(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

kiki

My gynae also said ok. After all, better than to scratch until the skin becomes raw right? Then sometimes the eczema forms wet blisters, gross!

Mine is on the face, finger of right hand, back, & now seems to be on breasts & tummy *arrghh*

jul,

gosh, your case of eczema sounds alot worse then mine.

hey, reg your checkup at the GP. i think u better go straight to gynae. not sure if GP willing to check there leh. later he refer u to see gynae, you end up paying twice more. but if you're not itching and no pain, then i think probably nothing leh. but if you dun feel assured better to go and check lor. by the way, will yeast infection affect the pregnancy in any way? coz i from time to time also got a bit of that creamy discharge leh. but i checked with my gynae and described the discharge, he seems to think its nothing.

kiki

I think the yeast infection seems like no big deal one also. But I think if u get it, shd go get some med to clear it up right? Coz with yeast there, how can we have a "normal" life?

blessedmommy

Eh, I am not the one who describes it as cream cheese! If you google for yeast infection, most of the medical practitioners use "cream cheese" as a description of the thickness of the discharge.

But in both my cases, I did not realise anything amiss. It was only during checkup with my gynae that she told me I had yeast infection. So actually I also dunno what to do.

But if you inform your GP that you are pregnant, she should be able to give you pregnancy-safe meds.

jul,

congrats that you are free from thal~ abt yeast infection, think better go to the gyne and have a test done on the discharge. i never been to gp for such check up b4... thought its faster to go to gyne hehe

no time to catch up with the past 2 days post, just glanced through only.

Just to update my check up last Friday. Baby is now 5cm. Nuchal thickness 1.2mm so pretty safe (within 3 mm is safe). Baby was very active, kept moving during scan and put the hand in the mouth.

Oh, just when I though my MS is better, this morning puke twice again. Gosh, hope its not going to last till 15-16 weeks like #1.

Saw some posts regarding post natal massage. I did not do any massage the last time coz heard that the wrap is very uncomfortable. Was wondering how to bear with it while breastfeeding so didn't bother. Don't think I'll do it either this time.

mamato5J

lucky you, can just lie down to bf. Somehow, I cannot manage that position. Maybe breast too small, cannot adjust nicely to fit baby. Plus my baby had bad reflux, had to feed him in an inclined position and carry him for 1/2 hour before laying him down. Was really tiring. Sometimes, I also bf until fall asleep but so far, never dropped baby, keke.

Agree, breast size doesn't correspond to sucess of bf. I have friends who have big breasts but still no milk. But I do think that generally, big breasts means more milk leh, plus you must be hardworking and pump regularly, and eat more. I didn't have a lot of milk but luckily my son also didn't drink a lot, so just enough for him.

Jul
happy for you that all is clear.

Don't think I can post very often this week. Quite a hectic week.

Can I check with all TBMs here. We r supposed to not drink too much coke/pepsi but can we drink other gassy drinks? My mum and hubby ban me TOTALLY from all gassy drinks! And I dun like Jia jia liang cha, barley, chrysanthemum and I can't take lime/lemon tea, then what can we drink?!??! Green tea ok?

Actually my gynea says ok too but my mum says her friend drink gassy drink during prenancy and baby born with water in his lungs. Everyone says it's due to the gassy drink she had so my mum scare and ban me from ALL gassy drinks. I stay home so whenever I have meals, it's with my family... can't escape from their watchful eyes! Is Green tea considered tea with caffeine?

itsy

Actually is can drink lah, but you when you get to the 3rd trimester, you'll probably really want to cut down. Cos the gassiness will make you bloat and feel very uncomfortable.

All the gas is really not good for your digestive system.

Bitsy

The reason for not drinking too much gassy drink is because of the high sugar content and too much of it may result in gestational diabetes. Well of course the old folks will have their other reasons for banning. Barley, chrysanthemum, jia jia are liang and I generally avoid these. Green tea I still drink a little since it is not too sweet and caffeine content not too high. Why don't you drink diluted fruit juices, ribena or honey? I do that when I really cannot stand drinking plain water.

jul
hey im having quite thick yellowish cheese type of discharge now too...been on & off since im preggie...the gynae juz gave me a tub of cream for fungal infection and apply twice a day. After i apply for a few days it will go off but will cum back again a few days lata...so irritating...

do u tink i sld get the gynae to do a test on me or wat? the gynae told me she will not insert any pill on me cos she's afraid will 'harm' the baby...

My colleague drank a lot of coke during her pregnancy. Her baby came out with dried, wrinkled and flaky skin. The massage lady told her it was cos of the coke she drank. But these are prob old wives' tale, so do listen with a pinch of salt.

haha, i think most babies have wrinkled and flaky skin especially when they are born early (before EDD). And possibly because mummy didn't eat enough so baby too skinny. They usually fill up during the later part of the pregnancy. Too much coke and gassy drink is no good whether or not you are pregnant in the first place.

dried, wrinkled and flaky skin and water in lungs... think I better skip the coke... better be safe than sorry. Sigh... have to stick to water, fruit juices and ribena. Honey makes me cough.

Then again, my 'problem' seems negligible compared to some TBMs here. Hope princessxiaomei will feel better soon.

Agree that babies are born with wrinkled and flaky skin but my colleague's baby's skin was really quite extreme. Also when her massage lady saw the baby, she straightaway asked "You drink a lot of coke during your pregnancy right?". My poor colleague was so upset and for her #2, she totally kept off gassy drinks. Her #2 skin was normal. But then again, this is not scientifically proven lah.

mummies with eczema,
i was prescribed piriton tablets by the gyne last friday. it has drowsy effect, so can help me sleep better on nights when the itch gets inbearable. haven't tried it so far, cos pharmacy was so crowded, and i didnt want to queue for med on friday. gyne kept saying that it's safe (and even safer than the non-drowsy zrytec that i'm currently taking). my eczema's quite serious, so most of the visits to the gyne are dominated by conversations abt my skin condition (for first pregnancy, and likely for this pregnancy too).

bitsy,
how about fruit juices, ribena, milk or milo? you can try taking these instead. cos these are definately healthier than gassy drinks.

sandwich
piriton is safe for preg whereas if u read the labels on zyrtec, it states that we shld avoid it during our first trimester. i took piriton for my very bad sinus when i had #3. its an antihistamine so has drowsy effects.

RE:COKE
i agree with mamijoan leh. whether or not u r preg, gassy drinks is no good. most importantly the sugar content being very high. the rest of the effects r not proven but anyway its always good to be on the safe side. i take soft drinks too once in a while when i really need my fix. most of the time i dun crave for them. my sil is a coke fanatic. she needs her daily dose even when not preg. when she was preg she drank few glasses daily plus coffee! her daughter came out ok leh, somemore got a bronze tan on the tips of her hair. i teased her that its because of her overdose of coke

mamato5Js,
i took 3 zrytec tablets within the first trimester (during the first few weeks when i didnt know i was preg yet). but guess since i'm given piriton now, will switch to piriton completely. but will only take on occasions when it's really itchy.

I'm a coke junkie too.. perhaps instead of the whole can, I'll just take 1/4 or 1/2 can every other day. I'm really sick of juice and water and milk! Tho' I know these are the healthy drink.

Just to share, my friend drank a can of coke b4 bf her toddler, she said after that her kid was v hyper and can't sleep. She said it was funny to see her kid acting so hyper n sugar-rushed that time but from then on, she stopped taking coke.

itsy,

why dun u drink MUG instead of coke? when i really crave for gassy drinks, i drink this instead, coz no caffaine.

mamato5Js,
steriod creams work only to a certain extent for me. my trigger nowadays is most likely stress. so when i feel stressed, i will be so itchy that the creams don't really work after they've been applied.

sandwich
oh yes! stress is a factor. and once u start scratching u wont stop till u see the blood and all right? i was like that too. but surprisingly, once preg everything stopped!! so sometimes preg hormones is good for our bodies hehe...

Kiki thanks for the suggestion, actually it's caffeine that I crave haha I used to take coffe, tea and coke quite a bit but now they're all banned from me, that's y I feel so ... like something is missing... plus mum dun allow me all gassy drinks. Piang I've never in my life lived so healthily b4. Haha Like drug addict going cold turkey.

Stretch mark cream>>
My friend recommended this to me, said it worked really well for her. Brand is Galenic (Paris), Elancyl Stretch Mark Preventive and reducing Cream.

itsy,

is this the green gel? The name rings a bell. I tried this green gel before for normal stretch marks on my buttock but it didn't seem to have an effect. I'm not sure whether it is intended for pregnancy use though. Some stretch mark creams are not suitable for preggies.

Re : tea, gassy drinks, Coke

I must admit I am very naughty. I have not completely banned myself. But I try to keep to my gynae-recommended limit of not more than 2 cups of tea, or 3 cans of soft drink per day.

jeslyn

I think ur gynae can also inject some cream into u, which is safe for preggie ladies. The cream will clean up the infection.

The colour of the tube is green but the cream inside is white. This is especially for pregnant women, to apply from 3rd month onward. They have another which is a concentrate cream which is not suitable for pregnant women. Must check properly when buying.

jul,
your gynae did it for u? im quite troubled over this discharge but my gynae keep on telling me as long as no itch sld be ok..but i scare will affect my baby inside. Pior b4 preggie, i oso veri prone to yeast infection all the time...

jeslyn

I nvr got yeast infection b4 I got preggie. But I did kena once when I was preggie but I haven't tested positive yet. So I told my GP that I was trying, & she gave me this cream that is safe for preggie.

Actually I suspect this cud be yeast infection again, coz it looks kinda similar to the last time.

Strange.. why wud ur gynae not want to clear up ur infection?

milkyway,

palmer's has one that is specially for preggies. Should be the cocoa butter stretch mark cream. They would indicate whether it is for during preg or post preg. Check the label. But I've heard that some ppl are allergic to cocoa butter so it is advised that you test a little first before applying to the whole tummy.

I used it from early pregnancy previously and didn't get any stretch marks.

oh allergy ar... hmm okok.. my fren recommended me that when i told her my tummy area is itchy.. i'll ask her to let me test first lor..

accordingly to my Gynae, yeast infection is really common during pregnancy especially in the 2nd Trimester. Mainly due to the hormonal changes. Do see a doc for treatment - cream or wash up.

And for some prevention, try taking yoghurt in the diet does helps. Limit sugar intake, as sugar promotes the growth of yeast .

Re: Gassy drinks

Hee hee. I also like MUG root beer! I feel its not as sweet as other gassy drinks. But cos I never really took a liking to soft drinks, I only have like 1-2 cans in a week.

But I know I will have to eventually cut down to almost no soft drinks in my 3rd trimester cos I really cannot stomach the gas.

jul_04

I am one of those allergic to cocoa butter lah. Use already damn itchy and got slight rash!

I will be 13 weeks in a few days time. I went to see my gynae last week. Did the NT scan and a blood test. My next appt is only at the end of the mth. I am happy cos I take it as things are progressing fine. But I have to travel overseas in the next 2 weeks. I told my gynae. he said to go ahead...I don't take to flights very well. somemore its to Paris. then plus jet lag, cold weather....i have to be careful. its for work so I cannot not go