(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Hi mrs neo: I'm doing a NuchalTranslucency (NT) test. It costs $113 and 80% accurate.
For OSCAr, it's $298 (without gst) with 90% accuracy. There's a false positive rate of 5%.
The ultrasonist will measure the thickness of the neck, and the nose for the NT test.

Unless there's a concern, then will have to upgrade to another test.

The nurse told me to talk to my baby that day, so that it will turn for the person to measure both the back of the neck and the nose.

glass: wow. that's interesting.. talk to baby so that it will turn for person to measure the neck and nose?

when is a good time to do these tests? i think most of us here only 6 to 8wks right? will the fetus be too small now?

raywen: it's to detect down syndrome.

loke: well, even if the mum doesn't want to abort, it will also help to prepare the family mentally and emotionally for the arrival of the baby, assuming the results aren't good.

glass>> i am almost there too.. i had to make my hotel co-orindator help me burn my songs at the hotel into CD and DVD lo! im not much better! hehehehe

mrs neo>> HB and i also agree with your HB, its better to be safe than sorry..

loke: do at 12 weeks.
for older mums (above 35) they have to take another test that is slightly more invasive at a later stage.
I've already booked mine coz my gynae asked me last week.

The nurse said there are some MTB who stay at the screening place for a long time because the baby refuses to move!

My hubby said he will save up to pay for my slimming sessions after giving birth. Don't take slimming pills lah, not very good. I went for such sessions for one intensive week (everyday) just before my AD.

oh the nuchal test.. my gynae was saying that she will measure the thickness of the neck, and also take my blood for testing, if i fall under the 'dangerous' zone, then she will suggest that we do the oscar test...

miemie, i think i remember your nick from the dec08 thread. Thank goodness almost everything went smoothly. It's ok because I'm not super fussy.

Hi Joanne, welcome to club 35! keke! Probably we will go thru similar tests in the nx few mths.

Hi all, this thread is reali moving SO fast and so many cute cute photos fm many young mums!! My first kid is a boy and am looking fwd to a gal this round so i can close shop. Hopefully my wish will be granted.

Hi Glass & Mrs neo: It's difficult to cope with your studies and a bb at the same time unless u hv maid/in laws & husband to help out most of it else seems like an impossible tasks.

HI Astro, not to worry for nt having MS. Think the MS seems to get better for your 2nd or 3rd pregnancy. For my 1st one, i hv very bad MS too and i can't stand the smell of hawker centre etc.But my current MS is much better now as i can still eat every 2hrs and can tahan most of the smell.

i started to became a merlion since yesterday

glass: i guess so too ba.. but the xando is not pills only.. more like meal replacements plus adequate exercise.. something like slimming programs.. but actually ah.. no need all these things.. i tried to lose about 6kg within 8mths.. with only proper diet and exercise.. no pills etc.. cost me very little. haha. cos fruits and vegetables are not ex.. but that was when i was younger.. now because of work.. quite hard to find the time to exercise also.. not to say good diet.. sometimes got to go entertain pple.. how to eat well?? hahhaa...

mrs neo: yeap.. totally agree... hopefully everytime we go for checkups it'll be good.. then it can brighten up everybody's day..

clumsybabe: after throwing up must rest.. my throwing up lessened yesterday.. cos hubby keeps telling bb to be good, dun let mummy feel so bad.. haha..

ong: Thank goodness my in laws are not working. They've agreed to look after the baby, but they want us to hire a maid so that they just supervise the maid. haven't really discuss this.

But i think it's really going to be tough, because it seems that my husband may get a bigger portfolio at work in the future, and he'll be even busier than ever.

I hinted to him that I want to take no pay leave for some time, but he said that his salary increase in the future will not be able to make up my current salary to maintain our lifestyles, plus another kid, whom I'll probably send for a lot of enrichment classes. I think I'll be a kiasu mum. hehehe.

this morning i had very painful cramps that practically made me unable to stand. i stayed seated on the toilet bowl and then just bent over and puked my guts out all over the bathroom floor and all these while feeling breathless as if about to pass out any moment

also experienced very sharp pain on one side of my womb, abit worried now. guess I cant do much cos now no pain le, my gynae visit 2 more days away only.

anybody heard of this shichida method? i heard its good.. but dunno if its really worth the $$.. my sis sends her children there. and of course in my opinion they are bright bright kids.. haha

Think i will also be a kiasu mama.. thinking of gng to attend the Schida method.. (Dunno the right spelling.. its to test the left brain of kids)... The misery 4K the government give as baby bonus.. confirm not enough to make up for the cse fees de... LOL

MRs neo: haha.. i think we work our lives out to earn $$ for sending kids to courses.... my hubby sell one diamond also not enough to cover course costs.. hahhaa..

clumsybabe: maybe you should call up your gyne and see if u need to go for an earlier checkup rather than waiting for another two days??

raywen, how's ur visit with Adrian yday??

Hee.. i'll put my notti boy's pic later at nite..

Hmm.. i hv a colleague who send her boy to Shichida method. My colleague has to follow up the lessons taught in the class when she gets back home. Hv to or else no effect..

The only enrichment class i send my 2nd boy is Julia Gabriel Edu drama class.. he's there since 2 yrs plus and he enjoys the classes too!!
He used to be very quiet but now he talks like a machine gun.. lol!!

clumsybabe, u shld see ur gynae. No harm seeing her/him 2 days early. Take care ya..

Joyce, since u hv 2 gals.. do u want to know the gender of ur next bb during ur detail scan?? Or just suprise urself on that big day?

Mrs Neo/MieMie : Thanks ya. Muacks!!

Mrs Neo : Regarding Oscar scan, still thinking. I went for oscar during my 1st pregnancy. A bit kiasu. But actually my gynae did mentioned that for my age then (27), can consider not taking oscar.
This time round, i may not take. But will still wait for my gynae to advise.

Hi glass : I talked to my baby for very long before the detailed scan. But she purposely turned the other way and hide wor.
Ended up that the nurse told me to go outside and wait for 45 minutes before coming back to scan. My notti girl...

Hi loke : Every kids are different. I know some kids who just do not like their lesson at Shichida and they dropped after 1 term.
But of course i have friends who kids attended and are good. But mummy must be dilligent to do homework with them everyday. And in this case, who knows if its Shichida that works or the hardworking mother? Hee...
Anyway, i tried signing my girl but at that time when i went last Jul. They told me next intake is full, even next year intake they cannot guarantee. Told me to pay $300 to be in priority queue. What i heard now is that, need to pay in order to get into their waiting list.

By the way, my girl is attending a home-based right brain training school by ex-shichida teacher. They are quite nice.

Apart from Shichida, there are Little Neutro Tree and igenius also teaches right brain training.

Hi glad : My girl was also with JG for a while. But i stopped her as i sent her to playgroup this year. The only enrichment lesson she attend now is the right brain training class.

Glad>> I think I will want to know it during the detail scan.... sooner the better... cos I can rest my mind if indeed is the boy....

Clumbsybabe: Don't wait 2 more days lor. Go see your gynae now now now! Better safe than sorry. Just call up and tell the doc or the nurse what happened. I'm sure they'll fit you in their schedule somehow!

glad: cant see anythin besides thickening of the wall....he confirmed my pregnancy and talks like a machine gun....haha...waited for 45 mins which we spent by having our dinner :p gonna see him in 2 wks time again so hopefully can see something...the clinic was super packed too...lots of preg ladies....

i think Julia Gabriels is good. haha. cos its near my work place.. i intend to send my kid to montessori just behind where i work.. easier lah.. haha..

poky, dreamygal, shugar, chiapatty : thanks, we're both new with this pregnancy thing and we both really excited. so happy that he's joining this. so he can read all the information. gilbert story is the best, hahaha

glass : we're watching soccer last night so we took a nap in the afternoon, hee ...

ginger and mrs.neo : yeah we're the same oct 08
brides

clumsybabe : im having merlion since i missed my period till now .... crazy

think i will do oscar test, not really necessary for my age but just to feel save..

Hello to all mummies, I heard that for the Oscar test can reveal the gender of the bb as well. But you need to let the gynae know if you want to know the result.

oh is it ? thats good ... next monday is our app with the gynae. we need to decide whether to do the test or not. n i heard that we can only do after 12 weeks, is that right ?
n how long does it take for doing the whole oscar test ? and is it at the same clinic ?

worried but confirmed that i will take the test, esp if i can see the sex ... hopefully its a girl ...

The Oscar test is done in the hospital. And the test can be done bet 12 -14 weeks... For the duration, it depend whether the little fellow is cooperative anot. As for the gender, same tning your bb need to cooperate to see...

This forum is going at the speed of light! If only the MS can disappear at the same speed....

My gynae offered the test to us and indicated that we have a 1:300 chance of having a baby with genetic abnormalities (Down Syndrome) and the test having an accuracy of 90% - I suppose this is what they call the OSCAR. HB & I decided agst doing the test so hopefully all goes well though we still want to find out the gender via ultrasound at a later date!

I'd a friend who actually had a false positive but she decided agst an abortion, and the end story was the baby was normal. So she spent months worrying needlessly and endlessly.

oh gosh! Dun know wat's wrong with my emotions. Pissed off with e 'kiddos' in my office, burst out crying.. Sigh..

she had the ultrasound but didn't go ahead with the extraction of placenta fluid or whatever since that carried the risk of miscarriage. But just so that you guys know, it isn't for sure! And the reverse is also true, getting an OK in this test also do not guarantee that the baby will be normal. I think alot of things is up to divinity, God and probability - whichever we believe in. Just try to stay healthy and in a good frame of mind..so tough when it's the first, really unwell, trimester! ganbate!

Glad>>> Now I suppose all of us are very emotional and quite sensitive... I was burst out in tears today too because of my counterparts... just dun know why feel so sad....

glad >>> *hugs!* don't fret. I cried for the first time in what must be a decade yesterday night (not even at my wedding) at, you know what..the traffic jam! and i wasn't even the one driving... Read that it's normal with the hormones..

Joyce, yah lor .. Haiz.. I feel like i'm a cry baby now.. When i'm pissed n angry, i feel pain. Dun know if its xin li zhuo yong.

xoxo, thanks
Cos not many guys know abt my pregnancy.. Thank God at least my bosses r v nice n understanding ppl..

Ha.. N e 'kiddos' r in a shock now.. Saw me sobbing..

awww glad... its the hormones! I got all upset over something small the other day also. hehe... its ok, we're all in the same boat!

Wah Seh..the thread is running real fast..

Haven been in since my 1st posting here 2 wks ago..

So co-incident..My gynae is Dr Adrian Woodworth too..I'm seeing him at SK..I always make it a point to register early..Usually appt. is 6-8pm..Therefore, i will register ard 5.40-5.45pm..Then wun haf to wait too long..

I'm having my no. 2 nw..Crossing finger to haf a boy lei..Coz no.1 is ger..

Posting her foto here too..She is 9mth tml...
2192801.jpg

twinky83 : very cute n preety

glad : im sure its just hormones, stay strong okay .. sometimes i also feel like sobbing just frustated with the MS

anyway, since i know that im pregnant i never play majong anymore. just dont feel like.. just now is the first time i played with my hubby and his friends. n guess what, i win 100 over dollar...hahaha maybe its the baby luck

usually i take a nap in the afternoon, n now just playing majong

glad: i think really its the hormones ah. haha. just went to this bluesky exchange event at SGX.. then talked to hubby about the business. until i feel i'm so useless.. dunno what to do to help business grow.. almost in tears too..

thank God for people in this forum.. always sharing about your own experiences.. at least it makes everybody else here feel better...

twinky>> your girl is superbly cute! just look at those eyes! if i have a girl, i hope she will be as cute as your girl!