(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

hi kiki, saw your porriage cook in the tiger jar. When you said put boiling water, you mean those boiled from kettle under gas stove or those electrical type? Do we still need to mash the porriage to make it finer and sticky>

Pegfur,
Some babies dun eat at 1st attempt. My mom cooked the same porridge (porridge wif slice pork meat) and mixed with differen veggies. 1st day, Claira only eat 2 tablespoons. 2nd day slightly more. 3rd day eat 4-5 tablespoons. So some bb needs time to adjust ba. Jia you. Every bb is unique in their own ways. So even 2nd time mom oso learning.

How abt using this method of cooking porridge. Dun need a lots of time. Wash de rice and cook with slow cooker (use hot water) with slice pork. When de water boiled add in the veggies ie pumpkin. Just place it on top of the porridge. Then u can scope out de teochew porridge for yourself if u wan to eat too. Then leave it to boil till very soft like canton style. Scope up de pumpkin. Puree de pumpkin and add into de porridge.

Bb ja,
sound like quite gd deal. No need to stock up in cartons. Price abt de same as de delivery one. Thanks for de info.

Ovann finally finished his porridge! I'm so happy

bear,
I did think of blending it but dunno why, prob i was too engrossed in making the 'right' porridge for ovann that the idea din came up on me. Ok, another time saving method

peg,
Ya, i think u r right. Ovann is eating his porridge now even though it's not as nice as yesterday's porridge. So i guess they need time to adjust and get used to new food.

Wow, another tip in cooking! Tks

peg
ya loh.. but i still enjoy their free delivery ma.. hee.. carrefour got to spend $150 to get free delivery..

porridge
for a start, how much rice with how much water should i cook then get the nua nua type? wanna try cooking porridge for javier this weekend leh..

i popped by the baby fair at sing expo during my lunch and this is what i see lah...nah ha stage 2 is S$35.50, this is the price if you buy 2 tins. I saw one mummy lug cartons of the milk.

Heinz bottled puree, 4 for S$5.50, organic one is S$2. gerber puffs, 2 for S$11.50. Gerber bottled puree, i think is 4 for S$5. There are diapers (huggies, drypers and pampers) but so sorry i simply cannot remember the price.

But the place is damn crowded. Pardon my language. I have to siam preggies, prams, baby carriers etc etc. Also there was a preggie who was looking at some stuff and later realise that her stroller is no longer outside the stand.

mashy> can push stroller ard in hkk easily? if can den maybe i'll bring my boy. anyway any charge for babies on airplane?

sunshineG> organic carrots. can i get them from the regular supermarkeT? i'll go c wat i can grab from ntuc or cold storage later this evening, than tml i can start making my own home made puree with my newly bought blender. woohoo. so excited =p

babiesmeme> i think hot water can be any water tat is hot n just boiled =p

peg> haa. if u use posb everyday card, got another 5% discount lo =p

joycec> i'm olways very afraid to go to fairs at expo. dey are so packed, with not enugh parking lots, n jam everywhere =x

janice,

think parking is going to be quite difficult cos there is a food fair next to it as well. But who knows that you might be lucky. Suggest that you sling or use a baby carrier. it is so much easier for you to walk around.

michelle

10% infant fare. it depends on where u go. If you're in HK island, can. Alot of shopping malls there. Harbour City??? also can. MTR will have stairs at some areas, so may need to carry the stroller sometimes. The general cha cang ting a bit tight, may not allow strollers, then u fold it up lor. We brought a lightwt stroller there so it's easy to carry up/down stairs. Maybe can go Disneyland? There's Pooh bear...

joyce
thanks! Now no need to go already.:

mashy> prob is hor, hubby go to wk i go shopping. dun think i can handle the stroller with baby in it alone. sian -_-

Other than OG, any other dept stores having sale this wkend? Robinsons, tangs, metro?
Wanna go buy my thermal magic cooker

Re: Friso
now havin promotion for step 2 for 2 tin at NTUC..

Re: yoplait yogurt for 6mth
i went to cold storage n NTUC extras no more so i check with the staff they say supplier no more stk so now most outlet oos.. no idea when the stk will be comin in..

Kiki,
i usu prefer my bb to be sleepin in the stroller when i go shoppin wor... if they awake harder to shop ard mah..

piggy,

Usually it's harder for my boy to sleep when i'm shopping. Cos sometimes they have this announcement over the PA system ... it's so loud, esp at ntuc, den my boy will wake up. But it's good that Ovann doesn't really fuss sitting in the stroller cos he'll be busy looking at the surroundings, and stuff that he can grab

baby ja
you have not started javier on porridge huh? i just measured, 1 table spoon of rice, water wise i dunno you using what to cook so cannot advise, but water usually dries up fast so nice quite a lot i will say, at least 500ml i think for my case using induction cooker..

think not many baby eats as much as Renzo so 1 table spoon for a start should be more than enough liao.. usually i give him porridge then followed by half a yogurt and some fruits and sometimes biscuits also, if just porridge, think he can eat at least 3 table spoon lor.. LOL

Pegsfur,
same lor my boi also...but he wun be disturb by surroundin sound... so sumtime when he happen to doze off in car be4 i reach the mall iwill place him in his stroller let him continue to sleep while i shop :p

tiger food jar
went to BHG bugis, only left with 0.9L selling at 75 bucks but DBS credit card holder i think got 5% cash rebate..

so we went to OG since storewide 20% off mah, but, both 0.7L and 0.9L no stock.. so dun waste a trip down to OG at bugis if you have plan to get the food jar there..

carrefour also selling the tiger jar, then this wkend got 5+5% off promo again.

Hb just sms me to say i gotta go my parents place to stay with all the kids. His office got one idiot went GP and suspected TB, tomorro gotta go CDC, today he still go to work. So now hb isolating himself. wah piang. damn sian.

zr went for his P jab 1st dose today. so happy that he didnt cry. he was playing with doc's jingly toy, then didnt notice anything until the needle was out
He's 9.655 at 7mth. Aiyah, forgot to ask for cereal and milk samples from PD.

baby ja
then better just try with 1 tablespoon the most, cuz cook till nua nua type like cantonese porridge hor, become alot liao.. haha..

can still cook for small amount but maybe use a small pot lor.. me very bad leh i one time cook lunch and dinner for Renzo de, instead of cook 2 times a day, so the dinner one sure not as fresh liao but i guess should be alright ba.. haha..

felicia
thanks ya.. will go buy ingredient this weekend and try..

but think my friend do it like that too.. she even keep the stock for 2 days leh..

piggytoh/pegsfur
I lazy and "act smart"... thought just travel for a few days, no need to bring stroller... never expect the bjorn carrier to be so uncomfortable for me!

I lost my desire to buy things when I'm out shopping with bb...

babiesmeme
i'm still experimenting with the tiger food jar. didnt let my boy eat the output yet...
I put in hot water from electric kettle.

kiki,

U dun feel good using bjorn carrier? Alot of people were saying it's good leh. Is it becos of the weight distribution?

kikilala,

how heavy is your baby? max weight for bjorn if i am not wrong is 12kg. By the way, did you manage to get the beanie? So sorry that we did not manage to meet up.

pegsfur
yah, the weight is all on the top of my shoulders. After two days, my shoulders are so stiff that I have problem lifting it up! Going to be "KiuGu" already..

My hb like bjorn carrier leh, maybe its just me.

joycec
my boy is 9.5kg 2 weeks ago. Think his growth slowed down already, so maybe still about 9.5kg now.

I found my dad's beanie. So just let him wear lor. He looked like an old man! keke!
Luckily not so cold in the day, night and morning a bit chilly.

Yippy! going to see Leshan big buddha tmr.

kiki~u're small in build n bb not light le...of cos u dun feel comfy.....

shopping ma...always nt convenient with them around... :p

take more pixs of the buddha ya

kikilala> de babybjorn carrier is good when de person carrying is at least 170cm tall. so only my hubby use it. n my boy is super happy whenever he sees his daddy wearing the carrier.

huh? 150cm can meh? i 160 oso dun feel good wearing it wor. n my boy only 6.1kg tat time when i carry him

sharon, at Carrefour, its buy 5 tins of 1.8kg Friso then get 1 900g tin free? I just called Friso direct to order, 6 tins of 900g for $155. Think order from Friso direct is cheaper?

How's Ryan taknig to the HA FM? Is he ok with it?

Today I just went to the baby fair , aiyo I thought friday during office hrs no ppl . still so crowded .

Total Damage
Nan 2 x 2tin
Avent teats x 6pcs
magic Cup x 1
Nestle puree x 4
nestle rice ceral x 2
Toy x 2
Combi stroller

Actually want to find walker end up buy soooo many other item .heng is office hrs and rushing shopping so also nvr scan though the expo for long just take and pay and go .

Like no pigeon brand leh or I nvr see properly

bean i went earlier also... confirm no pigeon i wanted to buy pads ma.. no hv.. i bought alot of puree from heinz and nestle... and i think i saw dollie pollie

Michelle
Bjorn definitely cannot for 150cm. these angmoh things no good for us asian!

Janice
I also want to buy breastpads leh... anywhere got cheap ones?

Janice : No pigeon also no mamy poko pamper too . Ok la quite alot of weaning food for baby .

haiz my boy dun like porridge but he like rice cereal . Tommorow I going to try the peach puree .

Normall peach puree after open can keep 1 or 2 days ?? if after that I want to use need to warm it right ?

By the way prune puree mix with rice cereal nice anot har ?

kiki, i was hopin to c got pigeon or not... but damn dun hb... usually at work i use disposable 1 but at home i use washable 1... cheaper la that way... sometimes robinsons got offer MIL will help me buy...

Kiki , michelle

I 162cm lor. Bbjorn also not comfortable for me. But I tried using it again today, with the intention to numb my shoulders! Hopefully it gets better tomorrow. And yes, my boy likes it alot too!

Daph
I felt that if I adjust the back cross part downwards, it is a little better.
haha! describe until so blur... hopefully you know what I mean!

My boy likes to face out too, but I dont carry him outwards cos he will kick and swing his arms wildly, seems like add more weight to me.

<font color="#fd79a7">
Hi Mommies, haven't been in forum for a while... Yay, like to share that I got a Manduca and my baby gal weighs a feather in it! (she is 10kg for 7mth+) Great support for my back, and well-cushioned.
she's been in there since new born (there is a hood made especially for newborn)

Personally me and my guy din really like Bjorn cos there is a very uncomfortable pressure on my back, especially shoulders. Maybe we din adjust properly la. Any mommies using Bjorn and find it comfy?