(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

milkway, i have always eat very slowly and chew my food well due to my indigestion problem so i doubt it is the problem... but taking warm water is something that i will give it a try.. thanks for the suggestion.. and talking abt food intake, i also notice my food intake is only half the usual portion i have, nowadays eat less than half the portion i am already full, anything more i try to eat will cause me to puke my entire meal out.. btw, my body kinda reject chicken now, anybody here experience the same thing?

Cho, r u refering to the claypot laksa at Alexander Village?? yum yum..... talking abt baking cake, u r really powerful ley... i tried frying rice 2 days back and the heat from the stove is quite close to my tummy and is giving me lots of discomfort... i guess i will avoid cooking for the rest of my pregnancy term..

Jeslyn, i guess mood swing is quite normal at this stage.. i encounter is sometimes.. and what irritate me most is instruction from MIL n other colleagues to do this n that.. my face simply turn black......

mama to 5Js

oops I meant the "age gap" of my younger two is 1+. currently 8+, 4 and 2.5yrs old...(still needs a lot of attention)

The problem we r financially tight...getting a maid + a newborn means another 2 mouth to feed in addition to the 5...subsidy to SAHM is miserable, childcare fees will still come up to a big amt...

Paiseh to say, I ever tot of "getting rid" of bb no4..bad mummy

Sad to say, I cannot feel any happiness the moment I test positive till nw... coz i forsee a great deal of problems later on...

I wanted a permanent ligation after my 3rd bt gynae was quite unwilling coz said Im still young. Was waiting for my Jan menses so tat i can get IUD done bt Jan menses nv come liao. In fact i usu 'O' around day 21 bt based on edd, no 4 is conceived late around day 35. So can i say it's "an accident"??

Accident or nt, I still feel shock sad depressed rite nw...

girly
my gynae also refuse to do ligation for a number of my frds saying they are too young. i dunno if we r talking abt the same gynae??

are u on birth control since u are not planning for another one? no lah u are not bad mommy. in fact u had that bad thought in mind precisely cos u r good mommy. u worry that u cant provide well for this baby, that u cant provide enuf for ur remaining kids. i cant say that i understand ur position but in every situation, im sure there is bound to be a way out even though some sacrifices must be made?

so i assume ur oldest is in P3? and ur second is in nursery? bringing up a big brood is definitely not easy. if u have decided to keep this baby and i hope u do, im sure u n ur husb can work something out. i dunno abt ur family situation so cant offer much advice. u can pm me if u want to talk more?

*flower4*
yes, indeed very xinku. I keep trying to find all sorts of drinks and food to make myself not puke so much etc.

I think i drank orange juice lately and somehow it helps me. I don't really puke that much.

The whole of today i feeling a litle nausea but can't puke out i dont knw why. Even worse lor. -.-"

I also dont know how. I try to take 1-3 pieces of potato chips or cashew nuts when i feel like going to puke. I just try whatever i can try. DESPERATE like that lor... sobsob..

princessxiaomei.... same here.. i even try chinese chest nut. really all kind of food.... sobsob....

i try orange juice better but its cause me gastric pain..

have u try procari sweat , i tried h20 dun works.

i feel feeling to puke but can puke. its worst..

poor us...

all my friends no such experience when they are preggie

whenever i burp, got sourery one..

mama to 5Js

U sure can read pple's mind or can I say u r a very understanding mama...

yes eldest P3 n second nursery...

keeping this bb coz hubby wants to. And also, to me, abortion is nt the rite thing n I can't bring myself to do such an unkind/evil act too...

Im quite new here, wat does pm stands for and how do i do tat??

i have 1 brand new in box bottle of GNC's PreNatal Vits 120 tablets exp sep this yr.. i think its selling at $49 at GNC.. selling for $10..

i also have a brand new box of DHA capsules, Natal Care Plus... i got them from KKH pharmacy.. 30 caps exp mar 2011. Bought at $30+ selling at $18

Prices incl normal postage..

PM me if interested ya. Thanks!

blessedmommy

I still quite blessed. The stretchmarks only visible under certain lighting. So far I've worn bikini twice, nobody really stare... I think <u>should</u> be ok-looking that's why no one stare.

eigna33

U can click on blessedmommy's nick (on the left side of her post) and then you will go to her profile page. There is a link there that says "CLICK HERE to send a private message to blessedmommy" .

Before you worry your pretty little head off about having the 4th kid, I would like to tell you that you are very brave for deciding to keep the baby. Amidst all the struggling with your current kids SINGLE-HANDEDLY.

You are the type of mother whom I would aspire to be one day, but am eventually too chicken to probably even think about having 4 (due to single income and SAHM status).

Sometimes I feel, having more money would make our lives so much easier. Now I already worry if I would be able to cope with my 20 mth old and this #2...

*flower4*

Before wk8, i drank ribena (600ml) like everyday. Now, i can only drink one small cup. I also tried 100+ was of use.. but now not really. I tried cranberry, all out too! Apple and orange juice so far still okay. I really very patient in trying. Feeling very terrible and uncomfortable. SIGH.

That time, i wanna puke, i can puke all out. Now i want to puke, then can't come out. I also don't know if i'm normal or not. Cos all of us having different kinds of 'MS'. SIGH...

i felt as if i am going nuts leh.

Anyone of you blog?

princess..

i have alot of things ah... i vomit, puke but cant puke. heartburn, gastric pain , daireal... hydrated..

during my 7 week preggie i admit hospital on drips, cuz keepon output no input.

if got heartburn cant drink citrus drinks .its will make it worst for acid reflux

*flower4*

i don't even know how to differentiate heartburn. I just feel my throat very uneasy since i wake up.

I totally feel like going crazy!

I wonder how is my junior in my tummy now. I have to wait another 2 more weeks then i can see... -.- some more it's not see gynae.. is to do FTS..

FTS includes scanning i supposed. It's to check for DS. Making me worried too. Hope my junior will be healthy all the way. I'm always worrying and getting paranoid. LOL!

oh. my is next wednesday but its call some kind of ultrasound scan thngs like tat to check baby neck size to determine DS or not. its SGD350 b4 gst.

cant remember wat its call.

got another kind , need needle thru our tummy one. i din choose tt one... scary will cause miscarriage.

flower.. i tink e kind tat need to poke into tummy type is only aft preliminary test then if DS ratio count or something is higher than normal (i.e. if prelim test results show higher than ave chance of DS) then need to do a more intrusive test by taking some fluid out from womb..

i was told by 1 colleague.. who despite having kids v early (ard 25 yrs old), e DS ratio was higher than normal.. n she was so sad tat she cried everyday tinking whether to abort e bb not.. luckily she din.. she gave birth to a healthy normal bb..

puzzle me manz...

miracle or pray to God.. i oso duno....

last time my 2 aunties oso.... they pregie at 40plus

due to religion they wont abort one..

i tink prelim tests only gives an estimate.. coz only a DS ratio.. so even if high oso may nt b 100% cfm ba?

being mTb so stressful.. hor..

if after prelim tests high ration have to take the other test which risk of miscarriage...

ya lo.. no wonder they say "shi shang zhi you ma ma hao".. now i understand wat my mum has to go thru to bring me to tis world!

cho, haha... u noe wat, my mum say when she preggie, she dun have such issue, she eat &amp; sleep eat &amp; sleep, same goes to my sis in law.......

sigh.. i seems to be the one &amp; only unlucky one in my circle of frens &amp; family

dear all, just to update about first gynea check-up on Thurs. Everything went really well. Baby is growing and detect heartbeat. Will see gynea again when I am 12th weeks - about 4 weeks time.

i think i got the gastric flu. Have been having the fever and chills since Friday. Threw up twice and really no appetite. The gastric is killing me... My #1 is also not feeling well. Just hope that we will recover soon.

Shelled

The PM thing, I gt it. Thks

And thks for the nice words too...

When I was ur age, I can't imagine myself with so many kids too...(u know, esp in Singapore).

My no2 was only 16mths (juz started walking) when i delivered my no3. I felt so helpless tat i cried the moment my confinement nanny left. Hw am i gg to take gd care of a child, a toddler and a bb without maid or helper?? Looking back, I haf survived the most difficult part of life. Like my hubby always like to cite "ri zi nan guo, hai shi tian tian guo"...meaning no matter hw difficult life is, it will still become a past coz time don't freeze...So i believe if i can do it, u can too. When u r at my age, u can shake legs liao..

Bt the differences betw u and me is tat i haf to do it all over AGAIN!!!! And imagine the amt needed to raise 4kiddos in Singapore...

girly, you are really the kind of mummy that we respect and also responsible enough to bring a life into the world

My ex boss just welcome her no. 4 into this world too and she's a working mum and did it with the help of a helper.
Perhap it isn't as bad as next year your children will be 9, 5, 4, perhaps you will like to consider placing no. 2 and no. 3 into full time childcare while hiring a helper to take care of no. 4 and no. 1 will be able to help to keep an watch too after school.
Nowadays government gives a lot of subsidies to working mummies including childcare and maid levies. Moreover things will be so much easily with another income and as children grow up, the expenses will be higher with tuition and enrichment classes etc.
It will be good to have CPF contribution too and can help to pay for their tertiary education in the future.
You might like to look after your newborn first for the first few months and start work at the beginning of the year. After work, you do not need to brood about the housework and can spend more time with your children too and of course your hb must play his share in nurturing the children as well.
Cheer up
, there's always solution to every problem.

i oso headach, susanna, any suggestion for me?

next year i wil start my part time school , 3 times per week on weekdays from 7-10pm, but infant care only til 7pm..

my mum is very weak, i dun have in laws. i have no more dad lioa..

flower4, no, my gynea did not give me any medication cos I started falling sick after seeing her. I think its was because I did not dry my hair well and took a very cold air-conditioned bus. Plus it was quite early in the morning 6 plus when I left the house. Sigh.... Should have taken extra care of myself.

Hey girly, you are going to be one great mum. It definitely is not going to be easy. Sometimes hor, when I think about having to feed 2 kids, I worry as well. What's more, you are going to have 4. Like what you say, the bridge will straigten when the boat comes to it. Press on, ya?

hihi all mummies...

i'm new &amp; juz registered
My EDD is 7/9/09...similar to princessxiaomei, my next appt nxt week do FTS @KKH...den following week see gynae...

glad to join this forum, can xchange experience &amp; ideas

oh dear lilac, u better see GP soon. they will know wat medicine for u.

sigh time for dinner, duno wat to eat ...argh puke.

flower4, What course are u taking? Taking part time studies and work part time is v "siong", I tried that once and it's very tiring heehee..
I read somewhere that there's infant/childcare that open till up to 10pm @ extra fee. Is there any chance that you can find one around your place?
If not, how about your hb or any siblings/neighbour/friends or a babysitter @ a small fee who can help to fetch your bb first?
Alternatively, I am not sure whether you will be comfortable at the idea is to find a reliable and trustworthy caregiver who is able to help u to look after your bb during the weekdays and you can spend time with bb during the weekend.
My friend paid her aunt $800 (around same price as infant care) for taking care during weekdays and she only bring her bb home on weekends. Her parents and in laws are unable to help her.
Like this, you can have enough rest on weekdays as you have to juggle work, studies and a infant. It will be very straining on you.

buttercup, congrats! I am new to the thread too but I enjoy reading the postings here.

(susanna)
Sad to say, I've been a SAHM for 9yrs. Even when i was working, i juz earned a meagre sum. So Im nt optimistic tat i can get a high earning pay job within a short period of time esp in this current economy situation. Even if i do get a job, all the salary may nt be even enough to cover for the childcare fees (2 kids) and maid (bb and chores)...Husb definitely won't be able to chip in financially to get a maid or paying for the childcare fees..coz if he can in the 1st place, I wldn't be in this dilemma...
still wanna thks u for ur braining storming bt mine is a special case ( in a this cannot work, that cannot do kind of situation), tats y i m at a lost...

(lilac)
thks for saying tat i will be 1 great mum and to all who think Im 1 gd mummy. Bt I've ever tot of "getting rid" of it and this tot still "loiter" in my mind nw and then. Im so dreadful of the ms in the 1st place too...basically Im breathing coz im surviving on some bread n liquid only. Even the tot of food makes me wanna puke. so nw i am also tired n weak. I cldn't take gd care of my existing kids n chores...Coz of this fear of ms, it's part of the reason why I wldn't want to keep it in the 1st place too..me bad mummy. the word gd mummy makes me feel so guilty...

hello!! hope u gals had a great weekend. i think my nausea has indeed reduced to a point when its really not felt much anymore. i been eatg more lately and thus forcing myself to swim everyday or at least alternate days. seeing gynae again on tues. hope everything is ok. i dunno if he is going to do NT scan for me then cos i will be only 11.5 wks but if dun do then my next appt would be when im in my 15 weeks. a bit too late right? also i dun think i will be doing oscars. although its supposed to be 90% accurate (correct me if im wrong) but many yield unaccurate/misleading results and causing unnecessary stress cos they end up doing amnio and baby turns out ok. i think i will wait till FA scan on week 20. gynae also said if u dun intend to do anything even if u find out something is wrong with baby then no point doing it and gettg anxious.

girly
i dun think u v old also right?? hehe.. im not v young lah! of cos u can join us here. young or old, we are all mothers here to share our experiences

i agree with u that the govt is not doing as much for us sahm than as working mothers. but i guess thats life right? who ask us dun contribute financially to the economy hor? hehe...

i've been a sahm for abt 9 yrs too, since 2000. my career path is basically v v short. i graduated, found a job, worked for 2 yrs, got married, got preg then was not coping so well with work and being preg at the same time cos i was carrying twins and was extremely tired during first trimester that i always fell asleep at my desk!! so hub asked me to quit and i have never returned to work ever since.

although i do have a big brood, but u r much more courageous than me! u need to look after the kids, do housework and manage a household on your own even though u are hvg ms. i cant imagine how tiring that can be!

if u r financially very tight, have u considered appealing for more childcare subsidies? actually susanna mentioned about returning to work which seemed a good option to me because it will not be so financially stretched for your family if u have double income. but if u have decided that its not a feasible idea then i guess the only option is to try get more subsidy? it may seem the going really gets tough now but when all of them are in primary school at least the fees wont be as exp as childcare.

girly, if you have a extra room to spare, you might like to rent out to get extra cash and perhaps also do some part time job like clinic assistant? I know 1 sahm mummy who set up a mini salon at her house, her bro's gf is helping in DND makeup, manicure and pedicure etc. So far they are enjoying a bustling business, keke...
Some of my sahm friends are in fact taking up some aesthetics courses so they can do some freelance next time. Let's start from something small first and gradually upgrade from there

It's will always difficult at first but it will definitely be much better as time goes by! We will work something out, keke...
Whenever you feel stress, just come and rant here and we will try to brainstorm for a solution lah..haha..

MT5Js, I also felt my nausea getting more and more better, hopefully it will go off as time goes by. It's especially suffering at night! I heard from my gynae that NT scan is only accurate when it's done be4 12 weeks so it will be fine. Is there any difference between oscars and NT scan?

susanna
u r really a wise lady! giving v good advices! why didnt i think of home business hor? esp i know of ffew frds who are doing it!!

i think our edd are quite close to each other
i will be 12 weeks next sat. just cant wait! i think oscars involve some blood test as well??

today my kids ALL sleep early so i get some free time and hubby out with frds. times like these are so precious!!

susanna, mama to 5Js

home biz?? well ok...gd idea...if the kids can stop bothering me for a while when i do my work which i doubt so... when they r nt bothering me, they muz be hiding somewhere, up to some mischieve or fighting ea other over toys/things..
The house is only at peace when the kids turn in...

And hey mama to 5Js, I've been a SAHM since 2000 too! So i guess ur twins r the same age as my eldest?? May I know the age of ur kids??

Oscar test is 90% accurate whereas NT scan is 65%...

think susanna n mama to Js is 1wk ahead of me...

oh..mama to 5Js

Think I shld be "older" then u. Bt Im quite blessed coz every1 tot im only in my 20's. No 1 has guessed my age correctly yet, ha!

And envy u, u sure has a very understanding and capable husb

cho> what size do u wear?? I have a cream white tube dress.. wore it for my fren's wedding... can lend to you if u want..
Its a L size...

Quite flair at the tummy area.. so if u are a Bigger M.. this might fit nice..

shelled> i already feel VERY VERY itchy liaoz.. been scratching loh...
oh man.. the site is really..... soo... unattractive.. hahaha.... oh no.. i cant imagine.... faint..

LawShe> but i think heart burn will be lesser if we eat smaller meals.. not that tiring for our heart..

princess> yah.. i'm so sick of all the puking... its soo....yucks.... and its happening twice a day.. once in the morning..and once at nite...
I really wish it'll faster go away soon... sigh.....

and i'm still roughly about the same weight since last visit.. good that i'm not puttin on unnecessary.. though i know bb must be getting heacier...
tummy is gettting BIGGER!!!

Been tossing the whole of last nite... my tummy has been cramping... the whole day today.. it just dun feel right... its sooo sickening....
sigh.... and the nausea taste is just in my mouth..and something is like perpetually stuck in my throat.... urgh....

buttercup> hi.. welcome.

mama5> so nice that ur MS is getting better.. mine is like stagnant at this stage..and not any bvetter... coming to 11 weeks in a few days...
oMG!

MT5Js, heehee not wise lah, just sharing some of my friends' experiences. My friend used to work in a salon, long working hours and have to work during weekend, PH too. Being a PR, her family is in M'sia so she have a hard time to juggle 2 small kids, only 1 yr diff and her hectic work schedule really drained her out.
So she set up a home salon at her balcony and with very good rates and excellent services, she have a regular stream of customers and I think she earn a lucrative income from it. I am also her regular customer and introduce my friends and colleagues to her too

Yup my EDD is close to you
I am abit confused with all these tests but I think I will only opt for the triple test.

It's good to go out on date with the hb and also with our friends once a while! Sometimes our life just revolve around our kids that we neglect our hb. Once a while must pamper them too, haha..

girly, a neighbourhood auntie have 4 children too. Initially it's tough for her but now the kids are grown up with the youngest being very sensible is already in pri 2. Life is so much easier for her.
There's nothing better than a close knit family, when the years come, it will be time for you to reap harvest!

Sorry to miss earlier post, which gynae are u gals seeing now?

rach, we totally experienced the same symptoms! The itchness, are u referring to the tummy area? If so, please try not to scratch! it will result in stretch mark! Try to apply more oil to it.
I also felt like puking whole day and I tried taking the saltish Meiji plain crackers, it works for me, saltish and crunchy. I drunk some hot milo to go along and it felt better.
My tummy is getting bigger and bloated too and I have difficulty trying to conceal my pregnancy :p
and also my tummy has been cramping the whole night too! I wonder what cause it but I took the pills that doctor prescribed. He just brushed it off as constipation *faint*
That bitter taste is especially bad after dinner and it linger throughout the night. No matter what I took, sour plum, sweets doesn't make it go off at all and it made me want to puke more.
Hopefully this can get better as time goes by.

susanna> wah.. really... u mean the cramps are due to constipation???

i've ran out of milo at home.. but i have meji plain crackers with oat...

yesh... pray for 1.5 more weeks... yikes....

blessedmommy

My hubs said "SAHM actually contribute alot to economy." Reasons?

- We do not earn, we only spend. Spending helps the economy.
- We create demand in healthcare sector cos we need gynaes, doulas, nurses, etc. Therefore we indirectly create jobs.
- We make babies!! The govt wants babies right?!

All that said &amp; done, yes, i also agree the govt is not giving us enough subsidies as SAHM. It's as if there is favoritism for working moms by giving them double the subsidies.

I think for GST offset package and all, should at least give us extra $$ for each kid we have lor. Baby items also have GST ok!

I also always felt that SAHMs should have some sort of a welfare scheme, like monthly "salary" given to SAHM. The more kids u have, the more $$ u get.

But all that aside, I think the govt don't really care about SAHMs because just because a child is solely raised by his mom, doesn't mean he will be a quality citizen. So govt prefer moms to contribute to society by WORKING. In the event the kid grows up to be a bad person, at least the mom didn't waste her ability as a citizen to give back to the country.

** Sorry, my post ended up being sibei long. **

susanna_low / rayrachel

By the way, putting stretchmark cream early may not 100% help prevent or reduce stretchmarks. But it will DEFINITELY help with the itch if your cream is moisturising enough.

Your chance of getting stretchmarks is actually based greatly on genetics; if your mother has alot, you will probably get alot.

My mom had some. She kept on putting cream also, still no diff.
I also have some. I keep putting cream also no diff. *LOL*

Although I know some ppl who SWEAR on Clarins Body Oil. They say not a single stretchmark at all. But when I asked them, their moms also had no stretchmarks, so... I think genetics still plays a bigger part.

girly
wah u blessed with youthful looks ya? even though u spend everyday looking after kids and house!!

well if ur home business flourish u can even engage a helper to help u out with house chores then u can earn some income but keep an eye on the kids at the same time. we must think big ya?

its not an easy time now esp all the kids r young and need our attn. but i believe as susanna said, we will reap our harvest in time to come. i can imagine when im 40, my oldest will be 16! i hope i can be like a sister to them. every sat nite when all the kids bunk in my room, they make a mess, they have fun, they run after each other, they laugh, they cry, they fight, make me feel im very blessed.

shelled
yes yes i agree with u *clap clap* i dun care what govt thinks, i only know being there for my kids during their crucial years will shape them to be good individuals, form a strong parent child bonding that no amt of money can earn u. im sure many mothers, given the choice, would like to stay at home with their kids too. i said many not all cos i know of some frds who rather work than to be sahm. they said they will go crazy! haha...

susanna
which is why we need to balance our sanity by gg out with frds or hubby or just hvg some ME time. i believe when im refreshed and recharged i can go back to my kids as a better mom.

u didnt mention abt urself? is this ur first baby? how old r u? do self intro pls.

oh yes my gynae is dr chan kong hon, gleneagles.

rach
hope u were able to sleep well last nite?

kiddo
wah 3am woke up hungry and still can log in? i would be a zombie ransacking my fridge for food!