(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

detailed scan today
no visible holes in the heart. thats good news. doc says bb got long legs. we like huh? from who? both parents are katik ayam?! but he said bb slightly big, so may have 20% of gestational diabetes. must test around 27/8 weeks.

you know what? no more eating nonsense and durians and all that for me i think. i better really sew my mouth up!
been trying to eat well since i got back. cos was eating junk most of the time while away, which isn't good.

bb was jetlagged like mummy. she was sleeping while doc was trying to get her to look up. she's KO lah. she was up at 3+, kicking and all. sigh... anyhow, better go and read up on gestational diabetes. dun feel so great after hearing this news.

my maid coming today. she better turn out to be half decent or i am gonna be in major bad mood. oh yah, who asked me for maid agency referral? i see this one how first then let u guys know k?

mylvera,
hey tks! i saw that. yeah. if i get US set, then will order myself. cos will prob order other things like bottles and baby bjorn carrier, bottle liners sorta thing as well.

u looking through the BPs as well huh? hehe...

i ask u ah. do you swaddle your kids?

hello everyone!i'm having the monday blues and have such a terrible headache!! any one of you having headaches lately?

End up I also didnt go PC Show. Felt very tired and just wanna "nua" at home, catch up on sleep etc. :p

Tks Lydiagal, started to take my calcium tabs more regularly now. So far so good, no repeat episode of cramps.

Hippo, dont worry too much. I took the Glucose Tolerance Test (GTT) for my past 2 pregnancies as detected glucose in urine test. End up, both results showed ok. Gynae just asked me to watch diet and avoid too much sweet stuff will do. The test will also give you peace of mind that everything is ok. All the best!

Loke, I also use normal mama lemon dish-washing detergent to wash bottles. In fact, I use normal detergent like Dynamo to wash baby clothes too.

blink blink girl
then juz stick to those quantities for now. dun buy too many at 1 go coz later u might need to buy fr other brands to trial & error when u realise ur baby does not like the bottle. it happened to me, well in fact, it happened to quite a lot of my frens too. I tried Avent, NUK, Pigeon and even for Pigeon, it was only after i used the peristaltic teats tt my son took better to bottles thou there was still resistance.

Jacelyn
Like u, i was quite worried if gender will chg during the next scan but at 19 wks, it shld b quite accurate alrdy. did gynae scanned the genital area so tt he concluded its a girl? Mine was initially done at 16 wks and gynae was so confident its a girl. Cfm it at 19 wks and she said its 100% a girl liao.

happy hippo
so funny when u said baby is jetlagged! hahaha
if u suspect to hv gestational diabetes, muz watch out for carbo oso. junk food is one of the main culprits so if u can take a variety of food, best to skip. I am quite relieved that my cravings for fast food hv dwindled!

hippo,

i dun really swaddle my kids. i got a few new sets of kiddopotamus swaddle me n if u r interest, can sell u at cost (i bot them when US rate is low) haha what i used was a big pc of cloth, with the side sewn to prevent fraying. have lots of that sitting in my cupboard so mite re-use them.

i m looking at BP, overseas spree, WTS and comparing the prices but i still duno wat to get for my princess haha mayb will re-use her gor gor's clothes n items lor. :p

mie: hahaha... yeah if i have the time. hee now back to working on my knitting liao.. gonna finish the blanket for bb before she pops out! lol. i see u bought alot of dresses already!! i've yet to buy any lol must start searching for it liao. haa .. i haven been in the forum for more than 1 year lor so cant join their overseas spree
sad

fifi: i haven't bought any bibs yet leh. so far only 3 and it's $2.90 each haa... anyway bibs not hurry also bb will only use it when she's around hmmm 5 or 6 months old if not i'll just use hanky for the milk lor.

woo baby got long legs haa.. mine got shorter leg leh... must be follow daddy genes tsk tsk lol.. hmmm gestational diabetes?? nv heard of that before leh.. since it's only 20% things will be turn out fine! dun worry
my baby didnt have jetlag but she was always sleeping during all my visit to the gynae (so far) if next visit she still zzz i wanna change to afternoon slot liao. haha

realised many bb will reject avent as their teats are too hard for newborn to suckle and especially tougher for smaller newborn. Seems like most bb will be fine using any other brands as they r soft enough. I intro avent to my boy last time and he is fine with it until i intro pigeon to him(use pigeon for water)then he realised a great world of difference bet. these 2 and refuse the avent later. Luckily, after my insistent, he finally revert back to avent.

For my frens, she used avent right fm start and the bb simply refuse it all the way and she got no choice but to use pigeon ultimately.

ong: is it ? omg i bought lots of avent bottles at the motherhood fair liao haa.. if bb dun like the avent teats we can change to other brands and use it on avent bottles right?

mata,
m jetlagged but no headache. i feel like i'm on steroids man. i slept like 5 hrs but am wide awake. (at least for now).

bluesea,
so far all my glucose and protein tests are negative. gynae visit mth end. am sure he will do necessary tests then.

jrt,
yah lor. eating all that junk in spain. cos their food so damn salty and oily. now trying to eat well and healthy lor.

mylvera,
your kiddopotamus swaddle - is the cloth thick? er, i think i send you msg in FB lah huh. take this offline.

sweetzinc,
but your HB not short leh. hehe...

hippo is on steroids man. no afternoon naps, at nite sleep like 4-5 hrs, now i know what xoxo feels like everyday!

ha! maybe can lose some weight!!! *pppfff*

sweetzinc, there is a possibility that your bb will use avent if she belongs to the bigger size. Just dun let her hv a chance to use any other brands. Sometimes the bb will not refuse avent but they will take a long time to consume the milk. If reali she refused entirely, then u can keep till she is older like 2 or 3 mths later then u try again. Normally their muscle r strong enuf by then to suckle with more force.

Avent bottle can only use avent's teats if i am not wrong as i have tried b4. They r not like any other brands in which we can switch the brand of teats. Pigeon, medela, nuk etc have similar specification so u can use any brands of teats to put on their bottles if i am not wrong.

ong, sweetzinc,
i heard too about avent teats, that they are quite hard. but also have frens who use avent teats successfully. some recommend NUK.

fifi: he's abt 1.7m only haa.. i'm 1.66m so i think 1.7 is short for guys lah! wahaha.. my mil also small built one. dunno got 1.5 anot. lol .. i saw nuk bottles and they are so much cuter haha... got some regret buying the avent bottles at the fair.. but i think they're a gd buy coz nuk dun have booth there leh! haa i also added u in msn :D

ong: hmm i doubt she will belongs to the bigger size haa.. maybe average or slightly smaller hee.. if she refuse to drink then gotta buy another new bottle and teats liao. is nuk softer than avent?

sweetzinc,
haaha... i tell u this, my guy fren (who's a new daddy) claims that NUK is most like the real thing lah. i dont want to ask him how he knows or who told him that k.

btw which brand of maternity pads are good?
and what's the difference between loop and non-loop?
does some of them comes with wings? lol.
i saw the pureen pads at the fair but didnt buy coz it has no wings! cannot fly hahahaa

hippo, ya, i am one of the lucky one that is successful in using avent. maybe becos my boy was a big baby at 3.67kg. He took 15-20mins to finish the milk when newborn. So far i have only heard of complaints on avent's teats but not so much of any other brands. NUK is gd too but they only have 2 sizes for teats. I prefer brands that have a few sizes so bb will drink faster if holes r bigger.

sweetzinc, nuk is definitely softer than avent. I think any other brands oso softer than avent. Only good thing abt avent is they dun tear easily so u won't need to replace the teats frequently when your bb start to bite on the teats.

Your hus and your size r similar or abt same to me n my hus. So maybe u will have a big bb too. Btw, i hv nt came across any maternity pad that have wings. So i would presume all are w/o wings. Tink loop is using a string to tie. KKH using it last time and i hate it. That's y i am buying the stick on type this round. tink private hospital using the stick on type.

hippo, ya your guy fren is right abt the nuk's teats. NUK teats r made to be similar to the breast when suckle on. I have read on their bronchure before explaining on their prdts. Btw, I have added u onto my msn too.

ong: wahhaah hopefully not TOO big haha... hmm all w/o wings ah.. aiyah i tot some comes with wings so i didnt buy the pureen ones =\ tsk

sweetzinc/hippo, bth of u n ur hub are quite ok. my hub n i r small size. so hope bb will be taller thn us next time.. hehe

ya tink so. But u r quite tall so maybe still alrite to hv big bb. i got a fren who belong to the petite type(1.4+m)and her bb is 3.2kg! She manage to go natural birth. So that depends i guess.

fifi>> i got the bibs from one of the BP, the lady is KhawSH and she sells a lot of carters stuff.. 4 for $10, the bibs, and quite a big variety to choose from, and she posts them out pretty fast as well..

sweet>> i din join any of the overseas spree here, i shared the purchase with my frens, about 3 of us bought the stuffs and then we split the shipping!

join overseas sprees sometimes takes very long which i dun like.. even though i dun need the clothes urgently, i like to have my stuffs fast.. not that type who can wait.. hahahaha

and also, for gymboree, you get gym bucks, so your next purchase you get additional discounts, when you join these overseas sprees, they wun share this gym bucks with you one ma, they will all keep for their own use, so i dun see why i should help them accumulate the gym bucks..

anyway if you really wanna join the overseas spree, you can always drop your order with the organise thru PM..

im on 1 week hospitalisation leave, so something like home quarantine for me.. coz i tore a ligament! that sux, no stepping out of my house at all..

Mie,

take care ar....

haha same as me.. used to open spree in overseas spree too but find it too troublesome. end up always share purchases with frds or personal spree by myself only. i cannot stand the amt of $$ the organiser earns from us haha

mylvera>> ya lo, somemore they fix the exchange rate, and usually they earn from the exchange rates.. when we share with frens, someone just pay with their card first, then we split the bill based on the exchange rate the bank charges us..

chnyle, Nt too sure if 350g consider big. I have no idea of my bb weight as i forgot to ask gynae and i forgot to check the detail rpt. We will know the more accurate weight when progress to the last 2 or 3wks ba. BB grow very fast during the last 1mth.

Mie,

btw... hope u have noticed. some of the BP prices oso not tat cheap either haha

i tink, we as buyers, must do our homework lah. :p

Mie, u seems to be champion right now in shopping for bb stuffs leh. Make me tot of my crazy shopping days when i had my #1 5yrs back. it's exciting to shop for #1 and even more exciting if it is a girl.

take care!

mie: take care ah! i just went to tabao lunch back, wah walk until v xin ku panting now.. the tummy below near the pelvic there v pain sian feels like menses cramp =.= actually wanted to swim ytd but the pain was still there so didnt swim afterall... now headache liao..

just came back from detailed scan and everything seems ok. Didn't manage to see BB's face during the 4D scan coz he was facing downwards and covering his ears. :S
Plus gynae had to rush off for an emergency C-section so no time to wait for BB to turn over... so he said will have to try scanning again on my next visit. Haiz, got to wait another few weeks!

sweetzinc/chnyle: At 24 weeks, BB is 500g, which gynae says its average too.

mie: ooh take care and hope you get well soon!!

hippo: ur guy friend is funny..

jrt: yeah. i think so too. i'll just stick to what i have for now.

bluesea: ok. so those detergents are just hyping things up. haha..

chnyle: my baby also about 350g during detailed scan at about 20wks.

jacelyn: welcome to the oct carat club babes association. haha. the name is getting longer..

sweetzinc: me experiencing backaches now lor.. cant stand around for too long.. haha..

nuk>
they got the latex and the silicone teats. the latex one is softer.. apparently newborns and younger babes can accept it better.. but i think the latex one not as durable. anyhow, i'll see how it goes first. i didnt get the pigeon or avent sterilizer cos i think they can only be used for pigeon and avent bottles respectively..

btw, my sis and bro-in-law bought a nice pair of croc shoes for my baby!! haha. and a really cute pair of orange crocs for my bro and his wife.. i feel so loved!!! hahhaha....

miemie: please take care hor.. u'll need a lot of strength to push baby out in a few months time. i'm trying my best to exercise at least three times a week.. otherwise no muscle to push. haha...

question>>>
who has given birth at Mt A before? can you tell me what are the things they'd provide there? i only know they'll give the hooded blanket for baby...

I have a brand new infant car seat (Graco Autobaby II Car Seat ), willing to let go at $150. It was given by my friends, but had never been used.

2569340.jpg

Interested, please PM me.

mylvera>> yeah, i usually will compare the prices before i buy.. there was once i placed my order for PP Pants with one organiser, turned out that she was overcharging, so i cancelled my order with her and found the same pants from another seller..

ong>> pls tell me that is not true.. have i been over buying? i really cannot resist buying the stuffs leh..

thanks to everyone, i really hope my ligament will heal by this week.. gynae told me if it doesnt heal properly, most probably i will have to bear with the pain all the way till delivery!! i cannot imagine having to bear with the pain for another 17+ weeks and having the delivery pain as the finale!!!

phew, so mine isnt the biggest.. BB Isabelle was 333grams at 20 weeks detailed scan.. but her head circumference was quite big to me.. nearly went off the chart! hahaha.. hope is coz baby is brainy? heehee