(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Smurfy
Wow! Your hb is so hardworking!
I do introduce simple phonics to her.
She can recognise A-Z when she was before 2yrs old.
Now she loves to ask me how to spell this, how to spell that.
Like ytday, she did some tracing.
For language development, I read to her often (bought some simple books etc: sight words, repeated words), let her listen to CDs etc.
When she was much younger, I am more focused on her social and motor development.
I try to make learning fun for her, by doing more A&C activites with her.
2372407.jpg

2372408.jpg

yeah, won;t be buying but still eyeing the bumpers; they look so nice.

preciousone,
i saw the ones at kiddy palace & aussino, not as nice as the ones found overseas.but yeah shipping them over is impractical.

hmm flashcards, i was reading bits & pieces abt GD, can start as young as 3 months.

looks like swaddling is the way to go when babies are younger - when older, guess long pants & long sleeves will do, cos those sleeping bags, also need long sleeves tops rite?

bbmaking
u sAHm-in future? Bits of intelligence from GD....needs lots and lots of preparation work.. can die, i tell u... i got the book but never embark.. i just stick to simple english/chinese/dots cards.. oso gave up very fast.. :p yes GD cards.. can start for newborn oso

precious
ehh the flash cards very fast one. onli less than a minute before sleep time (their bonding itme when i bath)... just that the boy was more interested in running and PURPOSELY running away frm me and my cards when he was younger.. he tot me playing games with him -_-' arts and crafts i cannot make it leh.. i have no creativity.. :p and all those oso needs a lot of preparation work

hi babys, i read about 5 minutes to my son at night before he sleeps. so i take it as reading to my bb in the tummy ... hehe ...

i think u can try to sing/read to your bb before you sleep every night, next time, bb can recognize that particular song too

joeey: singing i do that all the time... but reading, i havent done that yet. haha...

my husband say read the whole bible to her, from front to back, and repeat when i finish.. wah... hahahaha

Babymaking
I prefer plain and solid colours for bb cot accessories, then much easy to match with my room... keke!
Btw, can play nice bible CDs songs instead.

Smurfy
Most important, they enjoy! And that's why I have not send her to any enrichment academic classes yet.
She is now at PCF pre-nursery program, 2hrs daily, my objective is to let her have the chance to socialise, to share and take turns.
When my girl has no mood to learn new things, I don't force her too. So sometimes we play board games, pretend play, hide and seek etc.

erm singing to baby har? i think i rather skip that - hubby always laugh when i unconsciously hum/sing to songs on radio, say i forever off tune :p

smurfy,
was thinking of doing the cards now when i have the time cos now still on bedrest. later plan to go back to work but also depends on the economy - if cannot find job that pays similiar before the recession, then may just be a part time student & SAHM.

precious
then you should try those removeable stickers - there are lots of kids/baby designs now.

we converted the study room into a nursery & outfit all the big items in white, then plan to accent the room with blue. was thinking next one, can change the colour scheme easily if it's a gal. planning ahead....lol.

Hi ladiesits weishy me MIa for few days la....changed of name too

Regg:added u on msn

went for my detailed scan already,bb was sleeping so the sonographer also got headache.....wakie wakie also still sleeping.mananged to take all measurements too though.
weighing only 460gms....think all stuffs goes to mommy liao :p

Babymaking
Too bad my hb don't like removable stickers on the wall.
He already complains that my living room with the play yard looks more like a childcare environment, can open a childcare centre.
Btw, you may try to do an internet search, there are many free printable flashcards on site.

precious

where did u get the letters for tracing? I'm trying to get my boy to write. He's more interested in drawing circles and writing the no 1 only.

Yesterday i taught him to write 'H' coz he only wanted to write straight lines, so have to tell him write 2 '1's, and chinese 'yi'. But he told me it's 'A'.
So his 'A' is actually an open gap 'A' that looks more like an 'H'. He isn't very good with tracing coz i think his control of the pen is still not there yet.

Mashy
From Popular, under Kumon section.
Get those white board markers (size M) from Popular, the brand is Pentel Maxiflo as it is xylene & toluene-free.
Once he is confident in using broad markers, then you can introduce those thin washable markers/colour pencils. Alternatively you can also get those broad crayons.
Btw, to improve pencil grip, you can let him play with playdough.
Objective is to train his fine motor skills 1st, hence starts with broader writing equipments.
Practice makes Perfect, have fun!

precious

yah, been letting him play with playdough. His fine motor skills are still pretty weak. So need to improve on that. He loves to mix all the colours of his playdough though and now they looked so jumbled and ugly.

sbb, the one size nappies look good to me... I have a stack of cloth diapers (bumwear and some other US brands) but I never see tis UK brand before.

hI Mich,

but UK i scare i buy liao than cannot ship out haha.. so i ned to check with VPOST if they can ship out else no point.

UK they are very kind with environment and bb well being so thats why i like it a lot..

Review not bad also. they also have others type which are good also

cecelia/weishy, how many weeks at 460g?

i juz read that ard 24-26weeks...baby will open eyes in our womb? so cute...

reira:
can i have ur email address? i got those things i wanna buy liao. but will only send u the order and payment tml. need to double confirm girl girl or boy boy.. :) u pm me ok? Thanks!

kikilala:
lemmie know if u are holding the taobao spree ok? i got permission to buy liao hahaha

haha urs cannot pm leh. u pm me bah. i think u confirm first then send to me. still got about USD 80 to go. unless ur order will be a lot!

We just came back. SIA queue at the airport was the longest compare to all the other airlines haahaa, go SIA. Then we went to downtown, so tired now.

Pegsfur, the sleeping bags come in different sizes, I am bring one back in case we sleep in air-con room or planning to bring bb for a trip to M'sia.

Reira, when you ordering? I look through and let you know, think of getting like 18months to 24 months haahaa.

Precious, my boy told me chinese characters are easier to recognise haahaa. We used GD and phonics and by 3plus, he is reading simple books on his own and now he is reading his own children bible every nite. So now we are learning hanyu pinyin and reading through P1 textbook for chinese. My boy loves craft and drawing but hate colouring, he prefers to do Reading and then worksheets than colouring.

Mashy, there is a bp for thomas and train boys overseas from UK, thot it is really worth it for 50 books at UK$29.90 b4 shipping.

Any1 know where I can get Animals Arks Series or Animal Rescue Series? My boy is into animal rescue and what does a vet do.

precious

U gal really v clever leh. U are really a v hardworking mummy. My gal is 32 mths, but she is not able to read. Cos I'm a lazy mum. Lazy to flash the card to her.

I actually wanted to introduce playdough to her. But my friend say is too early. Is it ok to let her start now? Problem I have is she likes to eat her finger. So after playing with the playdough is it v difficult to wash her hand?

Pri
Welcome back!
Chinese characters are much easier, as the child recognises each like a pic. How old is your boy now? At what recommended age to introduce han yu pin yi? I heard if we were to introduce at early stage, if there is no hypy, then they cannot read the words.

SL
Play together with her. Playdough might not taste nice? Last time when my girl was very much younger, brought her to sandplay, she actually tasted the sand.... haha! Since then, she learnt her mistake.... keke!

Sharon

Yours is boy boy is it?
They said boy boy tu qi poke out one. I also poking out now. Haha

====================

Pricillia

Hey..your boy very clever wor.. Chinese characters are more difficult to understand for kids wor.

==================

cece, yup..its starting to pop out

its quite big liao lei...even got ppl ask me if im delivering soon?!?

sbb, yup...its a boy boy...i also heard if its boy boy "du qi" will pop out but my frend who's carrying a girl, her "du qi" also popped out

reira:

okok.. i kiv all the items i wanna buy liao.. its USD$34.94.. just need to confirm the color. give u the order tml!

hmmm... im 20weeks.. but tummy not as big as sharon's... pray hard dat bb is fine in my tummy.. tml going for details scan liao.. abit "gan chiong"

ok. i reserved the 34.94 for u liao. =)

so fast almost reached USD200. once everyone paid, i could order it way before 25 April. :D

baby cot beddings
Where can I get this and how much does it cost?

SL
Oh ya, flour and colouring to make some dough. Remember to put some salt in it too. Alternatively you can also have some fun with her making real cookies. My daughter had a great fun decorating M&M on top of all the cookies.

Reira
You can try Aussino when they are having sale. Can also try Kiddy Palace or www.kidzloft.com.sg

2374064.jpg

morning

reira
re: cot beddings
can try spotlight as well. i got a cotton fitted sheet,flat sheet & pillow & bolster case for 14.95. nice blue gingham checks. also got a 2pc fannel fitted sheet set from IKEA for about $12. reember to measure yr cot mattress before you go shopping for cot bedding.

morning babymaking!

mashy,
my boy also into "creative arts" hence all his playdough now all become a single colour :p

Precious, my boy is 5 now, he picks up chinese characters as young as 2. He did not mix up his hanyu pinyin with phonics. For me, I believe that he has to listen, read, recognise characters 1st before he writes chinese characters and he started on hanyu pinyin about 4.5yr old but we are doing it slowly as mummy here has been in and out of ER. For us, the environment here is not conducive in learning mandarin but I am glad that he is picking up slowly, converse and read simple chinese.

SL, Kai started baking at 1 yr old, just a little messy in the beginning but now at five I can leave him to mix all the ingredients and I just place the end-product into the oven for him to bake. He is happy with the actual dough and at the end of it, he can eat.

precious,
your gal very smart, my boy only manage to complete his whole recognization of A-Z with phonics sound and tracing, start blending recently when he was 40mths. :p

smurfy,
me also lazy mum, want to teach my boy blending but so tired after reaching home. *sigh*