many photos will i get.. she said "it depends" then later she say oh only 1 photo. i was like huh wtf?! lol. anyway i will go up personally to ask just in case the lady is a newbie haa

astro,
i think you have the right attitude. i guess very often we get caught up as anxious parents, sometimes it gets overboard. like i have frens who refuse to stick around school after dropping off their kid cos otherwise the other mothers will catch them and bombard them with what kind of enrichment classes and compare everything from head to toe.

i like the "mama, in MY time"... hehe... can u remind me that when my bb is like i dunno, teng's age??? hehehe...

sweetzinc,
hmm... so seems like TMC quite mercenary hor? i dunno what's the norm for these scans. so cant really comment. my gynae's machine is also 2D, but the DS sonographer's machine is 3D one. so we could see her face. looks quite dainty, very heart warming.

u know, with the stronger kicks, the realisation has set in that its my DAUGHTER inside. and am wishing away the next 3 months and cant wait to deliver! never thot i'd think that tho...

cough & humidifier

the COUGHING HIPPO has finally stopped coughing since monday. din wanna say cos dun wanna jinx myself. ok but if any of you (and i dun wish it on anyone, not even my worst enemy) sway enough to kena this kind of long drawn cough, pls consider getting a humidifier.

cos that's what i did. was so fed up with having been home for so damn long and still not well. so i went out shopping on monday. bought bedsheet and breastpads. paying at the cashier that time, saw humidifiers. just bot on impulse. cos doc did say AC air very dry can irritate throat. came home, turned on AC and humidifier, and SLEPT like a baby!!! wah lau. i couldn't believe it.

oh and its like sleeping in the clouds kind of feeling. my fren who has one says she feels like "he xia gu" sleeping in the clouds. hahaha... kinda trippy feeling. oh, and does wonders for dehydration lines on our face!

ladies, i've got a question.

haf you gals purchased a breast pump yet? or will be getting one? there are so many brands out there, and even for the same like (like medela), there are so many models! i'm at a loss...

can smone help to enlighten what are the differences, or which one's good?

Pei Yu, I went to TMC for my oscar, and paid I think $200+? I didn't do detailed scan there, as my gyne could do it himself. Gee, in my case the detailed scan was just him doing the normal ultrasound, then he checked off his checklist and then he let me see bb's face in 3D. Which looked kinda weird. My mother says my bb has the sharp chin of my hb, even though we were wishing she would look like me and take after him in temperament. Recent ultrasound also seems to show that she has the head shape of my FIL. Ha ha ha. Stronger genes on their side maybe.

Oh BTW I was looking at TMC's website and realised that they have homecare and confinement nanny services too! If I'd known earlier, I may have gone to them for the CL. But I guess can expect to pay more since they have proper training. http://www.thomsonmedical.com/parentcraft_centre.htm

cjdg, I overheard Mrs Wong telling some people at the antenatal class that the Medela Pump in Style is good, but it's also super ex (new one selling in shops for $700+). She advised the ladies to go to TMC and try out the pumps first - $10. She said maybe no need, maybe you can be very good at hand pumping.

Funzee : Hand pumping very tiring... I always handpump when my nipple got too sore or bleeding... Haa... I can take around 45 mins to clear one side... Haa... Maybe i am not good at hand pumping...

Did Mrs WOng mentioned Medela Freestyle?

Funzee,
ya, i think quite a lot of ppl buy Medela Pump In Style.. but it costs like 600 i think! so ex lor! i'm wondering what's the difference between this and their other electric models...

funzee: I'm with Thursday group, but for the 2nd and 3rd lesson on exercise, I went for the Tuesday group, so I might have seen you!
The last time will be next Tueday, a lecture. Will you be there?

I've already bought Pump in Style.

For CL, thanks for the advice. I'll be home alone because all my family members will be working, and I'm not going to live with my in-laws during this period. Now contacting an agency. will be checking out reviews on them before committing.

hi cjdj

i have nt gt 1. we are considering cos its so ex... somemore i nt wking at the moment, can full time breast feed, but my sis no agree with me...

his bro is saying not all ppl can breast feed de, so no point buy now. can buy wen bb out...

btw, hv u bought a bb cot since we r into our 7th mth le...i nt yet... dont noe when is the best time to buy...

me just bought the avent electric breast pump on wednesday.. coz we using avent milk bottles, then if we get the medela, need to buy the connector so that the milk bottle fits onto the medela.. so to avoid all these trouble, we just buy the avent breast pump..

lin, i not buying cot, cos colleague gonna gif us hers. i think can start buying already... cos can start decorating their cots ma! i think that's the prettiest thing. the cute mattresses and mobiles, etc

Evil*mie, u jus reminded me abt pumps n bottles nids to work together! haha... that's another consideration.. hmm.. ok, nid to find out more abt the pumps den.

as for bottles, any diff between the various brands? i'm thinking avent/pigeon... n is it necesary to get BPA free?

hihi cjdj

thanks for info... i am also looking for 2nd hand cots, any lobangs?

as for bottles. i got the same brand as my steriliser, which is avent. although my sis comment that not necc to get bpa free, but i still got that, so bottles wont hv the rubber smell and mainly is i wish to give bb the best...

im using everything avent - steriliser, milk bottles, warmer, breast pump.. so that they will work together.. coz actually avent is a 'selfish' brand.. only work well with their own products.. cannot 'share' one.. heehee

the milk bottles i got are BPA-free coz i feel more assured.. but hor, last time we also grew up on non-BPA-free milk bottles ma, we also grow up like that.. haha.. so i tink is up to individual bah..

NUK is a highliy sought after brand for milk bottles too.. think is coz the teats are designed to imitate the mummy's nipples so that the baby will not have nipple confusion..

as for those opting for c-section, do u noe how long in advance can the delivery date be?

i mean i due in 27 oct, earliest i can opt for how long in advance for c-section?

good afternoon everyone!

finally the week is over for me.. been reading the posts but dono what to say yet.. maybe later lar

oh, cjdg don decorate too early hor? otherwise they'll all get dusty and have to take out and wash all over again. hee

miemie: i'm using all avent too. love the brand more than others out there somehow. i like the blue. hahah. lame. it worked well for me previously so hoping this time won't disappoint again lar. just emailed philips avent to enquire abt getting new parts for my duo pump and price oso reasonable so... i'm a happy camper lar.

lin, i think the best person to advise you on c-sect will be your gynae..?

I hope that I can deliver naturally but my gynae told me that I have low lying placenta.. final details on how I can deliver will have to wait till week 36...

mie: wahah u supporter of avent lol. i bought medela manual pump first.. i think if i need an electric one, i gotta get avent's as well right coz i using their bottles and sterilizer..

u use liao let me know good anot their pump lol..

yeah i also get BPA free bottles (small ones) so i will feel more assured. actually not i decide one lah my hubby. he everything also kiasi one heh!

pinkiemie, ya, i was oso thinking last time we oso grow up using normal bottles... dats y wonder abt BPA bottles lor.
i'm thinking of getting pigeon sterilizer.. that's y thinking if i shld jus get their bottles as well.

haha! thks for reminding, famala! i was jus thinking so long as i make sure i wash everything first, den i can put it up! forgot abt the get dusty part! esp my hse gets dusty VERY easily......