(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Have anyone of you started to wear maternity clothes... Feeling so upset that my colleague juz commented my office wear looks tight esp on the bustline there....

Feeling down recently also...cos seems to put on lots of weight... haiz...

carefreelife,
i did not wait for my gynae to recommend or ask me to take up not sure if he will ask me to take up afterall it pretty individual.. ya i takin Mrs wong 1 at TMC if u wan better call n book fast her slot taken up v fast 1..

mich

i ever buy the same designed t-shirts in different colours! hahaa. coz really not a lot to choose from. I like Fox t-shirts. Gap ones are nice too. Love their pants coz they come with the adjustable elastic bands at the side and can adjust as your boy grows.

bubblymommy

I think everyone of us are wearing at least 1 pc of maternity clothes by now. Putting on wt is normal for a preg woman, so don't feel down. U should feel happy. A happy MTB will have a happy bb. I didn't even bother checking my weighing scale anymore.

hi mummies with #2s,

I have a question and concern with regards to the arrival of our #2. My #1 is co-sleeping with me and she tends to be quite sticky to me during night time. i was wondering if i should shift her to the next room in preparation of #2 but im afraid that she will not adapt well.
Any mummies facing the same dilemma?

kpc

Yes! And u should do it now coz if later, then she'll feel that u kicked her out due to #2 and will hate #2 for it.

It's better this way coz later #2 will be waking up freq at night and it'll def disturb #1's sleep as well. She will definitely scream and cry for the 1st few nights, just bear with it and it'll be over soon.

If u don't do it now, you'll have 2 crying kids asking for your attn in the middle of the night. Think abt it.

bubblymommy,
I am wearing maternity clothes already loo since week 16...my tops ok but bottom cannot coz my waist cannot fit my normal workwear already. :p

yes like what mashy said putting on weight is normal, do check with your gynae whether your weight gain is appropriate. Gynae will "warn' you if you are putting too much. Btw, how much weight you gain and how many weeks you are now?

bubblymommy, its normal the non maternity clothes will look tight by now. Mine are kinda bursting at the bust line too. Pls don't worry abt the weight, its perfectly normal. It'll go away after baby arrives.

kpc, agree with what mashy says. The other option which some of my friends practised is to put #2 in another room. Then you'll jus need to run in and out for feeds and its more tiring. Ironically the friends who put #2 in their own room tell me #2 is alot more indepedent and actually sleeps through the nite by 3 months.

kpc,

i am having the same problem as you. Altho i put my boy in baby cot, but he will come back to my bed and sleep with me.

mashy, I'll probably do the same thing as you -- a few pieces in different colours! This is not something we normally do for girls' clothing ha ha.

I'm gonna inherit some clothes from my cousin's 1 yr old boy... so maybe dun have to buy so many new pieces myself.

hi Mashy and Mich,

Thanks for the advise.. i know i should do it asap but i just dun have e heart to do it.. feel so guilty le.. but i think i will try to it during weekends bah.. sigh

hi shirley,

ya.. same thing happens to me every night.. she will auto wake up and asked to be carried to my bed

kpc, you'll have to be prepared for lots of crying. So gotta be mentally ready not to give in. And it won't be over in 1 weekend, may take up to 1 week or so. If not, can try what I proposed, #2 in another room. Its easier lah cos #2 has no idea and will happily sleep on their own.

hi mich,

ya.. i tot of that too.. tiring but i will feel better emotionally.. i dun mind the running to n fro.. anyway, it's just next door lor.. btw, my #1 is will be 18 months when i 'pop'.. so i have another challenge of transiting her to full day playgroup..
so afraid it may be too much for her to take..

KPC
i oso starting to train my 25mths old boy to sleep in his own bed, at his room.. first nite was okay.. shouted out mummy when he couldn't find me besides him in his bed.. easy to get back to sleep oso... problem was with me lar.. i slept in a flimsy mattress on the floor and ended up did not sleep well.. see how it goes and whether the daddy can takes over the duty of watching over him or not.. i guess we r more comfortable to practice on weekends coz next day is not working dya, can afford to sleep in late. if he's still not ready to sleep on his own when #2 arrives.. then maybe #2 will sleep in that room while #1 sleeps with hb in the MBR.

u all getting tired as pregnancy progresses? i very energetic tis pregnancy leh.. walks soo much faster.. nearly ran n chase after my boy a few times, until i remembered a bouncing tummy... glides through taka bb fair 3x oredi.. dunno how to slow down my pace (but is a must now lor, coz of gynae's instruction due to the low-lying placenta)

kpc, my #1 is 4 yrs old, and my #2 is 2 yrs old. My 2 girls have been sleeping in their own rooms since day 1. So I have been running around like a headless chicken those early months. But now, I don't have to worry abt transiting them to their own rooms.

smurfy, thot placenta will move up as pregnancy progresses?

weishy

Actually hor, need to circumsize when ah? At birth? What happens if we dun circumsize? Circumsize = cutting something off huh?

Jeez.. nvr tot of such an issue as all along I tot I was having a gal *sigh*

yen

HB paid for all of this, so I guess his credit card statements will show lor haha. I also dun dare to count.

Actully most med insurance doesn't cover maternity one. Just like medishiedl plans dun cover mah.

mashy

Yeah I also like bright colours like red, orange, yellow etc. So much more cheerful lor. Gd thing is Man U colours are red, can buy him little cute jerseys & dress him like mini football player (hope he doesn't turn out to be the guniang sort haha).

mich

I haven't counted in maternity clothes lor. And I haven't started buying BB stuff like all the diapers, wipes, clothes etc.

celine

So lucky. I only get $350 per yr for all my medicals. Duh!

smurfy,
my 1st trim was terrible, now getting better and more energetic

claire

The PIS has to be connected to power source, or need many of those AA batteries right? Is it troublesome / heavy to carry ard?

bobo

Mine are turning black! So ugly! sob sob..

kpc

my boy is 3yo now. It's not going to be resolved over the weekend. It might take longer than that.

Why do u feel so guilty abt letting her sleep in her own room? It's perfectly normal and part of growing up. Don't tell me u want to share the room with her even when she's in her teens? So there's no need to feel guilty. It's perfectly normal. You're just helping her grow up.

Perhaps as a part of preparation, u could start by shopping with her for things for her own room. Like some deco (u know, some princessy stuff) and make it really beautiful. Maybe that'll entice her to sleep in it as well.

bubblymoimmy

I have been wearing a few pcs of maternity wear since I was 7 weeks! And from 10 weeks on, more.. and now, practically everything that is non-maternity in my closet are unwearable, except for some babydoll or high waist dresses!

mashy

My greataunt who has only 1 precious daughter who is 2 yrs younger than me - made her daughter sleep in the same room until the daughter went to JC or something.

jul

that's nuts! I'll only do that if there's not enough rooms and everyone has to share. I was sharing a room with my grandma in my sec sch days.

And also, it'll greatly affect the couple time. Like that how to hot hot? :p

haha.. jul.. suddenly for once.. i was like what's turning black.. heeee~

oh my gosh.. sorry, your grandaunt is a single parent?

mashy

The daughter has her own room lor!

bobo

Very jialat hor? I feel so ugly now. Black u know what.. hairy belly, big butt... grr

Nope her husband still ard.

ya.. i hv hairy belly oso!!!!!!! *faintz*

any else oso like that? or this is the norm oso de?!?

why? Why? WHY like dat?????

bobo

Is urs all over hairy, or just concentrated? Mine is concentrated like from mid chest to the belly button. Like those Caucasian men who have a line of hair?? How ah? Will the hair drop off?

I aws feel like asking gynae but either too paiseh or forgot to ask.

jul

HUh? So the daughter had her own room, but at night will move over to sleep with her parents?

I know my hb & his sis used to do that every weekend until they got married. Imagine that!

bobo/jul

don't worry, it'll drop off. I was also very hairy (not just belly, everywhere!) for #1 and it went off at abt 4mths after delivery when all the hair started dropping.

mashy

Yes, her bed in her own room is to bai sui only one. Strange hor? And she sleeps on the floor in her parents room.

Huh? Ur HB & sis also did that??? why???

aiyo... no la.. tat is not my intention to make her sleep with me till so long.. just tat i think she is a bit young at 14 mths to be treated and 'forced' to be independent.. maybe it's just me la.. im not ready bah.. just felt a sense of lostness when she is not in e room lor..

mashy

Really? Will drop off? Thank God!

What abt the black u know what? Will the colour change back? To think I used to complain abt the colour, now machiam chao ta!

mashy, i cannot imagine having my children in the room even when they are full grown adults!!!!

jul, PIS can use electrical socket. Its not too heavy, but yes can be ma fan to be carrying a pump around.

kpc, do this only when you are ready. If you're not ready to let go, it'll be quite hard to transit her cos she will sense your ambivalence. Kids are very sensitive.

mich

I'm thinking if I wanna BF longer, I might wanna get the Freestyle. Much lighter & wasier to carry ard.

Coz I figured if I can from US spree, reira said it's abt $500+. Comparable to Spore PIS at $500+ also right? Just that no warranty lah.

kpc

I forced my boy out at 1yr old and i thought it was too late coz he kept crying. Should have done so much earlier.

Yah, many times it's the parents who aren't ready. hahaa. Just like the 1st few days of school. The sch allowed the parents to stay for the 1st few days not becoz of the kid, but becoz the parents have separation anxiety. ahhahaa.

jul
Dunno, my hb said they called it family time wor. Feels weird to me though. They will drag a mattress over and sleep on the floor.

Yes, it'll drop off, so don't worry.

No, the colour is permanent. Mine was pink, after that didn't change back.

jul/mashy... actually my hb oso commented the fur..i mean hairs on my hands oso thicker n more obvious.

well.. good ting if they will fall off eventually.. but abt 4mths like dat?

then mashy, your current pregnancy leh? hv hair hair oso?

jul, dun shave la.. ya lor..sekali grow out thicker or wat leh.. plus the skin ard there all so delicate... dun la.

RE: KIDS SLEEPING IN TOG (BIGGER KIDS)
mashy.. ya lor.. hw cm yur hb & sis oso like dat arh? or perhaps.. errrrh.. duno.. prolly those ppl might hv some bad experiences sleeping alone or wat.. so no choice.. sleep in with parents till grown up? (eg, hv 'weird' company at nite?)

mashy

So it's like a pajamas party lah? Hmm okie lor, at least doesn't sound so bad. Weekend only, not everyday mah.

No!!! I dun want black n****** forever!! No!!!!

kids sleeping with parents
actually there are such cases ard even with ample rooms.. yah mostly is more of the parents who are insecured not able to let go.. hb's colleague's son still bunk in with the parents though he's in secondary school. dun think it's good for them lor, especially when they reach puperty and needs privacy.. but for younger kids and bbs.. there's another school of thoughts, and it's actually cataching up "fashion" in us and sg.. that is sleeping in the same room for bonding purposes..

mashy

Huh? U mean if dun shave, the hairs will drop off, but if I shave the hairs will be perm???

Erm... am I having the hiars b/c I'm having a boy?

bobo

Me too! Arms also hairier. Even down there also more hair! Pek chek! I am looking out for moustache everyday!

bobo

yes, at abt 4mths, both your bb and you will be dropping hair. Not just your body hair, your crown of glory too. so don't cry then.

This preg i'm not so hairy. Wonder if it's coz i'm having a gal.

My hb & sis only did it during the weekends, so not so scary. They're very close to their parents, so when my hb got married to me, we had a hard time 'weaning' his parents off. My SIL had it better, coz by then his parents were more experienced already and stopped meddling as much. Plus she's a gal, so considered married off.

kpc,

My son will wake up at least 2 times in a night and crawl to my bed…my son is currently 18 months now.

My current plan is like what Mich’s mentioned, let my #2 sleep in another room.

My ex-maid was using that room previously, she just asked to go back early without completing her contract, so I when the new maid come I let my new maid sleep in the bomb shelter.

The room now is going to be used by my #2. Sometime I also think I maybe can go over to that room to sleep, let my son sleep with hubby at the moment….

Still thinking……

jul

hmmm.... i think so leh. Coz i was very hairy when i had a boy. NOw with a gal, less hairy and my complexion is better compared to my #1 preg.

haha.. ya.. i think seperation anxiety is e word.. i will need to 'force' myself to harden my heart when the time comes.. hope i will not procrastinate further..