(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

lin: mine was at thomson medical centre.. i think different hosp got different timing? haha.. i heard from tmc one is usually 30 mins.

pups: for mine the husband wait outside until the sonographer did all the measurements and scans, then she will call the husband in and explain to both of us.. so when she was doing her job, i also didnt get to see the screen at all.. just stare blankly into the ceiling ha ha... i think the reason why husband gotta wait outside first so that the husband will not keep asking qns "eh what is this ah or what is that?" and distract her job.

blinkblink,

my gynae always assure me everything's fine. till the extent tat he did not detect tat i have pre-eclampsia for #2 preg. so this time he extra careful with me ahah n i also make sure i do extra tests myself.

sweetzinc,

no idea if TMC still giving bags for delivery. i heard fr my frd tat they used to do tat. Mt A will give haversack. u mite wana temporary use those free bags first? den source for yr choice of diaper bags or see what u normally wana bring out den buy? smtimes we mite end up buying a smaller bag den what we actually need.

mylvera: yea i saw the bag at tmc, some parents were holding it but i dun like it leh the colour so striking!! lol!! even at the fair some bundle sales include the a bag i also dun like it lor.. end up buying the one w/o the bundle promo haha coz if u give me the bag i also chuck one side. think i will buy a big diaper bag instead of a smaller one coz i like to throw everything in, including mine hahaha!

Thanks for all.... ya i agree, i was hoping to hear some encouragement especially since DS result is good. I decided to change to Dr Douglas Ong. Hopefully he will be much better, however i don have my DS report with me cause my gynae has kept the report. Wondering if i should get the report from gynae.

Check with you guys, have your gynae instructed you to ensure your baby is kicking 10 times per day?

sweetzinc,

no idea if this helps. my bags are full of compartment. 1 of the compartment is for my barangs. but i bring the minimum items out. wallet, keys, handphone, tissue. else must search thro the whole bag for my items haha

chnyle,

my gynae will say tat. cos if bb's kick is less den 10 times per day, it could mean that the bb is in distress and mite require more monitoring lor.

chnyle: Not sure abt ur hosp or gynae, but tmc gave us 2 sets of report. one is for the gynae to keep another one is for the mum to keep so no matter what we still have a copy..

my gynae did not ask me to monitor the baby kicking leh haa but she normally kicks more than that per day

mylvera: hmm... ya i think having lots of compartment also good so we know where the things are kept :D if not gotta search v hard for it,

may I know how many kicks each day u all will get from baby? the amt of kicks for me seems very little.. onli every night, they are very active.. makes me cant slp well...

Lynn, i didnt calculate exactly how many times they kick in total. In terms of active, sometime my baby girl is so active that she will kick through out the day. but like today, she hardly kick or even she does is so light/soft that i can't really tell.

Shugar, thanks...do you know if he will be in his bukit panjang clinic tonight? What is his schedule like?

was catching up on the fast moving posts and realised that most of you have bought quite a fair bit of stuff.
i am very tempted to shop too whenever i am out (especially with the 15-20% discount at every dept stores) but hubby say no space to keep yet.. so asked to wait till nearer the date then buy

was just wondering if there will be another bb fair say in Aug/Sep ..or even Taka bb fairs? anyone has any idea?
or would you advise that i take advantage of the GSS and buy the stuff now?
another problem of course is i don't really know what to buy
with the numerous brands from breast pumps to wipes to sterilisers etc etc.

lin: hahaa no need to be nervous ah i was quite worried as well too initially.. but everything will turns out fine hehe.

enjoy ur DS tml!

chnyle: Mon, Tues, Wed and Friday evenings he is normally at the Bukit Panjang Clinic from 6.30pm - 9.30pm. Thursdays i think there's no evening clinic. In the mornings, he's at Mount E.

The nurse there is Jenny. Maybe you want to call for appointment before you go?

Shugar, Thanks for providing the info.. do you have his bukit panjang clinic contact no.? I may just drop by tonight.

my DS also has 2 reports leh.. my gynae kept one copy, and the other copy with the baby's scan pictures i get to keep them..
and my DS at TMC took about 30 minutes too..

sweetzinc>> you never turn your head to look at the screen? i did that the whole 30 min! by the end of the DS, my neck was aching lo.. and the sonographer would explain to me, this is the head, the face, the heart, the stomach etc..

re taka baby fair>> i heard is sept leh, not july.. that is why im like trying to buy my stuffs now before i get too heavy to move ard in the 3rd tri..

re baby kicks>> i never go and count the number of kicks per day, but definitely a lot! heehee

wow, looks like all of u are feeling the bb kicks, but I hvnt felt anytin.. my hub says i m too insensitive tats y i dun feel anytin... hw i wish i cn feel it, my gynae says whn i m in 22 wks shld be able to feel it...

sweetzinc>> thks for the taka fair info. i do hope it's jul. else like what *Mie says - by sept.. we shld be too "huge" to do any serious shopping

jazol>> i dun feel a lot of kicks also. jus some flutters. gynae also said it's normal for some of us not to feel kicks. but by 24 weeks-28 weeks onwards, gynae say we'll feel the bb kicks (esp for 1st time mummies). so she ask me to enjoy the "low disturbance" period for now.

jazol, i tink not just the baby kicks, even can see the movements! as the weeks progresses, i can feel the kicks getting very strong and the bumps get so strong that my nephew who is sitting a distance from me can see the kicks!

vodkarib>> your nick makes me wanna drink vodka ribena now leh.. and ive been craving for beer and alcohol since the start of the pregnancy! heehee

with regards to breast pumps, i tink a lot of pple are using medela, avent and ameda.. wad i know is ameda parts are more difficult to find in singapore, so i have shortlisted medela swing (coz i intend to latch as much as possible) and the avent electric.. i checked out centrepoint robinsons, they do have a good deal.. selling in a bundle pack.. im waiting for my robinsons card then most prob i will be getting the pumps from robinsons..

wet wipes im not too sure which brand, but my sister told me to use pigeon, she's been using that for her 3 kids, and she says quality is good, thick and doesnt tear easily.. so guess that will be the brand of wet wipes im gonna buy, but most prob in the sept taka baby fair, will just get my hubby to make a trip down to buy the necessities..

i bought the avent steriliser during the philips sale at $129.. the motherhood fair was selling at $140, so i presume i got a good deal as well.. if not you can check out robinsons too, they have quite a variety of these stuffs..

baby kicks
i actually go n count the no. of times per day. Not becos gynae ask me to but becos i read fm books or elsewhere that it would be best to monitor if your bb seldom kick. I even write down the time. My #1 hardly kicks and that's y i am worried. probably he is too comfortable sleeping inside. However this round, my #2 kicked frequently so i did not count.

re: bb wipes.

recently i using carlson wipes from JL. heard is sister brand or same brand as angel wipes? anyway cant find carlson wipes from JL liao but can find angel wipes. so i jz bot 6 packets of the wipes. cheaper den pigeon leh. 3 packet for $5.50.

but i told hb i will still order lansinoh wipes for #3 for first few mths cos bb's poo very smelly one. tat wipes smells nice lor.

Jazol : my #1 hardly kicks thru out the pregnancy but he is a healthy and chubby bb when out. His kicks is so light sometimes that i am unable to cfm. So not to worry too much.

thks elated*mie. cos being a first time mum, there is the worry of whether i can really BF or not..so whether i shld really invest in a breast pump, or to buy only at a later date say after bb is 1-2 mths old.. cos i think breastpump will be useful only when we start working again rite?

and ask you ladies.. since most of you intendin to BF, is it still necessary to buy milk bottles? or just a few to standby in case you want to express and store and bring for outings? *blur*

by the way, i have been feelin aches in my lower left abdomen area (at 1st i thought its appendicitis - but my hubby REMINDED me that appendix is on the right side). so i was reading up.. and tot it cld possibly be stretching of muscles/belly/uterus. wanted to call my gynae to ask if i shld be worried but she is on leave!? ..wondering now whether to go see a GP (cos i doubt GP will say anything?)

jazol>> you had your DS yesterday, and everything's fine ya? then i tink there is no need to worry too much la, wad we wanna have is happy and healthy babies ma!

vodkarib,

bottles are a great assets to have if u dun intend to be the only one who can feed the bb, ie, u express it out, freeze it and let others who are free (eg, maids, confinement lady etc) to feed the bb while u rest. also, can help train the bb to accept bottle (cos eventually we have to go back to work). in order to sustain the supply, we need to pump regularly or let the bb suckle regularly.

vodka>> i am a first time MTB too! so i also worry this and that and dunno which brand i should buy etc.. so wad i do is kpo and ask here lo.. we have so many experienced mummies who are here to offer us advices!

i also worry abt whether im able to breastfeed, but i guess should buy one to standby.. in the event that you express your BM, how you gonna feed your baby? so have to buy milk bottles lo.. i bought 2 Avent BPA-free 4oz milk bottles at 20% discount from BHG.. robinsons also have, and still got member rebate if im not wrong..

my fren fed her boy breast milk, but she expressed all out, coz her boy's suckle is too strong, until her nipples are so painful, so she express her BM to feed in milk bottle..

RE: Baby Kicks
Lynn, dun worry about how many times u need to feel baby's kicks now. its not tt impt. Its only essential during the last mth of pregnancy (i cant rem exactly when) and u need baby to kick at least 10 times or so in 12 hours. Now is def too early since most 1st time MTBs will experience it later. I am a 2nd time MTB and experienced the 1st kick at 13 wks, then subsequently ard 16 wks onwards. Dun worry

RE: Successful Bfg
U will succeed IF u r determined to. I am sure mums like pupsandcups will fully agree wif me and the rest of the mums whom had a successful & fruitful bfg experience. Once u start telling uself -ve things like "I am so worried I will not have enough milk for my baby", then i can guarantee ur bfg career will go downhill fr there. Coz bfg gotta do wif a lot of mind power. This one i read in books and so far those whom r successful will reinforce +ve thoughts like "I have more than enuff milk for my baby", "I am a cow!" hahaha, anything along tt line. The essential msg is to be POSITIVE! And u will succeed! And of coz direct latch is the easiest and best way to achieve good milk supply. I constantly told myself tt during my early bfg days and indeed, I had more than enuff for my son.

And yes, though i TBF, i still buy bottles (which I introduced once a day when my son was ard 4 wks old). So its gd to hv it on standby. Thou i know tt TBF babies need not drink any water, i still introduced water to my son at 3 wks coz i was worried he'll end up not liking water.

hi blurmummy

urs so early, gd... mine at only 415pm, such a funny time...

hi sweetzinc

is it just normal scan? if yes, y still need so long??? need any urine test or ...? btw, dr is boi or ger? young or old de?
any pain involve?

SUCCESSFUL BFEEDING

Jrt>> Yeps! For some reason i never felt like what if not enough milk. when i understood the supply meets demand theory, i thought no problemo! hence i just let baby latch on as much as i can, and bingo. and seriously i became so obsessed with pumping and feeding (partly also cos i was keen to lose weight) i had over supply which i donated.
looking forward to breastfeeding, but i know lah, when i stop my boobs will sag and shrivel up ... ah well

Hi mummies - Sorry for MIA for so long...had been following up an intensive project for the past 2 months so typically by end of the day, i'm too zonked out to surf forum.

Hope everyone is doing well here.

Mie: Can you help me update my details?
My EDD has changed from 25 Oct to 18 Oct.
Changed my gynae to JJ Chee at KK hospital
Expecting a boy
Facebook is [email protected]

surfed back a couple of pages and heard a few of you mentioning about Babyplus. I have been playing it once a day for my baby since 18 week. By right suppose to be 2 hours, but i can only manage 1 hr before bedtime. Too rush for me in the morning.

I noticed that my baby kicks exceptionally hard when i play the device. And in the evening around 'lesson' time, i can feel that he is moving more, like time to go to school liao. Find that quite cute. Anyway, just some feedback on the device. My gf passed hers to me after she delivered in March.

Other than that, i think i'm the most bo chup mummy around. I tried to play the piano once or twice and singing, but too much work in the office for me to follow up to be consistent. I bought nothing yet, and my house is in a mess. damn cham. looks like going to ling shi bao fo jiao when the baby comes.

hope baby dun become engineer in future like the mummy. Too tough liao.

pups: i did my detail scan at KKH last week. Hubby can go in with you at the same time. Scan takes typically 30-45 mins depending on how cooperative your baby is. There is a big TV screen in front to show the scan so you don't have to turn your head unlike those at the private suite where you have to look backwards.
At the end, the sonographer will give you your report to pass to your gynae. Suggest that you ask your gynae to make a copy for you otherwise they will keep the original.

When i went home, i looked at the details, baby's head circumference is 171mm, when i took out the measureing tape, then i realized, although the measurement is average, baby is still so small inside our tummy

vodkarib: indeed its good that u have "low disturbance" period now.. hahaha.. i felt it at wk15 and baby moves all the time.. i think cos i'm having exams soon, so its not such a nice thing to feel throughout the day... but then again, its a good feeling, knowing baby is 'alive and kicking'!!

jazol: dont worry about the kicks. my sis' 1st child didnt kick much too.. but he's still well and smart now. :D

siangjiao: wow.. so does it mean that it really works?

Hi I'm back. So many posts! I went back to the Expo again because I wanted to buy Bumwear, and I was so bummed out when they were packing up at 7pm!! They said they were sold out. I don't know why I was so sad after that. Then I went to Pureen, hearing what some of you mentioned, and I like bought 3 of everything that they were selling! I'm like the most gullible person around man. But I think I no need to do shopping for these things after baby is born for some time.

I haven't bought any clothings for my baby, because I don't know the size. My friend's newborn was almost like 2 to 3 months old big, so if she had bought small clothes, it wouldn't fit him. I think I may buy clothes at a later stage when I know exactly how many hand me downs I'm getting from people, and also how big my baby is expected to be.

Also bought some wall decals.

regarding nappies, when i saw that they were the type my parents used for me (from pureen), I decided I wasn't going to spend my time folding them. It's so troublesome, plus I'm scared of poking my finger with the huge safety pin.

btw, i just realised that by the end of this month, I'm going to be 6 months, and it would be the start of the last trimester soon. Time flies!!

shugar/ong : okie. thx. will try out the tips. calcium to take b4 dinner i'll email gynae to ask coz' my tablet package indicate must eat in morning.

tink bb trying to distract/comfort me today coz' me v stress. bad day, a lot of arrow. plentiful kicks today esp when in mtg. hmm.maybe i shld go jot down time too.

told HB abt wut u all mentioned abt bb plus. so he wanted to suddenly read story today near by belly. he put his ear at the belly and asked bb whether bb liked the story. bb gave him a hardkick right at his ear. ahahahah..

DS: mine @ tmc. same same abt 15 mins. Hb only called in later. twas a little uncomfi coz' sonographer say bb v active - hard to scan. but she was v kind to explain it may hurt a little , bear w it ya else can't see. generally she just press the scanning thing a bit harder at the belly to get a good scan. So, dun worry about DS. They know what to do and you will be fine.

BF :
v encouraging to c all mummies experience. tink positive tots. haha..can't help laughing when i read the 'i am a cow' :p

hippo: you make me feel so envious! I really loved H&M!
How I wish I can fly over and shop, but no, I'm stuck in Singapore until baby dunno how old. My husband doesn't even want to go hotel in Singapore for a staycation. He's paranoid about H1N1. He wants to make me take the flu vaccination because my gynae suggested it. I flatly refused it.

gal: your baby really knows where to kick!

hey, is anyone of you very emotional now? That day I watched a drama serial about running marathon, I cried until super cham. First time cry because the young girl gave birth while taking her exams. Then later, I cried when this woman lost her baby when her SIL rammed the car into her after being emotionally unbalanced, and I sobbed until really terrible. This is on top of me reading 8 Days in advance and knowing what will happen to the characters.

blink blink: i can't say for sure if babyplus works. Initially i was worried cos the 'pom pom' sound is really loud. And you know, sound is amplified through solid (skin) and liquid (waterbag), me a bit worried for baby's ear drums. But the website says ok leh and my gf's baby seems ok too...

Check with you gals, is it crazy to be going on a one week business trip to London on the 26th week?

siangjiao: i think 26 wk is still ok. check with ur gyne is the best. hubby going hk for jewellery show again in sep.. sianz.. i really hope i can go...