(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

<font color="0000ff">maelyn</font> mine too! eat chicken, fish, silverfish porridge. I also gave her tofu and egg yolk.

<font color="0000ff">michelle</font> wow! yeah, salute you, so persistent in pumping...i only pump once at work, hoping my supply will dip and slowly taper off but its not!! Dunno how long I must wait before I can fully stop breastfeeding...anyone has any tips on reducing milk supply naturally?

paige, u give silverfish ah...do u blend it first? as i find it abit bony leh...

hai i blend the porridge with meat, so now land up bb just swallow, dun wan to chew liao leh...his 2 teeth just came up only.

<font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">porridge</font></font>
haha later I'm gonna cook porridge with cod fish n tofu for Rayanne... See if she eats them... Or end up in my tummy... Lol...

<font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">steph</font></font>
meet me??? Lol!!!

milkway, princessxiaomei, maelyn,
My girl took solid pretty well. I have started to give her lumpy food about 1 month ago, as in I didn't puree until smooth, but to mash it and leave some lumps of food. She took it well. She can now eat banana like adults :)

I think her nanny means the ABC pasta, not really maccoroni. I cooked that for my boy. But my way of cooking was not meant for babies, so cannot share with you. Think my nanny cook the mee sua and ABC pasta separately. Then she cook soup with veg and meat separately. Then add the mee sua and ABC pasta with soup for my girl. She eats a lot.

Paige,
For me, my breastmilk stopped naturally. Just don't pump and don't latch unless necessarily, ie, only pump if your breast cannot take it anymore (harden/engorged). And don't pump at fix timing, so that your body learn that no need to produce milk anymore. It only took me about 2-3 weeks to totally stop production.

maelyn
not sure if bb can take durians but i just fed my gal over the wkends... gave her very little of the creamy and bitter ones and she seems to like them.. haha

mamato6js
oh yes i took that ride too but missed the roller coaster at sci-fi city as it's still closed. Mayb the darkness and the high-speed added to the fright. hee..

michelle
my ss drops a lot then i see no point pumping so regularly since so little milk.. so i tot i just take the chance to let it go off naturally... just started supplementing with 1 feed of FM and using my frozen storage. I dont have excess to store anymore. think i'll slowly skip the 1 pump a day as well. :p

paige
i'm also slowly reducing my ss...
Jenifur told me i have to lengthen the interval and try not to latch anymore. I'm still latching though... morn and nite.

kam
oh that's gd... now i give my gal porridge with fish, sometimes the fish also quite lumpy. I told her to chew and show her my mouth moving. Not sure if she knows wat i'm saying, i see some mouth action lah. Mayb i will try with more lumpy first then see how she takes it. Would like her to try other food other than just porridge lor.

maelyn> haha. mine oso eat egg yolk le. but soso only. not say really like to eat

paige> haha. bo bian. trying to tahan till he 1yr old. den will slowly stop de supply. cant wait for sep 3 manz! so tired liaos. 3mths more to go!

moving office soon. if new office does not permits me to pump, example not enugh meeting room, den i guess i will stop ba.

milkyway> same la. but even as i see the supply drop even when i pump at regular intervals, still got to continue leh. else will tell the body to produce even lesser. since i got a target of 1yr to achieve. so i m trying =p

<font color="0000ff">Jeni</font> erm, her ifc gives her the chicken, fish and silverfish porridge....at home so far, I've only cooked porridge ONCE!
At home, at nights and weekends, I give her treadfin or cod, steamed, mashed, then add pureed veg and a few scoops of cereal. 2 weeks ago, i introduced organic tofu and egg yolk. She loves them!

<font color="0000ff">Kam</font> great to hear that you had a good holiday and a good bday!

Yes, I don't pump at a fixed time, only wait until breast is super hard or about to leak, then quickly pump, i can still get 200mls if i wait until its super hard and pump!
I latch at night before she sleeps (if not cannot tahan until next morning!) Since last week, she wakes up at night to drink milk!! arghh! now I have to go to the kitchen and make her FM at 4am almost every morning!! How i miss latching! (I could have latched her in the wee hours, which, I tried last long weekend and my supply came back up!! so, must resist latching!)

<font color="0000ff">Itsy</font> ermm, are you meeting any mummies this week? Actually not to worry, I have 10 milk bottles which i rotate at ifc. This weekend we have visitors staying over, so can't go to sengkang, next whole week hubby in europe, I'll be all alone with Kate and my dog, so ermm, maybe the week after?

Kam,

The milk powder can bring up to plane ? What water you use for the milk ? Heated bottled mineral water ?

Going for short holiday this month .

steph / rach
sorry sorry got change of plan. my gal wants to take her princess makeover TODAY!! so cant join u for lunch liao. steph u wanna go for makeover today? if not i can meet u gals for lunch tomo too. let me check my schedule tomo first ya!

Kaira - we brought up 180ml of water for her milk and another 150 ml of her drinking water and 2 x 6 scoops of milk powder. Plus I had a full bottle of water with me for me, which I would have quickly finished if I had to BUT no one had any issues with the water and powder.

I mean frankly if you're travelling with a kid you aren't gonna be wanting to bring down the plane ;P

running out on bottled cereals. need to go n stock up my hm. else my boy gonna reject his food. he's so spoilt he refuse to eat if the food is not nice. where got time to keep cooking for him. grrs.

Kaira,
No issue with the milk powder at all, which I kept in the powder dispenser. For water, I brought 1 big bottle of water with me up to the plane, when passed by the custom, told them it's for making milk, they asked me to drink 1 sip to show them it's not dangerous chemical, and that's it.

I used either bottle mineral water or cold boiled tap water for making milk.

Marie,

Not easy to bring bb along for overseas trip, and its only malaysia and there are so many things to consider, its also our first trip.

kaira,
Just be relax about the trip and you will be fine. It's not as bad as you think. We have to handle 2 kids, and we survived. For our 8 days in China, there was no schedule for my kids. They drank/ate and slept on the go, as and when they needed one. As long as they were happy.

We travelled to malaysia by car when my girl was 6 months and there was no problem at all.

yellow tinge on baby's nose
mummies! help! i think my girl's nose is turning yellow!could be the food she eats...too much beta-carotene??? hmm..but i actually feed her quite a variety leh, so not sure why like this. i was doing some reading and seems like a lot of food which she takes is high in beta-carotene...like apples, broccoli, carrots, papaya, pumpkin, spinach, sweet potato. how ah like that??? what can i feed her that doesn't cause her skin to turn yellow?! any mummies facing this problem? i thought i'm already quite careful with not feeding too much of anything and everyday is different food...cause i remembered my friend's baby really turned VERY yellow in the face, hands and feet because she went to puree a whole pumpkin and feed her baby that for a whole month!

so what foods should i feed then?? *stress* or should i decrease puree and feed more cereals?? i'm feeding abt 2-3oz puree and 2-3 avent scoops of cereal per feed.

paige, michelle
how to you prepare the chicken for baby ah? can advise? i tried chicken boiled with veggie stock then pureed, she won't really eat it. but if i mix in another sweet tasting puree like carrots or pumpkin or sweet potato, she'd eat it! fussy eater i have!! for the egg yolk, do you have to cook it throughly? do you puree it there after or just mash it up with a fork?

Teni, I can't today... Most prob bring them tomorow cause their Childcare is closed... Ha ha so need to think of a place to bring them

kam
thanks! so can only feed yolk part is it? maybe i can try that. cannot feed the white part yet right?? my aunty told me should feed half-boiled egg! i'm like...er...is it safe to eat half cooked food for babies? thats why wanna confirm how u gals do it.

so how often do you feed egg yolk? once a wk?

stephanie
paiseh, ytd i couldn't join you gals. my girl slept till very late, by the time she woke up past 3pm already and then it started to rain!!

Kam,

I'm actually okay. My hubby , inlaw and parents are the paranoid ones. They keep thinking is not right to bring such yound children to such far place but its really been such a long time for me since i step out of singapore.

Glad that we finally take the first step.

~Itsy~
Thanks to you n ur hubby for being such great hosts! We enjoyed ourselves alot. Nice meeting some of the mummies for the 1st time.

~joopz~
My boy is allergic to cow's milk, when I let him try the yougert, he doesn't like it and had rashes ard his mouth like 5 to 10mins later. Luckily I stopped. No yougert for him. : (
I oso let him try cereal w milk.. Also got same allergy...

~milkway~
Hi-5 I like snow white too! And the 7 dwarfs..i used to collect the snow white figurines n the 7 dwarfs.

~maelyn~
Guess the elders hv diff sayings on intro of porridge. I intro porridge when Bb is 8 mths n mil is complaining it's too late, Shld start earlier. Whatever.
He eats porridge w fish / chicken/ pork daily and he's ok w tat.

<font color="dc143c">kiki</font>
join us today??

<font color="dc143c">porridge</font>
just cooked porridge with organic tofu and cod fish..and i cooked the grains with silver fish &amp; gou qizi.. (the red red raisin like thing.. cant rem its name suddenly!!)
Steamed the fish separately and pour into the porridge after the fish is cooked... oh.. put tofu in at the last also...
The pot LOOKS good! heheheh.. :p
i wonder how it taste.. Rayanne sleepin in Manduca now.. gonna put her down..(if she allows) and then i'm gonna bathe and eat the porridge.. i cooked a pot enough for both of us... easier la...else cook a bit very difficult...
in fact i think can feed 3 persons.. hahahaa... :p

REady to go out after i conquer the above.. :p

kiki,
Yes, only yolk for now. Hard boil is the safest. Half boiled ones still have risk of contaminants. Having said that, most of the farmed eggs are pretty safe (clean) nowadays. I knew a mummy fed her baby half boiled egg and she was fine. Just to be on the safe side, hard boiled is recommended. Whole egg will have to wait till at least 1 year old. Hehe, I haven't started with my girl yet, maybe this weekend. For my boy, I gave him 2-3 yolk per week to start with. Later, I let him bring 1 yolk a day to the childcare to be eaten together with his lunch (porridge). To me, egg is superfood, very nutritionous. An egg a day should be fine.

Was planning Ry's menu for the week and it's so yawn... but now! I'm gonna add egg yolk and french beans and beets and bell peppers and paneer and chedder, can't wait! So exciting.

rach
where are u all going today? i thought rayanne has runnynose? she is better already?

porridge
i really envy your babies can eat fish and chicken without fussing! i think mine wants to be a vegetarian!! everytime i feed her fish she gets quite upset, even though eventually she will finish it if i put in some other sweet puree!

kam
wah..2-3 yolk sounds like a lot! ok...i think maybe i'd try soon.

<font color="119911">Hi mummies,
i have got an extra set of zoophonics flash card to sell... anyone interested?? is brand new. selling at $20.00. pls pm me if interested. thanks

<font color="dc143c">kiki</font>
Rayanne is ok liaoz..
her runny nose wasnt that bad..just a few ah choo here and there.. Daddy say MUST see doc... OKAY.. so i bring lo... he is super possesive daddy.. thank God he's not a super possesive HB.. lol... sometimes i wonder Rayanne more impt to him. ahha.. or maybe he knows he cant control me.. lol....

anyway.. given oral drops and nose drop...
no ah choo today...and no dripping also.. ;p

dunno gg where..still thinking.. lol...

princess, michelle

Haha..juz a lil la..Nw i know why the pple at the Mac staring at me. I feed her with the stirrer. I think a lil of everything shld be fine

marie

Wow..beets, bell peppers for a bb?? think some adults don't even eat or like them.

<font color="dc143c">Batch 5 Happy bellies has arrive!

kiki if u coming i bring ur stuffs??

<font color="dc143c">OLD NAVY has arrived too!!

rach
oh okie. when u decided wanna go where then msg me and let me know? but the sky looks dark, like gonna rain again!

<font color="dc143c">my porridge</font>
lol!! my porridge damn nice loh. wahahaha..
i finished all of it.. :p

I just added some soya sauce and fried onions for my taste...
hehehe.. :p

Rayanne will eat it later... kekekeke.. :p

rach and kiki,
I envy your babies, can try so many variety. Im working and can only do that during weekends.

In fact i wanna let cayden try pasta for one of the meals. Worried will trouble myMIL haiz...she already throw the white towel liao..so .

rach,
still have the hyland teething tablets. Warao i think cayden other teeth are spouting out. He start drooling again...:/

kiki> think my mum pre cooked the chicken first den after tat shrede the boiled chicken n put into his porridge to feed him. i dunno how his sch prepare the chicken for him though

as in i boiled de egg fully, dig out the egg yolk n mix with his porridge to feed him. baby can only eat fully cooked egg yolk wor

my boy likes to try new food. so anything u feed him initially he eats it. but he love to eat from the same bowl/portion as me. so now i go fast food, i dig the bread for him. he'll be so happy although i seriously dun think it taste any much better den his cereal/puree

girlygirly> haha. ice cream ma. sounds so wow =p how did she take de "coldness". my boy gets a shock when i gave him cold yogurt. but, m i supposed to make it warm? -_-

xmasc> i think u can juz buy the bellamy's macroni/pasta, den buy de heinz puree sauce or make ur own tomato puree. shuld not be too hard. haha. but i say only. if my boy rely on me for food. he dun need eat le

all my parents n ifc cook for him one. i only need to open mouth, suggest wat to cook for him =p somemore my parents oso working. really wonder where dey get the time. dey can pick him from sch n still prepare his food.

michelle, that is what i bought hahaha, yah my mum i will just tell her and she will do it. But MIL i hestitated :p because she will find me....ma fan..will say just eat porridge will do.

<font size="+1"><font color="0000ff"> xmasc,</font></font>
yup teething tab just arrived this morning...
How many u want??
Aiyah I meeting itsy n steph now.. U SMS me earlier I can pass to itsy....

<font size="+1"><font color="0000ff"> Michelle,</font></font>
I'll post urs tmr k?
Rushing out just now didn't get to pack... Hee..

aiyo oh man..you gals very good hor can keep meeting de.If i bring cayden out..i can forget about sitting down...grr...

oh yah i want two boxes.

<font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">pasta</font></font>
wow!! I can imagine my mum complaining if I feed pasta.
But that's wat ANG moh babies eat rite?? Dun think they eat porridge!! Lol...

talking about pasta, my best friend's dog (she's italian) eats speghetti and meatballs for his meals...like lady and the tramp
very cute!

Rylen likes the like pasta stars too and the dogs always have to have a share of pasta when we have as well. Pasta dinners at least once a week at home. I *heart* pasta... but it's usually wholemeal or spinach version. Trying to be all healthy to set a good example for Rylen. *sigh*

<font color="0000ff">kiki</font> when i brought Kate to her PD 2 months ago, her PD commented that the soles of her feet is a little yellowish, so asked me to vary her food (poor girl, i used to give her one week pumpkin, one week sweet potato, one week carrot!!) so now I give her spinach and carrot alternate days, brocolli and pumpkin alternate days, alternate weeks, she seems better.
Oh and now that she eats fish/chicken/tofu/egg yolk, i cut down on the veg a little...maybe that helps too, coz initially it was just veg puree on its own.

I want to try cheese next!

Re Chicken: i tried slicing a few thin slice of breastmeat, steam, and blend it with seamed pumpkin and brocolli (i improvise from anabel Karmel's book), then freeze.
Oh, but it won't be super smooth! Kate's fine with the texture.

xmasc> my boy very fussy one wor. if de porridge no taste he refuse to eat. u must boil his porridge with sweet potato n carrot to make it sweet tasting den he eats lo

rach> sure sure. no hurry. i stll have. juz tat buy first to standby. last nite he was a headache. must be his teeth. cant sleep wor. heng after giving him 2 tablets n abit of carrying by hubby, he fell asleep

haha. ok one la. give pasta try ma. try more diff food. nxt time wun be so fussy?

marie> if u eat pasta once a wk, den u do ur own pasta sauce for ur baby or u use heinz ones? heinz one bottle too big rite? or u make ur own tomato puree?

paige> me too wanna try cheese. juz bought the laughing cheese. keep forgetting to give to him. haha. still got 4 yogurts to finish too. keep forgetting to bring to my mum's place =p