(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

this is what i extracted from baby bonus website. oh yes, i think it mentioned there that the ability to withdraw outstanding balance in cash only applicable to children born in 2001-2007, so all of u here will not be able to do so.

Unused Savings in the Children Development Account (CDA)

What happens to unused savings in the CDA?

The usused balance in your child's CDA will be transferred to his or her Post-Secondary Education Account (PSEA) in the year your child turns 7 years of age. You may continue to contribute to the PSEA until your child turns 18 years of age and receive the Government's matching contributions subject to the combined CDA/PSEA matching contribution cap of up to $6,000 each for the first and second child, $12,000 each for the third and fourth child and $18,000 each for the fifth and subsequent child. The funds in the PSEA can be used to pay fees for post-secondary education in Singapore for your child and his or her siblings. The PSEA is under the purview of the Ministry of Education (MOE). More information on the PSEA can be found at MOE's website at: http://www.moe.gov.sg.

For children born from 2001-2007, the trustees will receive an option by November in the year the child turns 6 years of age to choose to transfer the CDA balance into the PSEA or to withdraw the amount in cash.

Keke regarding hair growth..

I also noticed hair growth at increased rate. Worse, my belly is also more hairy! I used to tweeze but now it's too painful. So I'm just trimming the long hair lor.

blessedmommy

Oooooh no wonder they say you can. My #1 born in 2007, but last time #1 BB bonus never give CDA one.

So have you decided to withdraw in cash or transfer to PSEA? Personally I feel the PSEA don't really get used much, so I have intentions of somewhat depleting the CDA balance by using it on my #1 and #2 childcare/kindergarten.

How did your buns turn out? I'm quite tickled by the idea of a woman with bun in oven (ie: pregnant) and she's baking buns for her other children. :p

JUL
dun worry abt it. it will clear with medication. just take care to keep the area clean.

shelled
hubby said to take everything out in cash. still a long time to go before my kid goes to jc u know.. no point put there so long wait u end up forgetting haha....

my buns v soft n moist. hv not been baking for a while ever since i got preg! i baked abt 20 now left 8.

RE: baby bonus

i read till blur, u mean #1 also have meh???
my #1 dun have CDA ler.. i thot CDA is for #2 then after 2008 then #1 will have???

Re: Baby Bonus

From Aug 2008 onwards, all #1 babies will get CASH GIFT OF $4K and CDA account with govt matching MAXIMUM OF $6k.

All #1 babies born before Aug 2008 don't get the CDA. So kiki, you are right. Don't get confused. *LOL*

::

I think a lot of mommies confused cos the Baby Bonus scheme has changed a few times since its first implementation. So go and read IN DETAIL at the website lah.

If you are a first-time MTB now, then your BB will get $4k + CDA .

blessedmommy

The buns sound yummy! One day I also want a large oven so I can bake stuff!

shelled: u do brazillian wax too?! which branch u go to?? i tink some branches e therapists simply tok too much! keep intro their IPL package to me.. urgh..

i din experience any sudden hair growth leh.. but mayb coz i wax frequently..?

cho

I have waxing package @ STRIP. But I follow my therapist around one. Now she's attached @ Wheelock branch. She knows not to sell IPL or whatever nonsense to me lah. Already sign up $700 package liao, what more they want? hahaha

I also wax frequently, but i swear my pubic hair grow a lot faster now lor. Even the leg hair and everything. I notice everytime I preggy, my hair everywhere all grow damn fast.

Goody goody. I hate my stupid short hair now. Hopefully by the time i give birth, my hair will be long long liao. HAHAHA.

oh.. which therapist is it? ya me too.. signed up e waxing package with them.. i'm hooked on Brazilian now..

hmmm.. my hair growth nt v obvious leh..

My therapist is Bowie.

I tried a few and one of them was terrible! She kept burning me with the hot wax and she even left a small piece of wax attached to my skin! I had severe ingrowns after she wax for me lor.

When Bowie did it for me, I felt I had finally found the right therapist and so I signed up for package on the spot! So far I recommended a few ppl to her already, and they are quite happy with her service. She will suggest IPL, but if you say no, she won't push further anymore, unlike some other therapists.

As part of Singapore push to create a more compassionate society, The Singapore Kindness Council is producing a series of photography adverts to promote kindness in our everyday life. One of the adverts shows that we can help by giving up our seats in the trains and buses to mothers who are expecting.

As such, we are calling all expecting mothers to come forward and be part of our photography shoot next Tues 10th or Wed 11th March. the photography shoot will take 4 hours long and selected mothers will be reimbursed with S$1000 for their contribution. Interested parties pls call our casting director Delvin Lee at 8233 7533 to make an appointment.

hi mtbs.. read somewhere tat in week 12, sexual organs would have started to form.. anyone in week 12 noes sex of baby already?

i dun tink i can tahan e suspense any longer! gosh.. got a v strong feeling it's a boy sumhow..

oso, i'm now in wk 10.. i still feel nausea everyday alt it's much better and more manageable.. but once a while i'll still puke.. esp if i eat too much at 1 shot n cant digest..

normal? i tot by right supposed to stop puking altogether liao leh

shelled,jul, mam5js,

oh dear, i blind, din see. thanks manz. at least half year get 1k hor.

i thrifty liao lor, i will not buy cots for baby lioa. baby will sleep on the floor with mattress. no fancy stuff like sterlizer la & etc. will replace towel napkin for diapers..

really need to thrifty lioa.. as unexpected things happen after i preggie

flower4

I think u are just tired lah. The moment your BB is born, then u register his/her birthcert and apply for the Baby bonus, the $1k will arrive in abt 3 wks (usually comes earlier).

Then when your bb turn 6 mths old, there will be another $1k lor.

SO don't worry too much ok? Stress is not good for the baby. I heard come out will be a frustrated baby who cries a lot. :p

cho

Week 10 still a bit early to stop puking leh. I am 15wks liao, even know its a boy already. I still puking on and off lor.

The MS only stopped LAST WEEK (14wks). Endure ok? Very soon will be over liao.

shelled,

thank you ah.

the only thing i cant thrifty is confinement lady.

my mum health no good. i need to get confinement lady.

i really have to recuperate myself b4 i go work, now i the sole income earner :p..

Hello everyone!

I'm new here and would have liked to say hi much earlier but DH and I decided to keep our mouths shut till the FTS was over. Alamak! Was terribly hard not to breathe a single word to anybody.. even to our parents. Anyway, congratulations to everyone! Seems that all of us are in or entering the 2nd trimester! Sigh of relief!

My EDD is on 7th Sep and it's our first child. I went for the FTS last wed and always thought that the sonographer measures only the NT. This sonographer was either very on or he was very thorough. He was like.. see, this is the bladder, here's the intestines.. the skull and spine look good. Very impressed! He even did a dopppler sonogram.

Baby's 6.5cm at 12W2D, so quite a long body with an above-average-sized head but with seemingly short legs..according to the measurements..hehheh. Blood results are not out yet though. Fingers crossed. Oh yeah, NT thickness is 1.6mm. Has anyone gotten their risk calculation yet??

BTW how do you do bold in the message?? Thanks!!d

flower
bun recipe v simple. bread flour, sugar, butter, eggs, yeast, warm water, milk powder. then put whatever filling u want. this is the basic bun recipe. if u want the details, u can pm me.

delfine
welcome! wow how come u have such detailed scan? i think most of us only do the NT and oscars or triple test. my NT thickness is 1.35mm. its normal as long as below 2mm at 12 weeks

talking about baby bonus... i gave birth in July last year, missed out all the goodies that were announced in August

i went to NT scan yesterday at TMC. lucky there were not many pple and bb was quite cooperative, left TMC within 30 min. bb was not moving at first, after a while, bb started to be very active and "jumpy", and put hand into mouth. so funny

waiwai,

was the NT scan any different from the u/s scans at your gynae's clinic? or was it much much clearer as in you can see the baby much clearer. did they tell u the NT thickness on the spot? how many wks are you now? and how much did the NT scan cost?

sorry so many questions, i'd be doing mine on sat, so bery curious.

waxing is ok, just have to tahan coz we're more sensitive to pain when pregnant. I went for brazilian just before delivery coz I wanted to be neat during confinement. With lochia and not being able to take proper shower, i didn't want the extra hair down there to diao any dirt

delfine

\b {delfine}
Just remove the space after 'b'. If wanna change colour, just replace 'b' with the colour, eg red

<font color="ff0000">baby</font>
\red {baby}

morning ladies.

I'm in my wk11 and just went for my gynae visit yesterday. sigh, lost 1kg but tummy already growing so big. My gynae assured me it's ok. Prob cos of my MS.

Anyway, when I told my gynae I'll be going for a road trip into Malaysia, she gave me some pills to take (just in case I have spotting or cramps). So for those out there who are intending to travel, you may want to ask your gynae for some medication too.

Hi everybody

Long time no "see"! Busy at work so I just read but din post!

Most of the mummies here did the NT scan and that sounds v exciting! May I know hw long is the scan?
Is it as long as the detailed scan?

How's ur MS too? Mine getting better and I felt more active at work too, keke..

JZ, welcome! That is v impressive, can see bladder and instestines! Where did u do the scan?
Did u see the gynae afterwards?

flower, at 1st i also tended to overbuy then until now i find is actually unnecessary.
For my 1st 1, I used to buy mamapoko and pampers active when she's a newborn but actually v wasted. For this 1, I think
I will buy NTUC ones instead as they tended to poo more than a few times per day and need to change a lot.
I actually just intended to buy a manual avent pump, a few bottles, some pyjamas, diapers will be sufficient..wahahaha

all mtbs,

Sigh...I dun be able to post here anymore as long as I work in tis lousy company of mine.... all my work r done....nothing for mi to do liao...they r gg to tink of excuses to get rid of mi sooner or later plus I am preg... sianz...tis is life bah....when ecomony nt gd... difficult to secure jobs...

oh yeah!!
if u wan bold + colour, juz use
\b {\red {XXX} }
remove all spaces..

haha.. sorry, today on mc so v bo liao..

Yes, work's a pain for me too. Gotta deal with irresponsible people all around me. Plus boss doesn't seem to be very understanding. In fact, my team mates were quite willing to take over some of my work load coz they understand the difficulty of pregnancy but boss refused to take their suggestions. End up, he did a portfolio switch and my workload wasn't reduced. Gotta learn to do new stuff some more. Haiz!!

jeslyn

U were asking abt yeast infection right?

My GP (a lady heehee) checked the discharge &amp; cfm-ed that it's yeast. She gave me 2 options for medication. One is a cream that she will insert for me on the spot &amp; I can go home. Or a tablet that I go home &amp; insert myself b4 bedtime. I opted for the tablet.

She explained that yeast infection is v common b/c of all the hormonal changes &amp; it's nothting serious. But also cannot just ignore it lah, need to treat it &amp; clear it up.

haha it doesn't work. forget it.

anyway, hi moms/moms to be!!

I developed a really mean backache yesterday. ahyo i was wriggling in pain for a good half of the day!

Huh.. speaking of backache

<e got backache tdy coz yest I was sleeping in uncomfortable position coz I was worried the tablet would flow out *grr*

mamato5

Haha as if I cud have. B/f preggie, I wud consider propping my butt with a pillow, but now.. haha

But I slept on my back lor, &amp; turned &amp; tossed a lot coz uncomfortable. Sigh...

susana,
yala, i will follow kampong style liao for my #1.

funny76,

if they terminate you , u get 4months salary , if your edd is within 6months. find out more on m.o.m website.

mamajoan,

me soo fedup i take urgent leave today. i tot gg to work although i have sleepless nite thorough yesterday, no sleep at all, but tink of my stupid boss.

my stupid boss oso nt understanding one. my colleague sick when she come back, ask me not to pressure or stress her about pending work. but when i back from mc. my boss pressing me. WowKow, her sick is sick, my sick is not sick

Jul04,
get well soon ok

Thanks, flower

Hmm my big boss same attitude. I can work until die, then his only regret is that he needs to find someone else to do the work. Jialat hor?