(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

good morning gals

just an update
super tired, with aching groin although bb still have not moved down. good news is that bb is now 1.66kg at week 30day Day2

yesterday got a very bad scare - because of decreased bb movements from usually more than 10 times per 12 hr period, to 3-4 times per 12 hr period, we decided to go down to KKH. Was put on CTG for 1 hr, then reviewd by doc, seems that every time there's a tigtening (BH), bb heartbeat drops drastically to 60bpm at one point in time.

One gynae recommended warded in to monitor further, we were quite relunctant to ward in cos we cldn't control what's happening in the delivery suite as hubby not allowed in.

in the end, we manage to get hold of our attending gynae, and he recommended another hr CTG, the 2nd hr CTG was pretty ok as there was no tightenings.

During consult later, he gave the pro and cons of warding in hospital, we chose to go home and monitor on our own. One thing he said to take note seriously is decreased bb movements - if there's any drop from prevous day, even though not past the 12 hr period, go see yr gynae immediately. It may be a false alarm but it's bb's life!!

Fortunately we bought a fetal doppler couple of mths ago and we cld monitor at home, will be going back for another CTG on Friday, hopefully everything will be fine by then, otherwise will have to do a emergency C sect.

till date they dun know why bb hb drop with tightening, gynae said it could be something one off like bb kicking the umblicical cord, or something worse, only a prolong CTG will give more info.

thanks shirley, mashy and cloudme~

pegsfur i also feel like starting my leave earlier. but ask me stay at home and do nothing i will do siao..

my edd is on the 14th but i starting leave on the 11th prior to that is a long weekend.. thinking whether to take AL prior to that long weekend or not..

Aiyo bad news , my boss today nvr come kena Quarrtine . F_ _ _ K Know will quarrtine still come office really a " ASS O " Hope No H1N1

babymaking,
so far i never monitor bb movements, to me as long as baby got move that's all, i didn't even count.

how to do the count?

bean

there's a lot of inconsiderate pp. Anyway, u know, they're prob going to lift to lift the quarantined thing soon. Once there's local transmission (which is so likely due to the inconsiderate pp who brought back H1N1 and goes out shopping, working, schooling, attending conferences and events), they're not going to quarantine pp anymore. When that happens, u will have to take leave and stay at home. If not u risk catching the virus.

reira: Ur edd later than mine and u already starting to pack ah.. haha i havent leh.. thought only.. thank God that day went out with Pris and she show me which brand of maternity pads to buy and i bought it.. so everything is complete liao, just have to pack into bag.. hmm.. which bag should i bring.. hee..

welcome petrina! Wah, ur MIL also one kind..

babymaking: hope baby is ok! when u say ctg shows tightening, can u feel the tightening?

bean: oh man.....

i read today, the german researcher who has h1n1, go for concert some more.. one even went shopping!! hate such irresponsible pple lah!

janice,
Aiyoh ... stay at home nothing to do meh? I always feel that time passes so fast whenver i'm at home
Can surf net, watch tv, play with my dog ....

babymaking
Tat's really a bad scare ... but like shirley, i oso never really monitor bb's movement ... as long as there's movement from him, i dun bother much leh. Btw, wat's a fetal doppler? Where did u get it?

pegsfur,

I was on 1 month unpaid leave during my 4th month preggy so i was like stuck and cannot do anything.. so was damn bored..

re: hospital bag
started to pack half of it and my mum say u pack so early for wat -_-"

shirley
basically count baby's movements (be it kick, moving, hicupps etc) - should be more than 10 times per 12 hr period.

babyS
yep, can feel the tightenings. but the CTG more sensitive than me, it registers any movements. some faint kicks i can't feel but the gynae can read from the print out that bb did move.

pegsfur
a fetal doppler is a hand held fetal heart rate monitor. It's commonly rentable in the US or UK, but i couldn't find any in Spore, so we bought ours directly from the manufacturer.

Pegsfur, you also got heartburn ah? I had bad heartburn these 2 nites. Last nite it was still bad after I took the med and I have to sit up to sleep instead of lying down!
So I guess no more late dinner for me and I have to eat lesser.

mashy: yeah lor,.. but hard to also lah, unless i go on leave now...

i went to aussino yesterday to buy stuff.. bought 2 baby blanket ($11.95 each), single bed fitted sheet set (with 1 pillow case and bolster case) $10 only,and the cot comforter set, $47.95.. cute design..

bear,
Ya lor .. i same as you, heartburn during these 2 nites. Yesterday was worse, heartburn accompanied by bloating ... my tummy was uncomfy i just wish i cld lie down there & don't move. But this morning i went toilet, a big loooong fart came out and i felt ok le

Mmm .. i always have late dinner leh ... 8+, 9pm de ... boh bian cos i wait for hubby to tabao after work.

babymaking
Wah ... dat must have been expensive. How much did it cost u?

With all these irresponsible people around, the H1N1 sure will spread locally one!
Soon we really need to hold our breath in lifts already.

I'm applying to my boss on the possibility that I can work from home.

Pegsfur, I think really have to eat earlier for dinner or else have to eat lesser. Heartburn very terrible leh. You can still lie down ah? I cannot lor can feel the gastric juice like going to burst out from my mouth once I lie down!

bear,

Oh, not completely lie down lah, got pillow to prop me up ... just wish I cld stay there & dun move, but cannot cos dog was hungry, kept barking at me to feed her, den still have to do laundry.

Btw ladies, anyone here or hubby with natural curly hair?

re: H1N1
all children & teens infected are warded at KKH ever since the first case, i dun understand why they decide to ward infected pple where the most vulnerable pple are (youngs kids & pregnant women)

esp when there's no treatment for pregnant women as the drug is not known to be safe or unsafe for the unborn. sighs.

the only way to protect ourselves by avoiding crowded places, or wear 95 type masks.

bean,
since it's a police order, u can call the police and get them to enforce yr boss to stay home - make him an example. no point complaining abt these type of irresponsible pple.

Pegsfur, both my hb and I has natural curls. Mine is wavy while hb has very chor and wire-like hair. So my Joshua has wavy hair too.

shirley
yep a group of movements considered as 1 time.

pegsfur
after shipping, less than SGD300 - it's one of my best buys - cos it gave us peace of mind esp during the time when bleeding heavily..and now...now really super KS, during/after BH will immediately go check bb heart rate. at least save money from having to stay in hospital indefinitely.

bear,

I thot yrs was straight leh ...
I have partly wavy hair oso ... wonder if my boy will take after me?

At least joshua has wavy hair like u and not like his father .... i think those wire-like hair is harder to maintain huh. Cannot go rebonding cos is boy mah.

Cloudme: dun worry too much abt your bb's weight. U can happily whack on the durian, durian will increasy bb's weight, confirmed fact.

yen,
i already whacked durains on sat & sun b4 visiting to the gynae...
(luckily my urine test passed)
but fil said that some durians have "injections"...
so must really find those kampong durains....then it's bu for bbs...
anyway me not worry cos only 0.5kg less than what gynae expected...

just hope bb will gain more towards the last few wks like my #1...

Went to mailbox to collect mails ... i tried to hold my breath in the lift when an ang moh lady with luggage came in .... but cannot lah! Was already out of breath b4 the lift reached 20th floor ....

babymaking, hope everything goes well and your bb kuai kuai stay inside for another few more weeks.

cloudme, smaller bb is easier to deliver
anyway 100g off doesn't sound like too much.

Beansprout pillow,
anyone making one for their bb?

wat is the procedure for making one?

i got a bag of fresh beansprout husks but how to go about selecting/filter those husks?

morning all

babymaking,
thanks for the book!
do take care n hope eveything goes well...
did gynae say wats the cause?
for the doppler, how long did it take to deliver?

re:heartburn
dunno wat is heartburn or how its feels...but sometimes at nite i juz feel so uncomfortable and cannot sleep...
now i juz take eno, dunno if its helps...but it can help me burp

re:descaling
how often do we need to do tis?
mine is a new steriliser....when do i start doing it?

Mich,
u r rite...100g not much different...

aiyo, look back at my earlier post...me must be dreaming...
why i write 0.5kg huh...
blur me...

sharon,
descale is only needed when u start to see residue like rust build up in the metal plate area then u need to descale...
(usually 1-2mths later after 1st use)
and best to descale monthly or every 2mths after the 1st descale...

bbmaking
what a scare. So my gynae is not being kiasu by making me do recording of bb movements with a counter. Anyway he told me immediately must go do a CTG is bb movement is 50% less than the day before.

Welcome Petrina

Dun talk abt packing hosp bag. I still have to do mini-reno, then wash all the BB stuff, set up BB room etc etc... *stressed*

babymaking

Wah, so scary? BH caused ur BB to suffer a heart rate drop? Dinno that cud happen.

bean

Aiyoh, hope he has no H1. So inconsiderate these pple.

pegsfur

U can hold ur breath until 2oth floor! Amazing leh!