(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

pegsfur

it could also be due to the pot used.
Some pots can transfer heat better and more evenly and thus reduce cooking time.

pegsfur
initially i soak the rice overnite too, but mil told me cannot say will cause wind..
my father juz bought me a ulu brand blender.. will try to grind the rice into smaller pcs b4 cook 2moro see how..

peg
ya.. the dietitian told me to let bb try every food for abt 4days b4 introduce new food.. so far, i m quite guai in listening.. hee..

Peg
thanks! i think i will need a medium firm one. i dont like hard bed.

renovation
Anyone have good electrician to recommend? also need door, windows specialist.

Lots of things to do! Thank god that Zachary is willing to sit besides me and play by himself these 2 days while I go through and revise our renovation quotation.

Eggs
Was reading Lisa Barnes Recipes Book for 9mth - 11mth babies.. and came across a yummy recipe for eggs + short info on eggs. Thot its useful, so scanned it in.

3823380.gif
3823381.gif

baby ja, pegsfur

hmm.. i use a WMF saucepan to cook. it has a very thick base n a heavy glass cover which i think help in reducing cooking time? mil uses her beloved tanyu claypot to cook. she doesn;t know how long it takes but i believe not more than 1h too.

oh my mum told me not to keep stirring the porridge coz it'll break down slower.

n i use 'new rice'.

think sam might be having a growth spurt?

from fighting with him to finish his 160ml milk, i'm feeding him 180ml first feed n 230ml last feed! yest gave him 2 solid meals for the 1st time too, n he cud still drink >200ml milk b4 sleep!

gog to give him pumpkin tdy. hehe poor boy has nvr had pumpkin or avocado.. or a lot of other food. told mil i wanna give him fish from 8mths n she was so excited she wants to dash off to mkt to buy threadfin to store up in case next week no threadfin available.

jul
how to differentiate new rice??

i juz gave him punpkin this few days too.. tink mil all thr same? that time told her wanna start bb porridge, immediately next day she went to buy codfish & pork..

mashy/ jul,

Ya, i believe the quality of the pots play a part too. My pots are all cheapo stuff from ikea de, cos i seldom cook de so never invest.

I never noe there's so much knowledge into cooking .. from the fire to pots to choosing the right ingredients ...

Morning ladies..

i am so tired last nite my bb dunno y keep tossin n turnin n make lotsa noise thru out the nite end up i whole nite cant sleep.. was thinkin maybe he was teethin so pop some teethin tablet but dun seems to help wor... may i know those who gave teethin tablet how many u gave?

good morning mummies!

quite a while din post here liao. hv been very busy.

piggytoh,
maybe kyler is teething. ethan also fussed a lot during teething period. i started off wif jus 1 tablet. now i pop in 2 each time. but sometimes also doesn't help. usually after i pop in the tablets, i'll let him suckle then he'll be ok.

Zen,
yesterday i pop 2 tablet after a while he still fussed so i pop another 2 but does'nt help also.. see him like v uncomfortable wor.. gave him pacifier he suckle a bit cry 1-2 time den suckle on n off thru out the nite wor... can hardly open my eyes now..

piggytoh,
edric fuss a lot when he is teething too, me at one go pop in 6 teething tablet. then he keep quiet, sing to him for a while then he start rub eyes. i pop in teething tablet nvr let me hubby see, he will say i kill my son dunno give him eat wat...

Teething

seems like such a terror! I fed bb cold pieces of fruits ytd n her teether to bite to occupy her. no signs of sprouting of tooth yet.. hopefully she doesnt experience too much pain when it erupts. i like her toothless grin thou..uber cute leh..

April,
haha ur HB so funnie.. sigh~ Kyler was havin his eyes closed but movin alot n cry 1-2 time on n off even i carry him also keep strugglin now v xin ku... wow u gave 6 ah... hmmm hopefully tonite he ok if not i headache.. i can see a cut on his lower gum like 1 tooth comin will miss his bo gay smile after his tooth came out

Hi Pegsfur,
Share share with u my canto porridge cooking learning process,my gf shared with me her recipe for brown rice,1tbsp and 30ml water & 45 mins cookin time.

Tried a few times,turn out uncooked.So we analyzed every details (from brand of rice,brand of cooker to hot or cold water used)and discovered tat using different brands of slow cooker requires different proportion!

She is using Aerogaz whereas I am using a bigger Toyomi slow cooker.

So if you use Toyomi slow cooker,the brown rice to hot water ratio is 1:5 and only 45mins to cook.Very fast and confirmed canto style.You may wanna invest in one,costs less than $50.

Pls be careful with IKEA pots. Tat time we bought one,n then it turn rusty on the insides within 1mth of use so we went back to get a refund.

pjpj
i use toyomi slow cooker leh? but i still grind my brown rice? do u grind ur rice?

u use hot water? i use 2 tablespoon grinded brown rice + 1 and 3/4 chinese soup bowl of water and cook for 2 hrs? last 15-20minutes, put in vegetables n/or fish

every wk i gotta grind brown rice leh... oso started grinding ikan bilis .. i think i am going crazy with all these preparation process.. hahahaa my ikan bilis, i wash and soak, wash n soak.. total abt 2hrs?

next 2 weeks going overseas oredi.. so worried hb not going cold storage buy fresh veges for my girl (she's eating organic).. and worried maid dunno how to prepare food (everymorning i need to give her instructions on the combinations)

reira,
can u pass my mozart cube to bobo? Thanks

re: cooking porridge
my will put new rice n water to cook on stove..once water boil..she will pour into those metal container..then put water in slow cooker n put whole container in slow cooker..tink bout 2hrs enuff..just stir when u wan feed..porridge will be gluey..dun need blend..she say this is “dun” method..nicer n soft..but e container muz be in water one

re: tooth
ryan has been fussing at nite for e longest time! Finally see one tiny tooth popping..see a little whitish stuff on his gum tis morning

plus he constipated for 4 days! Yday he finally poo! 3 times in 1hr..stinky to e max! I saw orangey n greenish poo lei..means he can't digest?

smurfy,
i also grind brown rice into powder n i use norm craypot to cook only took me less than 20min to get gluey porridge leh.. how come urs so long???

piggytoh
u use craypot? over the stove/fire type?

i think i put too much water :p.. so the slowcooker takes more time to evaporate the water off? i oso dunno leh.. maybe next time i try 1.5 chinese soupbowl of water, see how?

then again, this combination seems okay at the moment.. the maid got some time to do work while leaving the slow cooker do its cooking?

piggytoh
ehh u grind until very very fine??????? me not totally powder.. can see lil grains still..

oh hey, i got my pansonic gf-1. :D

Smurfy,
my MIL help me grind 1 into powder form ya over stove i use 1 tablespoon powder over 1 rice bowl of water took me ard 20min nia.. but even rice grain 2hr v long leh..
haha wow so u mus be hapily takin lotsa pic :p

piggytoh
mine's got grind.. but not too powdery type.

yah yah.. happily taking pics :D, kekekeke..: http://smurfy08.shutterfly.com/ (password 123456)

lucky u got mil to do tat for u, she takes care of ur son when u are at work?

i dun trust my maid to do the washing/drying/grinding hahaha .. making my life difficult onli :p

Smurfy,
ya my MIL n my maid look after my son when i workin lo bo bian i trust her better than baby sitter la i am quite lucky to have a nice MIL cos she buy all the ingredient for me also helps me save lotsa time...

brown rice: how many times do you give your bb brown rice 3 times a week? do you wash first before grinding, thinking of grinding this weekend hehehe
. My bb hate ikan bilis only prefer siliver fish. My nanny even add a little soy sauce to the (white rice) porridge, my bb end up eating two bowls !

i grind brown rice but MIL feed porridge from white rice, old ppl are strange, like to feed from what they prepare.

last weekend, i use small silver fish, wash & soak for 1hr totally no salt taste, sun dried & wok fry it then grind but cannot achieve powder form. i add into porridge then my son reject. i dunno if my porridge not nice or he simply does not like fish taste. maybe i must try ikan bilis and have a lil salt retention by not soaking too long.

ethan's 2 other teeth are sprouting, that's going to be 8 altogether. mommies, enjoy the moments when your bubs still have toothless smile, the days will be over very soon.

btw, Ethan is perspiring alot due to el nino effect, not sure can introduce a lil salt into his diet to replace the sodium?

babiesmeme,
my MIL say brown rice r better n more healthy so we feed him everyday. for grindin u wash alr sun them dry den grind... oh n pls dun gave ur bb soy sauce la..

baby ja

mil buys her new rice from this provision shop in toa payoh. but i think u can get that from ntuc too. look for 'new crop rice' - means just harvested, very moist, not hard-hard n dry like rice that has been stored a long time.

haha yeah just now mil was telling me AGAIN that last time bbs start solids at 4 mths *yawn*

pegsfur

i dun cook too. but mil bot us this set of 4 wmf pots at $99 from robinsons when we first got married. think she was still under the illusion that i'll cook wholesome family meals for her son haha

jul
ok, thanks.. i go see see..

they and their story telling.. FIL oso say everything cannot give bb eat.. no wonder no fat.. haiz...

baby ja

oh u use brown rice ah? my porridge is with white rice.

coz i'm already giving brown rice cereal.. scared he constipate/too heaty. so dun dare to give brown rice porridge.

pris

thanks for the article. i'm trying hard to go to 9mths. if i can maintain my fbm store, sam can prob have bm till 10mths or more, depending on his daily intake

brown rice
i oso use brown rice onli...

silver fish got better quality ones.. ask for those japan ones.. 200g for $7/-

piggytoh
thanks.. my maid turned out to be photographer hahahaa... point n shoot for us :p

Back from HK..but my gal was down wif fever yesterday evening. hope she get well soon.

Piggy, for teething tablet i usually give 3-4tablets then i pop back pacifier then my gal will suckle suckle & back to sleep again.

jul
i used to give white rice.. but my father told me to buy brown rice leh, say better.. i oso give javier brown rice cereal.. will get heaty ah?

baby ja

My MIL says that brown rice is heaty. She's very gd at all these heaty, cooling, liang teh, herbal stuff. Makes sense lah, coz brown rice contains the unpolished part.. what bran, germ dunno what?? Forgot my Home Econs long long ago liao. More nutrients in brown rice lor. Maybe u just give more fruit/veg/water bah?

Depends on the individual BB's constitution too. Some bbs more heaty, some more cool. Depends on whether u believe in heaty/cooling also

mummies..
juz to check.. any baby taking enfapro? isit heaty? i letting my boy trying on it.. coz heard from friend say is heaty leh..

Jul,
for brown rice ther r polished n unpolised rice maybe u can buy those polished 1? so far my bb no constipoation or heaty prob wor.. i tink as long as ur other diet is ok than no issue 1...

Donkeymami,
hows the weather ther? i goin nex wk wor..
sigh.. i did exactly wat u did to my boi but not workin.. usu it work but last time he practically fuss whole nite... first time he behave like this lor

piggytoh
so is the polished one cook oredi like normal white rice color? coz mine cook liao like normal white rice leh.. i buy wrongly???