(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

gal,
hey u went melb earlier hor? so lucky. a bit later u gotta cancel ur trip man. so many H1N1 cases now. HB just told me when my gal frens come back from melb i better dun meet them til they're all clear. how to all clear leh? only back for a week. by the time all clear they gotta go back already

panting cos by now baby grown bigger and compressing our rib cage, so our lungs also like a bit compressed. so pant easily. i checked preggy book. cos the other day climbed up 3 flights of stairs panting like a dog. was like "huh? how come?" hehe...

big ticket items like breast pumps, baby carriers, feeding bottles, those kind of things lor.

hippo : ya. v fortunate. when we left for perth, the 1st case in mel happened. went mel-perth-sg.

ur friends from mel, at least can talk on phone ba. I agree w ur hb. better not to meet. better safe than sorry ya. m sure ur friends will understand. u got l'il one to protect.

oo..i m interested if cheap & good. hehe. bb carrier, feeding bottle. :p

Me also super tired at work daily but if ask me to stay at my daily me also cant tahan.

I have try viwawa before but office ban so cant login.

Haha yty night play real mj with my colleague keke.

Anybody want to start the bbmallonline spree? Can pass you the discount code.

Chnyle,

I attend before for my first pregnancy but frankly speakly I nv use it at all and forgot everything after course. I doze off a few times at the class too keke.

H1N1 seems to be getting worst. Tink sooner or later will spread to the community since those carriers are still walking aro and shopping w/o knowing they r carriers.

Was telling my hus need to get all stuffs now since anticipating myself staying at home (other than go to work) for the next remaining mths. My immunity is very low as caught with common flu again. *sighs*

Harlow,

Ask yall hor, the 6 days of childcare leave from what i know is based on calendar year, so even if baby were to be born near the end of the year, will still be entitled to the full 6 days right?

would this be govt paid or coy paid? coz our hr said that we are entitled to up to 42 days or before the child turns 7 yrs old. so meaning if i were to take it when baby is 0 yrs old, then what implications does it have?

still thinking how to maximise the childcare leave this year coz our maternity leave is based on weeks instead of months like my fren's coy. If based on strictly 16 wks, seems to lose out a bit than those who go off on the 2nd of the mth then come back 4 months later on the 1st leh..

Hi Hippo, Glass & gal^,

Your reaction is exactly the same as me. And my hubby is so angry with the GP. He told me next time dun go to take clinic anymore.

I am seeing double vision and sometimes the vision can be very blur....There was once occasion that I miss the step and nearly rolled from the staircase. Luckily my hubby was with me and grabbed me just in time. Can't imagine what is going to happen next.....

Anyways thanks for all your concern.

btw, H1N1 affects younger people the most easily. especially teenagers.. people in the age 20-40 i think are quite susceptible also.. so i suggest that u all try not to go crowded places unnecessarily.. it'll be good to do more exercise, drink more water, eat more fruits and vegetable to keep ur immune system up..

Angie,

My company base on days for the maternity leave so lagi lugi.

For childcare leave is up to the company to base on year or month. My company is base on the birthday of the kid.

Chnyle,

Cos actually in actual labour you will not remember so much just concentrate on the labour nia.

i wun be able to take the 6 days of CC leave this year coz baby will be born in oct, from oct to dec will be on ML ma, so no chance to take it at all, and CC leave cannot bring forward if unconsumed..

even those ladies who give birth in june or july, they also can only take a pro-rated number of CC leave for year 2009 in my company..

and we count ML by 2 months and 8 weeks which is fairly reasonable i feel.. means i will be back at work definitely before CNY next year..

sunnyling, how about other information is it useful? like emotional changes before and after birth, yoga execise and etc... I wish my hubby could learn more from the course too...

hi mums, my dad got me a binder from bangkok n it worked for me so just wanted to share with all the mums n if anyone wants to order as well? he will be coming back at the end of this month with the binders.

pm me for details!

re:binder
its $35 for 1 binder, only one colour - nude colour with some design on it.. very thin material.

3 hooks and sizes S, M n L.

S - waist 23-28 inches
M - waist 29 - 35 inches
L - 35 inches onwards

the entire length of the binder:

S - 23 - 25 inches (from 1st hook to last hook)
M - 26 - 28 inches
L - 29 - 31 inches

2584313.jpg

2584314.jpg

chnyle: hmm, not too sure. thought we'd just sign up and go see what's it about. Gynae suggested coz he thought it'd be good for 1st time parents to learn a bit more. Some of the topics look not too bad

Its a weekly 6 session course... got diff timings to choose from. Cost wise, if you are delivering at Mt A then its $160.50 (weekday) and $181.90 (weekend).

chnyle>> yeah, me and hubby thot so too, so we signed up for the Mount A pre-natal lessons as well.. will be seeing shugar at the first lesson! heehee

Joyce >> double vision could be a sign of hypertension (did that sickening GP check yr blood pressure?), or an overactive thyroid (ask for a thyroid function test).

See: http://familydoctor.org/online/famdocen/home/women/pregnancy/complications/064.html

and

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyperthyroidism

--i hope you will feel better. but gg to faint and having double vision and with yr clarity in qn, it does seem like you need to have this checked out by someone who treats it seriously. why don't u try either the A&E at Mt A or TMC?

take care..

abt H1N1...i am all for naming and shaming them. the MP Ellen Lee was wondering out loud if we should consider it criminal to be so lackadaisical abt it. Well of course we should! If someone with compromised immunity (we are part of that..it's really dangerous for preggers), gets it, you're talking abt someone's life. So nvm if there's an over-reaction, but it really gets me boiling when i read they were happy enough to wander abt, go shopping...i mean, a researcher with a chronic cough for ONE YEAR?? he thinks that is normal? doesn't sound anywhere near brilliant or even mildly sensible..hence, i feel the reaction should be justifiably fiery.

hippo >> this is my own little solution to sore throats. comes from my MIL - and its from her Japanese herbal medicine. to them, sore throats are linked to an infected kidney. (kidneys and liver do alot to detoxify yr system)..so it does sound linked when u were complaining abt the salty spanish fare u were having. take one calamansi (the darker green, the better)..u can up to two pcs, halve it and squeeze the lime juice into a glass of lukewarm water. drink it. have a small bite of plain softmeal/wholemeal bread. that's all. keep doing this till u feel better. u might find that u will pee alot more or even experience slight twinges of pain when u pee. if so, this could be the passing of calcified material in yr renal system..and here's wishing u a speedy recovery!

shugar, chynle, mie >> i actually was signed up for the class in jul. but will not be gg for it anymore. first, have not completed my work and don't expect to till end jul? second, several frens who have given birth told me it's ptless esp if u have been reading up on pregnancy/childbirth issues plus if u are delivering at Mt A (i am), they run these classes everyday (how to bathe, breastfeed..)..and they are free. so xoxo got her excuses all lined up. after all these years, still dislike gg for lectures.

Evil*Mie & Sunnyling,

actually the thought is to take the 8 wks of maternity leave first, coz if give birth in oct, then still can leave the last week for childcare leave, think the childcare leave wont be pro-rated right?

then after finishing the childcare leave for this year and maybe go back to work for 1 week after the 8 weeks maternity, then will apply for the remaining 8 wks of maternity.. would that work?? =)

im not sure, but i do know that some companies practise flexibility in taking ML.. my coy allows us to take 2 months and 4 weeks first, thereafter the remaining 4 weeks to be completed before baby turns one year old..

i tink you should check with your HR if they will pro-rate the CC leave..

frankly, if im the boss, i wun be too happy that you planned your ML and CC leave in such a way leh.. i mean true enuff that CC leave and ML are our entitlement, but it wun be fair to colleagues taking over your stuffs while you go on ML.. imagine go on ML for 2 months, then go back to work for one week, then go ML for another 8 weeks, will cause a lot of disruption to your dept i feel.. i know you just want to maximise the leaves entitlement.. if they are going to pro-rate your CC leave, then is just a matter of maybe 2-3 days at most..

no offence meant but just my 2 cents worth.. coz i wun be very happy if i need to backup in this manner lo..

angie,
you know, miemie has a point. in this sort of economic climate, the last thing u need to give pple reasons to get pissed off with you. if i am your superior, it only demonstrates your lack of commitment to your job.
what's 3-4 days of CC vs 4 mths ML anyways. just let it go, if u still want to have a job to return to after ML.

ehlo. thread quiet ah. let me make some squeeky noise. still some noise. hehehe :p

ong/joyce/hippo : get well soon.
joyce> .think wherever you go at the moment, make sure someone is with you.
hippo> hmm.sore throat. i find ninjompikakao one tablespoon put inside mouth works wonders. Alternatively Manuka Honey. However, I think at this moment Manuka honey may be a safer bet. not sure if preggie can take ninjompikakao.

jrt > thanks! i'll check out e website.

confinement food :
can i ask u ladies ur opinion abt the 1 mth confinement time :
a) eat normal healthy balance diet (mum cook) + buy herbal soup packet for confinement from tcm and boil.
or
b) confinement food catering.

do u tink (a) suffice? or (b) is a must?

gal, xoxo,
thanks a lot gals. gg to see GP agn tom. seems to be getting worse. my sore throat is not sore throat per se. its like cough too much until pain kind. except i havent been coughing yet? been monitoring temperature so far ok.

gal,
i think confinement food is quite subjective. my SIL insists that i have proper confinement food. i think otherwise. will probably just try and find out what kind of food is supposedly good for confinement and then just include it in normal meals lor. cos i not engaging confinement lady mah. somemore i dont know if i will like it. i suspect i wont thats why i never bother. am worried if confinement food catering got MSG and really healthy or not? I'm all for (a) since its most likely what i'll be doing.

gona go zzzz now. the tap is on agn *sniff* ...

Hi Hippo & Mie,

Okie dokie, now i can see it from another point of view, thx! =)

din really consider along that line before coz was more fixated on the maternity leave.. haha.. thx thx! =)

Hi Angie,

I thk most of the company will pro-rated your CC leave if you are going back in year end to clear the leave. I agree with Mie that I will not be happy if I am your superior that you plan your leave in this way.

I am going to clear 3 mth of my ML and for the last 4 week will be on flexi system.

hippo > thanks
. um..who will be cooking for you? HB? or you will be cooking during ur Confinement? HB say the black vinegar pig trotter w ginger is a must. :p Our house is going to stink :p

morning!!!! haha longggggg time nv come in le.. busy with #1 and also changing job now.. lucky new coy still want me hahaa..

gal^, actually during my 1st confinment i only take black vinegar pig trotter twice haha.. dun like the taste... somemore every drink the confinement herbal soup liao.. 'bu' enuff liao.. ;p

gal,
will be my parents and the maid lor. cos maid can cook very well mah. that's why i move back to mum's, more convenient and no need to run around.

angie,
no worries. sometimes we get caught up with one thing and lose perspective of bigger picture. so glad u dun mind what we say.

Hi xoxolight,

Thanks for your sharing. I will be seeing my gynae next Monday to check on my blood pressure.
I am starting to lose weight as well not sure if it cause by thyroid problem a not. I will check with Dr Woo as well.

Hi gal^,

Thanks for your concern. Since that incident happened, I always make sure that someone is with me even I going to ladies.... Just wanna to be on the safe side.

hey jacelyn,
long time no see! just saw your mail. so drink the "bu tang" everyday ah? i'm thinking right, cos i normally dont like the taste of all these herbal soup, then if i order must be like 30 days supply kind isit? can buy loose like 3 packs to try first or not? hee hee...

hi hi.. ;p
the herbal soup is 24 packs.. when u reach home from hospital then start to drink.. hmm think drink as a package is better le.. coz different week is different effect on mother's body.. is to cleanse and strengthen the body after birth.. hee.. actually can ur CL or mum to cook the herbal soup with meat or noodle to make it normal haha.. u can ask recipes from the company.. ;p my mum cook with mee sua sometimes and also like corn soup..

hippo>> get well soon!!!!

Confinement soup>> actually i hire the CL from the agency and also ordered the herbs ($270) save the trouble to buy ourselves.. think that's for the bathing and soup also if i'm not wrong.

RE: Confinement soup
ya i know there are 2 agency selling too... and one of them is so so ex leh.. ;p the $270 still ok.. the one i bot from is ard $180 for herbal soup and bathing is $18 for 10 herbal pack for bathing.. i nv buy from agency coz my mum helping me as CL.. ;p

sweetzinc,
feeling better today already. just went to see GP again. gave me different meds, which i cleared with gynae already. just got up after taking the drowsy meds. i should get well soon, i hope.

more packing to do. eeeks!