(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Priscilla, our family has no history of D/S or genetic problem, maybe i will go back and discuss with my hubby again.

mashy, thats so sweet.. =)

shirley, it may say 1:327.. but there is a 326 chance that baby is fine too.. =) i'll keep u and baby in prayer...

Maybe the reading different between #1 and #2 cos got 2 years difference leh?

During my oscar scan, the sonographer gave us a top down view of baby means we can see tummy and all.. and baby's legs were wide open.. but that thing my husband saw can be anything lor.

I saw the placenta too, wah, didnt know placenta will be so big..

Mashy your consin so cute..

anyway, bcoz of the Oscar test, the doctor doing the scan, he just based on the bone structure of the baby he told me 80% is girl.... but dun buy pink clothes yet, in case it is wrong hahahaha...

Shirley,
i guess urs gal also.. i notice gal gal more shy most of the time they will keep they leg shut up 1... keke...

oh, she def knew we wanted to know gender.. but she say too early to te.. i think she's the very careful kind. When we asked her if the NT was ok, she say "i cannot confirm with u. must wait for report." she didnt want to offer any info about that at all... but she did show us the hands, legs, thigh bone, spine, baby open and close mouth..

mashy!
wahahahaa... u must be sooo happy for the rest of the day...i keep telling everyone my bb is girl.. then i thinking if suai suai comes out boy, because i wanna girl soooo much, then my bb becomes gay how? :pPPpP

shirley
did u compare abt the blood test results? if neck's measurement is alright... then dun need to be sooo worry. how was the measurement arr? mine's 1.5mm.. me oso waiting for the gynae's clinic to call and tell me the probabibility... scared oso.. but i do think i know what to do if the ans turns up unfav... the sonographer refused to tell me the gender.. say too early.. tell me to ask my gynae instead .. #@%$#^%$^$

looking preggie
i'm 12weeks.. wt loss is 1.7kg frm pre-pregnancy weight. so when ppl tell me they can see my bb's showing.. i tell them it is my own tummy, not the bb lor... tummy sooo high up... bb sooo low... how to mistaken right? :p

shirley: I think from what I know, the results are very skewed for the category above 35 years old. As such, I agree that this might be a false positive. If your NT scan is giving good results, I think there is a good chance that your bb will be ok. And like Pris say, if there is no history, then the odds are cut down too. Dun worry so much...

Pris: Really? I hate that. Only drink a bit of the vinegar and take a bit of the eggs that my MIL cook with it. But I was lucky for my #1, I had good supply. Hopefully, it will be the same for my #2 too...

Shirley, think about it and discuss with your dh. Like Baby S has said, 1 out of 327 will have D/S or genetic defect where 326 will be normal.

I was told the result is too early to confirm even though they can tell but in case wrong, they decided to keep quiet about it. Anyway, I am just praying for healthy bb, so now I buy things that are neutral.

tinkabel, my mil could not cook confinement food and they tasted terrible till my aunt who is a nurse had to teach her how to cook the papaya fish soup and so for but she refused to follow, so I have terrible food during 3 weeks of confinement, thankfully, my faithful mum brought me soup daily haahaa. And glad mil leave during my 3rd week of confinement as her fingers are itchy for mahjong.

smurfy, the neck's measurement is 2.1mm same as when i had my #1.

i think all sonographer dun want to make any commitment ba.

For my case is done my another gynae specialised in doing that.

Thank you tinkabel.

Shirley, the NT scan is the measure of the Nuchal translucency Fluid behind the neck, the one taken for mine was 1.5mm. I was told anything below 2mm is good.

Pris, for mine, they took a few measurement first was 1.8mm then 2.1mm they took the higher one to calculate the risk.

My only problem is the blood test. Genetic counsellor can tell what goes wrong but he thought might be the hormones causing the problem too. So I am glad CVS show good results.

mashy
actually i'm fine with gays lar.. :p just tat i dun think hb will accept it readily.. these kinda things hor, i think by nature one leh.. :p... and my current boy onli shows interests in girls.. he sees girls.. will act cute, hide face, smile, grin at them... and wanna jiejies to hold his hand... totally ignore boys..

shirley: huh, one measurment is 1.8 and the other 2.1? then the risk is 1:327 becos they choose to take the bigger measurement what.. hmm..

smurfy, me too.. my upper tummy is bigger than lower tummy too.. a friend says maybe the uterus is pushing the organs up which makes sense to me.. i'll go ask my dr tonight.

shirley,
last time my previous thread, a mummy (born in 1974) oso went for CVs or amnioxxxx after unsatisfactory oscar test results.. she rested (on total bedrest) for a few days.. and when results came out, it's a fake positive.. and she has a healthy, happy 2 yr old boy now...oPs, add in that she has another healthy newborn now oso.... i hope all things go well for u

babys.
i read abt what u say abt uterus pushing the organs up before... but that couldn't be in my case right? coz i am still in my negative pregnancy weight (-1.7kg).. disgusting tummy...

Shirley, I was told to complete bedrest for at least 4 days, except going to toilet. Dh works at home for an extra week as I was still weak.

Mind telling us your age, I know of a mtb went back to redo her NT scan. and it clears.

baby s and smurfy, this week my tummy show a bit, but can still fit into all my clothing.

I have not measure my weight this few weeks as the last 3 measurement was all the same.

BabyS, ya i think the gynae also dun want to take the risk also loh...

Thank you smurfy.

wah, pris, in that case my two baby neck's measurement is very thick.

Shirley, mind ask what is your plan? For me, the waiting for CVS result was tormenting and also some pain after the pain killer went off. And the worry of mc.

Pris, i was very worried on last Friday, i asked my husband what i need to do, my hubby said in that case will go for amnio test, bcoz amnio risk is lower then CVS. we also checked fm internet that amnio test is best to do in wk 14 onwards, so after we check with the gynae, we will go back to gynae on wk 14 and then schedule to do the amnio.

shirley
u have a maid and another toddler at home right? so after ur aminoxxx.. will u be resting at home with ur maid or toddler? i find it hard to rest with a toddler at home... u think u will be able to rest at home without them ard in the house? at least then u get the complete bedrest which is very impt.

hi Smurfy, i got a maid and a toddle also parents in law at home. my parents in law will help me to take care of my bb, i can just lock myself in my room.

Shirley, like what smurfy said it is important to have undisturb complete bedrest, dh practically handle my 5 yr old alone and did all the cooking, cleaning and telling my boy, "Mummy cannot be disturbed, she needs to sleep."

smurfy, u lost so much, 1.7kg? u lost more weight than me. my gynae told me i lost 600g and told my hubby to just let me eat watever i want. i'm so happy upon hearing tat cos hubby is a health-conscious person. gynae did suggest i take either anmum or substagen for extra supplements or nutrients but i was telling him tat i dun think i'd like the taste. haha! anyway he said he's not too worried abt my weight loss cos he's quite sure i'll start putting on weight in my 2nd tri.

Re: Gender
for my last visit 12th week, gynae said he saw a white spot in between the legs. but cannot confirm it's boy yet. onli said it may be a boy. hope by the next visit i'll be able to know the gender alreadi. still hv to wait for another 18 more days.

Zen,
hmm 600g is not a lot leh.. some pp lose more than 5kg... for me i lose almost 2kg also.. this morning i weight is still in my pre-preg weight...

zen
kekeke i gained 200g in the last 3 wks lor :p.. initial weight loss was 1.9kg within the initial 3 wks :p...

shirley
ur toddler younger than pris's right? think he/she wanna a lot of attention now.. soo u gotta bear with it and ignore her/his pleas for u to open the door hor (when i had 2 wks mc, i still send mine to my parent's place, so me home alone, can rest n sleep n surf net then :p)..

re gender
those who saw a thing sticking out, i read in a thread One mummy saw something, but turns out to be umbicial cord hor :pppPpPp

Shirley

Just scanned & read abt ur OSCAR test. Dun worry so much. I'm sure everything is ok. After all, the test is based on statistics, which is age, so of course the stats look bad for u.

piggytoh,

yup, 600g is not a lot. i thot i'd put on instead of losing weight. cos i've been sleeping so much and i can't fit into any of my jeans & shorts.

Re: Sleeping
like to check if any of u are sleeping a lot? i've been sleeping a lot since i got preggie. dunno if it's normal. i thot after the first tri, i won't be so tired anymore. but i'm still sleeping many hours a day. faint.

Zen,
u r not alone.. durin wkend i can eat n sleep eat n sleep... feel tired all the time.. i suspect becos i woke up 1-2time to pee over nite so feel so tired...

zen

I have 2 symptoms. I can sleep a lot bcoz I feel so tired. But sometimes when it's time to sleep at nite, I start getting insomnia. Then waking up to pee 1 or 2x a nite really disrupts the sleep.