(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Rach,

Exactly.. Just share a few things which things which we feel was negligence on his part, we didn’t know bout the seriousness till we spoke to Dr. Wong during my 2nd successful pregnancy.

- Didn’t pay close attention when I complained of blood clot discharge &amp; too frequent Braxton Hicks (which were actually contraction) at the end of my 2nd trimester. He just did a scan &amp; said baby is fine .If he had bother to do a CTG or even cervix check, he would have known that I was having pre-term symptom &amp; could have put me on medication &amp; bed rest. My #1 DD would not have been delivered at wk 34+. Bless the Lord that my #1 DD was big at birth &amp; her lungs were matured then hence didn't hv to be in NICU.

- Didn’t put me on antibiotics drip to prevent group B strep and other infections after my waterbag broke. It was a whole of 9hrs before I actually went into labour from the time my waterbag broke. There was a possibility that I might have B strep infection &amp; could have passed it on to my #1 DD. This was actually putting my #1 DD on risk of getting sepsis (blood infection) and meningitis.

- Didn’t bother to do V-scan / schedule to see me again later when he was unable to detect heartbeat for another pregnancy. Instead he just schedules me for a D&amp;C. He wasn’t able to pinpoint how many weeks preggie I was then as AF were haywire. We decided to seek 2nd opinion when we realized that he even prescribe me medication that I was allergic to despite it being stated clearly on my case sheet.

I managed to get a appt to see Dr. Wong 1 month later. . All these while I had all the pregnancy symptoms hence I thought things were going on well. The day before my appt with Dr. Wong, I was admitted to A&amp;E for very bad stomach cramp. e doc on duty detected weak heartbeat &amp; estimated I was only 8 weeks pregnant. He gave me hormones pills to stabilize e pregnancy but guess was too late. I had a miscarriage the next day at Dr. Wong’s clinic. It was a very traumatizing experience.

Even though I managed to conceive my #2 shortly after my miscarriage but that really leaves a scar in my heart. I always ponder would things be different if I had a different gynae then.

I guess Dr. Ang is a skillful gynae but more suitable for those with problem free pregnancy. </font></font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="aa00aa">Enxuan,

I think you should take a step at a time. You can still build your career later after you delivered your bb. If you feel that the current job is causing you too much stress then I would really suggest you leave the job. You don’t need the additional work stress now.

In fact if financially allows it, and you feel that physically you are up to it, go do some upgrading which might help you to fulfill yr desire career path during this period of time.</font></font>

jenifur
Hugs to u. What an experience u have gone thru..

tinkbel &amp; Jul 04
did you gals experience any throbbing pain at the sides of the pelvic. I tend to have them more on my left than right. Quite worried, my gyn appt is 29 Jan.

jenifur> thanks so much for sharing ur experience. I am glad tht u found a better gynae!

there are really alot of MTBs in this forum now compared to last week!

<font color="0000ff">enxuan</font>

Hmm.. I guess u really have to consider many factors. Since ur hubby can support u, then u at least have 1 factor ruled out.

Now u just think abt whether the 4 mths maternity leave is more impt or ur bb lor. IMO, if u can take the work, and ur boss is undersanding eniugh that u might not perform as well due to pregnancy, then u can consider staying on.

But if u are being picked on, ur job is in 'danger', u're feeling very unwell, then maybe it's best to quit and focus on the bb?

Just my tots lah

<font color="0000ff">jen</font>

Oh that sounds v negligent. I suppose it can be 'understood' in a doctor who is new &amp; inexperienced, but from the way he is being described, he is a very experienced gynae with many patients, so this shdn;t be an excuse anymore.

<font color="0000ff">hui chern</font>

Yeah I did. And mine was also more on the left side. so for a while I did start to wonder if it's ectopic preg. But turns out it was alright.

If u r feeling insecure, maybe u can bring forward to appt, if money is no object heehee

Jul 04
Thanks but i'm afraid i might not be able to see much if i go early. Think since you oso have the same feeling then i think it should be all right i guess.Hehe.

hui chern

I think MTBs all will be kancheong. Sometimes hearing too many 'horror' stories may bt bad for us. The more 'educated' we are, the more we start to imagine that our preg got probs lor. Last time our mums dun even bother to test HPT, just wait till a few mths past missed period to see gynae. Now we so kancheong.. scared ectopic, scared no heartbeat, scared no growth.. haha

<font face="Comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Jeslyn,

I guess your question was for me right…. Dr. Joycelyn Wong has 2 packages.

S$738 when taken at 12th week
S$638 when taken at 20th week

I cannot really rem what was included but I guess all below should be in
-Unlimited antenatal visits and consultation
-Blood pressure checks
-Urine tests for sugar and protein
-Ultrasound scans done in the clinic</font></font>

<font face="Comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Jul_o4,

Duno leh..... those w appts?? But I know even if I walk in to see her, is still under e package charges, only thing is need to wait lah..

I feel so tired &amp;
2070746.gif
. Still got another 2hrs &amp; 10 mins to go before knock off</font></font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="aa00aa">Hui Chern,

This is my #3, I'm also still very gan cheong</font>

<font color="0000ff">Another more mummy want to be added in the list??</font></font>

jen

The package with Dr Khi from week 12 is just a bit cheaper, $688 + gst. But hor, medication, blood tests, supplements, emergency visits etc not incl. Like very expensive hor?

Me also v tired.. can't wait to go off.

Jenifur
Hehe, at least i'm not the only kan cheong peerson here haha. Me too hope to go off liao
So sian. Time past fast fast

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Jul_04,

Oh I didn’t know they have different packages. I tot since same clinic then packages are the same.

Dr. Khi’s package is $50 cheaper than Dr Wong… is worth it if you are not the type who have lots of emergency visits lah…. If for me sure not worth it, I had so many walk in visits for my 2nd pregnancy with Dr. Wong.

My idiot DH even said Dr. Wong very lugi to have me as patient. Others only start their wkly visit near to e end of their pregnancy but I started mine in wk 29. I pay e same amt but she hv to see me more often *hahaha*</font></font>

jen

Yeah Dr Wong's is slightly more exp coz she is very very popular. But if u walk in, does that count as scheduled visits? Coz hor, that time when u saw Dr Wong for ur #2, she wasn't in this clinic right?

I see some gynaes hor.. $500+ for antenatal package, incl supplements, blood tests, even simple sickness medication. Some some even start from week 1, not from week 12 lor.

Just seems like a bit exp to me. But I wun change lah, coz I'm comf with her. Not sure if I mentioned b4, but I must have female gynae one. So not easy to find to gentle female gynae, a lot of female gynaes are very rough &amp; impatient, I heard...

check with u all... does anyone feel very cold most of the time? ever since i pregnant and with MS, i often feel very cold till i will shiver at times.

haystack

Funny u shd mention that. I do feel colder than usual in office aircon or at home with the fan. But sometimes, I feel almost feverish too.

yupz.. my 1st gynae’s package is S$550 from Day 1 &amp; almost everything also inclusive lor but turn out *sigh*

That’s why I said I rather pay abit more to see Dr. Wong. But think Dr. Wong &amp; Dr. Khi’s rates are pretty standard. I’ve seen some gynae charging like S$800 plus or more &amp; some don’t even have packages lor.

Dr Wong was already at ACJ when I saw her for 2nd pregnancy in 2007. I just delivered my boy in Feb-08.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Haystack,

I feel colder nowadays too. I can even wake up shivering when I’m already covered with those towel blanket, e AC wasn’t even on, just the fan. HB has taken out our quilt cover for me to use now</font></font>

jen

I c. Thanks a lot for sharing. Coz I have been reading abt packages, &amp; found myself getting so confused. Some gals' are so cheap.. like ur first package lor.

Of course I din compare to those branded gynaes lah. Since this is "common rate", I guess I just have to pay &amp; try to save on my other expenditures lor.

babylet
don't let the "branded" gynaes influence u. it doesn't mean expensive=good. i ever come across one female gynae who is quite rude and pissed my husband off.

babylet and jenifur
I feel so cold but yet can't really drink any water cos kept having the nauseous feeling. it's only the beginning yet i feel so bad now... haha...

hey haystack, me too been feeling cold ever since i discover my pregnancy... even at nie wif fan on, i need to wear a jacket wen im sleepin...

Gynae from the Thomson Women’s Clinc group offers 1 of the cheapest package, S$550 from Day 1 of yr visits &amp; it’s inclusive of almost everything….

Guess we are really paying for their service lor. Such money cannot saved one lor *hee*</font>

<font color="aa00aa">haystack,

*hugz* U hving MS? Even though cannot stomach also mus trip to sip some water or H2O, 7up etc.. If not hor later dehydrate den hv to go hospital for drip leh</font></font>

haystack

Thanks. Actually I dun think I can afford branded gynaes too. My first visit cost me $190+, guess another 2 visits will be $600 in total.. then package abt $700+, then supplements &amp; medecation, blood tests etc will be say $300, that will be more than $1.5k already. And that's not counting if wanna have what oscar test etc.

haystack

Last nite I was watching tv, &amp; I was so cold I had to drag my blanket to the sofa lor.

jeslyn

Looks like we're all feeling cold...

jen

Yeah anyway I am very lazy to look ard for more female gynaes liao.

Did u deliver at TMC the other time also?

I delivered both my kiddo in TMC… Am very happy with the hospital so will stick to TMC for #3. But I really hate the traffic situation lor…. Both pregnancies I had to keep telling my bb to avoid the peak hour. Told them if not, then Mummy will have to deliver you on the way to hospital liao</font></font>
2071127.gif

jen

I am quite worried abt the traffic situation too. And hubby hates the parking probs during the antenatal visits. Plus TMC having reno now.

I think MtA environment better, &amp; TMC seems very small &amp; cramped to me. But then gynae there, so dunno how.

<font face="Comic sans ms"><font color="aa00aa">Jul_o4,

I only been to Mt. A for a hospital tour in 2005 so not sure if there’s any changes since then. But my impression then was no doubt Mt. A ward seem bigger but find it looks kinda old &amp; run down.

HB always leaves the parking to the valet to settle… e last time round I stayed on the 6th floor which is newly renovated… very nice *hee*

Another thing which I dun like bout TMC is they dun hv shuttle bus service lor. If u take public transport very ma fan. Mt. A has shuttle bus service from Novena MRT station.

U might want to check if Dr. Khi delivers in MT. A? I heard Dr. Wong does deliver at Mt. A but @ additional cost.</font>

<font color="0000ff">rosycheeks,</font></font>

2071196.gif

haystack

That one I'm not sure. Guess gotta check with TMC itself.

Harlow rosycheeks! Welcome

jenifur

I heard MtA has rrenovated and is v nice now.

Yeah TMC doesn;t have shuttle service, but not a prob coz hubby shd be driving me each time. He also uses the valet svc. But it cud be more pleasant definitely lah.

Hmm.. how much was the additional charge for delivering at Mt A?

2071298.jpg

<font face="courier new">
Nick<font color="ffffff">...........</font> <font color="ffffff">..</font>EDD<font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ffffff">......</font>Gynae <font color="ffffff">............</font>Hosp <font color="ffffff">..</font># of Pregnancy

<font color="0000ff">Cloudme ....... 01-Sept-09 <font color="ffffff">..</font>Dr. Heng TL<font color="ffffff">......</font> <font color="ffffff">..</font>ESH<font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ffffff">....</font>2nd
Bobo .......... 04-Sept-09
Jenifur ....... 04-Sept-09 <font color="ffffff">..</font>Dr. Joycelyn Wong <font color="ffffff">..</font>TMC<font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ffffff">....</font>3rd
Jul_04 ........ 04-Sept-09 <font color="ffffff">..</font>Dr. Caroline Khi<font color="ffffff">.</font> <font color="ffffff">........</font> <font color="ffffff">....</font>1st
Tinkabel ...... 05-Sept-09 <font color="ffffff">..</font>Dr. Chan KH<font color="ffffff">......</font> <font color="ffffff">..</font>Glen E <font color="ffffff">....</font>2nd
Whitey ........ 09-Sept-09 <font color="ffffff">...................</font> <font color="ffffff">..</font>KKH<font color="ffffff">...</font>
Raincloud ..... 10-Sept-09 <font color="ffffff">..</font>Dr. Lee I-Wuen<font color="ffffff">...</font> <font color="ffffff">........</font>
Lxlb .......... 11-Sept-09 <font color="ffffff">...................</font> <font color="ffffff">........</font> <font color="ffffff">....</font>1st
Hui Chern ..... 13-Sept-09 <font color="ffffff">..</font>Dr. Lim Teck Chai <font color="ffffff">..</font>Mt.A<font color="ffffff">..</font> <font color="ffffff">....</font>2nd

If you would like to join us, or update your EDD, please email me! </font></font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">haystack,

Reno is ongoing but only for the 5th floor wards. Not sure when will finish though.

I'm gng off early too... very tired</font></font>

Thanks for your feedbacks. I really need to weigh out the pros and cons. Also, just out of curiousity, can share what can stress to the bb?

I may consider going to GP or Gynae to take MC and see how it goes. If I leave my job, most likely also after CNY...

hehe... I feel better now. At least you gals understand how I feel. When I share with DH, he's like dun really quite understand what Im going thru. Just keep telling me, "you do what's best for you".

lolz. Im going home soon, at 6.15pm.

Hi Sep Mum to be,

Just tested positive last weekend!! this is my 2nd bb, I have not see my gynae yet, hope this is real! if my calculation is correct my EDD will be 13th Sep, but no MS so far, hope will continue like this *touch wood*, my 1st pregnancy was terrible for the 1st 3 mths, very scare to go through that again, but besides the 1st 3 mth, i think my 1st pregnancy was a wonderful experience.

Most of you have seen your gynae?

Im knocking off too, will come back to kaypo tmr, byee!

Can i join the thread too? this is my 1st pregnancy..

my EDD is 2 Sep 09, one day b4 DH's bday. hopefully bb stays in longer and arrive on DH bday. hehehe

will be seeing Dr Joycelyn Wong on the 21st of Jan.

well..i dun believe that expensive gynaes are really good and cheap gynaes are not good.. my previous gynae was so ex (i paid like a total of 5K during my 13 weeks of preg; inclusive of D&amp;C operation to remove my bb) Both DH n I believe that it was also his negligence that caused the life of our bb.

we also took a long time before deciding on Dr Adrain. but of cos.. we will still not start on the package yet until we feel we are totally comfortable to leave the advancement of the preg to him..

Will see how it goes..

hi jenifur,

pls kindly update my details for me

Nick: rosycheeks
EDD: not too sure yet..have yet to see gynae
Gynae: Dr Mary yang
Hospital: Gleneagles
# of child: 2

just tested postive over the weekend..still recovering from the shock coz this really came as a surprise..