(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

regg, thats the problem.. my only specification is that the maid will be doing mainly housework. cooking background not nec, cos my mil will teach her when she is here.. my kids will be taken care of by my MIL so the maid also wont be left w the kids. like that also must ask the maid for her 'approval'? not like i got dogs or want the maid to take care of newborn/sick elderly etc..

i have been liasing with other agents as well.. and so far, i've not had similar experience leh.. its more like the employer makes the final decision.

salary wise, if not wrong its 330-350 with 1 off day. if maid agree to no off day, add 20 bucks. how much is ur indo helper's salary?

piggytoh, when will ur hb be back? where is he working now? oh dear realy not easy.. esp w the preg hormones, i am even more dependent on my hb nowadays

jules
err it's norm that we have to inform the maids of the job scope and see whether they want to work for our family or not... some may not even like a MIL at home.. coz still with supervision (As they like to work independently)

maids prostituting
whahaha.. hb was telling me one of the ex-sin maids we interviewed dun looked like coming here as a maid (makeup, looks.. way she behaved) :p..

Michelle,
quite a no. of the lady bott the waterproof mat but according to kikilala it v thin..

Michelle/Jules,
my HB in Aussie now will only be back on ard Mar 10 but may be able to come back for a wk in Dec.. ya indeed not easy to cope with my emotion now esp facing quite a few prob at the moment... but will try my best to hang on ther

piggytoh: oh my.. tat's a real long time... will he b back when you give birth? dun think too much, @ least you have bb to keep you company

I just contacted NUH and TMC. I think I will go for the TMC one haha. still debating if I should spend the $$ on something else or spend on this... my hubby is interested to do the scan.

NUH:
$149.80 (3D scan only) - 2 pics & 1 CD (the CD contains baby's 3D pic)
The lady who picked up the phone have very bad attitude...

TMC:
$189 (3D scan only)
$279 (3D & 4D scan) - 1 pic, CD rom

The lady told me that they will attempt the scan a few times, if baby does not cooperate and sonographer cannot take a good scan of the baby, then no payment will be collected. 10% discount applies to FBI members.

MIchelle,
they actually gave him 1 wk leave to come back but the prob is i dunno when actually i will be in labour n he need time to apply leave n purchase airtic etc so may not be in time also so i rather he save the air tix n come back only in Dec...

smurfy, oic! hmm.. maybe i'm being too quick to judge the agency then.. getting kan cheong cos wanna confirm a maid soon and hopefully get her over here by late june.

hiao maids - ya.. from the biodatas i've seen, some really dress up and dont look very decent leh.. hb was commenting that a few look like er4 nai3 (mistress) material :p

piggytoh, oh my... u are really a v brave lady!! ur hb's company quite strict hor.. only allow a wk leave to come back here.. hang in there ok? once the baby is out, time will really fly by, and b4 u know it, it will be march and he will be back to stay! (right?)

regg, urs is w experience? all the fili maids i shortlisted are without experience ie fresh so maybe that's why cheaper..

piggy
the playmat i bio is this one.. parklon de... thickness is 1.2cm thick... 1.5 X2m.. rmb 210
http://item.taobao.com/auction/item_detail-0db2-b2eee3daf19428b1a4ee9e2a25fc3743.jhtml?cm_cat=0

for ur case, y not C-sec? i know of many mummies in ur situation who opt for csec so that DAddy can be ard when bb come out.. liddat wun waste air ticket liao..

Re: maid
i think it is okay for the agency to check if the maid is okay to come to ur household to work.. coz they have their expectations.. many dun like to hv MIL ard coz it mean someone ard to supervise their work..

for mine.. her pay is 350 w/o day off... $20 is in lieu.. else basic is 330.. quite standard these days...

mashy
my brest friend! tmc oso uses them in the parentcraft :p

taslyn
err why not get the playmat from one of the sprees here.. safer leh.. i mean if this thing is fake... and use poor quality materials.. dangerous for bbs.. especially when they turn on it.. crawl on it.. and when u put toys on the playmat.. there's a chance they will the toys frm the playmat in their mouth

smurfy
yeah thinking of getting the mat from BP... was makign comparisons mah... coz taobao pricing so tempting.. haha.. just like the taobao ergo vs those ergo we see here... lol

finally saw the OB after 4 LOOOOOOOONNNGGG weeks!

at 28 weeks, i've put on 3kg+ and bb's weight is 1261g. when i had my dd, i already put on 10kg at this point and bb's weight then was only 1233g. hopefully this doesn't mean that #2 will be too big for natural delivery!

my OB also said 1000% (yes, not 100% but 1000% - he said he has never been wrong) that I'm having a boy! all the major organs were scanned and 'declared' normal.

have to wait another 4 LOOOOOOONNNNGGGG weeks before i'll get to see bb again... such a pain to wait!

mashy, yes, my brest friend is good, I have been using that for my 2 girls. It helps as without it my back will start to ache from the strain of lifting bb to the boobs.

piggy, anyway ur hb can get internet? Like that at least he can see the bb via webcam. Hang in there, time will fly by. Who is helping u after the bb is born?

jules, yes I had to ask the maid to see whether she is willing to go over to my MIL's daily to help with my bb. Some maids only want to stay in 1 place. Then also some maids dun want to look after/help out with babies... so better to ask them and get their verbal agreement or else next time got misunderstanding.

smurfy

saw another brand called 'viva', not sure if it's good. It won some parenting award stuff. One thing abt my brest friend is that it's so ex. Have to wait and see if taka will offer it for sale with additional 10% off or not... Missed the earlier 30% off robinsons sale.

piggytoh: oh ya, y dun you op for c-section? then confirm your HB will b around when bb comes out ;P

Hi kikilala,
I just emailed u on the taobao items. Thanks for helping us to buy!

taslyn
kekeke me paranoid mummy mah :p at least for ergocarrier (if it's fake). they will not suddenly lost strength and drop the child.. at least u will see the wear n tear b4 it gives way...

michele
congrats congrats.. u must be happy abt the minimal weight gain.

piggy, for my gynae, only after week 36 then I see him at week 38, then its again at week 39, and then again at week 40 (by then hopefully pop already!!)

mashy, u can see whether can find a 2nd hand my brest friend? Cos the cover can be washed so if wash properly its as good as new.

MIch,
the internet there is v costly n need to purchase their modem so now he is tryin to find out how to subscript to their plan ...
my MIL will be helpin me after my confinement end i am not worried abt the takin care of baby part but more of from now till i gave birth... :p

michele, wow so envious u only put on 3kg to date. as of last wk when i was 26 wks, i already put on 6 kg
.. depressed at the thought of it, cos total wt gain for #1 was only 9kg. sure to exceed that this time..

mich/tas, u got a point there.. better that the maids know exactly what they have to deal with and agree to it than come here and regret after a few days! but i still havent managed to interview the 2 shortlisted maids over the phone yet, cos waiting for their 'in principle' approval of my job scope. originally intended to speak directly to explain what they need to do, etc, and see if they are willing to work for me.

piggytoh, my gyne visits are now once every 3 wks. started from wk 24.

mich

yah, looks like a lot selling 2nd hand at $30-$35. Maybe i'll check that out. Been spending so much money lately and hb wanna bring me go hotel stay after my cancelled hols.

yes, i intended not to put on more than 7kg for this pregnancy so i shd be on target... about 1kg p/mth till i deliver.

i will see my OB again at 32 weeks, then 34 and 36 weeks... subsequently will be every week until I deliver.

mashy, i have 'my brest fren' for sale if u are interested with 3 covers in total - my covers were all handwashed so still in good condition. let me know.

my colleague only put on 4.5kg total for her preg.. of which the baby weighed abt 2.5kg.. when she popped, she was already back to pre-preg wt! THAT's amazing lor..

wt gain dep on whether u were underweight to start with or not ba.. i definitely wasnt underweight pre-preg lor.. and for no 1, my greatest wt gain was in 3rd tri.. now havent hit 3rd tri already put on 6kg, so naturally a bit worried. hb keep calling me fat also
(tho he insists he's joking when i start to restrict my intake to just soup noodles and stop taking snacks in between meals).

Jules,
Ya, fresh maid some $290-$320 for indo.
guess mine is chris and high school educated + can speak english + with wrk experience in Taiwan b4, so i think is ok with the pay.
Unless the maid come is totally not what the agent as said then we will change!

RE: weight gain.
I've put on 8kgs lor...

Jules,
haha ya lor i got 1 friend only put on 5kg also but tt becos durin 1st trim her MS v bad alr lose 5kg be4 she gain..

Michele,
hahah not more than 7kg lucky u i alr put on 5kg at wk 26.. i jus hope total weight gain less than 10 i v happi liao keke..

Thks for your feedback on the Ergo carrier. Btw I also have booked Mdm Ida for the pre-natal massage but it will be end of May.

Hi Mashy

I also tempted to get 1 to try leh. Just in case need to bring baby out alone. Think that will help.

mashy, think $30-35 is still worthwhile investment. Saw ur hb's facebook update considering which hotel to stay in Sentosa. I suggested Amara Sanctuary to him, I just stayed there with my 2 girls over Labour Day weekend.

mashy
u looking for sentosa stay? me too! but it's soo expensive.. u girls got lobangs now or not?

mich
u got lobangs or not?

but i am thinking or rasa sentosa resort leh... more coz of the kids pool there.

Went for the Mt A prenatal class,the recommended wt gain
A.if your BMI (pre-preg) is 18-23
- 1.6kg(1st trimester)
- 0.44kg/week (2nd - 3rd trimester)

B.if your BMI (pre-preg) is >23
- 1kg(1st trimester)
- 0.3kg/week (2nd - 3rd trimester)

SL

Then get lah. I'm also mainly going to use it when i'm out with both 2 kids alone. Coz i'll need to send and fetch my boy from sch. Can't carry bb in arm and hold my boy's hand. And take stairs. He'll run all over the place.

regg, then 380 with no off day is v reasonable. will the maid be the main caregiver for ur baby?

piggytoh, my aim same as u.. if wt gain less than 10kg i already rejoicing..

nursing pillow - is this necessary? i used a normal pillow for #1, but if a nursing pillow makes the frequent nursing more bearable, wld definitely get one! do u still need to carry baby when using a nursing pillow? or just need to ensure the latch is ok, then can continue hands free?

Regg,
lol i estimate myself to gain 2-3kg/mth in the last trim so most prob will exceed 10kg keke but i dun wan to tink so much la i cant control also