(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

anyone has recommendations for a nice chinese restaurant but not too ex? My FIL wanna throw a big party to celebrate his birthday. Like 10 tables...

huh...hw come mine only slightly less den 28"??

tas, nt slim eh!! hw come mine so small compared to u all wan..now i m worried liaoz....plus i m nw like 21wks le leh..goin 22wks le...

tas

i brought him there before. THink he's probably not so impressed with it, that's why never say. So far we've been to Civil Service Club & Ah Yat restaurant to try the food.

mashy, dragon gate, can go for the buffet ala carte dinner haahaa.

I am back, now cooking bak kut teh.

Will type out the method for baked rice soon.

Tas, please find out where is the pig trotter vinegar in CCK, I want to eat when I am back haahaa.

Mashy,
Last year we went to this Teochew restuarant on the top floor of centerpoint for my dad's birthday. The food is quite ok and each table for 12 pax is about 888+++, including those birthday buns. The place is not big, I think 10 tables is like the max they can take.
Pheony Jade at Clark Quay is also ok.

pjpj,
haha, no more waist, my belly circumference is 32 inches now, increase 6 inches.

taslyn,
your hb so good ah, sponsor slimming session !!

mashy,
you can try Hua Zhu Restaurant at Farrer, alot of caucasions go there in the evening. food is nice.

mashy
yeah loo.. maybe u can tell us wat kinda cuisine ur FIL prefer n his budget then we can better recommend...

re: my ger..
lol she v cute now.. still cannot crawl but she will flip n flip to get to us... then try to crawl when she is reaching us by raising her butt... she is coming to 7 mths liao.. still not crawling.. i m concerned man... sigh

joeey
coz he wan mi to help him have a son mah... so now it is a son.. he must pay for the slimming looo...
i have not gotten rid of the weight from #1 n now preggy again ley

there is one at the old jurong swimming pool. Not too bad but I cannot remember the name. We love to go for buffet.

Nobel house, tung luk & East Ocean in town are pretty good too.

Heard about Red Star at Chin Swee road but have not try.

Kiki, the one at Centrepoint is nice, was there for my uncle's birthday.

jul
no wonder ley... i drank some grape smoothie while in bkk... then alot of phlegm too... now coughing slightly liao.. cannot even give my ger ger her good nite kiss.. so sad

cheerios

No prob
I also dinno abt grapes until a couple of yrs ago. I had only heard abt not eating oranges for the same reason, but not abt grapes lor.

tas, no worries, I know of a baby 6mths+ also haben learn how to crawl...but later at 10mths he can stand alrdy..hehe...every bb diff one, b patient.

pris
red star is v old school ley! hahaha... never tried either.. but some old folks like it alot coz they grow up with it mah...

there is one at prima tower near harbour front too?

mashy,
u can try "the paramount" at East coast/parkway under tung lok group...

tas,
my ger 8mth then start her leapord crawl...dun worry...the oldies got a saying "7mth sit, 8mth crawl, 9 mth sprout teeth..."

cherrios
i notice she prefer to "stand" than crawl looo... when told to crawl, she will just flash her act cute face.. then pretend to cry... but when he hold her up, she is v happy...

cloud
oooh... din know abt the 7 mths sit, 8th mth crawl, 9th mth sprout teeth... hehehe
this mummy kiasu lar.. nvm lar.. just let her learn at her own pace...
now she loves to be on her tummy when we flip her back to lie flat, the next sec she will flip herself again.. think she prep for crawling bah..

pris

cannot red star lah. He's particular abt ambience too. That time went to Ah Yat at Turf City, he rejected it coz no ambience and the place looks rundown. Argh. He likes the one at Civil Service Club but it was booked on his birthday.

pris,tas

red star's food is good loh...
tried their dim sum once with my gfs...and simply fall in love with their dim sum...

and i tried to bring in-laws down and gosh its fully seated and ppl queueing outside...so chaotic loh...
but it happen to be a PH and we never book a place b4 going down ...so end up with disappointment

Baked rice method

1. Put rice into rice cooker and cook as per normal.

2. Cut and chopped onion and garlic (if you don't like can do add, it is our favourite so we will have it in all our dishes) and fry in a bit of oil till fragnant.

3. When rice is cook, add 2-3 spoons of butter depending on how much rice you have, mixed vegetables and the onion and garlic and mix well.

4. Layer the the rice on base of the porcelin or glass tray for baking, add a layer of cream sauce, seafood, mushroom, a thin layer of mozz cheese. Add another layer of rice and continue the layer till the top and add more cheese on the top.

5. Put into the preheated oven of about 240oC and baked till cheese turned golden brown.

Seafood can be substitute with chicken, ham & sausage. Cream sauce and change to those for baking meat.

wah din some1 mentioned peony jade?? yummy..

Cherrios,
wah ur hip so small ah?? my waist is 27" now but my hip same as pre-preg abt 33"

Mashy,
wat abt Si Chuan DOu Hua Restaurant??
not sure wher ur IL stay but CDAN@ bukit batok got 1 resturant not bad too.. cheap n gd...

yes regg, you should eat! hehe..me also just ate sandwiches n drank milk even though is like 12.30am now... after pris tempted me with her foodies, i cldnt resist temptations.. hehehe....

warrau..
ur hip so small
i got big fat butt.. think it was ard 36-37 b4 preggy...

waist was nvr small.. ard 27-28"??? now i dun wanna know.. my tummy looks like 6 mth preggy

regg:
i hv not started on BN.. hb says 5th mth then start.. dunno y

regg, i m taking birdnest! since 1st tri...hehe..mum tell me must take eh...i used to take once a wk, now decrease to once every 2 wks, den alt wks i take herbal chicken...

piggy,not small eh...me quite bah bah wan eh...hmmm...mayb my measuring tape spoil..lol....hips is at de hip bone there right? or butt? hehee...cos my butt confirm bigger than 28inch de... ur waist also small eh..27"..hehe..mine is coming 28 le...

*go n measure 1 more time*

jul
lol.. nvm we all go slimming after giving birth! kakaka...
my hb always say i got big fat butt..
mum says i am a duck.. wat to do? stupid genes...
even my thighs n calfs are big n fat... i hoep my ger dun take after my fat genes lol

Tas

I also duno anything about herb but my mum will prepare everything for me this time.

I also feeling v tired since 1st tri. during my #1, I'm tired throughout my pregnacies leh. Can't stand it....

taslyn

Go slimming also no use. The hip is bone, unless we saw off the bones, if not, how to slim??? Pek chek. U know sometimes I wear size L bottoms & everyone scolds me for buying such a big size. Wah liew, they think I dun wanna wear XS meh? XS can only cover 1 butt lor. Hiaz..

My thighs are fat too. Must wear boot cut, cannot wear straight cut or slim fit one haha.

But.. my consolation is that I got skinny calves & ankles.

wahhaha....i think my measuring tape off wan lo!! i compare with my ruler..the inches is way bigger...like 6inches on my ruler shows 5inches on my measuring tape only!! whahhahaa...i din know measuring tape aso gt wrong wan.......

pis,

re: yr baked rice recipe

"Seafood can be substitute with chicken, ham & sausage. Cream sauce and change to those for baking meat."
- what sauce used for baking meat?

also what is the proportion of ingredients used? and it serves how many people? how long to bake?

mashy,
try si chuan dou hua at UOB plaza, lovely view and great food.