(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

jul,

Waaahhh .... all the good & yummy food in jap

I only upgraded 1 cup lah, but its ok cos i was already a full B b4 preggy. So i'm pretty glad i din upgrade to D cup

For the GD test, i din drink water during fasting but the nurse did tell me can drink, only food is not allowed. Dun drink for 12hrs like a bit too much leh.

Hi good morning, ladies. My boss is on leave, i am going to have a peaceful Monday with no one to disturb me

Reira: I asked my frenz in US to help me buy freestyle. She got it from Ebay, but she have not told me how much to pay her. She's waiting for her credit card bill to come.
She unpacked the box to put inside her luggage.
I can see 2 milk bottles in the cooler bag, with covers ( erm..i duuno they are called collars or lids, they juz look like covers to me..haha)
Then there are 2 other bottles attached to the breastpumps. If i take out the, then they r juz 2 bottles without covers. So, in all, i got 4 small-sized bottles.
I dun have any soft-flow teats leh...the teats is the one which baby suck on , rgt? Hmm...strange. How come my purchase miss out a few items?

The milk bags are real cheap. I din ask my frenz to help me buy. Maybe next time ba..I got some Pigeon milk bags from my neigb, ard 30 of them. I am going to wait to see if my milk supply is regular or not, before deciding to buy more milk bags.

cloudme

Aiyoh, dirt cheap. $3 for 12 pcs. They have white or combi of yellow/pink/blue. But cannot choose colour combi one. Aiyoh ur SIL v jialat leh.

mashy

Wow. Dunno to say they r efficient or inconsiderate?

smurfy

That's why I'm still trying to avoid getting a domestic helper at this pt of time. I cannot deal with all these issues!

pegsfur

Can drink water huh? I was thinking I will die of thirst!

regg

Erm.. can I still procrastinate on the booties? I was thinking of coordinating them with the first mth clothes, which I haven;t bot, so I can't decide what colour combi leh.

But if u will be very close to delivery date, then nvm. I dun wanna stress u out leh.

Pegsfur,

why they need you to take 3 meals in 2 consecutive days in a week?

Jul_in_week23,

The dietitian, requested me to buy the blood glucose meter from the hospital, I have to poke my self to get small sample of blood, record down the reading from the machine. But from last Sat till now, my reading is fall under the normal range. So I will see what they want me to do during my coming visit.

For my case I took the “Oral Glucose Tolerance Test (OGTT)”

The result of 2 hours after a 75-gram glucose drink, should be

Less than 140 mg = Normal glucose tolerance
From 140 to 200 mg = Impaired glucose tolerance
Over 200 mg = Diabetes

For mine is 142mg, my gynae refer me to dietitian and she also said she may want me to deliver 2 weeks before my EDD.

so far, each of my gynae visit i pass my pee strip test leh....

jul

u reminded me that i've to go get my towels & hankies soon. My neighbourhood mkt also sells but think abt $3.50 per dozen.

yah lor. fed up with them. It was a horrible confinement period then. We were at each other's throats and i didn't even wanna talk to them. The worse thing is i can only keep these to myself and hb. Other pp think they're damn good ILs. Everyone kept asking us how come we left that church for another church (all of us attended the same church), but we didn't wanna tell them the real reason.

cloudme
It's tit for tat. that time u unhappy with her using your brush, so now she accuse u of using her hankie lor. sigh. Better shift house lah. Best not to stay together.

shirley

I also pass the pee strip test. But I guess they just wanna play safe lor. (*whispers* And earn our money haha)

I will also be doing something similar. Fast from midnite.. report at clinic to take 1st blood test at 9am.. drink horrible glucose drink.. wait 2h then take 2nd BT.

Ew! I scared of needles. Cannot imagine myself poking & drawing blood everyday. *prays hard*

shirley

Pee test is not so accurate. It's just 1 instance. So if u happen to take a lot of sugar before the test, u could get a false positive or if you just downed a lot of water before that, it could be a false negative. THe tolerance test is more accurate.

regg

Yeah I want. But I'm very indecisive abt the colour lor. Personally I like red. But most boy clothes seem to be blue, so blue wud be more practical. Cannot make up my mind lah!

mashy

Like tas was saying, every family got its own probs. Nvm this time u get to do what u want. Are u getting confinement lady? I'm still looking.

shirley,

I'm not sure either ... they just told me to poke & measure my blood b4 and after every meal for 2 consecutive days in a week. Probably becos mine is mild case? Cos though my reading after the OGTT was abt 135, but I didn't pass most of the normal strip test with urine during check ups.

pegsfur, they didn't allow me to eat food which i understand, but they also not allow me to drink plain water.

bbmaking
dunno ley.. i was thinking of letting ger go to PCf as well as Etonhouse...
PCf coz they concentrate more on academics.. while Etonhouse they concentrate on character building n stuff like that... also they say going to Etonhouse makes it easier for the child to get into "choice" primary school more easily?
heard that now pri school does not have streaming and no exams liao... so better to pack kiddo into a good school....
i have seen the way kids behave from the so called better schools in our area... and totally aghast with their behaviours and manners.. so i really dun wan to send my kids to the neighbourhood schools here...

cloudme:
aiyo... y ur sil liddat de? agree with mashy that she is trying to get back with in on the brush... if the hankie is cheap, then let her be lor.. n move out lar... y let this sweat u out? dun think ur mil can take care of 4 baby at the same time right?

jul

yah lor. this time going to decide what we want. We didn't even bother telling them abt gal gal's name coz we know sure got a lot of comments from them. Last time kept commenting abt my boy's name until i fed up, later just told them not decided until we show them the birth cert.

Yah, i'm getting one. So long still haven't found? U better look coz i think most of the good ones are all booked already.

Jul,
^5, i like red too.
dont just retrict with blue, e.g red+light grey, yellow+grey(yellow can match with blue cloths ma), grey+white.. so many more..

jul, yes the glucose drink is so horrible, after drink i felt so unconfortable.

when you fast from midnite, also not allowed to drink plain water?

tas

wow, your poor gal gotta go 2 schs ah?

Why not consider pat's schhouse? heard it's good too.

Why go eton house easier to get your child into the choice pri sch? It's still the same MOE reg phases.

shirley

i was also not allowed to drink water for the glucose test. By the time my test finished and i could finally eat breakfast, it was already 11am!

re: baby name
my IL never bother... so i also cannot be bothered to tell them, after all it is my child, so why shld i listen to them? they also seem uninterested... so far only decide on english name... chinese name i still scratching head...

morning mummies..

i in 3rd trimester liao!! hahaha..

sleeping is such a chore now leh... i have one pillow on my head, one to hug, one between legs and one at feet (to elevate)..

when i wanna turn, must hold tummy and turn (if not will hurt), then bring pillows over also, then adjust pillow behind my back (just in case i turn and lie on my bacK)...

then baby girl keeps moving so much more now! (is this suppose to happen). she move so much that it keeps me awake..

regg

we only tell our friends coz we know they won't anyhow comment unless it really sounds odd. hehehe. So my ILs will be the last to know. :p

mashy
dunno ley... hb cousin says it is easier to get into choice pri sch that way.. their kids all go eton?
have heard of pat's sch house too.. but dunno lar.. just gotta see how.. still early to be so kiasu.. it is another year more to go

i also not sure of that are the pri school registration criteria.. some parents sign up tp volunteer at the schools when their kids are toddlers!
anyway there is always such things as under table de... lol... i got into my pri sch the "under table" way coz my dad was so bo chup n did not reg me til the v last min... in the end, my aunt helped to get me into another school...

if worse come to worse, move to clementi and let my kids study in Nan hua looo..

Mashy,
Ya men.

Tas,
Me too, just decided on the english name, chinese name we selected a few but will consult 1 of the master after bb born ba.

tas

no such thing lah. U still have to go thru the MOE registration phases unless you're looking at international schs.

Yah, i heard from my friend who did PV, have to do at least 2 yrs PV before registration. Lucky i don't need to worry abt that.

You're from Nan Hua?

shirley,
Ya, cos my gynae just downgraded my self-testing to once a week instead of 2days a week ... it's a good news, or else, dunno how much more to spend on the needles and lancets and alcohol swabs!

baby s,
Same here, shifting sleeping position is so difficult nowadays. Btw, when are we considered in 3rd trimester?

mashy, ya same here, so hungry hor.....

i just confirmed with some of the friends working in hospital, if we are taking OGTT after midnight no plain water is allowed.

mashy
yeah mi from nan hua... lol...
worst come to worst, i will buy a house there and try to get my ger in there... coz there is no schools near my new house... even JB is nearer to my new house than any pri school...

n now no more streaming... v scary lar.. aiyo so stressed!

babyS: i still drop dead and sleep... lol.. occassionally wake up n change position

pegsfur: 7th month onwards... week 28..

hey do gynaes routinely do blood sugar test or OGTT in 3rd triemster? is GDM more common in 3rd tri?

tas

i dun know if it's misconception or what, but i also have the same idea that if go pte kindergarden, easier to get into 'choice' primary school esp those kindergarden which are affliated to the primary schools...although i am not too sure which kindergarden is affliated to which primary sch.

eh nowadays there's the official MOE stance that go thru phrases for pri sch, but it seems that some parents still hav advantage like alumni, volunteer work, proximity of school to home etc. so i guess have to check that out?

eh for our case...hubby n me are ok with PCF/PAP/NTUC kindergarden for regular classes, but will also put the kid in enrichment classes at least once or twice a week - just to increase horizons. I guess the point is that different centres have different strength, and why not expose the kid to as many as possible experiences and other types of people since the opportunity is there.

I guess maybe becos both of us were from deprived backgrounds, so want to offer our kids the opportunity, but if he's unhappy, then withdraw him, after all childhood is the only time he can enjoy.

tas

if you're from nan hua, u don't need to buy a house there lah. Auto can get in already. Just that the travelling time will be quite jia lut.

taslyn
there's a few ways to get into choice schools as mentioned by mashy.... alma mater.... Voluntary work.. money contribution etc.. :p.. guess my boy will have to go to normal neigbourhood pri schools lor.. no choice.. but for pre-sch.. i am going to let him go into Pat's when he reaches 3yrs old, at least give him a solid foundation and fun learning time when he's young.

BabyS
my gynae never did blood sugar test on me.... but generally they are more concerned with GD in 3rd tri coz bb grow the fastest then... so they will check more for GD... coz they wanna make sure bb is growing bigger normally and not due to GD. GD tends to give rise to bigger bb...

shirley
i'm suppose to do the OGTT this sat, checked with the nurse just now, she said ok to have sips of plain water during the fasting period.

Tas, Mashy,

i trash out with her on the handkies...told infront of my bro's sis...
that the handkies is mine...
and by judging on the fading color can see that it's been in used for how long liao...
she just keep mum and just said can't i lent it to her #2...
of cos i can...cos i got the balance of the hankies in my drawer(got 8 pcs in use)
i also complaint to mil and told her ...i not petty but sil can't said that the handkies is hers cos i have been letting my ger using it long b4 she give birth...
mil also knows that i only used that pattern b4 she give birth...

just told mil that my ger's skin not good so can't share it...(anything happen to her #2 skin not my problem)

anyway,i just keep those (all the 8 pcs) cos she got none and i doubt she got any...
if she got somemore of the same design then i give her leeways of doubts that mil did get her the same design...
but she got none at all...
while i got some even at my own home which i bring back to tally the 8 pcs...

that sil got a few diff bear pics hankies that mil bought for her that she use lately

just i previously said b4 she keep things without checking if it's her #1 or #2 one...
so maybe the my hb's younger sis(bbsitter at mil's place) misplace the handkies and sil presume it's for her #2...

cloudme: good that u at least brought this matter up...

why hankie also cannot afford to buy meh... i thought such things, parents would be more concerned about hygiene?

hai..

baby s/mashy,
Ooh ... ok, i still have 2 more wks to go.

shirley,
Which machine are u using? I'm using the Optium Xceed. The needles are quite ok, it's the test strips which cost a bomb!