(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Pris

For cream, wipes & diapers,.. u were saying dun stock up. But by the time BB arrives & we test that what we bot is ok, wun it be v troublesome & expensive to buy again? Coz by then no sale liao, & we'll be in confinement so not convenient to go out.

pink, you went back to work liao?

Mich, haahaa, hope that will stop her from coming. So stressed up last time when she did my confinement and left during my 3rd week of confinement. Keep telling me stop bfding, formula milk better, I got no milk, cannot give me peace when i am bfding.

Aqua Fitness-ers

I called my gynae to check on the exercise thing. She's not ard, but the recep will check with her & call me back.

re: antenatal package

For those whose gynaes start the package at week 12, try to book ur appt on or after 12 weeks, not just before. So that ur 12th week appt can make use of the package.

I was KS & checked with my gynae's recep on this haha.

Jul, then stock up pamper. Usually hamper comes with them too. But i know my friend's bb cannot use pamper. Mine cannot use huggies, so if you stock up and bb cannot used waste or you have to sell. Can always get dh to get after you try for a couple of days. And usually they have sale but not like a big sale.

I only stock up during 3 months, nappy cream has expiry date.

Speaking of confinement..

At first I was thinking of confinement lady. Then send BB to infantcare or ask MIL to help, & get Part-time maid for chores.

But my mum advised me to get a maid to help out with both the chores & childcare, with MIL to keep an eye on her. And that MIL to cook my confinement meals for me.

MIL also said confinement lady not worth & very expensive. She volunteered to do the cooking for me.

How? I am in dilemma. Mostly bcoz I am concerned abt maid problems.

pris

Pampers is the most expensive brand right? I dunno whether I shd buy cloth nappies just in case. Scully BB is eczema king/queen haha.

Hmm.. I think maybe I like the idea of sticking up, then selling. Can aws sell to one of the MTBs in SMH haha.

U mean u stock up 3-month supply? Wow that's a lot of diapers hor.. coz I wud think BB goes thru like 7 diapers a day?

Pris
Thks

Heehee, me decided to go back to work only when I week 16. Be more kiasu
. So back to work on 2nd march

Jul, the CL isn't only going to do cooking. Is your MIL going to wake up in the middle of the nite to help you with the baby? If yes, then no need CL, really can save money.

Cos the one part that I found useful about the CL was that at nites, I could bf and then pass the baby back to her to change diapers and do whatever it takes to make baby sleep. As for me, I will hop back to bed after bf. When I had no CL for #1, I had to change diapers (cleaning poo poo) and make baby sleep on my own. And then my girl had colic, and would cry for hours non stop *stressed*

Mich

No, I think maybe MIL will only come up in the day time to cook for me. Nite time, I guess gotta depend on myself liao.

Actaully the other concern, other than maid probs.. is that I cannot expect MIL to do everything for me. Like, I cannot just expect to feed, then throw the BB to MIL to change & clean right? That's why I so dilemma now *sigh*

pink

Actually hor, calculating part-time maid might prob need to come 3x a week with BB vs maid... I think maybe maid is even cheaper.

I guess my prob isn't the money but what system will work.

welcome gals, we share and help each other out.

with re: to diapers, can call up the various companies to ask for samples. most prob can do that begining of 3rd tri. dun store diapers, cream, wipes too long at home cos exposure to sunlight etc etc can deteriote the materials.

there is no free sample for formula milk for babies below 6 mths as we're encouraged to BF.

jul,
no worries about not conv to buy, can always get hubby to buy once you know which brand is suitable for baby.

Jul, yup I understand your dilemma cos when my mum was helping me, I also "paiseh" to trouble her much, so I everything also do myself. Also cannot ask my mum to help at night mah.

Whereas with CL, I not paiseh since I pay so much. Everything also let her do.

How about you hire a maid after confinement is over? Then MIL can supervise for u when you are working?

Any 2nd time mummies who had confinment lady can advise what exactly the confinement lady does?

I know she will :

1) Cook confinement food for me
2) Do marketing at my cost (or ask hubby to do marketing)
3) Wash BB & my clothes
4) Bathe & clean the BB after poo-poo, pee, etc etc.

Dos she :

1) Do housework
2) Cook for the hubby?

Did I miss out anything crucial? Coz confinement I shd try to touch water as little as possible right? That means I'm basically helpless during this period?

Mich

Yeah that's also another idea.

Now I have to think abt the confinement lady first. Sigh... This is a headache for me.

pink

Oh I definitely will get a maid / confinement lady. I know myself, CMI one. But really dunno confinement lady better or MIL+maid better

Jul,

My CL did the following:

Cook confinement food for me, and normal food for my hubby (modified version of the confinement food)
All housework except ironing clothes
Take care of all aspects of babycare

But different CL do different things one... some dun do housework, some dun cook for hb, just happens mine is the chin chai kind and very hardworking.

Jul, no, my CL bathed the baby... all I did was breastfeed... otherwise CL takes care of baby. All the time in between feeding, I was trying to sleep.

Arrghhh! The more I think abt it, the more awkward MIL+maid will be. I guess MIL will be doing just the marketing & cooking. But dunno if can trust the maid to bathe BB & all. *headache headache*

Jul, personally I feel that if finances are not the issue, the CL is worth the money. Then MIL + maid combi is best when you return to work. Unless your MIL is very experienced in confinement, she may also be a little "lost". My own mother kept asking me everyday during confinement what I wanted to eat cos she is not familiar with confinement food and don't know what to cook, I almost peng san... with the CL, when its mealtime, I will have 3 dishes + soup on the table... feel like the queen.

Jul04, for the 1st mth at least, bb is still very fragile and it's going to be hard to bathe the bb. So unless you hv a very experienced maid and you trust me, I think hvg your MIL bathe the bb is better. In fact, my MIL bathe for bb whole of 1st mth. Up to 2nd plus plus. Very occasionally then I will bathe bb in 2nd month. But after that 2 mths plus ok, cos bb not so fragile, can hold neck up. In fact, my bb can raise his neck up at 2 mths plus, when lying on his tummy.

Mich

My MIL did confinement for my SIL 3 yrs ago. I guess she does know what to cook. I think she even made her own rice wine for the confinement dishes. I am more worried abt the me lying there like a queen while she is slaving away thing.

tinkabel

Hmm.. I guess MIL can do it. The biggest prob is, I think I wun wanna do anything. I think I wud be pengsanz case for the whole mth. Then dunno will have probs with MIL re. workload.

Then at nite is another headache also. MIL wun be ard / cannot expect her to wake up & help out.

Jul, depends on whether your MIL minds all the hard work... if your MIL dun mind working hard and helping with both babycare and cooking etc, then she can perform CL role... you are entitled to lie there like queen cos you need to rest from all the delivery, plus more rest = more breastmilk.

Jul04: I think it depends what you really want. If you really want to rest well during confinement, then I suppose hvg a CL is the best. if you are ok doing partial work, then u can get your MIL. For me, my MIL will help cook and bathe bb. Sometimes ILs take turn to feed bb (cos I bottle fed with expressed BM) in the day. Then i take care myself at night. But I do agree it can be tiring if u hv a bb who doesnt sleep at night. but I think can try to train bb from Day 1. Of course, we cant expect bb to sleep through from Day 1 but slowly. Otherwise, hubby can also help.

Hmm.. Thanks for your comments & advice gals. I will think on it for a while & discuss with hubby. Hiaz this is the less pleasant part of being pregnant. Need to sort out all these 'pesky' details.

jul,

Hiaz ... space is a problem leh .... furthermore, paper cartons will have those silverfish if u leave it untouch for too long.

Vacuum pack is the best but is that costly ?
I pack my pre-preg clothes in a plastic bag and cover the top with another plastic bag to prevent dust then tie up the bag tightly.
Then i just dump the bags on the top cupboard on top of my waredrobe...hope I would hve use for them by end of the year...hahahaha

pris - glad to know you are ok.

babyS - thks for the applause. To be fair, however, every day ok cos i sleep till 930am. today felt that alot of things to do, woke up at 730am to start the day.. now I am DEAD BEAT! my eyes are tired, my back aching, now I still have to go out to meet friends...no energy.
but dont want to stand them up.

see ya gals tmr.

Jul, my mil just does the cooking for my 1st confinement even though she and my pil came to stay at my place. I handle bb all by myself including bathing, showering etc.

Babymaking, I kept them all in the cupboard and storeroom as it comes in boxes and away from Sunlight.

If you are not bfding, I believe the hospital will give out milk sample or the paed. My ds's paed give me a tin of formulae milk to stand by in case I am too tired to bfd but I manage to bfd and pump throughout my confinement and continue till ds was like 18 months and he self-weaned and went on to fresh milk.

fjm & Jermaine, thanks.

I am going off to bed now. Good night all.

pegsfur,
I bought those big vacuum bags from the $2 shop in Vivo last time. Dont know if that shop is still around or not cos didnt go to vivo for many months liao

Dont know if its my hormones playing the trick here or not...

I'm quite upset with my ILs, they seems to be treating me like a baby making machine. Before preggie, they called my DH every week to rush us to have a bb. When they knew I'm preggie, the first thing they said is that they want to come to China to look after bb.
Now, I'm back in Beijing alone and for the past 2 weeks, they didnt call me a single time to ask me how I am.
My mum's still the best, she will call me everyday to see if I'm ok

I just fa fa lao sao....

pinkpixel

Lucky you reminded me that around june, great singapore sales will be on!!! I was still quite worried cos baby fair @ expo is next weekend haha. kiasu scared donno where to find places that have discount. If I remember correctly, GSS will be end around 31st july. Can go around shop for baby items on that maternity leave month (before giving birth)!

Anyway, I have made a topic asking mommies about list of things to buy. There are quite a few helpful mommies who gave me advices! You can check it out -> http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2052338/2161771.html

---------------

For CL, I found 2 agencies from goggle search. 1st company is PEM, 2nd company is the first on top of the search when you goggle "confinement nanny". (donno why their site is not allowed on this forum)

PEM's service quite good, I emailed them enquiring the price, although they never quote the price but still replied back promptly!
Whereas the later company (can goggle also, I emailed them around the same time I emailed PEM, they called me few days later and even mixed me up with someone else. lol I was so puzzled when the person from the later company talked about "talking to my hubby before". I was like "huh? we've never called you nor did my hubby spoke to you before".

I also read from other topics, one MTB mentioned her colleagues used PEM service before. Different CLs but service are still positive.

http://www.pemconfinement.com/services.htm

I guess getting an experience CL will really help mommies a lot during the confinement month. Instead of buying confinement food $1400 or so (can goggle for companies also), you spend double or more to get more rest during that crucial month.

I have read from many forums/heard from my colleagues that traditional confinement is 40 days. But last 10 days still ok to take care of baby (depends on individual) since it is the "final stage" of confinement month. Still dont immediately do lots of housework/carry heavy stuffs lah.

Atfirst I was thinking dont need confinement nanny, I should be able to handle. But if I cant, then will be too late already. Rather spend the money and rest well for the month. If not how to take good care of my child for another 10+ years!?

--------------------

Actually most ILs are like that one lah. Unless your IL is super good to you/ your relationship with them is super good like their own daughter lor. Plus, you are not blood related to them. Ofcourse your own mommy is always the best cos she took care of you and protect you for so many years le. Ofcourse if she sees you suffering, she will heartpain! I would, if I see my child suffering lor!

Some ILs just want "face" only. Act to public/others/relatives/ur parents that they care/treat you nicely, so that others wont think they are wick-ILs. But behind the scene, you will know what is going on. *rant myself*

---------------------

I am interested in doing aqua fitness also. Any mommies living in Jurong west area (or west area in general)? Maybe we can join class together then later (after class ended) still continue to hang out for stuffs (+ swimming) to keep fit!

<font color="ff0000">Hi mummies, I've got a good confinement lady who helped me out in Jan 08. She is pro BF and looking for assignments. Currently, she has assignment in Aug 09. I'm not an agent, not getting any commission, just helping a friend. She is currently in Singapore and doing an assignment at SengKang. She will be in Singapore until 16 Mar 09. Interested, please call Aunty Lezhuang at HP: 81567317. After 16 Mar, you can call her at her M'sia HP: +60127526609. Please let her know you are referred by Meishan. Wishing all mummies a smooth and happy delivery!

morning ladies...

Pegsfur,
u wan those vaccum bag(ziplock BAG)? i bott a lot of diff size from beach road u know the market tt sell the army stuff??? it cheap n comes in many sizes u can go n check it out...

pegsfur
for the vacuum bags right? i used to get those cheapo ones and finally i got the lock-n-lock brand.. that lock-n-lock is super good, with a valve that u can put the vacumm cleaner to suck the air out..much more easier to use.. but whatever it is, both works.. and it really saves spaces and keep clothes in good conditions..

mich
hahaha u sounds like me during confinement, after breastfeeding in the nite, pass the bb back to the CL. :p.... u r sooo right.. our job is just to rest and breastfeeding during confinement :p

Gd morning mummis,

Pris, pls take care ya..

Re CL
I have been contacting those CLs recommended by frens but all not available in Aug..piangz i uess Aug is peak birth period bah..

Re babyCot/ playpen
heng ah found hand me down from frens liao..

Re tummy shape n size

eh mine looks like a barrel like no shape de wor..kekeek still not as nice n rounded as u gals wor... will ny bb be small bb hah???
2177093.jpg