(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

lawshe
when i did my oscar u/s in wk 12, my bb was also not moving much. In fact it was so easy for the dr to take the measurement. I think there are times when bb is sleeping and thus not moving so much.

Lawshe, over here in Oz, D/S tests are advised for mtb who are over 30 or younger mtb who has a great number of pregnancies, other who has genetic problems or family that has D/S children.

For me, I took something like oscar test, they do a blood test to measure Free(beta)hCG (human chorionic gonadotrophin) & PAPP-A (pregnancy-associated plasma protein- A) which test result will be out in 2 weeks which can be done at 11.5 to 13.5 week. Then Nuchal translucency (NT) scan where they measure measures the fluid under the skin at the back of the baby's neck and can be used to determine your risk of having a baby with Down syndrome. They are combine to give you a statistic result of chances of abnormalities and not a definite answer.

For me, NT scan was okay but some abnormality with my blood test, so we were given choices to do the CVS or Amniocentesis, which are a definite diagnostic test which is 99.9% accurate.

CVS has a risk of 1% miscarriage. You can read more from this link, http://www.babycenter.com.au/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/testsandcare/cvs/

Amniocentesis has a risk of 0.5%. You can read more from this link, http://www.babycenter.com.au/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/testsandcare/amnio/

Lawshe, you have my email, just email me if you need more info.

me had the oscar test done on sat... bb is 6.21cm @ 12 wks 3 days... and neck measurement is 1.5mm.. looks to me that bb is growing well despite me still 1.7kg down frm my pre-pregnancy weight (looking back at her korkor's scan last time, he was 6.61cm and 1.2mm neck measurement during 12wks 6days).. bb was active during the scan, moving here n there but sonographer said bb was cooperative and let her measure the things she needs hahaha..

lawshe
dun worry too much abt bb not moving too much at initial stage.. my boy actually slept through most of the scans last time or freezed whenever the gynae scanned him, but he turned out to be a monkey.... a real monkey
... :p

jermaine/clarie
glad to hear ur visits to the gynaes turned out well oso

morning ladies..

Smurfy congrats...
goin to have my blood test for DS n see my baby this wk.. hope everything turns out well

smurfy, congrats!

jermaine and Clarie congrats.

Piggy, all the best!

I just want to check with all, which is a better dual electric dual pump, Ameda or Medela? I can't remember which one I used when I have #1 as they are back home in Singapore so planning to get one here.

morning ladies

Congrats smurfy.

Re: NT scan
Can someone advise me how to interpret the result from the measurement? I am going for the scan this Friday.

pink, anything below 2 should be good for NT scan but they have to compare to a statistic for your age group, so oscar is more of statistics and not a definite diagnostic test.

Piggy, I am looking at either medela dual electric or Ameda dual electric.

pris
Medela!!! kekekeke the LC in TMC always says amedela causes blocked ducts.. me got medala PIS at home, sooo tempted to buy the new version medela Freestyle (hands free one)..

pinkmama
for oscar right? it takes into consideration for NT Scan (anything less than 2), blood test results, mummy's age (the younger u r, the less risk u r in), and oso mummy's weight.. all these data will be keyed into a computer, and it will generate a probability of the child getting DS <- that's all i knw, u gotta surf the net for more infor oredi :p

thks smurfy &amp; pris
My gynae wants me to do the NT this Friday &amp; the blood test 2 weeks later. So that probably means that I will only know the result in 2 wks time.

pris
if i ever get this medela freestyle then i must be super-onz in my bf-ing career oso, otherwise wwaste of money, but good lor, i can keep freestyle in office and pis at home.. dun need to carry ard kekekeke... PIS is good good good..

ohh i must take back on words on this, i always complain this pregnancy is tougher..MS and tired.. but when i read back my blog, my previous pregnancy worse... i got fainting spells, giddiness, and always very very tired.. cannot stand for more than 15minutes type :p.. so no more complaints that tis is a tough pregnancy frm me :p

pris
Usually for Oscar, the NT scan &amp; blood test is done on the same day. But my gynae mentioned that he believes in doing it the "old school" way, that is the scan at wk 12 &amp; the blood test at wk 14. He claims that the results this way will be more accurate.

Smurfy, I will not complain about this pregnancy being tough, just pray for a healthy happy bb. I just gotten babyplus programme to work with bb.

Pink, so your result will be out like wk 16?

Smurfy, I am like shopping for #1 again since I do not have all the stuff here, just that now I have two helpers instead of 1 helper to help me choose and pick haahaa.

HI all, i had my 1st trimester scan on last Friday. The result shown that the cut of rick fo down syndrome is 1:300, whereby my result is only 1:326.

My gynae said I am at the boarder line only, suggest i wait until 20 wks to do another test....

but she said if i am really worried i can go for amniocentesis test.

Shirley, what it means statistically, is that 1 out of 300 child will have D/S, 299 will not have.

I have almost similar result like your case, dh decided, I should go for CVS at Week 13 plus coming to Week 14 instead of waiting till Week 16 to do amniocentesis test.

Week 20, is a detailed U/S which is very clear to show bb's feature and any defects.

Priscilla, 1:300 is mean got 1/300 chance to have a down baby. when i had my #1, is ratio was 1:8000 as compared to this it is really too high too me, as i am too close to boarder line.

Actually my gynae suggested to wait for the 20 wks scan, if the scan is ok, then my risk will drop to 1:600, but i still worried

pris
yah... end of the day we all really just wanna a safe delivery and healthy bb.. hopes everyone in this thread will have tat
).. i dunno whether i will be doing lots of shopping or not.. (coz badly wanna cut cost in this bad times, and i got to upkeep my maid and oso my boy's cc cost in future as well ...)

shirley.
what pris mentioned is correct on the 14th , 16th and 20th week... and may i ask why u choose to do the oscar test in the first place? i guess when we all did the test, we know what to expect or what next steps to take if the results ain't favourable right?

smurfy, haahaa, I have nothing here for me to use haahaa, so have to shop for cheapest, so comparing prices and go during bb clothing sales, etc

produced in Sg? like what? ask ur family members send over lar? or bring over during their visits :p...then u get them free somemore :D unless u r refering to bb bottles and laundry detergent

Pris
I think here the blood test result is quite fast. So prob by wk 14 +
I shld know result. But gynae did say from the NT scan can do a roughy gauge

morning mummies..

i so happy, today i am at week 13.. goodbye 1st trimester, hello 2nd trimester!

tonight going to get my oscar test results....

smurfy, sauces for cooking, etc. My mum and bro, brought me lots of curry paste, rendang paste when they came over haahaa.

Pink, that's good. I was told blood test 2 weeks and NT scan, result straight away.

Hello Pink and Smurfy,
^5! i already done a blood test during wk8, gynae told me will do a scan on bb neck thickness by next visit on 9/2.

Hey dear all mummies,
I need to chk with u gals something, since last week start, i keep feeling 'heart dropping' few times a day! it is like ur hb carry u up and put u down that kinda feeling! anyone experience that b4???

Hi Lawshe, I had my oscar at Week 12.

BabyS: Good luck to u for your oscar.

Any mummies under the care of Dr Joycelyn Wong of TMC? How is she? Can share wif me her package price?
I know she is very popular, and often fully booked with appts..My husb said, sometimes better to get a gynae who is less popular, so that he/she give u the fullest attention.

Another gynae who I shortlist is Dr Adelina Wong, also at TMC. her clinic on 6th floor. Another reviews on her?

pink,
hm.. i am not sure, i only know taken 5 tube of my blood during that test... everything ok except sugar level abit high.

Anyone read my previous post abt this??

Hey dear all mummies,
I need to chk with u gals something, since last week start, i keep feeling 'heart dropping' few times a day! it is like ur hb carry u up and put u down that kinda feeling! anyone experience that b4???