(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

pinkmama,
I got my new maid from Best Home, so far the new maid is good. I really have no complaints, sorta of can shake legs haha.. And the service and fees of this agency quite cheap IMO compare to others.

celine

it's those boring name lor. U know those which prob has tons of it in a classroom? My SIL's name also sama sama. I think I prob know at least a dozen with her name. Even my cousin in law also same name.

mashy, mil also complain about Kai's name, so many strokes, told others, we only go for christian chinese names bababa...i told dh, for all the names I choose have meaning, think pick thing like ah gao, ah mew, etc... Anyway, dh is weak in Chinese so he cannot complain when I am doing the difficult task for him haahaa...

pris,
kekeke...but we didn't consult any "chinese teachers"...
just feel that the name goes with bb then we take it lor...

Hey girls, finally did my detailed scan yesterday. It's a GIRL... another precious addition to the limited girls we hv on this thread haha... although my hubby was quite disappted cos he wanted another bro to grow up and play with Matt. But mummy is definitely very thrilled abt it haha. Time to stock up pretty dresses and ribbons haha...

same here i did not consult anybody or fengshui masters, just feel that the meaning of the name will be what we hope our boys' character to be.

tinkabel,
yeah congrats on another princess!

haha your hb same as my hb. My hb also want a boy to accompany our #1 and himself. He said next time can tag team got 3 players *faint*

Same here! Hubby not keen to consult any masters cos he said these things are fated de, doesn't mean that he won't have a good life just becos of his name.

So happy i woke up earlier today to fried an omelette for my breakfast. And my omelette is flower-shaped de cos of the pan i used .. so cute leh.

anyway, my dh said no more trying haahaa, since he thinks we will get another boy even if we try due to his family gene. I am praying maybe by accident God will grant us a gal next time if it is in his will haahaa, if not, when the time is right I will adopt one haahaa.

for me.. i will let the fengshui master 'calculate' my bbs' chinese name... but hb n i will choose the english name ourselves.

for me la.. personally la.. (juz my own experience niah la..) i do believe like: 一命,二名,三风水... cos i changed my chinese name before.. n really better in few ways lor. not that now perfect or wat la.. but not like last time, really can be quite bad..n very prone to accidents!

juz this mrng..i was asking hb if wana baptise our bbs right aft they were born.. but i tink cant.. cos im not baptised myself..haha. (my hb & family r catholics)... so he said.. let them choose their path themselves lor.

we didnt consult anyone on the name for my bb girl too.. I choose christian name, dh choose chinese name. And chinese name, we chose those that are easy to write (thats my only request)... cos i dont want a name so hard, so many strokes, then in exam time, lose out to her other friends who can get headstart. ahahah

JTS,
my sil's ger got a master to cal the name...
end up still very prone to accidents and often sick one leh...
my mil was commenting...hai yah...how come got master cal name still like that...

so this time round they went to the famous one ZOE is adver with...to cal name for her boy...

***shall see how it goes for her boy***

haha.. ya.. i agree on a name easy to write.. easy to spell... my chinese name last time.. in total including surname oni 19 strokes.. den aft i chg'd (haha..luckily was aft i finish schooling..) in total.. 34 strokes! lol.

i was telling hb abt this name "Bianca" for one of my gals... he quite like it.. den was asking if we shld chg the spelling or smting.. but i dun quite agree on that. yep, u'll get special name.. prolly none other hv.. but then.. the poor gal will need to spell her name to everyone in future so that ppl wun get it wrong.. so i tink juz stick to it's original spelling can le.

but anyhow.. we hvnt 'draw lots' on the starting letter of the english names yet. cut out last nite le.. but forgotten to draw. hahaha.

pris

when my MIL complained abt my #1's name after we registered it, we simply told her that if she doesn't like it, she doesn't have to call him. And if he doesn't respond to whatever she calls him, too bad for her.

I chose the English name while my hb chose the Chinese name. Funny coz my hb is a potato. He just told me how he wanted it to sound like and I pick the Chinese characters.

fatBobo:yes PH got surcharge in hospital.....imagine hv twins.......btu can chk with them how much more to preapre urself

haahaa, for us, we dont believe in using fengshui master to cal name. For me, I use the dict to check for the meaning of the word and ask chinese teacher to make sure I use the simplified character. As Christians, we believe God already has his plan for the child as long as the child walks according to his commandments and follows his ways. So we pray for bb to have a tender heart towards God.

fatbobo

For my #1, I went in during Christmas at 34 weeks, then again during new year to deliver.

Plus, my labour was 18hrs, then end up c-section. So u can imagine my bills.

Pris

We also don't believe in fengshui master.

In fact, i heard that the fengshui master actually has a few sets of std names. After they chose the name, the parents are supposed to burn up the paper. So nobody knows if they're all the same. hahaha.

i go to YUAN ZHONG XIU to chg my name.. will go back there for my bbs' names. (my in-laws oso consult master pang / master ang for their names, fengshui n etc de)...

actually aft i chg my new chinese name.. another master frm taiwan whom i met told me the name not very ideal for me oso. but i was like.. there's nothing perfect de la...

ya u can chg name..u can put this (fengshui) or put that.. but end of the day.. it's YOU. how YOU wana choose n path your own way oso mah.. rite? can believe.. but not too obsess la. but hor.. im not those who will spend thousands of dollars to buy fengshui stuffs to put at hm.. haha.. me not that well to do!

mashy..i tink it's nice.. even if yur hb is quite a potato.. but he get to pick hw he wans the name to sound like.... sweet.

pris

did she buy that? My MIL kept saying my #1's name sounded awful but yet cannot tell us exactly what's so awful abt it. So we fed up and kept it from her until we showed her the birth cert.

Ok, speaking of mil interferring. U girls know i'm at loggerheads with my mil rite? These few days, she's changed 360 degree and talked to me in a nice tone!!!! WTH is wrong with her?

mashy, she can say anything since it is not her child but grandchild. Dh told her as long as the name is meaningful to us why she bother so much haahaa.

pegsfur

maybe your MIL has realised she's in the wrong and decided to be nice to you? Or maybe she heard of more awful DIL stories from others and realised you're not that bad after all?

hehe, whatever the case, enjoy the moment and be nice to her too.

pegsfur, you are carrying her grandchild haahaa, that's wat mil does when I was pregnant with kai haahaa. Recently kept stressing to my dh that she treated me like a daughter haahaa.

Yeah, definitely can start shopping pink stuff... Although there are some neutral coloured stuff that Matt can pass down to his mei mei...

pris

oh, some grandparents insist on naming their grandchildren. ANd some have to follow the 'zu pu'. Heard sometimes they get really awful names coz of the zu pu. I remember reading long time ago abt this lady who had to name her kid 'Da' something coz of the zu pu.

mashy,
Tat's unlikely cos just a few days ago she was just trying to kick my dog and now can talk to me so nice? U know, every morning both of us have very black face de, den when she walk past me, she will purposely turn her head to the side, like dun want to look at me like dat. Now can come & talk to me as if nothing had happened???

And i dun want to be nice to her leh ..... i still buay gam wan ...

pris,
I think u r rite. She cld have noticing me having bigger tummy lately dats why the change. Wat a hypocrite ... just a mth ago she was commenting "big tummy .. so? Big deal" and now suddenly she want to be a doting mil. Pui!

mashy,

i agree with you on the "zu pu" thingy.. my FIl tried to get a name for my son.. but i told him no immediately moreover my Hb family has no such thing as "zu pu" then he suddenly pop out say wat name shld this generation have.. parents shld make the decisions for their son not grandparents.. they are welcome to make suggestion though..

pegsfur

ai yah, maybe u try to be nice to her too. Maybe things might change for the better henceforth? Jia He Wan Shi Xing. Who's looking after your bb after he's born?

pegsfur, well, maybe she is really trying to nice, you see how the situation go.

Tinkabel,at home can wear Matt's passed me down but buy sweet sweet stuff for outside.

pegsfur, I just let my dh handles his family side, especially mil. Like buy things, I will buy for both side like my mum and my in-laws but dun expect me to go out of my way to please in-laws.

mashy,
My mum will look after my boy

Much as i know it's good to have harmony in the house, i'd rather let things be the way it is now. The hurt & pain she'd done to me is way too deep to just let things go.

janice,
I'm sure she's just trying to be nice to me for the sake of my child. I'm sure when i give birth/during confinement, there's gonna be alot of conflicts, and then, things will be back to square one. I can already foresee it.

pris,
I used to do that too, and i always remind my hubby to buy present or celebrate when it's mil bday. Now, i dun even bother. I can even purposely jio my hubby to go out just to spite her.

errh,
mummies...what r the herbs we can take now?
can we take "dang kui", "huai shan" or others?
korean ginseng can take?

pegsfur, she might want to try to show other she is a doting mil, you better dun let her do your confinement. Go to your mum's place for confinement.

Cloudme, I am taking pao sheng, birds nest, wolfberries and red dates. The one you listed check with TCM better.

pegsfur, for you it is hard to avoid coz you stay together. I stay for 3 months with in-laws after marriage, after 1st week I cannot take it, the moment morning, I will head to my mum's place till time for me to go to work hahaa, come back only when I sms dh to check whether he is back yet haahaa if not I hang outside haahaa.

reira, check out www.tupperware.com.sg. Usually I buy from those carts in the shopping centre, or some agent who carries the product. I'll PM u the name of an agent. Maybe u drop her an email, and she can send u her catalogue.

pegsfur, maybe ur MIL has woken up? You don't have to be extra nice to her, just be normnal. If she talk to u, jus reply. If not jus keep a distance.

mashy/pris, that's how I choose baby's name too. My hb and I have a meaning in mind, so we flip the dictionary to find words with that meaning and piece it together.

Jul, if you are here or see this msg, our order from Pumpkin patch will only arrive on 17 April, just in time for me to put in the luggage to bring home. Cross finger ok due to long weekend.

Mich, haahaa, that's the easy way to choose haahaa.