(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

went to see gynae yesterday. was disappointed tat we din do any scan. thot i'll know the gender of the baby. got to hear the baby's heartbeat & gynae measured the length of my womb. he also explained to me my blood test report. happy to know tat everything is normal and going well. i only put on less than 1kg since i got pregnant so gynae asked me to just eat wat i want and how much i want. he expects me to put on weight soon.

i'll hv to wait till 5 weeks later for my detailed scan. tat will be my week 21. so guess gender shd be more or less confirmed then. sigh... still hv to wait so long.

re: intercourse
since day 1, gynae has told DH & me tat everything as per normal including intercourse. so we've been doing 'it'. no problem so far.

Irene

No lah, what I mean't is after giving birth to your 2nd baby, should rest atleast 18 hours a day! Wa lao, those ppl are really too much especially your MIL. They never try to understand your feeling/ how tired you are when you don't have milk. Must eat confinement food and get plenty of rest then will have milk, if one is so stressed/upset after labour, ofcourse milk supply will be lower.

Is your MIL always being sarcastic to you? Now I am also worried about having to live with my MIL after labour. Today she msg my hubby saying her relative wants to do confinement for me. Please lor... I rather hire a PROFESSIONAL confinement nanny to help me, not her relative who don't know how to do anything. If I let her carry baby for long without my presence, don't know how many FU comments she is going to tell my baby... Really hate these ppl. If possible I dont even want her to meet my baby or let her know which hospital I am in during the 2 days, if not she will sure create stress for me. I can already imagine how she kept hog on to my baby.

zen.. mayb u could hv requested ur gynae to scan? keke.. u r around 16 weeks liao? if so mayb able to see the gender liao.. keke

but nvm guess wait till the detailed scan.. ur gynae wanna keep u in suspense.. keke..

aprilia

Congrats on almost cfm-ing ur BB's gender!

MICI

Re : sex. My gynae told me after first tri, can exercise, travle, have ex etc in moderation liao. Coz 2nd tri is when things stabilise.

flower

Saw ur msg on aqua fitness but reira has given u the link liao.

zen

Strange.. I tot everytime go for reg check up, the gynae will scan one? Anyway I din scan yest bcoz I already did the OSCAR, so gynae will just gimme the photos when the lab retruns her my report.

Just to update you gals on my week12 appt yest...

OSCAR
I did my OSCAR at the TMC lab. It was pretty fast except that Babylet was sleeping on its back when we first started. The tech had to shake my tummy with the u/s probe to wake it up. Then it started stretching its arms & legs, & straightening its back & turning over. Haha so cute! But it was kind a stubborn lah, so I had to go out & take the blood test then go back in again to scan the neck thickness.

Wah they drew 4 vials of blood leh! Think some is for the OSCAR & the rest is for the blood test for those rubella, HIV etc. See liao wanna faint! hahaha

Anyway after that finally got to see the neck thickness! Wah the tech took so many measurements. She only took 1 for head & 1 for thigh bone, but I think 10+ for the neck. Too bad I wun get the results till Mon pm. Brr.. a bit scraed/excited abt the results...

Gynae Appt

I was wondering why I din get those pink pill & fish oil things that u gals were atking. Ta da da dah... Yest I got them liao. The fish oil pill is sooo big! An the pink pill is so heavy. Can die leh! And I'm one of those who generally have no probs swallowing pills. Can't imagine how some of u can take them if u r the cannot swallow pill kind.

I think this is bao ying for me! I kena calcium pills also coz I calcium-deficient. I', allergic to milk so I haven;t been getting enough calcium. Shucks! 3 pills per day! I see the pills all lined up on the table I also sian

Hello pink!

Ooh... gross! So far, so good for me coz I try to swallow very fast. But sometimes when I mini-burp, seems to have fishy smell. Haha v gross hor?

jul
I learn a trick. Take it 1st thing in the morning. Take a sip of water 1st to moisten the throat before the pill. This way, can reduce the burping cos no food in stomach yet

Hi Reira

Cos if we BF, baby tend to get hungry easily. My gal drank BM almost every hour. Than nite time wake up many times and once she sleep we put her into the playpen she start to cry. Than we have to carry whole nite. Me n my mum hv to take turn lor. Than I don't have much rest and is v tired. Somemore nite time hv to wake up to pump milk leh.

So this time round decided to get a CL. At least my mum can help to look after than i can get better.

Hi Calla

It will be quite stressful if we still hv to look after at nite than if u are a 1st time mum will sure scare duno how to handle...

I have a few contact for the CL. Is recommended by frd. They mentioned is quite gd but i'm not sure. If u want, u can PM me and contact them.

Hi Janice

Is ok to start buying nw. For me I already brought sme clothes for my new born. See lar can't resist so jus buy lor.... Hehehe...

Hi Flower

Think is not nesscary to a get for the CL. Think mattresss shd be fine. But I find sme CL quite particular. So u need to check with them in advance. I heard some even want to sleep in air-con rm.

Hi Ylang Ylang

Congrats and welcome. I have the same EDD as u.

Hi Jul in wk12

The fish oil pill in optional leh. During my 1st pregnancy, my gyane didn't give me....

The medicine will depend on which gynae u visit.

thank sl ,haha wonder who will pop first? can ask the ladies here ,anyone know can we take those pure raw roya jelly when pregnant or not?

CL:

I dun think i'll be gettinga CL as staying with in-laws.. no more space at home... with Bro-in-law in as well.. so might chose to order those "tin-kang" 1... then deliver to my house.. still doing some reading bout it.. FIL worried the food they use not fresh.. any mummies-to-be tried b4? any comments?

OMG 4 vials of blood!?!? Mine only 1 vials leh. lol For the result, the adjusted risk for Trisomy 21 is 1: 16578 and trisomy 13/18 os 1 : 36369.

For my OSCAR scan, we spent like 4 hours in TMC. T_T Because baby don't wanna cooperate. Kept wiggling and sleeping on the back all the time. haha but we get to see our baby a lots of times (scanned 4 times).

For the fish oil capsule, is it something called mum-2-b? brown in color, smells like chocolate but not as sweet as chocolate. lol
____

SL

I want to buy clothes for my baby also but must resist! T_T Cos now we are living in a rented room, still in the middle of buying our own flat.
____

Regarding swimming

Where do you gals buy swim suit? T_T Went to kiddy palace today and their choice for maternity swim suit is like only 4 designs!! For motherworld, all are so flowery and auntie =(!!!

Jul
thankie.. hee..

kyrie_el (kyrie_el)

can update me too,thanks

nick: aprilia
Edd: 6 Aug 09
doc: Dr Woo Bit Hwa
Hospital: Mt A/TMC
#: 1

janice

I ordered the tingkat confinement food for 2 weeks. Yucks. After a while, they all taste the same. Simply awful. I rather eat normal food. And yes, the food won't be very fresh coz of the timing they deliver. u'll need to heat up the food.

How abt getting a non-live-in CL? I know TMC supplies CLs who don't stay over at night. It prob cost abt the same as one who stays overnight but at least it will solve your sleeping arrangement probs. They are trained by TMC, so will be pro breastfeeding. They will just concentrate on u and the bb by taking care of u & the bb, that's all. They won't be doing housework & misc stuff.

jul,

ya lor, every time i go gynae also do scan except for this time. maybe gynae was thinking tat since going to do detailed scan liao so may as well do it together. he helping me to save $$$. haha!

oh, regarding the blood test, i also took 3 or 5 tubes. but i dun find it painful so it's ok wif me. i din realise they took so much of my blood cos it was done pretty fast. they also test for rubella, HIV etc etc.... gynae explained to me the report. hv sugar lah, protein lah, and a lot of things being tested. for me everything normal, so i din pay much attention. anyway, we hv the report to keep.

now i hv to wait until my neck long long for 5 weeks...... sigh.....

re: supplements
ya, i know it's so sian to see so many pills. my first few weeks i jus hv 2 pills. then 12th week onwards hv 3 pills. now still taking 3 types. i was telling the assistant tat i hope the doc won't give me additional pills. actually i hv no problem swallowing pills. neither will i puke when i eat the pills. i'm just plain LAZY to eat them. the nurse & my hubby can't stand me. hahahaha!

today i had to take mrt. decided to wear a t-shirt tat says,"i'm not fat. i'm pwegnant." sadly nobody gave up seat to me. i even stood near those priority seats!

told my hubby when i met him. he reminded me tat i'm in s'pore & also said tat firstly, the word 'pregnant' is spelled wrongly. 2ndly, my stomach so small still dare to wear. haha! i told him the fact is i'm pregnant wat. and i can't stand for so long mah.

whahaa...

zen, where to get that t-shirt. hahaha..

some girl oso joke about it by wearing. so pple wun take it seriously tat u are preggie.

Hi Flowers

U know wat the CL ask me. Ask me if i have maid, staying where and whether i'm staying with PIL.

Hi Zen

Is like that 1... Even nw that my tummy can be seem in MRT also no 1 give up the seat.... They see me faster close their eye. Wat can i say.... Haiz.....

Hi SL,

Me newbie here. Where you get that T-shirt? So cool! I actually thot of it but didn't realized it exist! HAhahaa... Pls tell!

Once I purposely took bus, jerk out my tummy (me only 13 weeks but hv a little bump) and keep caressing it. And NO ONE bothered! Now that bothered me a lot!

Anybody know where to get those elastic bands that you can hook to your existing jeans and pants so that you can have a large waistline and still use your existing clothes?

thanks for clarifying abt intercourse thingy. btw, do you all get hungry easily? i do...
i've bought maternity clothes & pants already. normally how much u spend on maternity clothes & pants? the pants I bought is ard S$40+, tops $30.

Zen
I'm like you, very lazy to take vits, so my hubby complaint to my dr. She told me if I really have to skip, just make sure I still take the fish oil and calcium. Other vits can skip once in a while.

Also must take 2 eggs a day and 2 glass of "maternity" milk. I'm totally not a milk person, luckily manage to find chocolate flavour Anmum. I just max with milo, its actually quite tasty.

Re: Swim wear
I'll continue to wear my bikini. Usually the bottom is low waist, so can still fit in. Now preggie, we are suppose to have big and round tummy, no need to worried about figure.

SL,

WOW.. at the end did you get tat CL? i tot they are rugard type cuz they are from malaysia...

still wan maid ah? how much she cost?

hey mummies, how come my doctor din ask me to take this take tat ah? only give me iron cum folic acid tablets?

Galili,

i saw those band at mothercare but so expensive i thik ard sgd40 plus , a box. consist of some band la

oh ya , our tummy so small maybe they think there isnt a need to give seat lor.

so we got to rush for seat ourselves..

dear mummies,

BTW , how many months of maternity leave you wish to take, im tot of taking full four months straight, any advise.

cuz i worry after i back to work no more back up for me, i hardly can take long leave lioa.

Hehehe.. looked through few days of posts. This site is so interesting! Should hv joined u girls earlier.

----------------------------------------------
Hi Kyrie,
Can add me to the table too?

nick: galili
edd: 25 Aug 09
doc: Dr Christopher Chong
Hospital: Mt A or Gleneagles (TBC)
#: 1

Hi Kikilala,

Me interested in prenatal yoga too. How was your session? Good? I'm only in my 13 weeks so is it too early to go for such classes?

To all,

How do you know if you are gaining weight on yourself or on the baby? I'm getting quite traumatized recently cos of my weight gain... I am already plump to begin with. So so so any advice would be appreciated.

Hi flower4,

You got pics of that bands to show? If I can have an idea how it looks like, I can get it from China and my pals will ship it over very cheaply. Maybe it will be much much cheaper since everything is made in China nowadays. Sigh...economic crisis & got pay cut some more. Better save as much as I can.

Do you all drive? Seems like bus quite dangerous nowadays. Got bumps and pushes and no seats....

Thinking of getting a car but my workplace very near so most prob won't get to use it except for weekends and then park car for weekdays like a bit wasting leh...

Oh mannn.. I have so so so many questions!!! Glad I found you ladies. :D

kikilala,
care to share where you go for the pre natal yoga? how much is it?

i also ever read some mummies here are going for aqua aerobic. sorry if i missed the info. where & how much is it?

I'm from Feb Mum's Thread and I'm on confinement now.. Pop in to share some information to benefit those who needed some help during confinement.

I was a second time mum already and twice i engaged CL from Bliss Confinement. During my 1st confinement... I had CL-Kum, who was everything a first time mum needs and appreciate. She was very clear with her work and instructions given by me and handled with initiative too. She was never careless and given me lots of suggestions in handling my bb's tantrums. She is a very humble and full of confidence in handling my bb that was why i trust her so much!

Second time confinement, i had CL-Zhen, she was very attentive and very dedicated towards her work and is very sensitive towards my infant needs. This time, being a 2nd time mum, i knew what to expect and had but I've learnt a lot w regards to confinement diet and some very helpful tips to soothe away my bb's heat rash. She was not calculative and helped with bathing & feeding of my elder boy too. I've no qualms in recommending mums in-need for 'an extra' help during confinement.

I've pleasant encounter Bliss Confinement's agent May. You may wanna contact her at HP:82336846 for you needs or visit their website to know more... www.blissconfinement.page.tl Maybe I'm the lucky few who had a very good experience aft getting CL from agency. Hence, I'm free from being a victim to freelance CL where they treat themselves like our boss.. knowing that we will have to 'put up' with their nonsense as their are no replacement if we sack her. Next, they will ask if we had any maid... or insist on daily PM naps and during nap time no 'bb' interruptions?! Or finally, no show but recommend her so-called "Jie-Mei" to do confinement for us?! All I'm asking is for a stress-free confinement period w an able, experience, humble, dedicated CL who follows my request and has clean and tidy way of life... Thru my recommendations, I've seens compliments on their CL -Mei Hua too... so i hope these information can be of help to you...

Reira, I've never had 18hrs of sleep eversince I have my 1st one. Not even the 2 days I stayed in hosp.

Yah lor..all these people are really insensitive. I think I am very lucky not to be down with post-natal blues ah.

In fact, I lied to my MIL when I as in the hosp that I will go my mum's place for confinment as I hope that she will leave me alone. Who knows she keeps insisting I tell her the address as she claims that she wannat come visit my son. Irritating lor...in the end she came thrice during my confinment. First time, she brought raw eggs for me and she didn't carry my son at all. 2nd time, she came with her sis and her sis brought raw eggs. 3rd time, she came and ask my hb to teach her how to use her new hp!!!!
So now I am thinking of how to tell my hb to get him to tell my MIL not to come disturb me during confinment this round.Don't think I am free to entertain her this time.

I think its hard for you to stop your MIL from seeing her grandkid lah. I am sure your hb won't like it too right? Just let your hb knows that its better to get professional CL as you don't have to worry about the confinment at all. Somemore if your CL did something you don't like its easier to tell her. If its your MIL's relative, I think very difficult to voice out your unhappiness!

Pink, wah lao...eeeeeeee..fish oil leaks!!!

morning mummies..

I went on a shopping spree for maternity wear yesterday and i spent $280 plus!!

I went to that shop in bugis that i recommended,to buy Mat pants and then to OG and bought more stuff!!

~Total of 5 pants (3 from the shop, and 2 from thyme maternity at OG.. the thyme maternity one was a good buy, 50% discount, OG got 7% GST rebate and the pants were so comfy..)

~3 sets of new undies

~ 3 tops (from the brand Patch at OG.. non maternity but the pattern like maternity one)

i think i have enough clothes to last me all the way man.. hahah..

good morning ladies.. (yawnz..mon agnz...)
anyways.. how was your weekend?

RE: First Mum Congress
for those who went.. wat u tink of the seminar? anyone won the lucky draw?

RE: Supplements
actually i dun really understand.. i had been given the pink (multi-vits) and fish oil since i was abt 8wks.. n taking all the way till now. but nowadays, i take my folic acid on alternate days. how cm some of u oni start on multi-vits and fish oil like from 12wks.

i kenah the fish oil burp many times too.. damn disgusting can!

RE: Calcium / Iron Supplements
wah seh.. i hate milk de leh.. then at the first mum congress, i tried a glass of the similac mum milk, KAOZ, so damn sweet!! er xin!!! then, since hv the free sample bottles at home, i tried to drink abit lor.. but siao la.. i dun put 3 spoonful of powder into that little water de lar, i put 1-1.5 spoonful of powder to a big mug of water, then ystrday, i bought nestum and throw in some oso. haha.

ok.. so if say we'r drinking milk.. do we still need to go on the calcium / iron pills? (well, i certainly hope NOT!)

baby s,
Wow .. that was quite a spree!
I've bought a top & capris from ON spree ... haven't arrive yet, so still gotta make do with my current clothes.

bear,
Eh, I added u in facebook but u never confirm me leh .. i want to see yr macau pics leh.

Talk abt mil ... i think till now mine still doesn't know i'm preggy cos i'm wearing big oversized t-shirt at home. Wldn't want her to start k-pohing & tell me cannot do this cannot do that.

Oh, btw, which breast pump were u using when u bf joshua?

bobo, 8 weeks then u take? Maybe also good lah, since u taking these supplements for 2...

its better to take the milk as well, cos baby absorbs all ur calcium, so u have to top up ur body's supply of calcium.. just dont take it together with ur pink supplements or iron supplements, cos calcium decreases iron absorption.

moRNING GALS..

fatbobo,
fish oil was given to me from 12wk onwards also.. from wat i know baby only start to absorb nutrient from us from 2nd term onward maybe ur gynae KS??

Re: First Mum Congress
i find the topic they touch on i stoo general it like those knowledge i can find out myself in fact most i alr know.. the most interestin part is the baby massage but the projector spoilt i cant see anything

hi morning gals,

had a bleeding scare on Sat and went down to A & E, now have to bedrest.

need some recommendation with regards to tingkat food - as now cannot cook for lunch, anyone has any tried and tested recommendation for which catering company that does lunch?

babymaking, rest well.. u'll be fine soon de. take care.

piggy, i oso agree.. most of the tings they covered.. like we oso know le. ya lar.. the babies demo part.. n zoe & ivy part more interesting niah.

good morning ladies!

Fatbobo, hey, you started real early. I only started end of week 14, 3-4 days ago! and as I say this, I only started on fish oil and calcium. The iron ones - not yet! always forget to eat it ONE hour before breakfast. ;)

btw, any of you ladies recently more prone to getting 'blue-black' on your bodies? i dont recall knocking myself against anything (or was i so clumsy??) ..dunno why. morning wakes up just now, even my thigh also has...

fatbobo,
i tink becos of time constraint they can only touch on the basic lor.. nvm we can learn more from antenatal class..

I'm from Jun 09 thread. I have 2 tins (700g each)of Similac Mum for sale. Selling at $15/tin, with a complimentary $5 voucher for each tin, on your next purchase of Similac Mum.

Self-collection at Clementi MRT station on weekday nights or Sembawang MRT station on Sundays.

Interested, please PM me. Thanks.

wow, Kelly is 3 mths pregnant and can wear 5 inch heels..and dancing. while i walk like 80 yr old ah ma, shifting my weight from side to side, and throwing up like nobody's business.....

hello - is she good or am i lousy???