(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

hello all! **Waves!I'm been lurking, but finally got off my lazy butt to register

I'm due on the 9th oct with baby no.3 delivering at tmc with dr j wong. Hope to go for VBAC this time round.

vodkarib
i think the bjorn is good, used it from my #1 was2 months old right till the time he could walk at 10mth (early walker) then i never used anything from then

vodarib
i used the sling and the ergo carrier. the ergo was very good for me cos i have a weak back. the carrier concentrates baby's weight on the hips (and my hips v big!) and takes off strain from the back.

pupsandcups
i also think j&j top to toe's good enough
they use it at KKH if i'm not mistaken to bathe the newborns

Hello Mummies!

Sorry never log in for so nong nong time...

Wow! Everyone start shopping already eh.

I was doing some spring cleaning yesterday and found some clothes, some of which havent even been worn at all! Still got the baby cot also and carrier.

Mie, I'll go into the group once I log into FB tonite. Now here kena block already! Fed up sia!

miemie,
haha... but you dont have my email
haha... dun worry i will go and add you in FB hehehe...

queenRA,
long time no see. busy with work eh???

leaving paris now. ...
later babes!

may i ask.. how to decide the capacity of milk bottles?

like how many 40ml bottles, 120ml or 250ml.. hope i didnt get the numbers wrong..

ong,
suntec near toys r us, there's a OIO shop u know right?

aloevera,
really should make. what's more u'r in the trade. only need to pay COST!!!

evilmie,
eh, not FIRST lah. BIZ lah. u know this is the first time i travel biz on my own expense and for long haul. so like damn sua ku right? dunno how to fold down the bed all. luckily cos pregger right, i just give them the helpless look and they come do for me. otherwise malu man. hehehehe... i tell you i so want to like videocam the biz class cabin lor. cos i know i wun be able to afford it anymore. not unless its biz trip in future. even then, my job seldom need to travel one.

yah lah u make me damn gian already lah. wanted to pop into gucci. but no time. i told the ah lao if airport got duty free shop there he's in trouble. bwahahahaha... well, we'll see later.

still, reluctant to leave. 1st honeymoon here, last honeymoon also here.

pups> saw a lot of gd reviews on bjorn. was urs original or air or synergy?
mata> thks will check out ergo too
i saw lascal carrier at kakibukit that day, and my hubby tried it on and liked the feel and the
"spinal support" for newborn. so thought it is probably not bad. but after surfing a few websites, don't seem like there are many reviews on lascal carrier.

i think my hubby wont like to use those carriers at all.. cos he perspires a lot.. he's like a sweat production factory.. haha.. anyway if he's sweaty and all, i wont let him carry baby also..

sweetzinc

I use Mustela products for my boy. Initially use J&J top and toe but it cause my boy to have very dry skin so I change brand.

blinkblink> i told my hubby he has to carry the bb in the future - that is the only time he can bond with the kid (i can do so when bfg) so he bought in on the idea - and is very keen to get a carrier now

annette
if its rec by someone trustworthy then shld b ok. 4 me, i cld sense tt my CL recorded down the date of my EDD in her notebk when i called her. so i know she wun 4get. a fren of mine booked the same CL for her #2 as when she had her #1. who knows when she called the CL again some mths later, the CL claimed to hv 4gotten abt her and said can only do 2 wks for her. ended up she went to an agency and got a lousy CL. mayb u wanna call the CL juz to make sure. coz now we're in 2nd tri liao, no harm to call and remind again.

vodkarib
i swear by the sling & ergo carrier too. personally i feel tt when baby is not tt firm yet, stick to the sling 1st as they r in lying position most times. i only let my son face me when he is 2-3 mths old, when neck & back muscles r firmer and tts oso when they r more inquisitive abt their env. i feel umcomfortable letting them go into baby carrier like Bjorn (though they claimed its suitable for NBs) and Ergo coz its more for babies abv 3 mths old. the initial few mths its more as a convenience to us. juz my thots!

RE: Washable breastpads
ladies whom used it b4... issit hygienic? i kept feeling its inmpossible to wash the milk off the pads thus rather stick to disposable ones to prevent infection. so i used lots of it when i had #1. am planning to stick to disposable ones again for #2 as well until i saw u all discussing.

Tampines Mall also has OIO!

fifi>> FIRST or BIZ doesnt matter, wad is more important is they are definitely better than ECO!!!!!!

your 1st honeymoon and last honeymoon in Paris.. at least more than once hor..

mine was the 1st and the last honeymoon in Paris hor! I cannot believe that my Dec 08 Europe honeymoon is the last time im gonna fly that far in the next 5 years (at least).. sobsobsobsobsob

is not a honeymoon when have to bring babies or children le... no more er ren shi jie.. of coz bring kids along will be fun, but not the same kinda fun when you're with hubby alone ma..

crystalised: i use washable breastpads -- cos i'm allergic to the disposable ones. weird right?? it was so itchy! you never realy get rid of all the oil from the breastmilk though, there will always be stains, but other wise, as long as you wash them properly (i use a hot cycle) they're great.
y only problem is that my helper tends to lose them in the wash! So i buy the avent ones that come in a laundry bag.

sunnyling: my friend recommend me QV wash not sure if it's good.. there's so many brands in the market man!! aiyoh.. really confuse me haa..

vodkarib: hb can just carry the baby with two hands.. otherwise its diff to wash the sling or the carrier if he perspires so much.. his smell will go on the baby also.. for hygiene's sake, i rather he bond with baby by playing with her. once in a while then carry.

jrt: agree with u about the sling and carrier. seems quite dangerous for NB to go into the carrier. esp if NB falls asleep? the neck like not stable.. sling can use until baby grow quite big also..

nobody got any idea about the bottles? haha...

blinkblink,

it depends on how often u wana sterilise the bottles n whether u have space to keep the sterilised bottles or not. if u very "onz" u can buy 2 bottles n keep sterilising the whole time lor. for me, i will get 6 bottles of the smallest size for few mths den change it to at least 4 bottles of size 210ml when bb is bigger lor.

Sorry to interrupt. Anyone keen to purchase Avent IQ Bottle and baby food warmer ? I've a brand new one unused . Willing to sell 30% cheaper off the usual selling price in the market. Pls PM me if interested. Thanks.

jRt : Thanks for your info.

Welcome to all new mummies...

I love the sling. I am still using on my girl who is now 26 mths when she wants to nap outside.

blinkblink : I use a lot of bottles for my #1 as i fully pump out. If fully latch on, then i don't think need a lot of bottle. Get 4 - 6 small bottles will do. Anyway, if not enough, can buy more anytime.

dreamygal & blinkblink
yeah i am another sling addict! i prefer to sling my boy rather than Ergo. Ergo is for shopping trips and when we go overseas for back and waist support. else i prefer my sling. i stopped slinging now tt i am preg. my son is getting too heavy 4 me!
dreamygal, how heavy is ur girl? the last time i slinged my son was when he was 30 mths, i think? cant sling too long... back & shoulder will ache! more than 2 bags of 5kg rice!

blinkblink, wat did u ask abt the bottles?

mata
oh u sensitive to disposable breast pads ah? fortunately I am ok wif it. think will stick to it bah. i am worried abt infection if i dun wash it properly leh.

jRt : She's 13kg now. I like to bring sling cos when i'm out with her alone, its not bulky. Sometimes i even leave it on me when she's not using.

sweetzinc : Ya. Last mth gynae only said 80%, so i don't dare to buy yet.

any mummies here with their bellies itching like hell?

Mine is driving me crazy and developing little bumps where the itch is. I'm trying the best not to scratch, cos i am so afraid of the stretch marks. Palmer's stretch mark cream, body moisturiser are not working ...
what should i do?

roxio: you are so lucky! only 2 hour difference and the products were sold out.
fifi: I didn't know h&m has a maternity line. You are going to be super fashionable mtb.
miemie: I know, after flying in dec to mauritius, I realise I can't travel that easily. But I saw many angmohs with very young children there. There were a number of strollers. Maybe you can choose resort-like locations. I'm going to see how it can be done in the future.

I went for my first antenatal class by TMC last night. Watched a video on twins breastfeeding and they have a special support pillow/mattress for them.

There were so many people last night, and I saw people who looked familiar, like one of them was my JC friend, but I didn't say hi, and others I seemed to have seen them before. Learnt some exercises, but I'm not sure whether I can remember them.

The trainer also dispelled some myths, like the diamonte bananas can be eaten, and not just the smaller ones, and too much ginger in the first ten days can lead to jaundice if you breastfeed.

jrt, dreamygal, gal and blinkblink:

I love the sling too! Slung both my kids til they were too heavy to be slung. I love that I can breastfeed everywhere in them. I even breastfeed in the supermarket while buying vegetables and nobody knows!

blink blink re bottles:
from nb to about 3 months, i only used the 120 ml avent bottles. they're handy for water as well.
The bigger bottles are useful only later when they start drinking more. But then again, it depends on wheher you are bottle feeding or breastfeeding. i bf exclusively, so i prefer the smaller bottles for easier storage and warming up.Hope this helps!

siangjiao>> my belly not itchy, is my nipples that are itchy, and is itchy till i cannot stop scratching that type.. i must apply my stretch mark cream on my boobies, if not they will itch throughout the day! im using Clarins stretch mark cream, so far it seems ok.. maybe you wanna try a different brand or check with gynae if she has any recommendations?

siangjiao, i m nt hvg itch at belly rather at times is my breast. dunno why. you can try to use powder to apply on ur belly, use the type that can stop itch or rash dun use the normal one with fragrance.

gal^
i bot the MIM sling. I got 2, one in cotton sateen, the other one silk. it was really a worthy buy. once u get the hang of the sling, u can use it to BF discreetly w/o a nursing cover too.
but can only use it b4 the baby gets inquisitive and starts pulling the sling lah. tts when u need a nursing cover.

wat u mean the one with the round piece? u meant the buckets? mine is the sling, not the sling pouch. i dun like sling pouch as we cant adjust the length. nvr used it b4 too.

dreamygal & mata
same as me. i prefer it coz when not in use, i can keep it in the bag. and yes, v often though my son not in the sling, i am still wearing it on me like some accessory! haha... i like it coz it can double up as blanket too.

siangjiao
i've heard some ladies hvg the same problem too. i dunno how to tackle it too. seems like if u apply stretchmark cream, it might b worse esp if it does not absorb well by the skin. plus the recent hot weather, it juz makes ur belly go doubly itchy. hope someone help can help u.

glass
dun buy the support pillow! it was a white elephant 4 me! and i saw many ladies selling it in the forum too. luckily i din buy the most exp one (My Brest Friend) and juz got one fr lollipop. i tried using it once and it was such a hindrance tt i nvr touched it anymore. personally i feel tt pillow will do juz fine. and they r softer. juz my opinion.

xoxo
i went for the trial class last evening and Colleen is great! i like her v much and she's got such a soothing and comforting feel abt her lah. signed up for 8 sessions aft the lesson.
i told her abt ur case abt ur placenta tt moved up and she was soooo happy!
she mentioned this group of forum girls whom got together and attended her class. i knew she was referring to u and the rest of the ladies. but since i dunno ur name, i cldnt tell her who u r. she taught some exercises for LLP but advised not to overdo. will b diligent to do it daily. but she din teach the head stand stunt. i am too freak out to try tt anyway. hahaha

jrt: that one I was talking about is for twins.
oh, I saw My Brest friend on sale at the expo, but I didn't get it. Ok, I'll use normal pillow if needed in the future.

mie:
my problem is more of perspiration collecting at my boobs! never had this problem before. These few weeks are really super hot, and dunno why my breasts perspire so much. quite uncomfortable.

siangjiao, does using water help?

mie, jazol and jrt: thanks for your advice. i kinda figured out the itch could be cause by the elastic band of my skirt. And my colleague taught me to wet some tissues (the one in my office are industrial ones, quite thick. She say cloth also can) and place the cool, wet tissue on my tummy. It does help in a way, at least the tiny bumps disappear.

And mie and jaz, my nips had been itching like hell too. only the dark areas though. sometimes, i just want to twitch them in the office, but cannot lah (too many guys ard)... so suffer in agony. I realized cool showers does help.

glass: yar! same here.. i sweat so much more nowadays. was at the food court, eating porridge, and i was sweating buckets. can literally feel the perspiration dripping down the chest.

need to be careful when scratching the boobs too, i read that stretch marks can appear there too. haiz..

siangjiao>> your skirt is too tight for you is it? try to wear dresses, dun wear 2 pcs..

mine also! the aerola is damn itchy!!! try to apply the cream on your boobies, its helps for me.. and my aerola is flaking, i tink my skin is too dry already..

and yes, i love taking cool showers, and just spray the shower head at the aerola, and ease the itch..

glass>> and the sweat trickles down the 'drain' ya? i also perspire a lot more than usual due to the unbearable climate..

siangjiao/mie: my tummy also itch sometimes and not sure if i apply the baby oil and got some bumps too.. my nipple is getting more and more sore!! and sometimes painful also.. omg...

bonjour, wo hui lai le!!!

hey, can i ask who is P** Y* in FB?

glass,
i think H&M maternity line and baby line only in europe. never saw it in HK. just like zara kids/baby also not in asia, only europe. anyways i din buy anything really fashionable. just nursing bras, camisoles and 2 nursing tops. cos those are the only things i havent bought. oh yah, later i go and take pictures of my zara baby & H&M baby clothes then spam you guys here k? hehe... ;)

ong,
yah, u know where is spring maternity in suntec? just few shops further down towards the music studio, not the xingwang cafe side. i thot i remember u say u work around suntec so i better tell you. cos my fren also in that area and she never knew it exists and she was the one who recommended me OIO nursing bras.

miemie,
hahahaha... you so efficient, go honeymoon then hit jackpot already mah. so what to do? for us, i wasn't ready to give up my freedom so i never leave this sort of thing to chance one hor. hehehe... otherwise kena already then no more travelling for me. aiya anyhow you'll be a young mummy and xiang fu earlier lor.

aloevera,
our guide was funny. she said she doesnt understand why tourists take 2000 pictures which no one wants to see when they go back anyways. which is very true. hahaha... i come back, post on FB, half the time i never even develop anymore! anyhow, ya, i super kiasu. took tons of pictures and all. but i'm sure no one else will wanna see. hahahaha... anyhow will upload when i have more time.

mylvera,
hahaha... i not gona take her on flights til much later. everytime there's a baby on the plane. the poor parents always kena dagger stares from other passengers when baby cries. whats more? that wouldnt be a holiday anymore would it? just leave at home for short breaks first lah. later gotta be road trips to msia i guess. but i hate gg to msia. ...

siangjiao,
halo! long time no see. i am using shea butter from l'occitane. so far no itch. maybe u can consider too.