(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

flower4,
the maternity leave of 16wks are equal to 112days block...
so we mummies lugi in a sense that no makeup for the public holidays/sat/sundays that is in the 112days frame...

girly,
actually u should tried to book the morning driving test and not afternoon test...

when i took the driving test yrs ago...
heard ppl were talking that if u took afternoon test ...
likely u will not passed cos the tester got quota for the day...
dunno how true...

Gd morning! yappi.. today is Thu! one more day to wkends n my scan!

flower4.. hvnt yet... still thinking cos u say e material thin n very big size? but think most pro i'll still order la.. haha..

and no prolong of ML due to PH lo.. i counted b4 liao.. we will lugi 4 or 5 PH lo.. sob..

thinking of cordlife.. but ex ley.. n hb not very keen in it also..

cloudme.. i heard of e quota b4.. but not sure if it applies to morning or afternoon or nt.. but better to see which timing lesser traffic in the test area.. lesser cars easier to drive ma.. then shld hve higher chances of passing lo

girly u shld be taking school rite? Cos ur retest date is very fast..

kath,
but that time i took the test ...
the ppl there with me all passed (abt 7-8 ppl)except one ppl cos she made serious mistake...
so i somehow believe the "qouta" thing is true...
and i took my test at kaki bukit...
traffic there is heavy one loh no matter wat time cos industrial area...

hi all, with regards to the driving test. I managed to pass it on a sat morning, where the traffic is less heavy. heehee

Quota i dun think it exist. i think it depends on the tester mood. maybe morning mood is better. haahaa

wah.. kaki bukit heavy traffic with heavy vehicles ley.. scary.. but heard that passing rate there is higher compare to bukit batok..

Hi all! Have been reading the posts! My first post here!
Mummy's Nick: kang
EDD : 30th Sept
BB# : 2
BB's Gender : TBC
BB's Name : still thinking..
Gynae : Fong Yang
Hospital : TMC

Flower4

Busy lor , still got to deal with overseas offices. Very stress.

Cloubme
How do you count the 16weeks maternity leave. Because when i go to the website it says eg 8weeks x 5 working days = 40days leave

So i thought is 16 x 5 = 80days leave exclude sat & sun . Includes public holidays that falls on weekdays.

Do let me know cause i thought is 80days only. I don't wan to lugi cause now my company no proper HR liao. So i must know my benefits.

hui chern,
ur cal is based on flex mat leave...

Example: Number of Days that can be taken flexibly

If Mrs Tan is on a 5-day work week, the number of days of maternity leave that could be
taken flexibly is computed as follows:
Number of working days per week x 8 weeks
5 x 8 = 40 days
Thus, she could, after 8 weeks of maternity leave,
i. return to work on a half-day scheme; or
ii. be on a shortened work-week e.g. 2 or 3 days
until the flexible leave of 40 days is exhausted. Whichever form it takes, both the employer
and employee must agree to the arrangement.

<font color="0000ff">if taken full 4 mths at a go = 16wks block...
7*16 = 112days...include sat and sun and all PH

for my #1 only 3mths mat leave
so i took the whole block 12wks at a go so is only 7*12=84 days</font>

Can i join this thread?

Thank Ling for updating -

Mummy's Nick: Happykae
EDD : 12.9.2009
BB# : Expecting #3
BB's Gender : Princess?
BB's Name : Bb's name if any so far? Not yet
Gynae : Dr Kowa
Hospital : Mt.E

Hi kang &amp; wifey
I stay near both of you, Tiong Bahru area near market

Hello everyone! Did not have a gd evening &amp; morning at work. Shall not talk abt it b/c no point making myself upset.

Wow, some new pple.. Welcome welcome

re : ML

Hmm yeah, we will lugi quite a few PH b/c of the yr-end PHs. Bobian lah. I shall not think abt it, just enjoy my time at home with Babylet away from sickening work haha.

cloudme

In a nutshell, stupid top mgmt with no brains making my life miserable lah. Hiyah, nvm I shall think abt happy things.

cloudme

Oh thanks for the caln of the flexible ML. I dinno that the remaining non-compulsory 8 weeks is calculated like that one. Makes sense, bsaically no earning from taking ur leave flexibly b/c they base on no of working days per week.

Jul
Re: bb clothings...

what i have bought for bb are the thin ones long sleeves for the hospital stay...each pc only $2..cos they sell 5pc for $10...

so not heartpain if get dirty...

Hi Jul,
cheer up - some company are like this. recently has a frd who is preggie and management issued a letter said "paid cut of 30%" she has no choice also sign.

jul,
yah loh...if they cal like that for flex mat leave...
might as well i clear it 1 shot...
cos yr end and i already cater some leaves at the end of the yr...
hopefully no need to go back to work till a new yr start...

cloudme

Oh.. where'd u get them from? How many pcs do I need for this? Then also need pants right? I'm quite confused with all the types of clothes avail.

1) Got short-sleeved, long-sleeved, sleeveless.
2) Got the button &amp; the tie string type.
3) Got the normal tops vs the buttons at the butt type
4) Got whole pc rather than separate tops &amp; bottoms.
5) Got those that come with feet &amp; w/o.

Confused...

happykae

Wah! 30% pay cut? Target preggie women leh.

cloudme

I'm also taking all at one shot. No pt coming back &amp; gog off lah, so disruptive.

jul,

1) Got short-sleeved, long-sleeved, sleeveless. get the long sleeve and some short sleeve --sleeveless is out for newborn
2) Got the button &amp; the tie string type. get buttons one--string type..string will run end up no string to tie ***if u forget to tie the string ends
3) Got the normal tops vs the buttons at the butt type get the tops and bottoms when they older
4) Got whole pc rather than separate tops &amp; bottoms. if u scare their belly button got wind --go for romper(single pc one)
5) Got those that come with feet &amp; w/o. if u get rompers w/o leggings than get few bottoms with feet covers...

those i happen to get at NTUC those bin sale..
sometimes sheng song have...
sometimes i also see at those JL expo sale...
u may find those plain looking so u won't even wanna get them...
for me its ok for newborn...and i have keep them for #2...

BB Clothes

No need to prepare clothes for bb in hospital la. They will dress the bb and wrap them up neatly. All diapers, wipes, clothing will be provided. Only need to prepare things for ourselves.

I plan to buy half dozen of smallest size and another half dozen next size bigger. Button in front is easier to change, strings will tend to twirl and entangle after a few wash. Also baby will outgrow the clothes v fast, so no need to buy too many sets. Just that they easily puke their milk, will need a few change.

There is a wholesale shop that sell bb clothes in half dozens quite cheaply. The place is near Guan Yin temple, below one of the HDB blocks.

wifey,
in ur case no need to buy...but for some hosp...
like ESH need to get clothings for bb...
they dun provide clothings for bbs...

Re: BB clothes

Yup, agree with Wifey. Baby will be dressed in a top and swaddled in the hospital so no need to bring clothes for bb at all. They will even give special "go-home clothes" for bb to wear when discharged from hosp.

Wifey

Actually half a dozen probably not enough. Babies spit up milk quite often, so you change them at least twice a day. Also there are pee/poop accidents, then BM overflow and leak onto baby, etc etc.

Unless you also let them wear the larger size also, or wash clothes everyday, I don't think its enough leh.

But yah, the string kind is damn troublesome. They move a bit then come off already. Buttons better. Altho I intend to let #2 wear rompers all the way like #1. Protect the tummy lah, cos I get a bit icky about touching the dried up belly cord. Always very scared i'll accidentally make it come off.

oic, din know abt that.

For me is TMC, i dont need to bring anything for bb. Upon discharge, they gave a nice towel-wrap (dunno wat is called). But i vain, brought a pink colour one for my gal when discharged.

The embarrassing thing is after i sign my bb out from nursery rm, bb started to cry, then I realised she poo-ed. Being a first time mother, I din know how to clean and change diaper. Nurses were busy at nursery also. I simply wrap her up and bring her home. When i reached home, first thing I told confinement lady bb need a change and I just looked...ha ha

wifey,
haha...u r so funny...i tink if it's me i will oso be at a loss wat to do!

i tink i intend to get a dozen of bb clothes...do u all tink is enough? i dont hv any hand me dwns so everything hv to buy new ones...

Hi I'm here to join in the thread...

Mummy's Nick: sotong80
EDD : 05 Sept 2009
BB# : Expecting #2
BB's Gender : TBC
BB's Name : Still thinking
Gynae : DR Kenneth Edward Lee
Hospital : Mount Alvernia

yes yes.. TMC will have a bb T shirt and e hooded towel when going hme.. quite nice actually

a dozen i think u need to wash at least alternative days.. if u intent to wash everyday then a dozen of bb clothes shld be enuf..

cloudme
i also need to bring baby clothes leh. my hosp where got so nice to prepare baby's clothes for u? in fact when i admit, nurse will start asking for clothes!

mamato6js,
yah lor...
the hosp i am going also asked me to give them those bb clothes after i deliver..
which hosp u going?

i only know SGH, TMC give bb vests...
others i not sure liao...

jeslyn,

i suggest dun buy too many NB size clothes cause bb outgrown very fast and u won't know what size they should be wearing even they just arrive to the world.

I had 2 friends...their bb not very heavy weighing abt 3kg but they had to wear S size already..then before their full month they switched to M size already...

take my gal for instance...when she's first born, she was only 2.6kg so small..wearing new norn clothes but on her full month she got to wear s size le... just one month...

we dun know how fast or how slow they will grow.. horizontally or vertically...hahaha

these days so busy with work, don't have time to post much.

Just wanted to inform first time mummies to prepare booties and mittens to bring to hospital. Most hospitals don't provide.

I also prefer buttons to strings for baby's clothes. Easier to dress up.

If you are getting confinement lady, they will wash baby's clothes everyday so small size clothes don't need many pieces.

Also, I bought 3 pairs of pants from Coosfashion. Now waiting for delivery. Hope they are nice.

kath,
hmmm...
think all hosp under parkway health group...
will not provide bb clothings...

cos they want u to get involve with ur bb...
connect with bb by getting their clothings etc...

mama to 5js

yes that's what I thought. Glen E doesn't provide baby's clothes right? Actually I can't remember. I remember I brought booties and mittens. I thought they provide baby's clothes during the stay but you need to bring a set to change him/her into for bringing home plus you also need to bring your own receiving blanket. They only give a Glen E T-shirt as a gift in case you didn't bring.

I heard one of the hosp (TMC or Alvernia) even give a free bathtub.

ger2809

Yeah! The TMC hooded towel my boy still using now. He like to put the hood on his head then can walk out of the shower without towel dropping onto floor.

Actually what I always feel is, bigger is better than smaller. Big still can wear, just a bit more roomy lor. But too small... jialat liao.

Most of the rompers I bought for my #1 were 3-6 mths. 0-3 mths I think less than 5 pcs.

mamijoan

Don't think it's TMC. Cos my #1 we only got this neon yellow diaper bag with johnsons &amp; johnsons toiletries and the hooded towel.

I think it's Mt A cos I remember we were comparing "goodies" from our respective hospitals.