(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

pink, good luck for ur blood test tmr

Babymaking, oscar test is a statistic test so not as accurate as CVS and Amniocentesis test. I took the oscar test, NT scan was 1.5mm, blood test contradict the result so went to do CVS, everything for me is fine from CVS results, all glory to God.

ya.. i oso seeing my gynae this sat... n yep..2pm class.. at least hv time to eat something n let it settle down abit b4 we go playing in water. hohoho.

tmr i oso going for the NTscan tingy.....at NUH. hopefully wun hfta wait very long. (duh..appt in aftnn..i tink..sure gone case!)

pink

Nvm.. we can keep our minds occupied with happy tots like where to shop for pretty maternity wear so that we wun look frumpy haha.

bobo

So qiao! U also seeing gynae on Sat?

Me doing my OSCAR at TMC on Sat too. Kill 2 birds with one stone lor. Actually, shd be 3 birds, coz I will sign up for the FBI too.

thks gals

2nd time mummies,
I got another question, the NT scan that we do at 12 weeks, should be able to pick up other abnormalities other than Down right? There is a another detailed scan at wk 20, so if the NT scan
is ok, would also mean that the wk 20 scan ok? Would other abnormalities, like curved spine etc be picked up at the NT scan?

Thanks Regg.

** Hugz Hugz **

babymaking, did your gynae mention anything about the result ? Keep praying and have faith in your baby, should be fine.

mashy, the design is nice but seems complicated ah, i think booties #2 by Regg is already very nice ...

regg

i did the scan and it was about 1.4mm but we went ahead to do the blood test cos the scan + blood test is 90% accurate in predicting DS.

the scan alone has a 60 - 70% detection rate.

jul
yeah whichever it is, it's alarming. for more information on the various blood tests.

Alpha-fetoprotein is made in the part of the womb called the yolk sac and in the fetal liver, and some amount of AFP gets into the mother's blood. In neural tube defects, the skin of the fetus is not intact and so larger amounts of AFP is measured in the mother's blood. In Down syndrome, the AFP is decreased in the mother's blood, presumably because the yolk sac and fetus are smaller than usual.

Estriol is a hormone produced by the placenta, using ingredients made by the fetal liver and adrenal gland. Estriol is decreased in the Down syndrome pregnancy. This test may not be included in all screens, depending on the laboratory.

Human chorionic gonadotropin hormone is produced by the placenta, and is used to test for the presence of pregnancy. A specific smaller part of the hormone, called the beta subunit, is increased in Down syndrome pregnancies.

Inhibin A is a protein secreted by the ovary, and is designed to inhibit the production of the hormone FSH by the pituitary gland. The level of inhibin A is increased in the blood of mothers of fetuses with Down syndrome.

PAPP-A, which stands for pregnancy-associated plasma protein A, is produced by the covering of the newly fertilized egg. In the first trimester, low levels of this protein are seen in Down syndrome pregnancies.

pink, think NT scan only measures nuchal translucency as an indication of DS. At week 20, the organs are all developed and can be clearly seen, so any other abnormalities can only be detected then...

jul, dont think u'll need to know how to swim..

pink and bobo, all the best for the tests eh..

pink, the detailed scan sees almost everything.. it will focus on the organs.. my friend was saying it was even focus on baby's blood flow etc..

Ya, agreed. at week20(5th mth) will have another details scan. As for me, i take it easy dont wanna over stress myself, unless doc say i have to do then i do...

babymaking

Wow.. thanks for the info on the various blood hormones. I read till blur blur, but it really heps me to understand why they are testing such things.

Can understand ur concern. But what did ur gynae say abt the results? Did he say it's unsatisfactory?

regg

Dun forget me hor! I like booties #2

babys

Hehe so after signing up for the aqua fitness, I will need to start scouting ard for swimwear liao. Wah.. so many things to buy.

donkeymami,
yes, this is my first successful pregnancy, had a miscarriage & an ectopic pregnancy before.

pris,
yeah, now am considering whether to do CVS or Amnio, CVS has a higher risk of miscarriage at 5% compared to amnio at 2-3%. anyways will delay decision, until we do a fetal heart scan next week. i think doctors here are more experienced at doing amnio than CVS.

joey,
i'm seeing the gynae at KKH, the scan & blood test done by another dept, will not get to see gynae till another 4 weeks later. in the meantime, will be going for another scan to check fetal blood flow to the heart and see how that goes before making decision.

pink,
the week 11-13 scan usually can pick up some gross abnormalities, but the detailed 20 week scan is more accurate as the bb is bigger and more fully developed, esp the abdominal and heart areas.

Babymaking, CVS risk is 1 miscarriage in 100 pregnancies tested and Amniocentesis is 1 miscarriage in 200 pregnancies tested. CVS can be done at week 14 and Amniocentesis at week 16.

mich,
i think it's another indicator/marker for DS. not totally proven as yet but it helps to lower the risks if the scan is normal.

just like if the nasal bone can be seen in the week 11-13 scan, the risks of DS is lower but not conclusive.

pris,
erm the risks i mentioned earlier was given by the doc at KKH, it's KKH stats record. not very re assuring as compared to yours. lol.

Babymaking, mine is given by dr over here in Oz and according to US standard too. Over here, NT scan over 2mm is cosidered high risk.

And if you check website, they also stated the risk, 1% for CVS and 0.5% for Amniocentesis, for miscarriage.

I have the head of the department to carry out CVS for me, dh and ds was there when the procedure was carried out.

No sure about KK even when I was in Singapore my gynae was practised at private hospital so I never used KK.

babymaking
the risks that my gynae told me is similar to what pris mentioned.
anyway I understand not all gynaes in s'pore are allowed to performed amnio, so in the event the you decide to go for it, make sure that the gynae credentials are checked.

dont expert 100% prefect ya, cos is hand-make.
Cheryl,
alredy keep u in the loop.
seems like everyone vote for booties #2?

suddenly i crave for the peanut cake or cookie or sweet or watever it's.. usually wrap in abit see-thru paper.. quite flaky kind.. abit powdery kind..

arrrrrrh.. ya.. tink it's gong terng..
gosh.. the crave very strong!!

hi blurmommy, welcome..wow..ur 22wks le... i oni 12 niah... 10 wks behind u...... so lucky oso..hsewife...song ah. hehe~

I said I was gonna post my tummy photo here, but keep forgetting. Hope I can rem to do so tonite heehee. Then u gals can tell me whether I m fat haha.