(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

jul, based on what i saw that day and my past short interactions with them last time (like when i visit pple tehre and i see the nursing team do work), they are more friendly, more encouraging.. more like family as u say.. Even when u are discharged, they help u all the way to the car, get u settled in first.. TMC is good also, but more clinical skills focused. (i.e. deadlines, protocols etc etc..)

this is solely based on my own observations, so must take it with pinch of salt eh.. =)

and i had a church friend who has delivered at both hospitals b4.. both are nurses (so they see what i saw).. both recommend Mt A also..

my DH prefers TMC cos the newly renovated wards is more comfortalbe and he wants me to be able to rest well.. and also got FBI benefits also.. i told him if the nursing team and handle my delivery smoothly and the way i want it to be, after i deliver u let me sleep in corridor i will also be comfortable lor. hee...

but Mt A's issue is limited parking lots. DH and i tell baby to start labour in mummy's body in the wee hours of the morning, so got parking! hahaha

aprila, wah, even with valet parking no space ah? But TMC has much much more parking lots than Mt A.. only thing is u must remember to get everything out of ur car b4 u let it be parked at the basement.. cos to get it out not easy and wait long... so if u keep getting things from the car, quite frustrating.

hihi jul.. the carpark they drove our car to was a heavy vehicle carpark i think and we paid a flat rate of i cnt remb hw much haha.. for the valet parking..

babys

Yes I agree TMC is more "commercialised"? I can see from the way they conduct their tours, the info they have, & the FBI scheme. I tell u.. that FBI is darned clever & attractive scheme lor. Will tie up the parents all the way from antenatal to delivery to paediatric care.

Hubby also fed up with the parking at MtA & paid %4 for the valet.

aprilia

Is it the open car park opposite the Singtel exchange building? Got buses & trucks parked there right?

Think u just have to pay $1 service fee, & for the coupons used. The rate is norm HDB rate : $1/h.

jul, yeah, if talk about customer service, etc etc... TMC wins hands down. haha... so much more impresed with their staff doing the tour than Mt A one. haha..

oh, one good piece of info my colleague shared with me. (She used to work with.. stem cord or the other one lah, as cord blood collection nurse)

If u intend to store baby's cord blood, TMC is good in a way, they allow the private blood bank's trained nurses to go into delivery suite to do the cord blood collection. Lesser chances of contamination. Mt A doesnt allow, and dr does the collection. If ur dr bo chup or careless and contaminates the blood, its wasted, plus u will have to pay the administrative fees...

(but please check with the hospitals again about this. )

babys

Oh yeah the MtA did mention something abt cord blood. But I'm still not really convince of the merits yet. Will think abt it.

Aprilia, the carpark used to be the old whitney under the highway food centre where the famous giant prawn noodle soup was. I frequent TMC quite frequent as ds's paed is there so a couple of times, my car were parked there.

Jul04,
My gynae told me to let him know my choice by next apptm, which is next month. So he can book the slot for me liao....duno is this the norm or dr ks...hahahahahaha...
MtA is cheaper for 4 bedded ward, compared to TMC. However their prices are not much diff if taking 2 bedded ward.
I like the tot of having pte toilet in the delivery ward in TMC, though Im not sure how relevant that is to me...hahahaha...
Will call up to check on the schedule and arrange appointment, probably next weekend

jul, yeah of course... go with whichever u are more comfortable with..

for me, since i am a nurse, i am more concerned about medical care and nursing team and not so much of environment..

i think mt a is cheaper, but TMC got FBI discount, so after the discount i dunno how big is the difference liao.

dolcevita

Actually the pte toilet in the delivery suite was also a consideration to me hahaha.

Or maybe bcoz ur doctor is pte & not affiliated to hosp, so he has to choap first? Maybe lah.. Coz my doctor affiliated to both TMC & MtA, so maybe she not concerned?

babys

It's 5% off gynae fees & $100 off single room at TMC with the FBI card. So I guess u save $200. But u have to minus off the $148 for the FBI card also. I think MtA still cheaper end of the day.

dolcevita

True. Settle one thing is one item off the list of things.

During lunch I was suddenly thinking of all the BB stuff that I need to buy, need to think abt child care arrangements, confinement arangements.. wah liew, mini panic attack ah!

michele

they knocked the back of my car when i was in hospital leh. My hb didn;t notice the dent until we were home. So too bad, cannot prove it's them anymore.

Jul04,

You are right.
Actually ive not done anything or buy anything yet. Probably bec stomach not that big yet so dont see it and dun feel the urgency. Besides we still hv 6 more mths to go...
But its good to list out a plan on the things we need to buy or arrange. Like when we are planning our wedding.....hahaahhaa

mich

My hb just told me that we know u. Hhahaha. Such a small world. *Hint* He's your former churchmate, your friend in facebook & we met a couple of times at the PD.

I wonder how he found out who u are. heheh. And he's been snooping in this thread!

Pink, dr is more concern with detaching placenta so does all the other 1st and she suspect it is the leftover blood from CVS

can i ask a question..

i know babies have growth spurts.. do they go thru growth spurts while still in womb? And mummy gets big increase in appetite?

Thats whats happening to me leh... i suddenly got increase in appetite and sudden increase in weight also leh..

mashy, you are talking to me? former churchmate? ha ha I am getting the idea
you also live in AMK, rite around the blk 350 series???

your hb really kay poh to snoop in our thread ha ha ha... now we cannot talk about him anymore!! keke

Pris
I see.... Anyway I did some reading online & most cite 2nd trimester spotting could be due to the following reason
1) sex
2) pelvic exam
3) vaginal infection

Btw has the spotting stop?

pink, maybe stress can also cause spotting. Last week, my friend who is in week 28 started to have spotting... and the gynae says its cos she is too stressed about things. She is trying to cope with taking care of her elder one who is sick.

Re: baby stuff
I think I won't be buying baby stuff till probably around may, june. By then the great s'pore sale shld be on. Anyone got a list of the stuff we need to buy? I think I am quite clueless.

mich

clever gal. so fast can guess already. ya lor, he's so kay poh, once i found out he's been secretly posting on the forum too. Nvm, can still gossip abt him. Heheh, if he did anything wrong, he can just find out from the forum himself.

Mich, then I can tell dh, mil insisting of coming and he has gastric flu are causing me stress that can cause spotting haahaa.

Pink, I got shock yesterday, so worry that I cannot feel bb movement yesterday, but today, after everything looks fine, can feel movement liao.

mashy, i figured how he figured out who I am. I am using the same nick on yahoo chat lah... aiyoh, my nick so easy to have lobang ha ha. That day he left me a message on facebook when he saw the pictures of my 2 girls to say that he hopes his #2 will be a girl too :p

He even posts on the forum??? ha ha ha

U have MSN? we should chat further there

pris, what a brilliant idea! I think with this hb will think of all ways to make sure his mother dun show up.

pink, yes I understand... I also have phobia.

just a tip!

for those planning baby stuff shopping, can go to takashimaya nursery's dept to get a baby/maternity list. it's quite comprehensive, with items to get, quantity and expected budget. the little items do add up to more than the big tickets items like cot, car seat, pram etc.

esp the consumables like forumula milk, diapers, wipes, nappy cream etc as will be using them like water.

I'm a first time mum and am working out the budget now - it's damn scary.

Pink, so far, we got a carseat from newborn to 18kg as it is sold at half the usual price, some 3 sets of newborn clothing as they look so cute but neutral colour.

Will bring the rest closer to date, will probably get 3 to 6 months clothings, handers, towels,playpen (I am not getting baby cot as my boy sleep there only like 6 months and after that even with all the cushioning, he ended up with some bruises, but he could sleep in playpen till like 1 yr old, then switch to twin size bed), medela pump, etc.

Oh does Taka provide such service ?
Thats good, im sure that would be helpful.
Will drop by there to pick up the list if im anywhere nearby...
thanks babymaking

mich

oic. hahah. He knows my nick, so he'll go ard 'hunting' it down.

i kind of stop using msn already after i had facebook. wonder if i can even remember the password. how abt this, i'll go invite myself as your friend then.... ;p

pink, do not have to buy too much, I know some company give hampers including prams.

And for nappy cream - get a tube to try first, no all babies can used the same brand and same go for wipes and diapers. After testing not allergy to it, then stock up.

I remember with all the hampers, I did not manage to use all the newborn diapers and even clothings.

You can also do a list of items you are keen to have and close friends will usually ask what you need, so they do not buy things you do not need. For my boy, I also gotten gift vouchers from Taka, Isetan and Robinson and some big items, close friends got for me.

Pris
I am craving for bird nest with almond milk/coconut milk. Is it correct to double boil the bird nest with a bit of water 1st, then add the milk in the last hour?

For diapers, you can also stock up, I believe there is a diaper service in singapore and they deliver to all area in Singapore and much cheaper, I usually buy in bulk like 10 packets to 12 packets or share among a couple of mum stay nearby.

Think also has one for formula milk but I bfd so not too sure how this work.