Hi fjm (babyfan),
Can provide more information on KK AQUAFITNESS class?
e.g. no of classes / cost / time
Need to see if the schedule crash with my working hrs.
pegsfur - dont wait till next week, else we cannot be in the same class! class size so small.. thnk sure gets clearance, why not you try calling your gynae clinic to ask your gynae?
Just spoken to my mum ystday and she said she will do the confinemnt for me, unless i want my mil to do it. Of cos not lah! Over my dead body wld i let mil do it ..
Anyway, for those of u who r getting mums or inlaws to help, do u also pay them the market rate for CL?
My hubby has finally gotten a part-time helper to help with ironing & housework this sat .. phew!
my first time, my mother did the confinement for me.. quite tedious and tiring for her, though she never complained. felt so pampered.. gosh, come to think about it, we never really paid her. my mother said save the monies buy more good food for me..think that 40 days alone, i ate the equivalent of $2500 worth of food..
babelee,
ya i sign up a package with him durin my last visit
my NT scan 1mm waiting for blood test result also... but he say usu if every ok they wun call n will explain to us in the next visit till now i have not received call from them hope the result is gd
I'm also not having a CL, cos mum will be helping. Like piggytoh I'll also be employing a P/T maid to help with the chores.
pegsfur, I'm also thinking to compensate my mum during the 1 mth period for doing confinement for me. Probably will pay her close to mkt rate or more, since is own mother
No one knows if hubby can eat the confinement food too? becos my mum will be cooking, if he can eat the same food then my mum won't have to cook separately for him.
pegsfur, good that you have a part-time helper.
last time, when my inlaw help, i just gave her money for the food/marketing. she cooked 1 week's of food before my CL came.
fjm, angbaos are like token of appreciation ? I believe $50 or less is good enough, no need $100-200.
babylee - cannot la.. hubby cannot eat confinement foods (unless your cl really does simple dishes like steamed fish (??!!)) cos confinement foods v heaty leh.. his nose will bleed..
I'm sure my mum won't ask for payment as well, but i know it's a tiring & tedious job. But i guess i'd like to give her a token of appreciation, so was wondering how u girls did it.
Pink n Piggy,
I staying with IL,we have maid all the while, but the current one due by apr, my mil say will change by next mth so the next one will have 5 mths to train for housewrk and cooking, by aug the maid should able to help me abit here and there.
My sil used to stay with us too, her 2 pregnancy also Ahma guide the maid to cook for her n she take care the bb herself, so nw my turn if i get CL seems like abit "tua pai".. i just 'follow the law' lor hehe
RE: CL
So the confinment lady will only cook for the mother right? then what about DH food? must cook seperately? how about the food for the confinment lady herself?
Regg,
actually i tink it individual if u got maid at home i dun tink it necessary to emply CL.. for me as my HB wun be ard most prob i be alone but i believe my MIL will come over n help me.. esp newborn most of the time they r sleepin so not much a issue...
pinkMaMa - confinement lady cooks for the mother and takes care of the baby, washes only their clothes as well. you must give her monies to buy her own food, else she will also hawk down the confinement food too.
hubby food - gotta settle separately. some cl mabbe chin chai, may help (but you must know to 'pu' her $$ a bit, i think).
piggytoh, yeah he also told me they wont call if the results are good, but if we are too kan cheong we can call the clinic to ask abt the results b4 our next appt.
piggytoh
some newborns dun sleep!!!!!!.. they cry n cry n cry
really lor, for those first time mums, try to get CL... unless u r sure ur mum/mil is capable of helping out.. so many cases of first time mums not coping well alone or with mums/inlaws help.. a lot of conflicts at times.. my 1st 2 weeks, hb helped out, 3rd week my mum helped out... but mum old n not used to taking newborns... in the end i give up, very angry with my mum oso coz she everything like forgotten oredi or her methods old old type... n dun wanna strain the r/s.. end of 3rd wk, i call CL agency, my CL came on 4th week... but when the newborn is older, like 3-4mths... my mum helps to supervise bb and maid and i think my mum is doing a great job now (newborns and a few mths old bbs r very different lor)...grandson and grandma very close, luckily i didn't spoil the r/s then.
smurfy,
you think for first time mum, get CL to stay for one month is enough or need 2 months?
The last time, one of my friend, even though got maid, still got the CL for 2 months cos cannot cope.
piggy,
I oso thot of buying a gift .. but i think money more practical? Den she can buy watever she wants
fjm,
I think your mum doesn't even expect you to give her the angpow .. i'm sure she appreciates your thought lah. I think for me, i might not give her close to market rate as well, cos money is really tight, since ours is 1st child, no hand-me-downs from other people! All gotta buy new ones!
piggy - i recalled my last confinement quite alot of things to do. no doubt bb most of the time was sleeping. but i was like a cow, must pump milk now and then, else scare engorge. else, it will be trying to latch bb onto breast - what football position la, this and that position .. aiyo. then there is the three meals that really got me hot and sweaty - all the ginger stuff. unless your maid v independent and capable, think cannot trust her to do so much...
problem is my mum is a stroke patient, not even mobile and I don't think I trust my mil too much. I don't think she can take the stress of handling bb and cooking.
Piggy,
Ya, my teory : better to estimate abit more then kan cheong later, cos for C food, mostly meat/fish/soup/MAYU daily.. some eat up to 5 meals aday, depends. think need $600+-
pinkmama
one mth is usually enough, or 40 days like what some r doing.. onli those super nua and jialat mummies need 2 mths... hb pampering me kekeke coz he asking Cl to come 2mths tis time round oso (last time she stayed with me for 2.5mths until i go back to work )