(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

erm, hubby and i tryin to cut down on carbo.. so we have not been eatting rice for the past few weeks during dinner.. bcos of the lil rascal, we will hav to share rice w him.. hopefully tingkat rice is suitable for denson, if not i tink i really need to use tiger jar to cook rice ler..

sweetmama
its something like that... actual pic have to go home to take.

5140237.png

bought a few years ago from a stall in chinatown. think <$150

joyful
why the food jar will lose its power if used too often? I thought only if you drop it...

anyway try the boiling method to cook rice for denson.. especially if he like the soft/wet type. wait until the water boil already then let it continue to boil for about 5 mins more. pour water out and strain it. Can keep the water to make milk or drink.

dont bother to use rice cooker to make 3/4 bowl of rice. I find the side and base always dry up like claypot rice

joyful,

Have u tried those microwavable pot for cooking rice? Needs only 10min.

Din know cannot let the grains sit for more than 1 hr after washing ... i soak the grains overnite leh. Not considered washing rite?

joyful,

Oh, have u tried steaming method? Nowadays i cook rice by steaming it since i only cook for him. Needs abt 15-20 mins for that small bowl.

the drypers drypants hor.. i saw that the XL hv like 2 packagings.. 1 is bigger pack de.. the other oni like 20-smting pcs.. izit all type packs oso one-for-one or oni the bigger pack de? the guardian i went to ystrday oso no stock le... promo finishing..guess alot of plcs no stock le.

initially i din wana buy at all, cos drypers leak big time.. so i gave my colleagues all my other brands wrapper.. but nw, i was tinking cld prolly try the drypants.....but too late le! hahaha.. no more other brand wrappers..n mostly out of stock le!

i cant find the microwave pot ler.. i noe abt it.. i tried using normal microwavable container.. rice dun turn out well.. where can i get huh?

soak considered wash ler..

kikilala,

u mean boil e rice grains then let it boil for another 5mins and then?? use food jar or rice cooker? i tink i need to cook the rice b4 i go to work...

i steam rice every ngiht too for myself and ahlao.
put rice in a steel plate. then water in rice cooker. then swtich on. steam laio

wah, kiki, that pic so cina. hahah

Re: rice
Ryan doesn't eat rice..he always spit it out
Always gotta cook porridge for him

Jul,
Yeah mostly OOS
U call before going down..need try diff outlets

Will hav to selectively giv him e food loh.. Will backup some ingredients in fridge just in case really Nt suitable..

I oso giv him all sorts of food ler.. I m more concern if it is too salty..

Joycec
U stay in tampines?

Cloudme
How much is the new version petpet?

Pull-up
Got 1 new brand tink call babylove, yellow packaging tink quite cheap, i forgot how much. Saw in carrefour. Its the same distributor as fitti. The salesgirl that time told me say ti replace fitti premium but this one pullup and fitti tape leh..

joyful,

U can buy the microwavable pot from cold storage.

Those 3 tier steamer also can but no need so ley-chey if u are only cooking rice. I steam using my normal pot. Wash grains and add water to it. Put some water inside the pot and steam like how u would for steam egg. If denson likes mushy rice, u can add a little more water into the grains b4 u steam. I normally steam for abt 15-20mins for ovann's rice.

joycec,

Haha .. wanted to go popeyes for valentine's day but once we drove into the carpark, we drove out liao cos it was so crowded. I din know there's a chinese restaurant there. I thot it serves western food and some kind of bistro?

baby s,

Hahaha .. the video is hilarious!

Nowadays i meet more considerate commuters leh .. offering seat to me, press lift for me, and a few who readily helped to carry my stroller when the wheels got stuck at the train doors. Of cos there are the inconsiderate ones like those u met, but overall, i think i met nicer pple compared to last time. Maybe becos we travel at off peak hrs bah.

Hello everyone!

fatbobo,
u r arranging lunch tmr? I like to join! hv not been catching with everyone here!

joyful,
I steam rice in Tefal 3 Tier Steamer. It depend grains. Normally I steam for full rice cup it take around 30mins. I also cook rice using corning ware in microwave oven too.

Diaper
tink Distributor DSG Intl carry diaper brand like PetPet, Fitti Premium, Fitti Basic and BabyLove. I do not see NTUC carry Baby Love. last year we order bulk from distributor.

Juz finish another madness dinner dash..

Rush home to steam rice, I tink this method is easier, need to gauge e correct Amt of water..

Quickly thaw fish, steam it. Heat up e soup..

After eating, still need to battle w him to get him down e chair.. He dun finish all e food, n always want to play.. Faints ah..

Lunch today,
Got "chioed" by Sharon for lunch, so count me in! Look forward to meeting up too

Wow so many kids going to CC already. Sophie has also started her playgroup in a new cc. Thank God she didn't take too long to adapt. Now after two weeks can see that she's happy and enjoying school with new friends and teachers.

In terms of milk feeds, I give her 120ml for breakfast, then she has another bottle of 150ml in the afternoon before nap and then another 210ml for night. I have a relaxed attitude in terms of trying new food, so she follows the older kids and have the same food as them. The school has a monthly menu so we know what she has for each meal, snack, etc. This new cc also has gym classes where an external gym provider will come in for an hour every week and the teachers also go through the kinder music programm so the kids are exposed to music- all these all included in the school fees. And she'll be going for her first school excursion! Wow how fast they grow

Dinner for kids
In my consideration for this new playgroup, it was important that they serve dinner for Sophie as her previous child care said it as company policy not to provide dinner as they want the children to bond with their parents. While I agree with their intentions, it's just not practical since parents who send their kids to child care are mostly working and already struggle to pick them on time. So very glad that this cc serves dinner. Although it is early, between 5:30-6, it saves me a lot of headache. Otherwise what I used to cook is mee sua, porridge, pasta or rice with dishes and soup.

Before that I also relied on my mircowave pot for cooking rice like what pegsfur mentioned. Can cook rice in less than 15 mins. I also rely on my slow cooker to make soup so that we can enjoy a home cooked meal after work. Else I used to prepare the ingredients the night before and quickly cook in 20 mins after I get home from work. Really a lot of work since no helper or parents. But at least I'm heartened that hubby and Sophie enjoy my cooking.

New PetPet,
Yes I also prefer the new petpet. I bought it before when I went to KL and the tape is similar to Fitti Premium. By the way, Fitti Premium was still on discount when i went last weekend.But alot of NB, S and XL. Was something like $0.22C for M size. So do grab them before it all runs out!

Kumar show
Went for a date with hubby tonight to watch the Kumar show. Simply hilarious and he as in drag throughout. Initially dressed in a sari then stripped to a tiny sequined dress. His figure will put many girls to shame
He was just poking fun at other races and very inpolitically correct so I guess you have to go with an open mind to not feel offened.

Sorry for the lost post since MIA for a while. hehe

cloudme
carrefour still shou have according to my friend when she went last week.. but limited stock on XL.. still $19.90 for 2 packets

hi mrng ladies~

re: lunch (Kia Hiang, lvl 2 intl plaza @12:15)
ya.. great..seems quite afew can make it today.. weeee~ so we nw hv:
1. Sharon
2. Eunice
3. Joyful
4. April
5. Joia
6. fatBobo
...anyone else?

joia:: whr u saw the fiti premium? i wld need XL..if still hv..i will go grab some le.

wah.. the cc sophie is in sounds quite good hor.. serve dinr, enrichment classes all in oso. hw much u paying the fees?

mine..tink oni serve evng snacks niah.. no dinr.

re: kumar show
seems like i hv quite a few frens went to the show last evng.... so many of them FB abt it. hehe.

jagiebaby,
haha i hv not ask DSG for babylove. tot of buy one and try first b4 commit for bulk lah..

re: lunch (Kia Hiang, lvl 2 intl plaza @12:15)
c u ladies later.. juz reach office..start work ...

The cc is called sunflower kiddyhouse which is just opposite my office. So it’s really convenient for me. I signed up during promo plus they give discounts to parents working nearby, so the fees is $650.

Bobo,
Sawe the fitti premium from the PS outlet

jagiebaby,

i stay in punggol but working in Changi business park. So sometimes when i need a break from work, i will travel to tampines during lunch time. Can do some shopping to make myself happy! haha...

Pegsfur,
Yah lor, that place is damn crowded. There is a Chinese restaurant, popeyes and a bar bistro there. Apparently, there is going to be a prawn farm there soon as well.

We did not managed to eat at popeyes too, tao bao back instead. We were making fun of the chinese restaurant signage. They put there as "XIAN"...which can be known as tired...boring. haha...next to the XIAN word is a tiny chinese character 鲜

Joia,
Aaden is at Sunflower too. But they do not serve dinner in this CC outlet. This CC is located near my HB office. Anyway, i gave them another serving of milk and they will give it to him around 5plus.

Petpet,
Didnt know that they had a new version. I ordered 3 packs of diapers from Luvbabies liao. Think it will be a while before i buy the new version to try.

April,

is it cheaper to order petpet from DSG? Cos i ordered the "older" version from Luv babies, 3 packs at S$45. It is those jumbo packs i think, so it comes up to be about S$0.17 per piece.

can order straight from DSG ah?

i wanted to buy the petpet from the Ang Mo Supermarket near my office. L size 72 pieces, selling for $12.95.

but always very limited or no stock one...