(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

mashy
oic... so far she dun hv bronchitis YET... hb has sinus though..

re: jurong west 500+
ooo i miss that place.. i like the food in the market

yen2008
i did not use any nipple cream woh... just use BM residue to apply over nipple. mi scared of residue from nipple cream.. hehehe

tas

how long has the cough & runny nose been? If no fever, no wheezing, it's prob mild. I even self medicate my boy. hahah. Coz already know what to give him when he coughs. Just need to supplement with the right diet (heaty/oold cough).

pris
haha gym time... good way to descibe it.. think my tummy is small, so it hurts in a way.. hb already commented my tummy is small and having bb with long limbs does not help in my case.

surgical float for wat??

PJs - can get those front opening ones from pasar malam leh! v v easily available.. alternative can try those CK shops also.

tas, i also thot it sounds like asthma cos i also coughed mostly at night and in reaction to cold env and was dx with asthma. either that or it's just hyper-reactive airways after a viral infection.

Re : Piles

I have piles when I have #1 & #2. Mine is quite painful till v hard to sit down. So went to see gynae and he give me the something like a bullets to insert and cream to apply....

mashy/cloudme: i saw Ebay.com.sg , someone selling 7g at $4 /per tube. I asked that seller, is it brand new? when expiring? She replied me, yes, brand new in box, expiring in 2011.
So, now I am liaising with that seller, to see if any further discount if we get more tubes..haha.
Will u all be interested??

Taslyn: i saw some horrible pictures of nipple infection, that's why i am tramatised... wan to buy a nipple cream to standby...i very kiasu..haha

mashy
the cough n running nose is since tues.. but seems to be getting worse even with medication ley.. tat y i worry coz seems like alot of phlegm.. but no fever n wheezing..
tat y i headache if shld bring her see dr again..then hb is not in town.. i more stressed.. coz i ask him if i shld bring ger to dr, he say i decide.. then when i wanna bring her to dr, she appears okay..

pris
yeah the chicken porridge, wanton mee... YU SHENG... YUMMY MY FAVE LOR!

tas

no bronchitis is good news. So likely it's not asthma. Maybe just normal cough. My PD said it's normal for kids to fall sick a few times a year. It's to help build up their immunity. Perhaps when u see Dr Koh, u should also tell him abt her history of the nose bleeds etc.

My boy had bronchitis so often last time i had to buy the nebulizer machine. Sigh. But now he's older, seems that he's getting stronger too and now just now cough and doesn't develop into anything worse.

dolcevita, u know if other spring has sale or only tanjong pagar mrt? any idea sale till when?

thanks pris, i go drink more water now...i drink but 1.5l everyday...the system already approve my ML...hehee

taslyn, we still need letter fr doc for ML??

yen

what's the actual price for a tube? I've already long forgotten how much it is. I suppose this stuff cannot be fake bah? And idea?

Tas
oh, since tues only. So ok lah. Maybe just see him to get some meds. What medication are u giving her now? Sometimes they give expectorant, so it'll make cough even more to get rid of the phlegm. My boy's cough usually last from 2 weeks to a few months. And he'll cough very badly for the 1st few days (until vomit type) before it tapers down and become less frequent. Hahha, so used to my boy coughing until now know his pattern already.

tas

one thing u can do, lay your gal with her front on your lap, cup your hands and pat her back a few times. It'll help dislodge the phlegm.

sharon
dunno ley
my gynae gave mi MC for ML.. erm.. i dun need MC coz i SAHM.. but he blur blur n gave mi.. :p

pris
hahaha oic.. to sit on... i din use that.. no pain for me :p

mashy
ooo.. yeah prolly just a normal cough bah... will tell him abt the nose bleeds n cough blood episodes... so far, she never gimme those probs.. *cross finger*

pris

my boy super 'diao'. I scared later i brew that, he also won't eat. Gave him hou zao also spit out everything. Just now made him french toast and he spit out, told me dun wan.

I used to have a huge prob with him taking his meds too. Had to force feed him by swaddling him and the 2 of us will 'fight' it out. It took a long while before he finally becomes ok with some of his meds. It's so bad that we appeared in a magazine becoz of that. hahaha.

tas, better bring ur girl soon.. if cough is very chesty and with lots of phlegm, might be bronchiolitis. v common in kiddos under age of 2.. my girl kena when she was 8 mths old. had to use nebuliser to open airways and expel the phlegm.

mashy, so ur boy also the vomiting kind.. everytime my girl falls sick i will standby to change bedsheets at night cos she is sure to cough in her sleep and end up vomiting all over my/her bed

mashy
yesh yesh it is expectorant... thus cough more? last night she cough til puke all the phlegm out.. then after that she zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz til this morning liao...

i think on tues she cough so much with alot of phlegm, i just put my finger in her throat to make her puke it out (not exactly the good way), think she got pissed n ignored me for 10mins while hb played with her.. but she felt much better after that coz never cough le...

mashy, I saluate you. Kai is very different, he will ask for medication whenever he is unwell and he will remind me to feed him medication even Dr Ong's nurses known him for that. Just crossing my fingers, #2 will be like Kai when it comes to medication.

jules

it only started this yr. Dunno why. Last time he won't vomit but will keep the phlegm till it infected his lungs. But my comfort is that he just needed to vomit 2 days. After that most of his phlegm are out and he will have an easier time. But he now has a phobia of vomitting. Whenever he wanna vomit, he'll cover his mouth and start crying.

tas

yes, if it's expectorant, she'll cough more coz it's to help her expel the phlegm. But u should be able to hear that there's lesser phlegm after a while. Actually coughing is a natural way to expel the phlegm, just that it makes our heart jump whenever they do that.

jules
her cough is not chesty n is only phlegmy at night for that few hrs.. now i dare not switch on aircon coz i realised that is the trigger n so far, no cough yet..

pris
oh.. maybe my pain threshold high.. i din not take painkillers either

yen,
purelan is discontinue by medela...they no longer manufacture it liao...

US webby cost abt US$2.45 for 0.25oz tube(7gm)...est S$3.79 exclude shipping...

mashy, oic.. my girl's been pukey since young lor. last time feed medicine was also nightmare, cos she will struggle, then we will hold her down and force in the med, then she will retch and out comes all the medicine and any remnant milk inside.. sigh... now not so bad cos we can bribe her with sweets lor.

pris, ur boy really is an angel....

tas, paiseh.. chesty = cough with lotsa phlegm. gd also la.. at least vomit out they feel better and can sleep better. parents suffer the most when the kids are sick!! u tried the vicks vaporub on the feet yet? its supposed to reduce cough at night.. but i tried a few times, like no difference leh.

yen, u can also try avent nipple cream.. quite gd.

pris
hahaha i think kai is like me when it comes to med...
last time when i was sick, i will tell my mum to bring me to dr and will pester her to feed me my medicine.. which adults think that is is very weird.. hahaha

my ger used to guai guai take med.. but now she dun like to take, so it is a battle for me.. so i just spike her water n milk.. hahah

mashy
yeah i rather ger cough/vomit the phlegm out coz i worry that it goes down n affect the lungs
that time she cough, Dr Ang claims there was phlegm n her lungs and put tubes down the throat to extract the phlegm.. hb was the one who brought her down.. so i did not see the procedure.. but she was not having wheezing or chesty cough so i really wonder if what she did was right coz after that episode, my ger is fearful of medicine

jules

oh, then i'm lucky that my boy doesn't do that to us deliberately coz he hates vomitting. But he'll become a volcano when we force feed him. Can really see the meds jumping up. haha. Now he's used to the meds, so ok. For new meds, we'll need to bribe him with goats' milk sweeties or let him take the meds while watch tv.

mashy,
i just look thru some sites...like my breastpump etc...and state it is discontinue liao...

but if i am not wrong...
our local stores who carry medela still have them...
like mum&babes, kiddy palace, OG etc...

anyway i still got a large tube left from previous buy...

tas

huh? is it necc to put tubes down the throat to extract phlegm? Find it's a bit extreme. There's meds that after taking will poop out the phelgm. No wonder she's scared now.

My boy very clever. He can tell when we spike his drink or food and will not touch them at all. Told u his taste buds are very 'diao'.

jules
i got the mentholethm one for kiddos... i normally rub on her chest, back, throat, soles of her feet and some on nose (for runny nose) and it relieves her almost immediately... i dare not use adult vicks on her coz worry it may be too strong...

pris
mi dun hv humidifier here... that y looo... but ordered one for the new house.. coz sometimes even i find it hard to breathe...

for now i monitoring her with no aircon.. she seems more active.. but must see how tonight goes

cloudme

oic. Went to medela website and they still have it leh. Maybe if taka having sale, i go and get a big tube of it? hmmm.... Seems i've to go check its price.

Jules, that one have to apply to the neck and chest too and apply on feet must wear socks, if not it is not effective.

Kai just wants to get well fast haahaa and he likes Dr Ong so he takes all the medication Dr Ong gives him haahaa. So even being away, I have Dr Ong's medication for him and half-year, my bro will help to send them over to me.

As for nipple cream, I dun used them, I remember I bought 2 tubes during Kai's time and never use, I just use the bm to rub over the nipples.

mashy
precisely... n the best part is she was not throaty or chesty or wheezing.. i mean my finger can do the trick.. hahaha
tat time we spend more than $500 nearly $600...

okie mi go make milk for her liao.. spike milk time.. hahahha.. mine still gong gong so can spike milk.. hungry bo bian hv to drink milk mah

regg: i posted in forum yesterday.. and was asking if i can load this pic into my blog, cos i cant wait for it to be posted then i blog about it... too excited..

i also asked if can knit one adult one for me, size 8.. haha!!

re the dr's letter for ML, my org requires me to get some certification of EDD from my dr, and i give to my HR b4 i go on ML...

tas

my boy will rather starve than drink spiked milk. Like just now, he refused to eat his lunch, so he had to go to bed hungry. Will rather starve than eat. Stubborn boy.