(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

Aiyah I like sugar

caspinall

Fwah, Paris!! I wonder when in my life will I be able to go Paris... *LOL*

jul_04

Dunno leh... Some of my other friends no problem with cocoa butter. But it makes me itch like hell.

jul04,thanks, i wonder how the baby bonus works ?

u noe wat, my colleague mc continuously 2week plus, guess wat, al l her works come to my table..... nearly breakdown. how can a person get away jus like tat. mc mc mc, then pple clear their works, come back free.

life is so unfair.:'(

flower
there is a cash bonus too. but v lil lah for first time moms. but better than nothing. last time only for 3rd child and above!

flower4

My dear, got cash bonus of $4k (given in 4 installments). You never read properly lah!

When I had my #1, the cash bonus only $3k (also in 4 installments) and no dollar-for-dollar baby account some more. I thinking put more $$ in the acct for my #2 so both my #1 and #2 can use the money from there for their childcare/kindergarten.

caspinall,

don't worry too much. It is safe to travel in 2nd trimester. I travelled quite a bit in my 1st pregnancy too, up to 30 weeks. Some advise for you. If you get motion sickness or still having MS, can ask the doc for some pills, there is a special one for preggies, the usual Dramamine is not safe for preggies.

Keep your luggage lean as it is not good to carry too heavy things and get help with your luggage as far as possible.

Make sure you eat from hygienic places but I guess Paris should be quite safe.

Don't forget to bring your gynae's emergency numbers along just in case you need any medical advise!

Enjoy your trip. After I had my #1, I hardly travel anymore coz I can't bear to leave him at home. The only holiday we went was to HK when he was 1 1/2.

flower4

Yeah shelled is right. U get $4k in 4 6mthly installments. Then the other $6k is dollar for dollar. Whatever it is, at least u get $4k. If u r thrifty abt ur antenatal care, gynae, get 4-bedded room, get hand me downs etc, I think $4k can make do one.

caspinall

Speaking of PAris, I rem that was the first time in my life I had Nutella crepe! Yummy! But I was too poor & too chicken to try snails lah haha.

Flower4
The dollar to dollar will only match when the child is 6yr ? So meaning we cannot touch the money till then ? This is my No.2. DD last time dun have this . But from experience, the last 2 yrs old is the most siong , where we need more $$.

Me very blur can help me clarify this ?

Mama25J
How much is your message ?

hui chern

From what I read, u can touch the money immed. After 6yr old is when the acct will freeze & the money will be transferred to those Edsave acct.

BABY BONUS / CDA ACCT
yes can use the CDA acct to offset for sibling fees. but only for registered preschools and registered organisations. its much better now in fact because i can even use it to pay for my pd consultation fees. my #3 baby bonus has been used to pay for my eldest kindy fees and their pd charges and i still have 2.2k left to top up till he turns 6 in nov this year. me v expert with baby bonus. shoot me any questions u want :p

hui chern
my massage lady charged abt 600 (roughly) for 2 weeks if im not wrong. i cant really remember, but she only does the east side. if not, she charges u for transport as well. im not sure if she has upped her charges not. need to call and ask her soon.

regd baby bonus, after ur child turns 6, the remaining money u can either transfer to psac or take out in cash. psac (i hope i got the abbreviations right) is post secondary acct, is different from edusave. post sec acct can only be used to offset tertiary and uni fees. wah so many more years to go till they go tertiary leh, and interest so little, i think i will take the cash out.

mamato5

Oh issit? I tot they will trasnfer to Edusave & not be able to cash out the money leh. But I did just briefly scan thru the BBBonus webbie quite a few weeks ago, so I cud have rem-ed wrongly.

I do wonder why only OCBC & Stanchart banks tho?

mamato5Js,

oh..the money can take out as cash after 6yrs? i didn't know that, didn't read anything about what happens after 6 yrs, the website info like not very comprehensive. but i doubt that money can last for 6 yrs. keke.. the $ for $ match is capped at 6K isn't it? it says we can slowly put up to 6K before the child turns 6. so does it mean that if we one shot can put 6K into the CDA, the govt will immediately release the 6K to match the top up?

Mama25js

So meaning the baby bonus for no.2 capped at 6k. So once govt give u 6K , they won't give any more right. So like what jul04 mentioned. If got 6k, just put in then got 12K and still be able to use the money as and when we need it ? I'm i right ?

JUL
hee.. think u read wrongly. i also always think its to edusave. they have made several changes to this CDA, its a good thing actually. i dunno why only stanchart and ocbc, last time only POSB. now with the privatisation of CDA banks, i think there are better benefits that we didnt have past few years. for eg, now i can go to paediatrician and pay with my baby bonus atm card and its like the govt paying half of my kids medical and its really good to know that esp my pd charges r v exp!

waiwai,

can update after you do your NT scan? i'd be doing mine this wkend. so wondering what to expect.

hui chern,

yes, if u put 6, govt will top up 6. you can use the 12k for approved institutions. payment usually via giro or atm. but u cannot suka suka withdraw cash from the cda.

actually come to think of it, the website is quite comprehensive. earlier i said its not, its my bad, i juz skimmed thru 1st page and never read in detail the FAQs.

jul,

but it also says that some places where there are Nets which allow the use of the baby bonus ATM card, there may be a 'surcharge' leh. :/

mamato5Js,

do u know normally how much is the surcharge (if any)?

kiki

Issit? I din read THAT detailed leh. Anyway I dun care lah. I put in $6k, they gimme $6k, that's all tat matters to me.

And mamato5 said can withdraw as cash when hit age 6, so no loss to me also haha.

wow, so many updates to Baby Bonus? I didn't know about all these. Only know I got $3K the last time, didn't bother about those money later since that is still a while more to go. Let me go check out the website too.

This is really embarrassing...can I cut/shave our pubic hair (the "beard" above our vagina, it like grows soooo much..)

yaya...i realised my pubic hairs suddenly grows so much and fast while im preggie now!

is it safe for us to go for bikini waxing now?

KIKI
i hv not heard of that leh. u cant use it at atm machines anyway cos u not allowed to withdraw b4 the acct is closed. only able to use at some clinics

mamato5Js,

no, i dun mean withdraw from ATM machines, i mean NETs transactions at selected approved institutions or even giro.

i cut and paste from the FAQ here. this is what it says lor... so i'm juz wondering if you've had any experience and what the extra charges are like (if any). its ok, no worries... i'm juz curious thats all.

Do I need to pay the Approved Institution an administrative or transaction fee for using the CDA to pay for my child's/children's expenses?

Approved Institutions (AIs) may incur an adminstrative/transaction cost when they allow parents to pay for expenses through the CDA. Some AIs may absorb the cost while others may charge their customers for the cost.

1) Baby Bonus. i think is worth putting in 6k in the account. No doubt we cannot draw the money, we can always use the money in the account to pay for watever programs that our child sign up. And they can also use it for Edusave. If u recall, all the edusave money(when we were younger) is being transfer to our CPF account.so our child is the one to gain it.

2)Hair
Yes, i also realized it has grown alot. i dun dare to go for waxing. Even i used to go for that before pregnancy. Cos i think it is not safe. Personal opinion.

can our most experienced mamto5Js help to give some advice on our HAIR question if you don't mind?
I have the urge to cut shorter hehe or how about we tie it with a rubber band haha

hahaha!! u all v funny leh! i hv never experiences a surge in hair growth down under! but if its bothering u, do shave, trim or tie it! as for waxing, i dun encourage lah. esp brazilian wax. its painful u knoow!! and the wax they use is so hot! and not use if there r pregnancy unsafe chemicals in the components. bear with it lah ok. if ur husb never complain then v good already!! hahaha

oh yes btw, i have frd who go for waxing in their third trimester when they almost due. i think that one ok cos baby is fully formed already. at most u risk gg into labour soon after lah hehe...

kiki
so far i only used it to pay school fees and to pay doctor fees. my pd never charged me additional charges and i didnt even know some places charge u!

yes, I've heard of ppl going for waxing near delivery date coz if you go for C-section, they will need to shave off the top part too. Might as well do it nicely first. Personally, I do not do Brazilian wax. Just trim it myself especially before going swimming. Otherwise hair peep out from the bikini, quite unsightly.

mamato5,

so the max is only 6k that we need to put in? must put in at one shot or can like monthly put into the account?

haha... i also wanted to ask abt the hair thing sometime back but i paiseh.. i also noticed the sudden growth in the hair leh... then dont know wat to do with it... hehehe

Crystal> you can slowly put in as and when u want to... whenever u put in, govt will top it up with the same amount...

but not sure is there a monthly cut off date or something?? how long does it take for them to deposit the top up??

As part of Singapore push to create a more compassionate society, The Singapore Kindness Council is producing a series of photography adverts to promote kindness in our everyday life. One of the adverts shows that we can help by giving up our seats in the trains and buses to mothers who are expecting.

As such, we are calling all expecting mothers to come forward and be part of our photography shoot next Tues 10th or Wed 11th March. the photography shoot will take 4 hours long and selected mothers will be reimbursed with S$1000 for their contribution. Interested parties pls call our casting director Delvin Lee at 8233 7533 to make an appointment.

Re: Baby Bonus

Confirm the money is cannot draw out as CASH after the kid is 6. It will automatically be converted to Edusave funds. Thereafter if got leftover will be converted into CPF funds.

Re: Brazilian Waxing

I've gone for waxing twice since finding out I was preggy lor. I cannot take it lah. It's become a routine grooming habit already.

Although my therapists at STRIP refuse to do the Hoochie Coochie Mask for me that I love so much. (It's a mask for your down there, after they wax you.) They say the ingredients may not be 100% suitable for pregnant skin, so they refuse me no matter how much I plead.

According to my gynae, no problem to do waxing as long as you can tahan the increased pain lor. Seriously, last time wax i also don't bat an eyelid. Nowadays it's damn painful. :p

went to bake buns for my kids thats why late to reply

shelled
u sure cant? cos i called up the mcys hotline last week and they told me so. i was concerned cos my boy is turning 6 end of the year and thats what they told me. before that i also thought its straight to edusave then to cpf thats why i was wondering maybe new policy.

kiki
yes. u can put anytime u want. govt will match ur contribution the following mth