(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Jul,
My boy is takin abt the same as your baby,just tat mine takes one solid less so replaced with milk feed mah. How heavy is Sam?
How do u cook the porridge with pumpkin n spinach? Hmm I jus cooked tat day yest..not alot of work wor.
I placed brown rice into slow cooker for 45 mins,when it is last 15mins mark,i steam the pumpkin,last 5mins mark,i add spinach with pumpkin to steam together.
Then once done,i mash thru a sieve n feed.

Hi Pris, she (my girl) really "bui bui", guess she is like me, eat a little bit will put on weight. Same genes. My hb and mil are those never put on weight ones so they are scare lor. Some mommies did highlight to reserve some weight for baby falling sick or teething so I've been trying to maintain 3 solid meals though my mil has been telling me dont let baby eat too much. I'll keep monitoring her weight. Cant let her put on too fast as well. Thanks.

Pumpkin,
Have tried the following :

LOCAL ones
lesser flesh,when steamed not very sweet but super sweet when grilled wtih olive oil!! yummy!

AUST ones
much fleshier and sweeter when steamed.can keep for a week and still very fresh

JAP ones
will try the mini ones next week and post to share

Javier is still eating 1 solid a day.. tried to feed him porridge but he ate a few mouthful and dun wan le.. anyway to increase his appetite? i tried changing his porridge timing to 11am, oso like that..

Javier's feed
7.45am - 120ml milk
9.30am - 1 tablebspoon cereal + 1 cube puree (usually cannot finish)
11am - 220ml milk
3pm - few mouthful porridge + 120ml milk
7pm - 120ml-150ml milk
9.30om - 120ml milk

is he eating too little?

baby ja

eating porridge requires skill. U should continue and try different food. Coz bb also needs time to get used to the food. So just persist. It's not a matter of appetite, it's just not used to eating the solid. Perhaps if u increase the freq, he will learn to take it better?

bb
she's only 50%, not fat lah. Maybe she has big bones? Anyway, most lose their fats when they crawl and walk. My friends' sumo babies all slim down after they walk. Now all look normal size.

mashy
ya, i m still feeding him everyday tho he juz eat abit.. and that bit took me so much effort to cook.. haiz.. so i should feed him more than once a day?

Hi baby ja.
Had the same problem,wasted all my effort,cook,clean,wash! So wat i did was,i jus try single fruit or veg to find out wat he likes and then once i knw wat he likes then i add to brown rice-1:1.
Now he stared in anticipation when i put the bib on him and started to snatch the spoon from me and placed in his mouth. Last time i mus cooed n cooed to make him open mouth.
He used to take ONE teaspoon..wah faint lor. Now he can take at least 2tbsp.
Sweet potato is a given cos it is sweet and he dislikes carrots.
So u may wanna try n see how. And one more thing hor,I space out the feedin times to three hours so tat he is hungry enuf.
But when I first tried to find out wat he likes,i give him the solid (very small portion)aft two hrs of milk feed as a snack haha like test mkt.Then I feed milk as usual.

baby ja, you try to mix some formula or cereal to the porridge. I also face same problem initially, now she likes porridge without mixing the FM or cereal.

mashy, my girl fat fat lah. Dont know how to post pic here, else will let u see her pic. I cant really carry her much now but she must be carried and rock to sleep. Very tedious, sigh... ok heading to Finest to look for Japanese pumpkin now. Yummy. :p

Mashy
you gal is like expensive sports car... small with big petrol consumption! kekeke!
Usually it's the small sized people that can eat a cow...

BB
your MIL is quite against the norm hor. My boy is on the 95% and my PIL still complaint that he is getting thinner, flesh soft soft, etc... as if I'm starving him.

My boy also 100% must throw away milk one. If I give him 150ml, he will leave 30ml unfinish, if I give him 120ml, he will also leave 30ml!!! I suspect that the last 30ml more difficult to suck out. So your gal is not the only one throwing milk.
Anyway no choice de lah, last time if he cannot finish I will keep for 2hr and try to feed him again. But kena scolded by my mum, if got food poisoning then see doctor waste more $$ and baby suffer.

save sesame, waste watermelon!

baby ja
My "lau hokkien" boy dont like canto porriage! last time I dont know, so wasted so much time and effort cooking those canto porriage (ok... my mum does all the cooking!)
Now when I let him try teochew style porriage, he is more willing to eat more.

must trial and error... each baby is different

Titles available:
1) Top 100 baby purees 130pg $5.75
2) The Healthy baby meal planner 208pg $7.70
3) complete family meal planner 193pg $7.33
all by Annabel karmel
4) Easy gourmet baby food 258pg $15.40
Total: $36.18

1) babymaking - 1,2,3& 4
2) Jul - 3 & 4
3) baby ja - 1, 2 & 4
4) piggytoh - 2 & 4
5) Kitty - 2 & 4
6) Sophia - 1, 2 & 4
7) Dolce - 2&4
8) pegsfur -
9) el nino
10)patricia - 2 & 4
11)sharon - 2&4
12) joyful - 2&4
13) liz - 2 & 4

Jap pumpkin : can get from ntuc amk hub or giant look for green pretty strips. Going to try pumpkin porridge the remaining can make pumpkin tian pin like Bo Bo cha cha nice

my boi is 7.5months and his weight only 8.1kg no doubt he is a big eater he is very active .. So long he healthy happy that's most important

baby ja

Rule #1: Never spend more than 15mins preparing a meal. If u spend more than that, u'll only feel frustrated when they don't eat. So prepare food with the anticipation that they won't eat so u won't feel too bad if have to throw. Always make it easy and simple to prepare. Freeze if u have to. All the ang mohs also freeze their bb food and they still grow up tall and strong. So i think our own sanity is more important. And a happy mummy makes a happy baby.

BB
Dun just look at how they look. It could really be that she has heavy bones and thus make her look fatter. Her wt is alright. Go and look at your health book. Like I said, she'll slim down once she walks and when she falls sick.

And most importantly, at this time, they need all the nutrients to maximise their growth. Food is not just in growing the fats, it's also growing their brains. If u withhold food/milk from them, their brains may not develop as well. So ignore how she looks now, just give her if she's hungry. I think brains are more important than looks.

mamy poko on sale at shengshiong..i tink $20.90..saw in papers a few days back

mashy,
i agree...but ryan is not eating n drinking much now
worried he is losing weight

finally got time to come to this thread! the thread is going fast as usual!

Zachary have been so sticky to me recently. the moment i stepped out of the room, he cry already... now training him to be more close to daddy and dont be so sticky to me.

donkeymami
=) will post my flat's progress in FB. I made a reno t-blog in renotalk too. just went to select tiles today and finalised.

babymaking
the books are all black and white? sounds cheap! is it the printing company's contact which u gave me before?
just checking cos i want to copy some other books next time. =)

sharon
Re: diff FM, diff scoops
during child birth education class, Mrs Wong mentioned about it also

PJPJ
had given my boy tried a few kinds of puree.. so far the reaction all the same.. he can eat for the few mouths, after that dun wan.. today i so angry and added sweet potato puree in his porridge, still dun wan eat.. haha.. the gap between the last milk feed to his porridge is abt 3hrs+ but he still dun wan leh so i give him 120ml milk instead loh.. nvmind.. i will still continue to try.. hee..

BB
hmm add FM or cereal wun the taste be funnie? haha.. but can still try it out..

kikilala
u so funnie leh.. "lau hokkien"
let him try b4 porridge which not so nua and he puke out everything after few mouthfuls..

mashy
i trying not to be so frustrated whenever he dun wan to eat/drink.. but hor.. still trying lah.. hee.. wa.. u can prepare everything in 15mins.. fast leh...

piggy

sam also not so 'crazy hungry' after the first 3 mths. nowadays he'll wake up ard 7 or 730am, then play in his cot. only when i go into his room n he sees me carrying milk, then he'll make the irritating "ng ng ng" hungry sound *bleah*

pegsfur

hiaz.. not looking forward to advanced porridge

everyday i'm also gog to war. wake up to pump, then store quickly before sam wakes up. if there's milk left from last nite, must make sure it's warmed already b4 sam wakes.

then it's feeding, pooing, changing diaper.. trying to go out of the room w/o him fussing to throw diaper, throw wash water etc

playing n entertaining sam, praying he'll sleep. then it's porridge cooking time. must try to do within his 30min nap time. then feeding.. used to have bath but not now when my wrist is spoilt. then when sam naps, i have to pump..

my whole day's like this

pjpj

sam's abt 9.2kg, i think.

oh i cooked porridge on stove. then boiled spinach. then steamed pumpkin. then blend spinach n mash pumpkin n add to cooked porridge. took me 1h! after that, 'whole head big sweat'

sieve is easier huh?

baby ja

sam was also like that. in the beginning, he'll be enthusiastic n eat very fast. after the few mouthfuls, he starts looking down on the floor/his feet, turning here n there, grabbing my spoon, biting the chair.. very irritating!

nowadays he actually opens his mouth like a crocodile when he's swallowed. but i'm also learning to shovel food very quickly so he doesn't get bored. n i give him some bowl/spoon to bang ard to keep his happy.

else.. really wanna strangle him haha

joycec - yes yes i am still looking for ergo carrier. tks for the link.

talking abt H&M, i was impressed by their maternity range too. was tempted to buy and keep but my hubby says i am siow. lol.

Posted on Friday, April 09, 2010 - 6:19 pm:

Titles available:
all by Annabel karmel

1) babymaking - 1,2,3& 4
2) Jul - 3 & 4
3) baby ja - 1, 2 & 4
4) piggytoh - 2 & 4
5) Kitty - 2 & 4
6) Sophia - 1, 2 & 4
7) Dolce - 2&4
8) pegsfur -
9) el nino
10)patricia - 2 & 4
11)sharon - 2&4
12) joyful - 2&4
13) liz - 2 & 4
14) eboey - 2 & 4

Morning everyone!

Finally it's the weekends! I've survived 3 weeks of work (disappeared for 2 weeks) hahaha!

What's the topic now? Food?

My little M is finally teething! Saw a little white coming out of her gums, poor baby.

Jul,
Was using Mamil Step 2, but hb changed to Nan 2.

Anybody's bb like to put leg high up when eating?

Btw, I bot the ikea highchair for my bb. Haha, now each one has a chair to sit. My dining really cramp!

Reira,

U got your new flat! That's great! Where is it near?

Baby Ja,

Try to entertain bb with a toy, music. My ger sometimes need a lot of entertainment to finish her porridge too. And a lot of patience.

Got some nice clips my fren did to share with u. I personally like the twirl series a lot so thought of sharing good stuff with you all.

3837996.jpg

3837997.jpg

3837998.jpg

3837999.jpg

piggytoh> tot cold storage very easily available =p

pris> y must garlic n onion?? lol. i hate garlic n onion =x

babyja> at least he can one shot drink 220ml of milk wor. my boy can nv drink pass 120ml of milk now. must split his one feed into 2 feeds. sometimes even 3 -_-

Michelle, garlic and onion can help during cold. Over here, we hardly take medication but use lots of garlic and onion. When Ray was down with a bad cold more than a month ago, I have onion all over the house, then I took lots of raw onion and garlic in my meals as I am breastfeeding him and added them in his food when cooking too. He recovered without medication and Docs here does not give any prescription to baby under 1. Even when I asked to standby cough syrup, give me one that can old be used for 2 yrs and above. Called him up to check, told me, no medication for bb under 1 and allowed them to fight and build up resistance. Garlic and Onion has the property of eating up bacteria.

Especially now when we are approaching winter here, I used even more onion and garlic in meals.

baby ja, bbs get bored with same food daily, try variety like noodle, rice noodle, pasta, rice, mian xian, etc. Ray loves varieties so he does not eat the same food for lunch and dinner.

mashy, the white only freeze up puree and soup stock, not all food. They do not freeze up green vegetables, banana, porridge, etc.

FYI
By the way, green vegetables and porridge cannot give bb frozen ones, they cause wind. Frozen banana can coz diabetes. Do take note. According to TCM.

el-nino
so ur boy eating rice instead?

jul/phy *o*
so keep him buzi lah.. ok.. i will give him his spoon to play next time.. hahaha

michelle
no leh.. if 220ml, i got to split into 2 feeds..

Pris
hmm.. dun tink he know how to chew leh..

eunice

i tired ergo, beco, patapum, pikkolo n manduca

find ergo n manduca similar - i got manduca - but for some reason sam prefers the manduca. maybe the seat is deeper n doesn't squeeze his bum b thighs as much?

personally i find beco a nuisance with the clip way of wearing. kindof like babybjorn? need to wear the carrier. then carry baby. then clip the panel in place. if u have a wriggly worm like sam, that's a big no no.

as for ergo/manduca, u just wear on waist, carry baby, then sling the straps like wearing backpack at ur front. simple n quick!

phy o

oh why change to nan? mamil gold no good?

pris

can i ask if sam can't really chew, shd i use spaghetti then puree it up? or shd i give small pasta like alphabets or stars n just chop chop?

and do u have any recipe to share on how to cook cous cous?

baby ja
you must teach your boy how to chew. try giving him bite size food thats soft (like 1/4 of a thin slice of banana) for starter.

iherb spree
started on at smh spree section but not much response. anyone need to get anything?

baby ja

if ur bb's like sam, he'll need chor lor stuff to play with. i give sam containers n rice scoop, then he'll bang bang the stuff n make a lot of noise!

sharon

prob nothing to do with food intake. i think hubs was also not the small sized type of bb, from his photos. but if the old folks prefer to think that my bm is good n 'bor' n i'm feeding him properly, by all means! save nagging! hahaha

pris

they freeze lasagnes, shepherd's pies too.
ya, porridge, green vege, bananas cannot freeze. Anyway no need to freeze these stuff lah. They take very short while to cook. Only freeze those that take long time to cook. For porridge, i just use the tiger jar now, wash rice and pour hot water in it. Less than 1 min done.

baby ja
ya, 15mins. That's all i have. After that gotta rush over to her cot in case she wakes up. She takes only 30mins nap.

Recently, i just did some puree to be used as pasta sauce. I froze them all into ice cubes. When i wanna serve, just steam them, and cook the pasta separately. I've given my gal the ABC pasta. She likes them and it's easy to cook.

Good morning.

Japan Pumpkin. I bought last evening at Finest called Japan Green Pumpkin. It's the same price as local pumpkin. Personally feel that Australia one still the most expensive.

Baby milk intake
I've told my helper to give baby correct proportion of the FM. Cross my finger of her weight for now.

Baby doesnt like to chew
My baby also doesnt like to chew. One time I tried not to blend the porridge too fine but baby rejected the porridge. Maybe it's a good idea to train her to chew something like banana.

solid food: caden yesterday anti-porridge for no reason. usually he could take one bowls plus at my nanny place, dont know why. Maybe he get sian with the same porridge hahaha.
garilic & onion: so we get give them garlic and onion mix with porridge. Good cos I also like especially when you make soup with carrot, garlic and ikan bilis - nice taste...
During my pregnancy, I also take garlic and onion its good to fight againest bacteria especially last year H1N1 season. Some people hate the smell of garlic but simply i love it. I must have garlic when cooking vegetables, bak ku teh, soup base etc

Titles available:
all by Annabel karmel

1) babymaking - 1,2,3& 4
2) Jul - 3 & 4
3) baby ja - 1, 2 & 4
4) piggytoh - 2 & 4
5) Kitty - 2 & 4
6) Sophia - 1, 2 & 4
7) Dolce - 2&4
8) pegsfur -
9) el nino
10)patricia - 2 & 4
11)sharon - 2&4
12) joyful - 2&4
13) liz - 2 & 4
14) eboey - 2 & 4
15) daph - 2,3,4

Babymaking, let me know how i should go about collecting and paying for the copies. Thanks

Titles available:
all by Annabel karmel

1) babymaking - 1,2,3& 4
2) Jul - 3 & 4
3) baby ja - 1, 2 & 4
4) piggytoh - 2 & 4
5) Kitty - 2 & 4
6) Sophia - 1, 2 & 4
7) Dolce - 2&4
8) pegsfur -
9) el nino
10)patricia - 2 & 4
11)sharon - 2&4
12) joyful - 2&4
13) liz - 2 & 4
14) eboey - 2 & 4
15) daph - 2,3,4
16)msbean - 2 & 4

Babymaking, let me know how i should go about collecting and paying for the copies. Thanks

Eunice,
think u need to try the carrier, depending on yr preference. Beco might be a bit hot with the extra panel. I'm a baby carrier whore, just got the organic ergo. Material damn soft.

One thing nice about beco will be the design. But if hb is to use it too I'm not so sure. Hehe...My friend swears by beco. So I guess it's all individual preference.

Jul,

Not that it's no good, just that when my elder took Mamil for a good number of months, she gained so much wt. Until we changed to Nan then
her wt seems more ok. No 1 was mainly on FM.

For since no 2 going to go full FM soon, we decided to just directly use Nan 2. Actually, I'm still pumping. As long as I have the time at
work, I guess I will just pump. I feel more relaxed when I pump too.

At least I know it's the quiet time for me amidst the mad rush outside and I dun have to care abt the world in that 20 min.

eunice

u shd go to the carrier shop in square2 to try it out. the lady is super frenly, patient n helpful. they dun carry ergo, but u can try the various types of carriers - clip kind, tie kind, ergo kind..

joycec

u bot another carrier???

sandy

oh u know y she doesn't like s26? i gave sam s26 during 1st mth, dun rem him rejecting. or maybe he was too young to know then?

pjpj

haha so u're bagacoach huh?

oh it's fattening huh? then maybe i better dun give sam!

joycec,
u invest on ergo organic carrier! I like it too, especially go shpg so much easier. with the stroller, hv to by the lift, aiyo sometimes the lift full of pple, damn waste of time hor... I bought the ergo organic carrier fm the BP too.