(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

xoxo: *trying to be cheeky*. sucking on copper coins? wah.. let me know how it taste.. if i can develop a craving for gold.. i think i will get very rich during this preg! :p

ww >> i didn't know i am so emotionally fragile actually. always thought i was made of sterner stuff. how wrong! badly need fresh air but singapore just doesn't have good places with it..not to mention, many smokers...

astro>> crazy hor? i am trying to hold my sanity and reality in one place. this period is tough. gotta battle physical, hormonal, emotional, spiritual, financial and u name it..everyone an uphill struggle.

xoxo:i suck at giving such advice.. coz i too think a lot..
but well.. have to go thru with it.. and end of 10 months. (very soon liao, now is already march!) u have a bouncy bb.. who will be so darn cute .. worthy of all the trouble..

PS: i am pyschoing myself also.. so please join in :p

dinner has just been nullified. this is round 7 for today.

ww >> HB has been really good..but no matter how much he tries to do for me, i still feel lousy...

astro >> just 7 mths to go...i know..and every minute crawls so slowly...hmmm..was that how u felt when u had theng?

xoxo: no. teng's was relatively easy. coz i wasn't working :p.. ha.. and first tri. the only complaints i had was tiredness (which i just fend off with sleeping lor) and occasional quesiness and bloatedness.. no where as bad as this time..
oh. but i got chicken pox with teng lah.. other that that. it was an easy preg..i just felt bored nia.. :p

xoxo: Distract yourself. Think of what food you would like to eat. Plan your diet.

This website is quite positive.

They includes a wide range of topic with some meditation info. Maybe you wish to browse thru it http://www.oprah.com/index

astro: yes.. i still have ms.. but not puking all the time. its the 'stuck there' feeling.. bloated. burp no enough.

recently really cant sleep well.. get woken up at the slightest noise... after that will have to take a long time to fall asleep again.. last night my leg was so 'serng' i cant sleep properly...

anybody experiencing butt pain ah?? my left side of my butt very serng leh.. all the way to the muscle near the hemstring... i feel the pull of the muscle when i bend down to put things up also..

xoxo: really an uphill struggle.. can only go on 1st gear.. otherwise cant go up at all...

ww: i suppose its normal also right?? maybe my butt was not as big as i thought. so body gonna change to make sure its big enough to hold the growing bb.. haha...

loke: like that we are in sme boat.. haiz. u think taking eno on daily basis can help? coz i dun like ginger .. though i knkow it works

erm.. towrds the thrid tri.. then i get all those pains.. but now. .dunno why.. so early. i cannot sleep properly liao. toss and turn.. haiz.

astro: my advice is not to take eno at all.. i learnt in sch when i was a pharmacy student that eno is useless.. not only that, its not good for the body... i cant rmr why cos i was dozing off during that lecture that day.. paiseh.. so dun take eno even if u r not pregnant... anybody shouldnt take eno..

ww>> im experiencing butt pain too. my theory is butt expanding to give birth. woohoo my doc gave me a week's mc. i feel kinda bad to take such long mc but also really dont feel well, so better rest at home. thing is i jus cant tahan sitting the whole day (no where to rest at all during lunch) and my office is wayy too cold it makes my bones aches like hell. i cant fit my old pants anymore but neither am i maternity clothes size...

pupsandcups: I felt so tortured by butt pain few weeks back. I ask Hb 'How did other woman overcome this butt pain?' Hb told me 'It will hurt til you are so use to it. By that time, you are already numb to the pain.'
Wow, i almost fainted. Go and get a few clothings, at least 1 to 2 size bigger.
I find it very demoralizing trying to squeeze in the old pants. I cant even bear to look at them.

WW>> this is my #2 and i truly don remb feeling this way during my first preg. every preg is truly different.
i'm quite cheapo, i think waste $$ buy pants a size bigger then only use a few months. im thinking of borrowing from my mom who is bigger than me heehee, hope she won feel offended.
my last preg i wasnt working in such a corporate firm. my current plc so corporate i really have to invest in maternity wear, cant jus wear nice cotton balloony clothes which i wore in my last preg. actually feel pants are uncomfy ... but wattodo my ofc too cold.

XOXO>> i read about this craving for non foods before too. if u reckon it is serious (ie not just passing phase) better tell your doc.

btw my edd is 1 nov, but i decided to stick to this thread
based on my last pregnancy, i gave birth 2 weeks early.

my hubby has been super understanding too but nothing he says can make my discomfort go away SIGH. also i think my son thinks im no fun already, whole day not playing only lying in bed ... sigh.

v emotionally fragile too. sensitive and take every little comment, remark or face as something negative.

hello all, morning! didn't log in on wkend as too tiring and just "nuan" on my bed oni.

Astro : me oreadi gettg breathless since few wks ago & especially when bloated. gynae say is normal. Just got to tahan
Happy belated birthday !

xoxo: glad u r back.same as u, i did not leave my hse to other place other than work. Been stucked at home for 2mths+ as simply too tiring to go anywhere. agree with astro that MS may take more than 12wks to go away. for my 1st one, my appetite & body only get better after around 16 or 18wks. Once passed the terror 1st trim stage, u will feel well enough to go out for shopping. However, when 3rd trim comes, we will feel tired again as there r water retentions with the legs and belly is gettg big n hard to move aro. etc.

pupsandcups : do take care

<font color="0000ff">pupsandcups</font>

I am also experiencing buttock ache at this early stage. I do not have this when i had my #1

The feeling is something like pelvic expanding kind of uneasy feeling, which i onli experienced during the last trimester of my #1

astro >> haiz..we two better stop thinking and thinking. anyway, with my pregnant brain, can't go far. sometimes when i think abt stuff halfway, i forget what i was thinking abt. anyway, new day, new morning..hope that today will be better..i'd be very thankful. yesterday night was hormonally horrible.

ww >> you know, this planning the food bit is tough. i feel very sian now, having to think of what to eat. what's your plans for today? maybe i can borrow your dietary inclinations..hehehe...

loke >> yah, the "car" is really stuck on first gear. cannot move fast but full of energy..on the wrong things! (like MS-ing)..i think i see the first signs of stretch marks on my butt. but too damn wasted to care abt it now. tried some stretch mark oil..but had rashes..so forget it..

pupsandcups >> thanks! i didn't know it was a sign. i have anaemia even b4 i am preggers..seeing my gynae on the 20th, guess i will have to tell her then. meanwhile, better load on the spinach...really weird..haiz, feeling out of sorts all over! the EDD changes all the time doesn't it? at first mine's 8 Oct, at the recent checkup at the hospital, my gynae says, looks like it will be 14 oct..two days later, it's changed again, back to original EDD. I am so blur...i concur with you abt the extreme tiredness and the hypersensitivity..to share a line from godot >> "I can't go on, I will go on..I can't go on, I must go on.." guess that's what this forum is really for..for kindred souls..

Ong >> this first tri is really terrifying. i am so battle scarred now i think persuading me to do no 2, if at all, will be very tough. did you say 16-18 weeks?? i thought 13 weeks would be better already??? *despair*

good morning gals...

Sorry had been a super busy weekend, so didn't really have time to catch up online.

Yesterday went to IT fair from 1-6 pm.. Came home peng san and my back almost broke. Bought a camera and mp4 for my mum. So many freaking people;everyone was pulling their printers/TVs over my feet lor (you know cash and carry, so a free trolley is given). Pek Chek. Worse than chinese new year eve in chinatown.

Xoxo: Hope you are feeling better now. Try to cheer up okie? *hugs for you* + *hugs to your little one*

MS wise, pretty much under control. 2 witching times of the day, 11 am and 4 pm, where i feel nasueous, but if i eat a little food i'm fine. I used to be an egg lover, but now all kinds i eggs, i absolutely hate especially steamed eggs.

No butt pain, but i noticed these bluish veins radiating on my thighs now. I hope this is not the beginning of varicose veins.

They say preggers will want to pee often, but i don't seem to have the need to pee leh... anyone feeling the same?

morning mommies,
just for sharing, for those who have already "outgrow" their pants, you can try getting some at Morton Bell. They have outlets at vivo and novena square. currently they are having sale at 15% ~ 30% off, but no sure for how long though... i bought 3 pairs of pants and 1 skirt, and they are really super comfy...

hi all..
slow start to the day.. bluesy and sitting alone in the canteen.. gosh. *turned and looked around*.. it is really just me alone on this floor!

loke: thank thanks for finding out for me.. appreciates the effort..

pups: erm. i shortened ur nick again.. to just pups.. hope u dun mind :p
ur balloony cottoony clothes sound so comfortable.. like u i just started work.. so i think i need something more formal also.. sian to think of that.. none of the maternity wear i see... formal kinds are nice..haiz.. i prefer the spring maternity type.. light and cheery!

and hor.. i am with u with regards to sensitivity leh. already sensitive before preg. now worse.. just got turned off by two comments via office emails.. haiz.. anyway.. guess it is my mood also.. last night didn't sleep well. i dunno why. coz i just get irritated coz the quilt is so 'hard' to pull over to my side.. coz my hb sleeping on it with his weight.. and i got all flustered.. and started 'jabbing' my hb to give up the quilt to me!
poor man.. last time with teng... he doesn't have to go thru all this.. i told him.. he was already lucky the first time round! thanks goodness he is patient.. if i were him.. i would have scremed.. and my boy.. woke up in the middle of the night and went 'mama'.. 'toothy'.. 'hello nana!'.. 'blue train'.. 'out out!' 'take off pants' (in chinese).. etc.. haiz.. and he did that for a long time! almost an hour! i tried ignoring him.. he just laid there and babble to himself incoherently.. and started throwing his pillows out of the cot at me.. and started laughing and giggling! haiz.. i am zombified now..

ong: really ah? haiz. sian. really have to tahan then
.. loke and I were talking abuot Eno.. but her experience tells us that it is not recommended.. let' wait for her to come back with new info..

xoxo: haiz.. ya. this thread is really for kindred souls lah.. sometimes i dun feel as heard as i am over at the other thread.. understandly so.. coz the preg 'craze' died down (many of them were preg and have given birth before me and qq).. so now talking about other things lah.. hey. the EDD .. wun be 'finalised' till very later on one lah..
erm.. can u take beef? ok.. this one is not as relvent not.. but i read that spinach is high in o (something ) acid. that restricts either the intake of folic or inhibits preg.. i cannot remember which one.. if it is the second.. then ignore it lah. but if the first.. might be more advisable to take ur iron frm meat..
spinach contains non-heme iron.. as with all the beans and dark leafy veg.. so to absort the non-heme iron. u need vit c hor.. need citrus things to help the absorption...

<font color="0000ff">Siangjiao</font>

Are you drinking anough water? bcos u are suffering from MS (maybe vomitting), thus water maybe loss thru vomitting.
Remember to drink losta water to pee often so as not to contact UTI. take care!

<font color="0000ff">pusandcups</font>
yeah, the experience with this #2 seems alot of difference from the previous.. My hubby commented that I acted like a NEW mother.
Of cos a New mother ler, cos everything seems not the same as previous mah.

siangjiao: ya. as compared to teng last time. this time i dun see to pee as frequently.. still waking up once in the night. but not as bad as teng's time.. hmm. maybe come second tri.. frequency might increase..

those veins are normal. coz increased blood circulation.. not just my thighs. my palms also have!. erm. someties it appears on the breasts as well. i tell my hb. i look like spiderwoman.. literally..

xoxo : nt necessary end at 13wks as everyone is unique to their own. some will be 16wks or more. whereas i heard some fren having ms throughout the 9mths. got to depend on luck i guess.

siaojiao : i do pee very often at nite. at least 4 or 5 times a nite. sometimes could be just little bit but u simply feel the urge to pee. some ppl may experience it only on 3rd tri . for my 1st one, i dun pee that often compare to now. *signs*

xoxo/ong: ya.. i have a preggy fren now.. 14 weeks.. still MS-ing very 'happily'.. :S

our two pregs are reverse. i peed more then than now!

siangjiao >> whoa! you can take the crowds ar? i cfm can't!! your BB sounds very punctual..11 and 4! mine's forever throwing a tantrum..hehehe..i am trying to be a little lighter on my mood today. to psycho myself...

astro >> good morning! why are u the only one in the canteen? i suppose i can take beef..you triggered me..now i must have beef noodles!!

xoxo: ha.. coz it is the hols.. and i dun want to be back in my office? since my campus is wireless.. might as well..
ya. beef noodles are nice!

ha.. that's a long frown :p

siangjiao: ya! me too! on both the eggs and the veins part. i couldn't live without eggs last time and now any sort of egg makes me want to run for the toilet. and i noticed since last 2 weeks that i have these huge blue veins on my thighs. quite gross. dunno why

xoxo: hang in there! the worst should already be over for u. try not to worry too much. have faith that our bodies and babies are stronger than we think.
maybe you could try taking a pre-natal multi vit ( i take the one from GNC called pre-natal formula) to help with your metal cravings

nausea update: at least i dun feel nauseous 24/7 nowadays but abt once or twice a day i will suddenly puke things out. usually at night

<font color="0000ff">astro</font>

Why ur teng wans to take off pant in the middle of the night? Is he at the stage of diaperless training.. tat he wants to pee?

Maybe you could tell ur doctor of your sleepless night, so that he can let u rest for a day or 2 at home.

precious:no. not yet train him to go off diaper yet. he is just rehearsing his vocab.. :S .. coz he caught this . .when miser tried to take off his pull up pants for him during hong kong trip.. but i tell u . this boy's pronunction cannot make it. take off pants right? in chinese.. he pronounced it as 大肚子!!

haiz.. i wanted to take a day of mc.. co i am feeling so groggy.. wanted to be good to come to work.. now regretting my decision.. think i will try to take a power nap before lunch. let's hope it is powerful enough..

hello ladies...
so many posts to go through!
I'm having a hard time getting a comfortable position to sleep too. right or left side, hmm, all dun feel very right leh! :S

xoxolight: hang in there!

Astro: did you mean Oxalic Acid in spinach?

Hi gals, hv a serious gastric &amp; stomach cramp last thur, so take leave go hm rest. Think is the acid inside which make it so painful. Over the weekend also keep lying on bed, juz dun feel like going anywhere. The puking feeling make me juz wan to lie on bed. Hubby ask me when then i can get well, Hw i knw rite, i also hope the ms will over soon...

shugar: ya.. oxalic acid.

joanne: oh no. .take care.. my bloatedness made me nua in bed for the weekend too.. am so sleepy too.

xoxo and mums having MS: i just witnessed. or rather i saw the aftermath of my preggy colleague (ya. the one i am talking about just now. 14 weeks preg)'s merlion. in a blue plastic bag.. i threw it away for her..
she vomitted a lot

Astro: I like the term Spiderwoman, cos it's exactly what i am now.. No veins on the palms and arms tough.. but breasts yes.

Who mentioned about beef noodles ah? Now i also feel like beef noodles!I want the dry one with the meat balls in the soup. Extra lime please. My office only has zhup cai berng.. sianz

hehe xoxo, now its pretty accurate, but i'm pretty sure it'll shift ...Me tao gong gong now, looking at some engineering drawing, make my head even bigger. *YAWN* Hungry and giddy for beef noodles and waiting for 12 noon to come.

Oops, i think i'm not having enough water these 2 days... i pee like only 3 times yesterday and i never have to wake up in the night. Maybe it's still too early? By right, its the start of the 8 week..

siangjiao: xoxo mentioned about beef noodles..
engineering drawing?gosh. i can't do that now.. even looking at words is making me sleep.. ok.. 4 more mintes to my power nap.. let;s hope it is powerful enough..

mrs neo: so far have not read anything too bad about it so i think should be fine bah. But must make sure its well washed, as they often have sand trapped in the leaves and stems.

Here's something i got online about it:
exceptionally rich in carotenoids, including beta-carotene and lutein, and also contains quercetin, a phytochemical with Antioxidant properties. Spinach is rich in vitamins and minerals, particularly folate (folic acid), Vitamin K, magnesium, and manganese; it also contains more Protein than most vegetables.