(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

michelle

Me very tired too.

I can only sleep at 12am coz Sam sleeps at 10pm.. then need to wake up at 6am to pump coz Sam wakes at 630am!

regg

Yeah very sian.. But I'm bad. I let Hubs wake up n see to him. But still his crying will wake me up lah, so very sleep deprived

I m reading the Philippines Election 2010 candidates profiles so that later I can chit chat with my maid. My maid wants to vote so I'm planning to take her to Embassy on coming Sunday to vote. So today I print 44 pages of the profile for her to read and I hold a copy to read now. When she first time asked me if she can vote, I straight away said no. Later I think think in office, ... when I was in US, I also never vote when Singapore has election. But no matter what I vote, my country will still be won by the best. In Philippines, one precious vote can determine the life of the ppl in the country. After discussing with my hb, we decided to take her to vote lah.

bb/donkey.. my girls DUNO hw to suck tutu!!! hahaa.. dun understand. bought different kinds..same result.

RE: GIVE TUTU OR WATER IN THE NIGHT
piggy.. i oso read shld stop night feed aft 6mths..but haha.. my girls cannot leh. 1st, they dun 'appreciate' tutu... 2nd, i tried water..they became more geng xin!!!!! by right oso say try not to pat or rock or watever rite? we tried..oso no use. milk means milk..else..loud protestion even oppt blk can hear!

jul..haha..this mrng when hb said hw cm our girls the older they get..they shorter their nite sleep..... i replied.. cos they old le! LOL~ lao ren jia meh? old ppl dun sleep much de mah. kaoz!

RE: PHILIPPINES ELECTION 2010
wah seh BB... 44 pgs..haha. i wun be bothered to do this for my fili maid. ur good.

How often do you let your maids call back home ?
Any regulation ?
My maid family keep calling the agency back home and the agency wld call Spore agency say how come my maid never call home...
Its 1-2 mths and its very exp to let her call back....also she mention b4 she didnt want to call home as it will cause home sickness....

i got my fili maid last june (cmg to a year le).. im on the verge on repariating her!

when she came, like 1st nite..we asked her if wana call hm.. (tinking li xiang bei jing.. call hm bao ping an lor).. den subsequently, we bought her a call card (we sponsored 1st card...after dat..she pay her own..but we get it for her). it was like once a mth..den if anyone birthday or watever..she will request to call hm too.

but cos she was our first maid.. we juz chin cai. but i tink not a good idea for them to call hm.. ya, abit chan ren, but prolly the more they speak to their family.. they more they will miss them..n den no mood to work n all?

my new indo who juz joined us abt a mth ago.. so far she hasnt called hm. yes, hb did asked her if wana call hm..she said no. i asked her why..she said actually her mother dun really agree on her cmg spore to work de..den she say until like teary eyes. initially i told her for the more she shld phone n tell the mother she is alrite n all. but after that..she din request..i told hb we shldnt keep offering oso le.

dolce.. i tink your maid's family siao de arh! she's here to work leh.. not that we're heartless..but certain tings gota draw a line mah. even to ask your maid to buy her own call card.. oso not ideal lor. although she might feel the pinch for the call cost.. but she might get 'addicted' to making calls de woh.

fat bobo,
totally understand ur feeling, i am handling 1 boy who still not sleeping thru already panda eyes and yet u have 2!

Dolce,
i guesss all depends on the deal u set with ur maid? mine we told her no HP(cos previous one we learn lesson liao, she can talk on the HP with hand free like P.I whole day), but we offer her to call home when she arrived at our place to "BAO PIN ANN". then her family can call her if got any urgency and we help her to buy phone card she need to ask permission first if she need to call.because we are e one helping her to buy the card so can monitor. usually is abt call home once a mth.

fatbobo, hehe.. I promise my maid mah, if she is good, I'll be very good to her, if she no good n no intention to improve, I'll send her home. No returning to agency.

Dolce, my maid thinks call home is expensive so she didnt want to call home. So if we hear some bad news about her hometown (like flood, etc), we will call home for her n let her talk to family. Christmas eve is a big day for her, so we also buy the card n let her call. Her birthday I also give her a card to call home. It's very sad to be away from home so if she is good, we should encourage them to call home. Sometimes I see my maid cry in the phone, aiyo.. my heart melted...

dolce/regg..
my this fili maid hor.. abt 1mth aft she joined.. she suddenly came up to me..crying leh.. said "mdm..sorry..there's something i want to confess..i brought a handphone here, but i did not declare to agent." that time i still a new employer, hvnt deliver.. den i was like.. "its ok la..dun cry...we're fine if u hv a hp..but u hfta be mindful, in futures when girls arrive, ur not allowed to use it during daytime n blah blah blah.."

she mainly use on sms. i tink she was using her philippines line de.

there was once i told the agent she actually 'smuggle' a phone in.. the agent was very angry and said she will sure not let her bring the hp back when she leave in future..since it's not in her belongings declaration form. we can say she stole it or wat!

when my new indo came.. she even said my indo maid 'stupid'..duno hw to 'smuggle' in...n in front of my mum leh. my mum oso told her say in future she cannot bring her hp back..den she kept quiet.

that's y arh.. i shld quickly repariate her..else she go n influence my indo!!!

anyways regg... hahahaha.. the way u said your maid perpetually whole day like P.I. so funny la.. hahahhaahahahaha~

So far my maid haven requested callin home yet.. i tink she find it expensive to call n we dun wan to spoilt her by buyin her a card but we did buy 1 n keep at home in case she wan to call... the maid agency actually advice us not to let them call so often n treat them too well .. in long run they will feel we r obliged to gave her phone card etc...

Fatbobo,
at first my boi also dunno how to suck pacifier leh u mus hold n press to their mouth n let them get used to it... but did u try to increase their milk intake in the day?

ya BB.. we all noe away frm hm is sad....especially like their job.. no leave to fly hm kind..unless aft the contract.. but like your maid..she appreciate the tings u provide her oso..n return with job goob.. ok la.. fair mah.

we treated the fili quite good oso de lor..(i will not say best kind..but ping liang xin..i tink relatively good le).. she oso noe hw to say can owas go out eat at restaurant..bring her to church..etc... but she was bcmg more n more lazy.. do biao mian gong oni. slow, like when u tell her something..she dun respond de..she use her nose to asn (this is wat my confinement nanny owas say her!)..see.. 8-9mths liao le, no imporovement, but became worse!! nw with new indo maid.. she became mdm le.. instruct the indo to do things.. call her 'silly'..etc.

ya, i will not return her to agency also.. sorry.. she will go straight to the plane!

Aiyo, I saw my maid phone from Philippines so old, the numbers on the phone also disappear liao so I bought a phone for her leh. But I told her no phone call in the day. She can call during her sleeping time. But she never call lah, only sms. She is so lonely in foreign country, we didnt allow her to take day off to make friends, so we hv to be her friend mah...

fat bobo,
i used to feel very "ke lian" for them.
but after seeing those maid's behavior. i give up liao. of cos we still treat them nice cos they help us taking care our family members and baby.
talking abt P.I. ya..our previous fili maid did tat. she use those handfree with wire one,the speaker at her ear and the wire going thru her t shirt , out from her waist and slot in her pant's pocket...really look like P.I. from behind you wont know she is on the fone! got once she was using that on listem radio and watering the plants in the garden, she splash the water on me and still not aware! dont mention abt can talk almost whole day with the hand free. some nitez i passed by her room at 12mid nite i still can hear she talking on fone! really madness! she wanted to cont her contact with us and claim wanna take care my bb, i told my hb she pay me the salary instead i also dont want to hire her anymore.

my current one is from indo. abit tut tut, u say 1 she do 1, sometimes very angry but so far still OK.

But hw long is long leh ?
My maid is here for almost a year liao...
When she first reach of coz we let her call back.
In the contract, agreed no HP, so every other mth or so, we will use calling card n let her call home...calling card is S$10, n can onli last 20min, all paid by us...
Last month, after talking to her family, she request for HP, to which we say no cos exp if she just dial IDD n also we dun wana let her hv the freedom of using it as n when...( we just got to know she has a friend here !!! so she might want the phone to chit chat with fren )...

So now the family keep pestering every few months..haizz...very sian lor
I mean understood that their daughter is working at a far away place n they wana knw she is doing ok ( now that we are parent ourselves ) but sometimes we are really busy with our stuff that totally forgot abt it, my maid also never request to call home.......
Feel kinda "yuan wang" cos her family might tot we dun let her call home...

piggy, we tried to hold (push) the tutu in their mouth le.. cannot.. they will start pushing with the tutu in the mouth oso de lor.. no matter hw long u hold.. if the pushing doesnt work.. they will hit your hand away, or kick u away. (dat's hw gentle my girls are!!!)

not much luck in increasing the milk intake.. like max they can drink 4oz a time niah. even sometimes, 4oz oso need to drink by instalment de lor.

guess we juz need to ren ming! but at least nw with 2 helpers, hb or i juz wake up abit to check..that's all.. now, we dun really hfta stay up the whole time the girls drink or get chgd.

still disturbing sleep n all.. but i tink we already got so used to it le... lalala~

*yawnz*

fat bobo

ya agreed, usually their pattern will show after 6 mos.
mine now 10 mos, now asking for HP, we told her no cos as she agreed in the contract.
cos she need to call home. phone card should be enuff. she also bcome nt that auto when come to wrk, so instead of wait for her to do, i will instruct her to do. because she taking care bb mon - fr till we go home from wrk. and sat sun we take care bb ourself, so usually she will do mroe house hold work during weekend.

fatbobo, if you dont like her and hv given her many chances still no improvement, then sent her off fast before she influences your indo maid too much. My maid knows me very well how I deal with ppl, some times I share with her during dinner how I deal with suppliers or subordinates. I've no patience for ignorance.

fat bobo.
ur gals dont like tutu cos dint intro to them since born rite? if they dont like now i think u can really give up le.
ya i also ren ming le..hahaha

regg, hahaha.. steady. my MIL's ex-maid (indo)oso.. she will stick a earphone in her ear n do hse work. she claimed she's afraid cos she's alone in the 3-storey hse.. subsequently, i got a dog (my current monster at hm).. n i tink she had company n din really listern to music so much le. but anyways....

my currently fili arh.. she said she doesnt want off-day..why? cos we owas bring girls out over wk'n de mah..she tag along..she got meals..can shop..everything paid for..no need to fork out money mah. clever rite?

she's clever la.. but we're not stupid oso.

my this indo oso abit tut tut de.. abit siao siao..she smtimes play with my girls..she can laugh like a little kid herself.. but she's responsive, fast, etc.. much better than the fili la.

so nw arh.. i dilema..duno wana get another indo or take back a fili to replace the current fili.

fatbobo,
ya i agree with regg .. i intro tutu when my boi past 1 mth old now i tink they dun know how to appreciate liao.. ur maid really terrible even order the indo maid ard...

Dolce,
u shd ask the maid to pay the the phone card herself n not payin for it .. they will take it for grated 1...

sometimes, we not only have to manage the maid, we also have to manage their family! *faint...
like my maid, she is damm pampered one... back home she is the only daughter to her mum, she is a mother of 1 herself. Then her mum practically gave our home no to all her relatives... u can imagine receiving phone call asking for her, even she herself dun know who is on the line... really slam head loh... best is dun see loh... the more i see the more i bui tan han... She is allow to make phone call with the phone card we help her buy... sometimes she will ask me for permission, sometimes I think she call when we are not at home. Before she came my hse, my only criteria is Strictly no HP. Then after a while, her mum insisted she ask my permission for the hp cos the mum wanna send the video on the hp of her son. I told her NO... can send photo mar. Although she seem like going to tear liao... but I think once the hp come sure haywired one. Then the mum always call to her and complain wat is happening back home... like those domestic issue... then got once I really bui tan han... I "wash" her brain.... I tell her, U already so BIG liao... even a mother to a son liao... Ur mother seriously should treat u like an adult... then I gei gei use myself as example on how I "break" free from my mum's questioning in those younger days.... hahaha... I think it work...

regg> ops. 6days ah? but no diff la. u know since my boy born, i have to wake up latest 640am on wkends oso leh. cos my boy wakes up tat early -_-

jul> aiyah u very shiong hor. cos u pump n dun latch. wkend i like cos no need pump

bb> hehe. so good leh u

dolcevita> tot dey call hm is buy those card n call themself? not use ur hm phone ma?

fat bobo,
u even more steady, paid for thier shopping list too? ours usually tag along when we go for family gathering, usually dinner or lunch. hm.. so far i dint paid for her if she wanna shop but, i buy her sweet, facial wash, and some other daily use items and i told her is bb buy for her de. she will be very happy and i can feel she really treat my boy like prince! haha

if u ask me, i will nv ever get fili again.

Fatbobo,
wah u pay for her shoppin also??? mine like Regg when we bring her out she only eat with us no shoppin ard 1... n daily use item all we buy 1...

Regg,
actually i tink FIli 1 r more clever in faking la... more pattern.. my INdo maid no doubt english not so gd but at least she is hardworking.. alr with us abt 6mths hope she dun gave any pattern ...

piggy

ya fili more clever and my previous one when go out on offday, will come home with men's name card! and also dont noe how she get contact with the men wrking at the petrol station and get with vegetables!!!! my mil was so angry and ask her to return it.

6 mos now>? pattern not yet come out lah.. haha.
my lesson learn is : to set daily schedule for them, so they just to follow..tis will work better then let them do it themself.

hehe.. my girls now treat the 3 tutus like a teether tingy.. or watever toy.. they will bite the handle..they will shake it.. or throw it at the other sis..do watever with it.. except leaving it in the mouth n suck. (hw i wish there's a giant tutu for me leh!! hehehe!)

no la regg.. im not so good lar.. whr got pay for her shopping list.. she high taste de lor.. shampoo use dove..den shower gel duno wat brand.. she wana buy expensive stuff..her business..those, she pay her own.

same lar.. like i will buy ice cream.. food stuffs.. durians.. for her la..

this mon is my indo's bday..im tinking of getting her some gifts..n dinr lar. (last yr fili's bday, oni dinr n ice cream niah.. cos i already abit bu shuang her le..hahaha)

although abit scared of putting 2 indo together.. but then.. i dun tink i hv the same good impression on fili anymore le. recently i interviewed a fili in the agent (she was returned de).. when told her she has to work with another maid (indo).. she jit tao give jit teh bin (immediately give a face).. like..she totally look down on indo lor!

i was tinking.."aeh hello, indo oso human can..they oso poor ting leave hm to work as maid can..in fact, indo r better workers den u fili can.. except their language not as good la.... if u so attas... den go back to philippines, go be teacher there or watever.. y wana cm here!"

wah so angry.. before she reply me anything.. i told her 'u can go'..i went back to the agent n complained abt her.

Michelle, me no good lah. Only when she good, I'll be good.

Daily schedule for maid
I never give the schedule. I told her what needs to be done n I told her she is mature to plan on her own. If she wants me to plan, it will be lot of work. So she plans her own schedule. So far my MIL very happy good enough. I super clean one so I clean my own room n bathroom, cannot let anyone touch. So my maid knows I already lowered my standard to match my MIL. As long as my MIL happy, I'm happy, as long as my baby happy, I'm happy, ...

Regg,
i tink more than 6mth le bah cant remember but so far so gd jus hope it remain this way lo..

fatbobo,
hahah my boi also treat the pacifier as teether if he dun wan to suck n he will swing the handle...

wah BB.. u even clean your own room n bathroom. *salute*

initially i oso juz told my fili wat needs to be done.. she's older, ard 36yo bah.. so i oso told her i respect her as someone older....will not treat her like a little girl.. she shld noe wat to do. but apparently.. she's simply finding easy way out all the time.. n hardly rmbr anything we told her de.

but nw..i juz handed them a schedule le.. cos i dun wan she take her own sweet time n not finish her work.. n in the end.. the indo go n kioh her sai!!!

oh..cm to tink of it.. my girls prefer the cover of the tutu to the tutu itself. i suck it in front of them to show hw i shld hv been.. they heck care me!! ):

haha fatbobo, very funny. yalor, my house got 2 cars, but every time she only helps to wash. I see my neighbours wash car everyday, no point lah. I told her when sir wash, she helps. I still think we get a helper to help, not to do everything. As long as she has lessen our work, good enough.

BB..ur lucky... yur helper even more lucky to have u as employer! hahahaha...

u treat her nice.. she return.. ok.

we treat the fili nice.. she.. sigh. juz last sun, my MIL was so so so so so upset with her.. she said she doesnt wana c the fili step into her hse anymore!!!

BB,

I also have high standard, but my husband was saying if you got a maid to help out but yet u still do ur own housework, then y engage her ?
Which is quite true lah, so i let her help clean my room toilet n my room floor, no touching of other stuff though...heehee...
No point engage their help liao, yet we slog while they sit there watch tv, or sit ard with nothing to do......

We didnt ask her to pay for the calling card as its not that freq that need to call back but recently its getting worse lor...their family complain is coming more n more frequent....
We are using those overseas calling card which we will call using home phone, but it always does not work n will work oni on hp..strange...

Just dun feel happie that the family kept calling to pester lor, also duno wat my maid said to them over the phone.
Each time call back will use up one card...$10 gone...

fatbobo, omg, ur MIL so upset? Geess... I told my maid on the first few days, if she no good, I'll quit job n stay home, n it means I dont need her. Must let ur maid know, she is anytime dispensable then she will treasure her job more.

Baby doesnt like tutu
Sometimes could be the shape n size. I bought all the cute cute tutu but my girl doesnt like. She only like the avent 3-6months one.

fatbobo,
my boy also eat the cover only...give up on tutu liao

donkeymami/BB,

re: bathing
cos of ryan's eczema, PD say bathe water only
so became a habit n now still put cetaphil in water only

re: maid
really cannot treat them too nice....1 juz send 1 back...new one also jialetz....really piss me off
the one we send back even got 2 hp! 1 spore line n 1 fili line
say miss her son, want off day?! crap reason
so we buy webcam for her...she can use skpye talk to her son
she even complain work too much...end up everything i wash myself except clothes
still complain to agency we ill treat her..say wan change employer
so agency came up to do spot check...she was in the room reading story book n me n my mum washing in the kitchen!!
so off the plane she go...she still owe agency money lor

this new one v a tut a tut kind...but too a tut, piss me off too
my mum soak birdnest yday nite, wan cook tis morn...tis morn she go throw away! say its rubbish
*faint*
but we suspect she stole money
so now im deciding whether to send her back anot...

if can find a good maid, as good as strike 4d

fat bobo: the trial was cancelled cos too many babies fall sick and unable to go. My gal also... coughing and fever on sunday... till now the cough still not ok yet... very tiring... and she get really cranky and very "yang O" keep asking for bao bao...

sharon, >_< read ur maid, I faint ah. My maid wanted to clean my room but I said no need. I handwash my clothes no need her help too, these r my personal space. Of course when we busy, she wont sit there watch tv lah. She will find things to do. I've set my requirement in the first place so easy for me to manage her. She knows when I'm not happy, the world rocks. hahah so she is smart to make the world in calm stage all the time. Talking about stealing money. I told her on the first day, if we ever suspect her steal money, off she goes. Errr.... I laid my rules upfront. Maybe I m lucky to hv a good maid....

Poor Ryan, maybe I can give you some California baby shower gel to try rather than u buy the whole bottle n end up not suitable.

bb> haha. but i think sometimes it's good to treat the maid good, so dey'll be good in return. but some good to them, dey climb on u -_- tat y till now i dare not get a maid. i rather get part time helper. anyway i think maid is a very complicated person. hah

Dolce, maybe you should ask ur maid to stop her family from harassing u. If she cannot do that then tell her very sorry hv to send her back.

Well, I need my personal space. I dont like ppl touching my personal things. She has never stepped into my room before, hehehe, door always closed or locked.

Try Hello International Call Card. I use that to call Philippines. Last time they charge even if the line cant get through, now no charge. BTW, it does not mean one call must finish $10 ok. Tell ur maid before u call for her, 30mins she has to stop so that she can save the 30mins for next time. This is what I do.

Michelle, my hb n I so scare to get a maid too after hearing so many stories. But we've no choice. We need extra hands and maid is the choice. Maid is complicated cos she has a different culture. We need to be sensitive too when we expect them to blend into our culture. I agree some maids may climb onto u if u r too nice. If I cant manage, I send them back. Simple as that.

BB,
Ya this is already the 3rd or 4th time that the family gets the agency to call us.
Will let the maid know and if this happens again then maybe u r right, she might be more suited back home than be out working....

My maid also never step in my room unless for cleaning.

Yup using those international call card. My maid is from Mynmar, $10 can only last ard 20min..hahahahhaa...Exp right and we told her b4...each time she will talk till the line was cut off due to used up of the value...

BB,

Not that we stingy, dun wana let her call back but sometimes we really forget, weekday so busy with work and weekend is baby time....n my maid didnt say anything either..
Come to think of it, we just let her call back last month only ( during their new year )...hmmm..

piggy
We thot of hiring a maid, but no place for her to sleep. Plus with my mil around, sure have alot of problems de. She always think her $$ is bigger than the bullcart wheel, and will probably give the maid a hard time. The last thing i want is to settle their problems, when the maid is suppose to help settle my problem. Furthermore, i'm not working liao, all expenses have to depend on hubby. It wld be hard to come up with this extra expense.

sharon
Ooh .. din know can cook porridge in this manner. I think can give it a try .. gotta go buy the stainless steel pot first

mashy
I'm currently using the inner pot from the thermal cooker to cook the porridge, so that i can just transfer to the cooker after cooking. I've tried using the thermal cooker to cook the porridge like wat the instructions say but it doesn't work. Probably becos the volume is not alot and the porridge didn't turn out the mushy canto type as Ovann has liked it, even when i've left it for abt 3hrs.

I dun have a grinder but i will crush the rice with spoon before i cook. Actually, 1hr is quite a good improvement le since i used to need 4 hrs last time, remember?
But anyway, i'll try sharon's method when i manage to get the stainless steel pot
Cos u r right, time is really impt to sahms like us!