(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Baby S: Wow that's really expensive for TMC. So gynae fees is 3k plus? My friend who is giving birth there tells me her gynae fee only 800 bucks? And how come the bill, excludg gynae fee is so expensive? Was the bb in ICU or somethg?

pris, i see, think misunderstood your earlier message that Kai staying over. Think if you're on ur own, a 2 bedder works just as well

piggy, when they say they will ask permission, they mean that they will ask YOUR permission to upgrade u to another room... cos if u upgrade u have to pay for the upgraded room charges..

(i.e. U choose 4 bedder, but if there are no more 4 bedders and enxt available bed is 2 bedder, they will come ask u first if u want 2 bedder. if u say ok, then u pay 2 bedder charges..)

They dont mean they will ask permission from the business office to upgrade u for free..

Cos when we went for our tour, us together with our whole tour group asked this, and we asked a lot of questions about this, cos the whole group of us were under the impression that TMC gave free upgrades. then the tour pple were very insistant that they will not give free upgrades.. they kept saying "we seek your understanding that there is no free upgrading." they didnt mention this thru out whole tour, until we asked at the end...

Or maybe now that they have renovated and nicer rooms so they gotta be more strict?

pris,
if ur boy not staying-in...then 2 bedder is ok liao...
provided the neighbour is those that dislike visits from relatives one (less visitors...less noisy)...
so u can have a good rest...

cloudme, haahaa, anyway, Kai will not be staying over, he will be going back to my mum's place with dh and my bro.

Must pray for a easy delivery with no complication.

my friend's gynae vely ex ah... no package kind.. haha..

her gynae charges alone for the c sec was 3000 plus lor.

i find hor, its getting very common for drs to suggest c sec.. i know of alot of friends who undergo C sec cos their dr suggest, not cos its really necc.. i hope its not becos they wanna save time and wanna make more mummys so they make mothers undergo C sec to their convenience..

i think i heard there is one dr who only does c secs.. cos he very busy.

Re : TMC 4-bedded

I heard if u choose 4-bedded, it will automatic upgrade u to 2-bedded.

babymaking

Glad that u are better. If u choose TMC, the gynae fee will be the same even u choose 1 bedded. Provided the gynae do give birth at TMC.

Babys,
yes i know they ask permission for the upgrade n not ask their office.. but the fact is many pp i know still get the free upgrade..
it jus like when we purchase something they mus indicate clearly the T&C but in actual they might not be so strict? i tink only when it our turn den we know they chargin anot..

babyS, yes I have heard of many gynaes who anyhow suggest C-section. Fees more expensive, then also more convenient cos at least the patient won't be calling u in to deliver at 3am. But these kind of gynaes think must avoid cos dun know whether they are really looking after patient's interest.

i preparing stuff for audit today.. everytime i go thru my stats and i spot a potential mistake i panick and give baby a adrenaline rush too..

sigh..

Thank GOd i dont need to work in highly stressful environment man.. no good for so many adrenaline rush to baby.. haha

i hope i am done soon!

Yup, i've oso heard of gynae who suggest to c-sect just becos the delivery date clash with the gynae's holiday off!

pris,
me hoping that #2 can be like #1...come out in 6hrs or less..

also praying that this time i no need the vacuum...cos hip bone expanded already...

piggy, yeah we wouldnt know if its in their T&C until we see it at delivery... i think by then got to depend on the husbands liao.. u in labour pains, how to go thru the T&C.. heee...

pardon me, I am really confused, I looked at the maternity package at TMC, it is 2 days, do I take it as 2 days meant 1 nite stay?

http://www.thomsonmedical.com/maternity_pkg.htm

Do the nurses kick out visitors at a certain hour? I will appreciate that if I have noisy neighbour haahaa.

I know that beside the prenatal package to Ob & Gy for some from $550 to $800, there is another charge for the Ob & Gy to attend to you during delivery depending on the dr range from $1200 to $1600 for natural delivery w/o epidural. Then there is also charges for paed who attend to bb.
If epidural is used, think there is a charge for the dr that administer the epidural. Beside the price on the list right?

mich,
yeah, i know can delegate the shopping but i feel like i'm missing out...i want to chose the designs and the colours :p

Between choosing 1 or 2 bedder in TMC or KKH, TMC is cheaper. also my current gynae in KKH is overwhelmed cos he's the dept head as well, worried that he will not be able to deliver personally despite paying so much.

re: TMC charges
hmm now i am more confused, C section so exp?

yesterday was at the TMC gynae, he gave me the following charges:

Prices After medisave deduction
Delivery : Normal/Forcep or Vacuum / C section
Antenatal Package $550 / 550 / 550
Delivery Package $300 / 300 / 600
Total *$850 / *850 / **1150

*The above includes 2 nights stay in 2 bedder (free upgrade) after medisave deduction

** includes 3 nights stay

Total cash deposit required is between $300 to $500

Ya I agree that the gynaes who anyhow suggest C section shd be avoided. Like my gynae, although i had a long labour, he still insisted we waited and try natural birth. In the end, bb was still naturally born.

Re: TMC charges
Wow, the bill is really hefty. Kind of defeat the purpose of delivering in TMC cos many choose that place cos it is typically more affordable. But seems like it isn't really the case.

Babys,
erm if i not wrong i tink they will jus told u no more 4-bedded gotta move u to 2 bedded den when u discharge u will see the bill so far all my friend at TMC get free upgrade...so i tink only when we discharge den know how much bah..

Cloudme,
u mean if vacuum our hip wil expand further..

Pegsfur,
i was tinkin if my gynae aboard when in labour how keke...

tks shirley!

yes i think the bill will soared if got emergency c-sect. My buddy #1 also emergency c-sect after failure to induce wow her bill almost $8K (that was 4 years ago!)

babymaking: the gynae's fees vary with each gynae...

i dont know how come this gynae's charges for c sec are so much, but i know, b4 my friend delivered, she had to like pay ala carte prices each time she see dr. almost towards end liao then found out got package price. but still, quite ex..

My friend choose day, so got to pay like $800 more.. but this additional $800 can be like any other's gynae's charges for delivery leh.. vely ex lor.

My friend and her baby had no complications. smooth delivery.

thats why my buddy was very angry with the gynae for pushing her to induce....

i hate that gynae too, she like to induce ppl!

i'm choosing Mt E single bed.
Really prefer the privacy. The last time got hubby to stay in with me. Maybe thinking for this current preg, no need for hubby to stay in. Hopefully can cope. Anyway, that time he stay in, he slept most of the time at night.

Pris

2 days is considered as 2 nites. They won't really kick the visitor out unless they are v noisy. When I give birth to #1, i stay at 2 bedded. My neighbour was v inconsiderate. Talking v loudly the whole day. In e end really can't stay it and we insist to change rm. They allow.

Yes, they will be exact charges for paed and epidural.

induction is very tiring..i went thru that the last time...i requested as i didn't want to waste my leave...hee hee...

so this time round, will prob work until baby pops out..
so i don't advocate induction, higher chance of going for c-section too.

ryufer, I was with Mt E the last time too but dh only stay in 1 nite and anyway, he sleep most of the day. And he went out in the afternoon so I was alone haahaa.

This time round, got a gynae at TMC so planning to go TMC.

Cloudme,
icic

ryufer,
wow MT E is so expensive for me keke..

Celine,
huh induce can take v long leh.. my gynae only induce when there r some risk in the baby...

SL, thanks for explaining, so lost after almost 6 yr haahaa.

This is what I know from Dr Wong, before medisave,

$1300 for a normal delivery,
$1700 for forceps delivery
and $2500 for caesarean.

So these are addition to the package.

i understand some of my friend their symptom is only "show" so when they go to hospital the gynae still need to poke the waterbag???

babymaking, how abt shop online via a spree on this forum? I know babymallonline has some nice beddings which are cheap. Then u can jus pay to have it delivered to ur place, and u get to choose all the designs and colours

celine, what week was ur friend when her gynae ask her to induce?

piggy,

Hahaha .. yah lor .. but i think we pop in Aug, not so holiday-prone bah .. i think those popping in june/dec got higher chance of gynae going holidays leh.

I think i'm the one who wld have the whole clan visiting so i zi dong abit, choose single room lah

piggy,

Haha ... my siblings will sure come and cou4 re4 nao4 ... den my cousins & aunt also cos we are quite close

babymaking: or when we go shopping for cot linen, we video call u lah, then u can see the bedding too...

just wondering ah.. is august a hot month? wonder how to cope if aug is a hot month and we doing confinement..

for my #1...my neighbour is real quiet one loh...

except that she got problem latching her bb so her bb cried alot when bb is in the room...
only the last day her relatives come over to visit her...so overall not bad cos i rest for 2 days...
her hubby also accompany her thruout the stay(of cos never stay-in)...

my hb notti wanted to test the nurses if they chase ppl and they chase him out after 10pm...haha

hey mich

thks for tip, will check out babymallonline.

re: TMC charges
erm so conclusion, the price above is just the gynae charges excluding the hospital package?? - strange cos the gynae specifically mentioned that it also includes the hospital stay?

For those who have given birth b4, wld the bb be with you all day by your side? Or only when feeding time then the nurse will push to your room?

babyS,
i dun mind that, except that i don;t think my mobile is a 3G phone...haha..i have this ultra small samsung phone, dun know what's the model but it doubles as a mp3 player.

Pegsfur,
keke i tink my side at most my sis come nia the rest can come after i discharge keke.. cos 2 nite v fast 1 n u still need to learn how to breastfeed etc keke..

Babys

Aug is a hot mth.... My #1 also Aug baby... So that time was really v hot..... Somemore stay at my mum's place don't have aircon. Haiz...

Pegsfur,
if u r stayin in single room u can request the nurse to put the baby in ur room or even over nite but u need to rest la so better not..

Babymakin,
my gynae package also for delivery excludes hopital stay 1..

pegsfur,
bb will be push to us during feeding time...
cos they need to do hearing test etc...
if u opt for all these to be done when bb born...

but think u can specially request for bb to be room-in...

pegsfur, agree with piggy, leave the nurses to care for the baby while u are in hospital. When you get home, you'll be busy with baby, really no time to rest.

Pegfur, at Mt E with Kai, he was always with me since single room. They brought him out to clean and change him only. Unless I went out for walk around the hospital, then they took him back to the nursery.