(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Hi Twinky,
Has your gal start walking?

My boy is turning 9 months next week, no teeth yet. My gynae also Dr adrain but I in CCK clinic.
Hopefully this round is a gal.

xoxolight: swimming is the best... low impact...maybe u can start by doing some warming up exercises... my hb and i goes swimming twice a week in the morning before we go for work.. but this week is just impossible. MS everymorning.. cannt get up at all..

Hi Xoxo, after confinement is good to go for brisk walking. But try not to jog or run for at least another 4 weeks, cos all our ligaments are stretched during the pregnancy so they are very weak.....
You may want to consider to engage a massage lady to help you to loss weight.... I also managed to reduce my weight by breastfeeding.... I was luckied as I was able to return to my pre-pregnancy within 4 mths....

Wah thanks a lot!! Just ate my lunch and here I am reading placenta.

Seems like the best way to stop my MS is to eat eat and eat!

Now feeling very lethargic...although MS more or less disappeared cos of my lunch. Dunno when it will come again (it better come lor!)

JOyce: Yep yep I heard breastfeeding can lose a lot of weight. You can burn like 300 calories per feed. But then again, it depends. Not all mummy can breastfeed. There are many cases where there's not enough milk.

hi ladies!
i m back to mc for two days =( feel so nauseous from the duphaston (3x a day) and really transformed to merlion already.. vomitted till giggy last nite.. and feeling so helpless.. feel like stopping the medication in fact =(( very sad.. no appetite at all and have diaheroa many times too.. went to visit GP as my gynae's clinic has yet to open... and gave me some med to curb vomiting and pills for my diaheroa... sob sobz.. hope all will be gone soon

dreamygal : last night he was log-in using my acc coz my laptop still on, hehehe... anyway, after 1st trimester we will go to jakarta coz im indonesian n really craving for indon food... as soon as im 3 months will buy the tickets.
thanks for the ms unfo, usually after merliaon i will suck mentos to get away the vomit taste, yuck ...

xoxo : are you sure you want to take cruise ? with seasick and all ? aiyoh..
and why you want to eat your own placenta ?

loke : hahaha just right after u said no ms then suddenly merlion... hahaha..sometimes i feel like that also. okay i think no ms then just merlion ... too bad

tien : why not all women can breast-feed ? how come not enough milek ? is there any factors ?

roxie : hang-in there... just endure endure, n try to eat light meals .. jia yo !!!

Mrs Neo : Ya. Perth is good. I love it there. Was wondering if i should go Australia or Japan this round.

Joyce : Me too. I lose all the weight through breastfeeding. But 14 mths later when i stopped, i started putting on some weight. Haa...

Tien : Breastfeeding is a matter of demand vs supply. Must latch frequently. They more it signal to your brain that there is not enough milk, the harder they will work to produce more milk.

i had also thot of exercising since i heard that if preggy and you exercise, you will have an easier time giving birth... but not sure what i can do since i cant swim... i was thinking of yoga, but my stiff bones confirm cannot make it de! anyone intending to go for pre-natal lessons?

MieMie : Walking also can ya. I walked up and down the stair alot with i preggy with #1.

This time round, i think i will opt for swimming. My girl very into swimming recently. :p

If can, i also want to breastfeed in future..
Heard it can help to really lost tonns and tonns of weight! Think also more healthy for the bb too

Mrs Neo : Can can... Sure can lose weight. Cos its so so tiring... But really... Can lose weight.

True that its good for baby as well.

MieMie : Pre-natal lessons - I attended Mrs Wong's class at TMC. If you want her class, must book early. Very popular. If you give birth in TMC as well, she will visit you at your ward and you can ask her any question you have regarding calming the newborn or breastfeeding. She visited me both days when i'm there.

think for now walking is a good option. used to jog twice a week in the evenings but now stop liao. Haiz... getting onto lazy mode... very bad :p heheheh

Angelina : Pre-natal class - teaches you some simple exercise, how to take care of baby, how to breastfeed, and breathing tactics during labour. Hubby should go, cos during labour no one will remember the breathing tactic since its already so painful. So hubby must remember and remind wife.

Also will teach hubby how to help wife to massage.

Any1 gng for the prenatal cse? I think i wanna sign up for tat.. my friend attended the 1 at TMC.. heard its very good... And also useful

It will be very nice if mummies here can sign up together. Then attend class together.

But i don't think i will sign up, cos attended before.

Hi Mrs Neo : If you going TMC, i suggest going for Mrs Wong's class instead of the one conducted by the nurses.

angelina & dreamygal >> many thanks. i m trying to cope now, will try to rest while i can.. but really dono if this were to persist, how m i going to continue working..next week is my mth end close.. very worried abt work and right now, i m unsure whether morning sickness has kick in for me for its just the side effects of high volume of hormones in me now through the consumption of duphaston..

mrs neo >> yup i m also signing up for the prenatal at tmc when into 20 weeks of pregnancy.. 4 of my frens actually signed up last year.. by mrs wong too and commented it was very good.. prior to tat i may wanna sign up for the fbi membership first.. heard can get disc for the class too
but am not sure how much is the class... forgot to ask..

dreamygal >> can u still recall how much is the prenatal class?

think i want to join also, totally blurr baout handling baby ...
but if i wont give birth at tmc, will it be okay if i sign up for their pre-natal class ?

think it will be fun if we all go there together

Hi Mrs Neo>> I dun think I will sign up too... as I have attended once before...Mrs Wong's class is very good... remember to ask your hubby to go along as that he can help you in massage and excercises that Mrs Wong is teaching....
For the price wise, I think can check in the TMC website.... You pay for a discounted price if your bb is going to deliver @ TMC.

roxie/Mrs Neo: My hubby said about $150+ after discount from FBI. But i attended weekday class. I think weekend a bit more expensive.

I think quite worth it for 1st time parents. Very fun too. When you and hubby practicing the exercise and massage in class.

hi roxie,

one can get very jer-lat from all the puking...sigh.
totally understand...but it's going to be a month before this forum will collectively heave a sigh of relief!! we're in this together

Lazybone me has got tonnes of excuses:
1) Swimming - would chlorinated water harm the baby? What abt swimsuits?? I think my swimming costume cannot make it and not brave enough to wear my bikini anymore...not that i'd ever worn it since buying it!

2) Walking - with the haze??? Singapore is so hot, where can we go and walk without fear of andes mosquitoes?

Final bit..do you think it is wise to succumb to work pressure and head off for a pretty stressful business tour in several countries in mid March - that's week 9 for me? Some of these won't be first-world places...usually I love travelling but don't really feel up to it now...how???

hi mummies, i have just called tmc to check on the course.

here are the details for 6 lessons;

When to book :
Confirmation of pregnancy around 20th week of gestation

Time (subject to change):
Weekday Classes: 7pm to 9pm
Weekend Classes: Saturday-2pm to 4pm l 4.30pm to 6.30pm l 7pm to 9pm
Sunday-10am to 12pm l 12.30pm to 2.30pm l
3.30pm to 5.30pm

costs:
weekday - $181.90
weekend - $214.90

For more information or bookings, please call Thomson ParentCraft at 6251 4090

if u sign up for fbi, will get 10% disc for the prenatal course, all scannings done at tmc prior to delivery also entitled to 10% disc, if u stay single-bedded will get $100 off ur bill, double-bedded will get $80 off ur bill, after delivery, can get 10% off for your baby's checkups at tmc too

hmm really want to go for the pre-natal class...
any 1st time mothers will sign up for this ?

ugh im so sleepy, with this raining think i will take a nap .. zzzz

Siangjiao...Hahaha, i think that's a line I can never cross..not even if they promise I will look like cleopatra..truth be told, I am getting pimples now! HORRORS!!

Angelina..it's the piggin' out at the cruise that appeals to me..and the ability to go back to your cabin and sleep all day...hehehe. But the last time I took the cruise, I don't remember feeling any rocking..but that was so long ago and I wasn't so sensitive...and nah, i really don't want to eat the placenta thing..just happened to read abt it and wanted to see what all your reactions would be

xoxo >> yea manz, i m a milk-lover, but after last nite when i puke the milk... i don think i will drink milk for the next few days at least..

hmmm tink u better don travel in first trimester lah.. not good to go thru the air pressure and turbulences. but i also wanna ask.. how about going travelling on week 30/31 of pregnancy? i have my co's dnd to attend too.. going greece

dreamygal >> yea lo.. increase quite abit hor? =D

xoxo >> i also started to have pimples today..

hey u all have facebook? wanna add each other?

Dear ladies,

Went to see my gynae on Tues due to some spotting, so did a V scan, and luckily managed to see the bb grow bigger than last week and also hear the heart beat....based on the scan, i should be in Week 7 now, but ai ya i forgot to ask when is my EDD...will have to wait till 3 weeks later...

was given Duphaston and MC for 2 days.....wana to check with all of u....whats the side effect for taking Duphaston? i still see some blood streaks when i go toilet....not bright red but rather more brownish....rather worried lor....

Roxie>> Certain airlines dun allow you to travel even your gynae produce the fit-for-travel letter. So I think is better to check with the airline first...I was rejected by SQ when I am in Week 31 cos by the time I flew back I will be in Week 32 liao... They afraid that I may delivered in the aircraft.

wa lau, tell u all something very funnie about placenta... cant help it - even though my nauseous is gettin bad.. still wanna share!!!! my SIL hor, she wants to keep her placenta.. cos one of her colleague wants hers to let her son eat.. for asthma or sth like that.. heard it works as a form of remedy lah.. but my MIL does not allow her to bring back to her home (she had her confinement at my MIL place) then hor.. she ask her hubby to bring it back to their own house, instructing the hubby to 'AIR' it for few days.. cos need to be totally dried up, then u can keep it or to make it into powder.. and guessed what happened??? the hubby went to 'AIR' the placenta at the window latch there.. and the whole placenta fell off!! poor hubby immediately rushed downstairs (they staying at 8 storey) to find my SIL's placenta and in the end, can only find a few pieces nia.. my SIL was so angry with her hubby for a few days menz and the worst is dono if ther placenta is fed to the cats n dogs or even birds loh... and her colleague was also quite upset cos cannot give her liao.. :p

roxie>> I think the placenta thingy is really gross leh.. LOL.. cant imagine telling my kids when they are older tat they actually ate my placenta when they were young Haa..

cocomaro >> same thing happened to me and i m given 3 boxes of daphaston and have to eat 3x a day.. so far.. my side effects are feeling very nauseous and vomiting quite alot.. also should be on my week 7 now.. its usually a kind of med with hormones to strengthen your womb given to early preggers like us.. tat encounter spotting or complications. its a westernized 'an tai yao'..

angelina >> the prenatal course fee increased loh.
ya i m going to sign up for it also.. first time mummie mah.. my hubby is also excited over the course leh.. hee

roxie>> that's funny and at the same time a bit gross!! i cant believe that anyone would ask me for my placenta to let their own kids eat or wad.. i am asthmatic as well, but i will never ever think about eating someone's dried up placenta to treat my asthma... no offence meant, but my guess is that maybe some of the pcs got eaten up by the stray cats? heehee

wa, TMC pre-natal lessons seems better.. my HB brought back a brochure on KKH's pre-natal lessons, they dun hold it on sundays, and sats only 3 time slots or something... and i do need to work on alternate sats, so i cant attend their sat classes, and weekday lessons start at 630, how to make it in time?
but im not gg to deliver at TMC, so no discount for me ba...

roxie...HAAAAAAAHAAAAAAA!!!!! i have not laughed so much in a month! My sides ache!!! Thanks for the funny story babe...you have others? Hao Ba! Since you've brightened my day, let me concede that I've been entertaining myself on youtube watching "woman drivers"... we all need more laughter to overcome the gross mix of pukey!

My facebook is [email protected] (nice to know you too!)