(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

mickey, how old is ur gal? i dare not buy chinese books cos chinese is my worse subj n i hardly can recognise them.

anyone interested in going for the enrichment classes together? mite be more interesting, heheheh

Tulips
My girl is turning 3 yrs old next mth.
I try my best to communicate with her in Mandarin, and planning to send her to Berries/Tien Hsia/Eduplus (have not decided which sch yet) for enrichment classes as we hope to help her in building solid foundation in Mandarin. We plan to enrol her in Pei Chun in her primary. Now she is quite comfortable using Mandarin to communicate with me and with some of her classmates.

tulips
no reply yet woh...
think i have to call them up liao lar... stupid pple...
bbmaking called them abt the deferring of the warranty they also not v friendly? kns...

lemme settle my ger ger these few days 1st.. then i will sit down n call the baby kingdom, cheong choon and watever not.. coz i think aug thread got at least 5 of us interested.. some in sept also interested too...

though i dread chinese... my chinese is okay.. hanyu pinyin is okay too... can still remember them.. have done flash cards on powerpt for my ger, n she is looking at them... have not prepared chinese flashcard yet.. will get down to them after my helper comes in june.. then more time to do the slide shows. think if i lazy to do it, i will go popular to buy lor

i was thinking of enrolling in those early child education classes, maybe get a diploma in early child education or sth... heheh...

yeah nanyang started collating list liao... hb cousin teach there mah... that is wat we are told lar.. how true, i dunno liao.. but i believe looooo..

mickey:
ur ger coming to 3 right? now i also headache on what chinese slides to do for my ger ger... lol..
so far i nly started on ABC pwrpt slides... n numbers, colors and shapes.

mickey, ur gal is same year as my boy. now i also searching for some enrichment classes for him. he is more versed in english cos the playgrp that he attends (pcf) is in english.

alamak...
ur kids 3yo.. then u discuss abt pri school... this makes mi super kiasu??? lol...
*find hole to hide.. hehehe*

tulips
mi staying in sembawang looo... but my house is too far from any of the pri schools here...
canberra is a popular choice amongst the rest of the schools here... alway hv to ballot.

Taslyn
Can buy Chinese flashcards from Popular.
Just the words wo pics. One box of the 1st 100 Ch words is around $11plus.
For phonics, she learnt them from Montessori CD as well as watching "My 1st Phonics VCD" and "Leapfrog DVD".
For counting, she just started to enjoy Maths pattern/sequencing from the worksheets I printed online.
For books, I buy some Sunshine, Jolly, Oxford, Ladybird, Scholastic readers, very simple stories as to encourage her to recognise simple words, and enjoy reading.

mickey
yeah.. prolly get from popular lor..
takes alot of effort to make those slide de... lol...
now my ger love watching bb einstein... will stock on other DVDs soon...
it is really not easy/cheap to raise a kid in SG.

Taslyn
Too many educational DVDs in the market, and I am quite selective. Depending on the objectives I want her to achieve then I buy.
Etc: she used to like Barney, so i only bought Barney ABC and Barney Numbers VCD from Pasar Malam, cheap and good.... keke!
And if possible to make copies, a few of mummies/friends would then share.
You can consider Early Child Education Classes at MMI Montessori.

morning all

Tas,
wat time were u there at the bugis shop yesterday?

i left that shop at about 4pm...was there alone and the total damage ~$100(2 diff purchase)...

i saw 2 preggi ladies there ...1 with kiddo and another w/o(new MTB?)...

1 of the lady bought the "i luv mom"(full colour combi set and newborn pants,some botties and mittens and some other stuff)

am wearing a dress yesterday(beige colour -sleeveless)

hi mummies, sorry to intrude, me is Jan mummy...got this to sell

Graco Playpen with bassinet

Selling at 9.5/10

GRACO playpen with bassinet.
Selling it coz baby prefer to sleep in cot.
Used less than 3 times, not even 5 mins.

Bought at $259 now selling at $200, will include playpen mattress (bought at $34) still in plastic
Comes with motor which vibrates and got lights and light music.
comes with a bag
Note: the toys hanging there is not the actual toys, actual toys will be given together with the playpen.

Self pick up at sembawang.
2471307.jpg

Reira,
ur hankies 88cent/pc or pkt(if per pc...very expensive leh??)
i bought those a dozen(12pc) for $4.50 and the cheapest from bugis bb shop is $3 per dozen...
that work out only 20~40cent per pc?

RE: breast pump
think i am going to bring my breast pump(Swing) for servicing since it's still under warranty expire in june...
and maybe get a new softfit shield...cos mine yellowish...

anyone know where to bring medela pump for servicing?

JTS,
i only got my pump after i establish my milk supply and upon returning to work...
so it's good to invest if u really going to work after ML(to free urself from engrogment)...
otherwise latching is very good way to establish the milk supply...

tas

for some reason, parents who are foreigners all wanted to get in Nanyang too! My church friend who's an African also wanted to send her son there but was told that there's no way, so now she's sending her son to the French school.

So locals are not only fighting with other local parents for a place, they also have to fight for a place with the foreigners.

morning ladies!

wow.. looks like u ladies are talking abt schs~~ hehe.. will u move nearer to a sch to get in? heard nowadays voluntary work doesn't help already cos a lot of parents are doing it? then how huh? hm...

oh btw, wanna ask wat u ladies use to 'wash' ur hair during confinement? heard there's this confinement shampoo that we can use? hm...

oh, there is such confinement shampoo that can be purchase in medicinal hall..

btw the Da Feng Cao not suitable for everyone cos it has some fur fur on it, so may cause irritation to some skin.. try out some b4 u buy alot..

morning all

michelle, r u talking bout those powdered shampoo?
my frend juz gave me a bottle...its powder form and u juz brush thru only...dun need water

michelle,
yap there's the confinement shampoo but kinda expensive...have not used b4...
maybe u can enquire in the 2008 thread?
some mummies that i know used it when they previously do their confinement...

RE: dry shampoo
i still got 2 bottles hanging around...(the other is brand new...)
cos that time bb around, not good to use powdered form ones as it will get into their nose...

tas: hee... really not good ah that school? in any case, its secondary school.. i need to get past the pri school phase first..

emergency c sec, will have extra charge also, cos u use the OT mah...

mich: i asked my DH, he says the surcharge part was on my gynae's package which includes hospital stay too..

sharon,
Does the powder shampoo work? My aunt used it before and she say it doesn't really work leh.

michelle,
I oso used the normal shampoo during my confinement last time.

ya, my mum was also telling me abt those powdered shampoo.. but guess for the 1st 2 weeks, we don't have much of a choice right, cos cannot bathe? but cloudme, you could b rite.. the powder may drop on the bb.. then how huh? *dilemma*

morning ladies, every1 talking about school. Now some schools are very selective over PV, have to go through a couple of interviews.

Michelle,

Ya ... considering Aug is a hot month .. i can't imagine myself not bathing. All the more we shld keep ourselves clean if we intend to breastfeed.

MIchelle,
u toking abt the dry shampoo? i heard some woman they use this shampoo for confinement.. but for me will jus use norm shampoo but make sure i blow it dry ..

Pegsfur,
actually hor Aug not so bad alr will have rain compare to May n June...

Michelle,
we can bath 1 jus make sure u dry ur self properly..

I am very sure, the soy bean drink or the sugar content in the drink coz my swollen feet last week. No more canned soy bean.

I know can use ginger, lemon grass and some herbs(get from medical hall) to shower. But of course cannot wash hair daily.

I am going off to clear more mess and shits some idiotic people had created for me while we are away. And threw everything back to me while I am back. Stressed!!

oh, can shower ah? luckily i asked u gals.. cos my mum is doing the confinement for me.. then she nvr do b4 ma.. except for the time when she had my bro. Hee.. so after giving birth i'll use those herbs to shower? then dun wash hair daily is it?

michelle

yah, can get the herbs from medical shops. Now they've pre-packed ones. Just blow your hair after that. Actually for me, i don't really care. It's just to shut my ILs' mouths up.

mashy, Baby S said her friend started in 3rd trim, once a week. Will check with my mum for recipe coz she is cooking while I settle some urgent matters these week which are giving me stressed and headache coz by in-laws.

any mummies experience aching at the "v" area

when they sleep in aircon room or after long period of sitting?

i am getting those aching lately when i sleep in air-con room or sitting too long...

re: shampoo
oh, any idea how many packets of the herbs to buy huh? to be used throughout the entire 1st mth? my mum quite traditional, so dunno if she's alright with the idea of me showering during the 1st 2 weeks...

michelle

that's why buy the herbs. Coz if got herbs, then they will likely keep quiet.

cloudme
i also #1 didn't experience this. Now then pain pain.

cloudme: yeah i get aching there sometimes too.. i experience it when i stand up from stting position, then after i walk a while ok liao..

my friend just finished her confinement, she says her mother boiled lemon grass, ginger and one lemon, then let her bathe with the water.. at least font end up smelling 'herby' hahah..

michelle, if you want to bath the entire confinement, then buy abt 25 packs (minus the days u are in hospital). If every other day,then 12 packs... I am planning for only 12 packs, cos each pack $3 very expensive!!! The alternate day I shall bath with normal warm water.

bbS, so its your gynae charging extra... how much is his delivery fees? Mine doesn't charge extra probably cos his delivery fees are expensive to start with... heartpain to think of the money *sigh*