(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

regg,
last time I heard from my friend, it was almost like a kampung chicken eveyday

Pink, u r rite..everything is $$$ , hope i strike toto these few mths. Why din the garment give more bb bonus in this yr's budget?

I envy u all who's having your Mums as CL. No one is better than own mother. my mum refuse to be come over to be CL, becoz I am staying in my MIL's house and she feel uncomfortable using other pple's kitchen etc. My Mum's place no separate room for me, coz I used to share bedroom wif my sis. My MIL duuno how to cook confinement food, and duuno how to take care of small bb, so end up, we have to source for CL.

pink, you're referring to your own food or the CL's food? My own herbs, fish, meat and all must have added up to around 1k that confinement month. My CL hardly ate anything, only my leftovers usually. She doesn't touch my expensive fish.

smurfy,
I think I will probably need two months....cost I think my CL charges on a 28 day basis, so if need 40 days, that's almost 2 x28 days

smurfy, ya, my mum do my confinement for me, in the end we ended up disagreeing... sianz... i was even more stressed out. So for #2, I ended up with a CL.

pegsfur - yup, the first time, got to buy alot of things for bb, you are right! q shag leh..

pinkMaMa - i spent on MY food only last time $2500 for 40 days, that means $2000 for 30 days..

Regg, i agree $600 is minimum, ...maybe need to set aside $800, ie. $200 per week. Fish not cheap too...CL also need to buy herbs. Aiyo, and need to set aside another few hundred for post-natal massage.

hahaha.. see so many conflicts.. better dun save the money and get the CL... and relax a bit after giving birth..

i think most CL are quite nice ppl lor. and they will not touch those expensive foods.. mine ate with us.. but she very humble, take the small pieces or near the bones type...

we can quarrel with our mums and forget everything the next day ...
with mil, quarrel and that's it - got scar liao ...

so a quick calculation, CL + food would cost us at least $3000 for one month. That is excluding the cost of post natal massage which is around, $50 per session?

FJM,
ya i know abt the milk etc.. my part time maid will only do the cleanin the cookin will be done by my MIL so no crash la still ok.. infact my sis did without CL or maid. i tink her MIL jus cook n get her maid to bring over... a lot of time i tink depend on the mother itself n how well she can cope bah...
if my MIL cant cook for me at most i will employ a half CL. i am not comfortable with a stranger in my house la keke..

Mich,

Wow, your CL very zi dong ... only eat leftovers & dun touch your fish
Quite hard to find pple like dat.

pink, the herbs are a killer... some of it can cost $60-80/pack. The place to buy these herbs cheaply is the bugis wholesale market... dun go to the Eu Yan Sang kind of places if not end up paying twice the price. I think budget 1k should be safe...

fjm, wow 2k is alot!!

smurfy, agree the money to hire CL is well spent in my case since my own mum cannot manage. And I don't even dare to ask my MIL to try...

pegsfur, I was fortunate, got a good CL and it was just through a recomnmendation from someone on this forum. The only thing she eats alot of is rice, which is the cheapest thing!

pinkMama - ya, that time i spent a lot, my hubby's eyes almost popped out. but wait a min, did i accidentally also include the post natal massage..??whahaha..that one i noe, i spent $600. but even if less out, also got $1550 for 30 days. sharks, spendthrift.

piggy - i think i agree w you. i m alittle edgey now abt strangers at home. hopefully she is good, recommended by my hubby's friend.. till now, i havent even bothered to talk to her at all. only my hubby called her to 'book' her. keep my fingers crossed.

pinkMaMa - yup, i think shld be $50 per session. btw, share w you gals - the other day, i walk walk.. entered into this place called rustic nirvana at liang seah st, cos i saw their post natal package...waisei, guess how much??? about $2000!!! about $85 per session. i almost flipped. like that, we must start a print-money business then enuff.

The first month to "nourish" the mummy is very important. No choice, have to spend a lot on food.

If the mummy is "nourished", she'll have breast milk for the baby. Instead of buying formula milk, that will save even more money.

this time, i m only to use a malay massage lady. think more relaxing and hopefully can achieve desired effect too. last time, i used a chinese dui1 na2, $60/session. gosh, everytime, when she came, i also dunno happy or sad. happy to have some therapeutic effect, sad cos it was v painful!!!

massage
i was so crazy that time.. not to have the massage then, coz i tot i cannot take the stickyness and wrapping up... and ends up with a bulging tummy for the next 1 yr pls. tis time round i am going to have the massage kekeke

this is my last confinement lar, just wanna have a good one tis time round, CL right at the start and massage..

pinkmama
the bb bonus is given out in parts.. u receive a portion every 6mths.. (in 2007 it was 3k, u receive $750 every 6mths - 1st mth, 7mth, 12mth, 18mths)

i just read the earlier inputs..how come your girls' cl quite ex ah... think the one my hubby booked cost $1700. i thot mkt rate has gone down.

that time i spent also about $600-800 on food(exclude those bottles of seaseme oil/tonic wine given by my mum)...and my mil is my CL...
so she will get the expensive fish...for at least a meal every day...
veges and other stuff like meat for other meals and that time i am eating 4-5 meals a day...

pink, bb bonus for #1 is very good now, 4k cash, 6k co-development fund, 5k tax rebate... so much more than before! *envy*

PInk,
govt is givin $4k but u mus know there r other expenses comin up also so it not a lot.. u also need to set aside amt to open a bank for ur baby.. govt is givin max $6k which mean if u deposit $6k they will deposit another 6k into ur baby a/c.

food for confinement:
Spent close to 2K in total last time. Luckily it was just after CNY otherwise even more ex. Ngor fish (threadfin) is very ex, and usually confinement will buy the expensive parts of the meat for pork. Had 1 black chicken to make chicken essence every day from 2nd wk onwards. THen still have the herbs, alcohol, sesame oil, ginger (hb bought 2 cartons for #2 confinement
), milo, etc. Most times, ppl will give DOM and essence of chicken/fish, so can save on those.

i'm also not getting a CL, but will be having MIL and a p/t maid to do the chores.

SIL had a CL and MIL was complaining abt how she can do better (cook better) and CL dun do this, or that but still charge 2k, so let her have a go at doing it.

For me, i am easy going abt it, as i dun believe in the traditional confinement practices, so long MIL dun restrict bathing, I am ok.

the other thing is i plan to bf totally, so no point having a CL around, cos bb will be sleeping with us at night.

sharon,
that time my LC said if small teaspoon can drink and breastfeed...but best is to get wine that is use for cooking as it will be evaporate...

that time i put ginger wine into my fish soup and i still breastfeed my ger...

hi ladies!

re: CL
i'm also not getting a confinement lady. my mum will be helping me to bathe the baby & cook meals. DH will be taking a month or more leave to help with household chores, clean the baby etc.

i'm also not going for those traditional confinement. told my mum tat i need to bathe & jus cook as normal as possible.

re: sesame oil
do we hv to use sesame oil for everything? last time my mil said cannot even use normal cooking oil to fry veg. is it true?

hi fjm (babyfan),

Thanks! just saw the gynae on monday..also didn't ask..previously encountered 2 weeks of bleeding in first trimester..

do you get a special swimming costume? cos my stomach pouch is already out..

Sharon,
hmm from wat i know if u drink Dom or other liquor if best not to BF immediately maybe u can express the milk n throw n feed only the next round.

fjm

haha, i was wondering the same thing too. How come a lot of the gals here pay so much for their CL. Mine is also $1800 and was highly recommended.

Re: sesame oil
should be bah. I had that for my #1 confinement. So disgusting after a while. But I cannot take too heaty food, even during confinement. I got sore throat for my #1 confinement. sigh.

mashy,
i know but if u wan to play safe i dun tink u wan to feed ur baby tt rite.. n i tink it individual preference... if u tink small amt is ok to feed ur baby den by all mean go ahead...

piggy

I'll just skip the dom... :p COz for BM, bb will be drinking like once every 2 hrs. So unless my BM supply has settled abit and i've extra expressed BM, then I'll consider drinking it.

mashy/piggytoh
i never drank DOM after my delivery.. obessed with breastfeeding then... was so afraid of hotness, stickyness of massage tht i dun even have that... crazy obession :p .. i know i am religious in taking fenugreek (to boost my supply), post natal multivitamins and calcium tablets then...

dats y there seems to be a dilemma? if u follow the traditional confinement foods and methods...then breastfeeding becomes a problem?

i would want to breastfeed my baby...esp young babies would need to be fed more frequently? dunno will haf enuff supply if i need to throw it away

sharon :p
i am thinking of myself tis time round leh.. :p.. thinking of partial breastfeeding instead of TBM :p ..

i oso want to know how to drink DOM and breastfeed bb.. :p