(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

t back from hkg ....moving house n so many things to pack.

7am~150ml
8:30am~yogurt/cereals
10am~180ml (zzz)
12pm~cereals/porridge
2pm~150ml
5;30pm~cereals/porridge
7pm~200ml then zzzzz till next morning

nwadays he doesnt like his solids so.....just drink more milk

Weishy,
oh u movin house ah.. den u mus be v busy... can check with u is HK still cold?

Babiesmeme,
my bb now eat lesser he only drink 3 x 180ml milk and 1 x cereal + puree n 1 rice bowl size porridge.... ur bb can really eat wor

Weshy: so good your bb sleep so early at 7pm envy le

piggy: sometime middle of the night he will wan another 100ml and fall flat zzzz so cute.. Perhaps he got fever two weeks no appetite now take revenge haha

I was talking to a customer just now. She told me Cod and silverfish have higher mercury than threadfin and anchovies which have the least. She said eat in moderation. Dont know how true but this is the second time I heard it. First time I heard it from the mother.

mashy, if she finishes her toast, lunch, should be fine.

This is Ray's feeding schedule,

6.00am He empties both my breasts, pump on Monday about 220ml.
8.00am Toast with fruit puree. Plain water.
10.30am He will empty both breasts and then nap,(About 180ml-200ml)
12noon He will wake up and play a while.
12.30pm Lunch - a bowl of porridge, noodle, bee hoon, mian xian, pasta. etc.
3.25pm He will have snacks- rice rusk, fruits,etc.
4.30pm He will empty both breasts again and nap.(180ml-200ml)
7pm Dinner
9,30pm - He will empty both breasts and sleep. (220ml-pumped on monday)

Only manage to pump twice to check amount, the late morning and afternoon, have not pump to check amount yet.

BB, it is true. Over here, we dun get threadfin, so Ray gets to eat salmon, tuna, etc, all in moderation but lots of ikan bilis. Any big fish from ocean all have higher content of mercury.

BB: during my pregency, people also tell me not to take cod fish, sardines and threadfin - high mercury but I still take hehehe..in moderation la of couse, cos these fishes contain omega 3 and 6 good for brain cells hehehea

BB,
i tink tt time preg the fish tt has more mercury is tuna, sardines etc... Salmon have but compare to tuna i tink it lesser n like babiesmeme i still take but moderate la abt 3 time a wk... n other fish..

Hi Pris, babiesmeme, piggytoh,
I think threadfin and anchovies are ok. Yah, it is not cannot eat but eat in moderation. In case some mommies dont know.

Titles available:
1) Top 100 baby purees 130pg $5.75
2) The Healthy baby meal planner 208pg $7.70
3) complete family meal planner 193pg $7.33
all by Annabel karmel
4) Easy gourmet baby food 258pg $15.40
Total: $36.18

1) babymaking - 1,2,3& 4
2) Jul - 3 & 4
3) baby ja - 1, 2 & 4
4) piggytoh - 2 & 4
5) Kitty - 2 & 4
6) Sophia - 1, 2 & 4
7) Dolce - 2&4
8) pegsfur -
9) el nino
10)patricia - 2 & 4
11)sharon - 2&4
12) joyful - 2&4

Gosh,

Seems like my baby is not eating a lot compared to the rest. He has only 3 milk feeds of 200ml and porridge in the afternoon + fruit about 1 hr later. Time gap between milk feed is about 4 hours. now his last feed at 7plus usually is about 180ml.

am i underfeeding sam?

8am - 180ml ebm
1130am - 1 bowl porridge/cereal
3pm - 160ml ebm
630pm - 1 bowl porridge/cereal
930pm - 230ml ebm

piggy

i think sam is asking for more recently. i up-ed his milk recently also. before that, he only took 160ml at every feed. now 3pm feed, he seems to be crying for more milk.

i'm gonna test out with 170ml later n see how

joycec, dun worry too much, each baby is different and over here, think it is getting cold so Ray is eating alot more so is my older boy,

BB, ya, in moderation, just have a good spread of different fish.

Pumpkin

Try different types of pumpkins and found that the Japanese Pumpkin is the yummiest.

This is how I cook pumpkin porridge: (I cook and eat with both boys today.)

1 cup of Jasmine rice
1/4 of pumpkin with skin and seeds removed and cut into bite size
5 Tbps of minced pork
20g defrost frozen silverfish

Methods:
1. Add water to rice grains and pumpkin and boil at medium heat.

2. When porridge is boiled and like cantonese style, add in the silverfish and stir.

3.Add in some boiling water to minced pork to disintegrate it first before add into the porridge and continue to boil for about 5 to 10 minutes. (Make sure pork is totally cooked.)

I served Ray a bowl with powdered ikan bilis and Kai had two bowls with ikan bilis. I had 2 bowls with ikan bilis too.

And with the remaining 3/4 Japanese pumpkin, I made steamed pumpkin cake ( same way of making sreamed carrot cake or yam cake, just replace carrot or yam with pumpkin.)

Will upload the photo later when I have time.

Jul,
ic nowaday Kyler dun like to drink milk leh previously i gave 150ml x 4 feed but he cant finish so i up the amt n reduce 1 feed n jus nice....

Pris,
wow jap pumpkin ah.. dunno sg have anot..

pris

i made plain porridge with spinach n pumpkin tdy.. nearly fainted from the work involved. think i just have no talent in the kitchen
fortunately sam's not fussy

piggy

guess with increased solids, he doesn't need so much milk?

think that sam's tummy has expanded as he got older. he can take 230ml, which is a lot coz previously if he drank more than 180ml, sure puke

Jul,
dunno leh when i jus start solid he can take more leh now tt he is bigger he took lesser.. my MIL was sayin porridge more filling tt y bt the rest of the gals also gave porridge mah but their bb can drink alot also hahha.. n kyler not small size wor..

Piggy, Sg has. Go to the supermarket under Scott Isetan or the Japanese supermarket at Liang Court. It is so much yummier than the rest of the pumpkin.

Jul,jia you, you can do it. I am making spaghetti tonight for dinner, will keep the steamed pumpkin cake to eat out tomorrow when we are going to the park. I was still thinking whether to make mousse cake or sponge cake haahaa.

Hi Pris, I saw Japanese Pumpkin in the Finest. Maybe will drop by later to get some.

Butternut squash. I dont know why I love the taste. No leftover every time feed baby with this. Thanks for whoever introduced it here.

Baby daily feed
1. 8am: 120ml FM
2. 11.30am - 12pm: 5teaspoons porridge
3. 1pm: 90ml FM (2 scoops)
4. 4pm: 5-8 teaspoons fruit puree
5. 5pm: 90ml FM (2 scoops)
6. 8pm: 3-5 teaspoons fruit puree
7. 9pm: 60ml FM (1 scoop)
8. 11pm: 90ml (4 scoops) Last meal of the day.

BB, Butternut Squash is yummy too. The Japanese Pumpkin is sweet and yummy. For my older boy who does not really eat pumpkin finds it yummy and asking me to get more when I go grocery shopping.

piggy, can try Giant or NTUC but not sure whether they have.

Thanks Pris, I'll see if Finest have it this evening.

Piggytoh, hahaa... I think my baby overeat lah. I very scare she too fat. So I dilute the FM. I know shouldnt but my mil and hb also scare she too fat. How can after one hour meal cry for milk one? I told maid, if more than 1 hr cry for milk then give her normal 1:30ml, if less than an hour cry milk, dilute the milk lor. Me bad mommy.

BB,

I am not sure. But is it because the amount of milk that you are feeding the baby is not enough that is why she is crying for milk after an hour? But it is just a thought.

BB,
cos i see the last feed u actually gave more scoop...cannot leh.. cos will affect the liver if u give more FM powder... not to scare u but really dun dilute ur milk cos my friend bb ard 8-9mth they notice the eye like a bit funnie so they bring the bb to see PD den after investigate the PD told them they always dilute the milk end up the bb cant get the nutrient so end up they gotta buy back step 1 FM n let the bb drink ... if u scare she over eat gave her 60ml instead? n snack in between? usu in betwen the meal i will gave some biscuit to my bb 1..

BB,
Why not? I feed Ovann 100ml milk an hour after his porridge ... i tried not to give milk just to see if i can skip the milk, but no lor, he whines for it.

Ovann's feed:
9am - 210ml milk
1pm - porridge + fruits or bottle puree
2pm - 100ml milk
5pm - porridge + fruits or bottle puree
6pm - 100ml milk
9pm - 240ml milk

jul
Porrige with pumpkin & spinach shld be very easy leh. Normally i'll just cook the porridge as usual. Then i'll steam the spinach & pumpkin b4 Ovann wakes up from his nap. After steaming, just mash pumpkin and chop spinach finely and add both to porrdige.

Hi joycec,
I also dont know why. She always cries for milk after her solid feed. But we always feed her till she doesnt want anymore. Even pumpkin and butternut squash I can give her half a bowl (9-10 teaspoons), she less than an hour can cry for milk. I tried to give her water after the solid food, she will want milk after few minutes. But after each milk, can last her for at least 3 hrs.

BB

i thot my gal drink very little milk. U're giving your gal only 60-120ml! I think your gal is starving, that's why she keeps asking for more milk. U should up the volume of milk u give her and dun dilute. Baby can be abit fat never mind. They'll lose them later when they crawl/walk and get sick.

Yes, agree with Piggy. U can't suka suka put 4 scoops FM to 90ml water leh. It will overload her liver.

Har pegsfur, your baby also asks for milk after solid food??? Your baby how heavy now? Mine 8.5kg last week. Maybe I should cut down one solid meal. I give her 3 solid meals leh.

bb

milk is considered a staple to some babies. U know, just like some adults, if dun eat rice dun feel full? So some babies, if they dun drink milk, they somehow dun feel satisfied. If your bb wants, just give. Don't dilute. I tell u, when they get sick, they lose very very quickly. It's better to have some buffer. I wanna buffer my gal also cannot. She doesn't wanna drink milk much nowadays. She prefers chewy food. Even when i give her puree or cereal (no hard portions for her to chew type), she'll reject after a few mouthfuls.

Mashy, my baby only drinks 60-120ml milk each time. Night time I always make 100ml, but 90% throw away 30ml. She doesnt want to drink much at one go. Morning she can drink 120ml, I already so happy ah!!! Last time she can drink 130ml, but only once in a blue blue moon. Most of the time my baby cannot finish milk, I throw most of the milk away. Example last night, 11pm she only drank 85ml, I threw 15ml away. 5am she only drank 70ml, I threw 30ml away. Sigh.

BB,
my boi also ard 8.5kg ok la.. n he is eatin 1 rice bowl of solid so 9-10 teaspoon not alot leh.. n now i tink on average they mus have ard 500-600ml of milk wor.. wat u gave not even 500ml wher got enough..

bb, Ray is 10.5kg as last week. I am giving him 3 full solid meals and snacks in between. It is ok to be fatter at infancy coz once sick lose weight, crawling and walking and running lose weight.

BB

8.5kg isn't heavy lah. Did u chart it in the health book? It's only about 50%!

Pls dun cut down her solids. If not, next time you'll have a headache when she doesn't wanna eat solids anymore.

BB,

Ya, there were a few times i actually forgot (oops... paiseh :p) to give him his 100ml milk, den he cried & whined. I thot wanna smack him le, make so much noise. Den i realise he hasn't got his milk yet.

He was 7.6kg at 6mths old .. now dunno leh, haven't got the chance to weigh him yet.

piggy

Haha look on the nright side. Kyler's not the jia liao bee type?

pris

Ooh i love mousse cake! I wish I were half as good in the kitchen as u. But really, no interest leh. I only wanna EAT

BB

Hmm i think it's not good to anyhow dilute the milk leh. That time during antenatal class, they also said to keep stricly to the proportion. Too diluted, not enough nutrients. Too think, bb's kidneys cannot take it.

And u can't look at weight alone. Must see her height. Maybe she's tall that's why heavy? Sam's short n yet he's 9.2kg leh. Dun think ur gal's overweight at all.

pegsufr

I also tot very easy to make but i sweated like a pig while making. Took me sooo long
I think I just CMI

BB

since she can't even finish the milk, then why are u diluting it? U should just give it according to instructions. If she wanna drink after meal, just give her.

If my gal wanna eat, i would have gladly given her. She's only 6.92kg yesterday when we weighed her.
And she's already coming 9 mths.

I already told the PD every time we visited him. I even have my baby milk intake chart from birth till now still charting. She never goes beyond 570ml per day. But PD said as long as she gains weight and growing ok lah. U see her pics u will know, she chubby chubby one. Maybe her metebolic rate is slow.

BB

8.5kg sounds a lot, but she only has abt 4 mths left to make it to 10kg leh. No wonder she aws cry for milk, coz she's not full. U try giving her the correct proportion. Dun need to drink so much, but make sure it's the correct proportion hor

Jul,
hahah u funnie la.. ya lor nowaday hor he seldom cry for milk /food leh when it time i wan to gave den i gave n when he saw his milk /foood den he remember he is hungry n start to behave like v hungry... if he din saw the food he wun ask for it also..

Hmmm... ok. Thanks ladies. I'll discuss with my hb and see if we should just feed her normal milk proportion. Maybe I can see your babies during the baby day out and see if my baby is overweight. Sigh...

bb, dun dilute milk but you can give lesser. When Ray came down with bad cold about a month plus ago, he lose 700g and was 9.5kg. Dh and I were so heartpain. And it took him so long to put back weight and now here cold, so he is gaining more weight as he eats more.

pris> cos jap pumpkin is oso de most costly =p

piggytoh> have. i saw them at cold storage. or worse come to worse, get from meidi-ya or isetan

pumpkin> my dad bought a super big butternut squash. but my boy got his lung infection again. so now i'm stopping his solid diet. not sure if it's right. maybe i check with pd tml when i bring him for his followup

mashy> yaya. my boy now sick. so thin. keep losing weigh somemore. so ke lian. gonna bring him to yu guo for a massage to clear his lungs this wkend

mashy> wah. i tot my boy was small. he was 7.3 at 6mths. now 7mths his weight drop to 7.1, now slowly back to 7.2, but he's olways sick. so ke lian

jul,

Hahaha .. wait till u move on to giving him the fish & meat .. more work invovled

Actually not only u lah .. every morning when i prepare ovann's porridge, i also soaked thru my shirt de. Furthermore, i must do everything fast cos i gotta finish cooking the porridge (or at least 70% done),feeding/cleaning my dog, make his milk, all in the span of 1hr, or before he wakes up, depending on which is earlier. It's like going to war every morning!