(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Tas,
oh u eating those concentrated in bottle type too? how is it? which brand?

SL,
u very hard wrking, double boil some more hehe

regg
EYS de lor... that time my hb has lobang mah.. so he order n stock up... but now they are at sun plaza apartment coz we worry mil take n eat...
tat y i say move over there then i get to eat.. here i worry my BN mia.. hahahaha

Nice weather to sleep in

Hmm....craving dim sum for lunch.

Btw, I previously read some mummies buying the jumperoo. Is it suitable for new born or for older bbs?

Tas, oh ic

Pink,
Hey morning

morning ladies!

raining today.. such a nice weather to sleep in, but too bad cannot sleep liao...

Tas
wah.. ur list of food sounds yummy~! Been wanting to eat donuts since yesterday cos saw my colleague eating them..

Thks tas...later drop by taka to c if got cheaper

Regg, last sat I was also on course from 9 till 1. Equivalent to working.

Btw anyone start decorating bb room yet?

Hey I was reading abt the Mamypoko diapers. Is $21.45 for 72 pcs really cheap? I was at NTUC yest but I only saw S size on sale leh - I blur ah?

Oh and someone was saying we shd only but 1 or 2 packs of NB diapers in case BB too fat & cannot fit anymore huh? Wud Pampers New Baby be good, coz that seems to be what all the hospitals are giving?

Michelle,
I had roti prata hehe.

Pink,
me not yet, as bb will be sleep with us, i only need to set up the playpen.. day time in the living room, nite time move in to my room.

Regg

I still gaven't decided what colour combi for the booties leh. Shang nao jing! When is my turn ah? I still got how much time to procrastinate? heehee

pink
i got mine at taka last yr.. think i paid ard 238? coz that time din apply for taka card yet.. normally shld get additional 10% with taka card. + foc delivery

bb room decor:
getting contractor to help mi do at the same time..hehehe

jul
not all NTUC will hv stock de... NB get 1-2pks can liao.. since S size starts at 3kg...

my ger did not like pampers new baby.. perhaps the absorption not too good... feels wet v fast.. so she dun like them... she loves mammy poko more.. then again hor, diff bb hv diff preferences.

hospitals give pampers coz it is pampers who sponsor them mah... :p

Jul ah, u super shang nao jing de lor! hehe...
total got 15, i have done #5, now doing #6, will do those already confirm with colour combi first... hope u dont drag till we give birth hor, by then i cannot do for u le.. hehe

Regg
Roti prata sounds yummy too~~ So many choices for lunch.. Hehe.. Think later I'll probably drop by the Baby Hypermart @ Kaki Bukit to take a look c :p

Gotta start doing some hsework now. Work out the dumplings.. Hehe..

regg

Aiyoh! I tot I already got queue no, so can dillay dally untiil it's my turn. Okie okie, I go think hard this weekend. One moment I like red, another moment I like yellow & green, another moment blue also not bad b/.c I do have a lot of blue clothes & they will match. Grr..

Tas

The tim sum at East Ocean is v nice....

Regg

Not I double boil 1 lar.... I where got so hardworking. My mum will double boil for me....

piggy
though S size is 3kg onwards hor
u have to consider bb de size... my ger was 3.042kg at birth, but she cannot fit nicely into S size diapers til 3 weeks later...
the fitting n cutting of S size is bigger than NB de, so if the fitting is not right and the gaps between diaper n leg is too big hor, then pee will leak lor...so it really depends de...
sinc eu have a pc to bring home from hospital, then just gauge from there lor.. if fitting of S leaks, then just get a smaller pack of NB...

when u discharge hospital will give u samples of NB n S... that is when u can try out

Re : Diaper

I never buy any NB diaper at all when I have #1. After finish the pack from hospital I straight away use @ size..... So this one will be the same as well.... Cos worry baby grow v fast 1 than can't wear wasted.

taslyn

No wonder all give Pampers - sponsored one! But they will charge us for the Pampers right? Wah liew.. get sponsor stil wanna charge us poor mummies.

piggy, regg, taslyn

So none of u intend to let BB wear nappies except Regg? I wonder if it might be healthier (or cheaper) to wear nappies during the day & diapers only when gog out or at nite. Then I no need buy so many NB diapers liao.

I think I shd go & buy 1 pack of the S Mamy Poko to stock up then haha. Since everyone buying, I also buy lah.

cloth nappies

Any idea how many nappies wud we need if we wanna use them for the day? Issit also like 8, like for diapers, or we need more coz they are not waterproof?

SL
hahha yeah i love their dim sum there.. super nice...

regg
it is not hard to double boil.. but to know how long to boil and the picking out of the feathers n dirt can be siong

Taslyn,
ya i know cos my HB side will receive NB diaper as well so i will have 1 from hosp n 1 from his unit so not buyin lor will see how heavy my baby get be4 deciding buyin more...

Re: baby room
I read from either the June or July thread that we shouldn't be around when the cot is being delivered & set up, is it true?

I intend to change the curtains of the bb room to those colorful ones and maybe put on some colorful wallpaper or stickers.

Speaking of birds' nest. Thanfully my MIL will make for me. Abt once every 3 weeks. She will do the plucking & washing & cooking in a slow cooker. If up to me, sure no BN to eat *oops*

Jul,
for 1st mth baby pee n shit v often leh so if u wan to use nappies i wun encourage u to use in the 1st mth.. for me i alone mah wher gt time to wash the nappies so i stk up 3 pack of size S diaper liao..

jul
the pampers is in the Baby package so in a way we are paying for it...

1st mth i wun let bb wear nappies coz hard to wash... after that i will let bb wear the china bumwear i ordered with kiki from taobao.

cloth nappies
u gotta prepare ard 2 dozen... coz u need at least 8-10 a day... then must give n take abit coz diapers may not dry in time.. also get ready NAPISAN to soak the diapers in

Morning ladies

Speaking of diapers, i saw the mamypoko at ntuc while marketing just now. Wanted to buy & stock up but dun think i can carry cos i bought alot of groceries. Maybe will buy tml when hubby is around to carry

Went robinsons yesterday but only bought the avent baby wash, medela storage bottles and some cotton/cotton buds. Btw, does anyone knows if the Avent baby wash/shampoo has non-rinse & rinse type? I wanted the non-rinse type but the one i bought din state if it's a non-rinse or rinse type leh.

Just now my dog very notti ... there was a strong gust of wind suddenly and some leaves got blown into my house. My dog will normally pounce on the leaves but today she just wait there and 'beo'. The moment i came out of the room, she chiong to the leaves and teared out bit & bit. She wanted me to see her doing that and chase her. That's her idea of fun.

piggy

Heehee actually I a bit chao kuan lah. Coz I got confinement lady mah. So tot she can help me with the first mth. After that, then I can switch to diapers full-time. Me very cheapo hor? *blush*

pink
yeah install bb bed we shld not be ard... dunno y.. hehehe

colorful curtains and stickers are okay... but some pantang folks will say dun be ard whwn putting up stickers too.. :p

piggy
wahhh unit will give NB diapers de so cute.. no wonder...then dun need buy lar

taslyn

Is Napisan the one with the Power Vanish brand one? Bright pink bottle? I tot I saw some in NTUC yest. It's a bleach right?

cotton buds

Er.. what's the diff b/w the norm size ones & the super thin ones ah? Which ones shd I buy? Like very expensive hor? $4.50 for Pigeon brand, 200 pcs. The thin ones even more expensive!

jul
not scaring u but hor
cannot assume that CL wun give problem de hor.... u need her to take care of bb.. so dun overwork her oso lar... :p

pink
hahahhaa.... when buying choose those that are cleaner looo.. then wun die from the picking

Taslyn,
dunno leh i heard from friend govt will gave a hamper 1 n the hamper includes diaper tt y i dun wan to buy NB diaper..

Jul,
hmm but u mus see if ur CL ok anot lor cos she also got lots of thing to do leh u n ur baby clothing n cookin for u somemore the usage so high can the nappies dry in time?

jul,

Same here .... i was wondering which type of cotton buds to buy yesterday. In the end i chose the normal type cos i think it's easier to use since we are only using that to clean bb's outer ears?

jul
yeah get napisan for soaking diapers coz it is gentle enuff for it, yet powerful to remove stains and also got disinfectant..

cotton bud
thin ones mroe suitable for bb.. coz u need it to clear mucus from nose n all.... normal side de will only push the mucus in..

i got mine from bkk... $1 for 400 pc.. hahhaha i got stock up like 10pk or sth... u wan?

piggy, taslyn

True also hor.. what abt alternate nappies & diapers then? But hor.. I do wonder if it can save me any $$. Water & soap also not cheap hor?

pegsfur

I dun even know what that will be used for - to clean ears & unbilical cord area also right? Anywhere else huh? Nostrils? Eyes?

taslyn

I saw this funny thing use dto suck out BB's mucus. Need or not ah? U're supposed to squeeze the air out, put the tip into BB's nose, then let the vacuum suck the mucus out. Sounds cheem hor?

Wah!! $1 for 400pcs! So cheap! I want wor!

nail clippers vs nail scissors

Also saw these. But not sure if we need, & which one is better. I scared leh.. BB's nails so small, how to cut huh? *stressed*

jul
i have that thing... dun work lar.. u think bb guai guai sit there let u suck out meh?? hehehe

lol.. u wan the cotton bud ar? can looo.. will take some packs out....

think i will arrange for a meetup sometime mid next mth?? then all mummies can meet n la kopi n wat not.. wat u gals think?

nail clippers n scissors
haha i have both
when Eviana was small, i use scissors.. now i use clippers.. 1st 6 wks dun need to cut coz wear mittens n too soft to cut lar..

jul,
So far my idea of using cotton buds is only for cleaning ears and the umbilical cord area. Eyes need to use cotton wool. Not sure need to clean the nostrils leh.

Nobody knows the answer to my avent baby wash question? Ok, which type/brand of baby wash are u guys using?

California Baby

Some mums are raving abt CB pdts. But they are sooo expensive! I smelled the Calming body & hair wash, tot it smells very strong b/c of the aromatherapy stuff. Dunnoi whether it's coz it's concentrated.

Think I will stick to those Johnson & Johnson type coz I like the smell better.

No sure who give me the link to the cookie cutters, I got my previous ones through a spree at S$6 per sets. Gotten another spare for Chip and Dale from Isetan Sale, $8.90 b4 sale, then after sale, it is less than $7.50 according to the bill.

I am looking at the stitch and miffy ones. I am wondering whether my friend from HK is coming back sometime this year too, I may ask her to check it out for me at HK.

pegs
i was using this prganic one from aussie.. called cherub rubs or sth.. buy from tmc de

CB is good esp the calendula cream... can get them cheaper at sprees...

taslyn

Ok, but hor, meet up cannot be weekday afternoon tea hor. I not SAHM (yet).

nails

Oh good! At least 6 weeks I dun have to worry abt cutting nails. I very KS lah.. bot 8 pairs of mittens, & 4 pairs of booties & 10 pairs of socks *blush*

pegsfur

Sorry, no idea abt Avent.

Jul, bb up to abut 4 months does not need to use all the shower gel, shampoo. I might used pigeon for a month in Sg since we will be returning to Oz and get those organic ones in Oz.