(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

morning to all mommies too!!

Had a little arguement with hubby last nite. He din know that I'm going to my mum's place for confinement. He thot my mum is coming over to take care of me & bb in the daytime, den go back in the evening when he comes home from work.

I thot tat was a little impractical cos my mum need to cook for my father and siblings as well mah. If she's at my place, den she gotta rush back to cook for my dad. Plus, as i seldom cook, i dun have all those pots & pans & stuff needed to cook things.

My idea was to stay over at my mum's place for a week, den after getting the hangs of how to look aft bb liao, den i'll go back home every nite, and goes back to my mum's place in the day time.

I dunno why but he just refused.

MOrning gals....

Pegsfur,
i suppose he dun wan to be apart from u n baby?
only u movin to ur mums house rite? r u engaging CL?

Sharon/Reira/Mashy: I got the 3 books from TMC- FBI. I read it couple of months back, dun quite recall there r any pages on those exercises which Mrs Wong demostrated.

Today, standing all the way in train from Bukit Batok to Tanj Pagar, no one give seat to me. 2 fella sitting at priority seat is practically sleeping ( or faking sleep, watever). The rest all busy reading papers, playing PSP/hp games.
I think I shd write in to SMRT to suggest to them to designate a cabin (or 2 cabins at both ends) for preggy / old & disabled pple. What u all think of this idea?

Anyone going to the 'New Moms exhibition' or 'Metro warehouse sale' at Sgp Expo this Thur?

Yen,
i tink Mrs Wong books does show some exercise but i cant remember if all the exercise is recorded or same as those she taught in the class...

pegsfur,
i think ur hb is protective loh(good lah)....scare u too tired?

errh...
btw...we r not suppose to travel out during ur confinement...
(unless is to bring bb for checkups etc...)

yen,
i will be going to expo...to see what sterilizer to get...
got metro sale too?
good can see got any good bb clothing(i need the sleeping bags for my bb)but dun think will have lots of bb clothings...

sunshine G, i read in baby center, that its because of water retention in the hands, it compresses the nerves in ur wrist, leading to pain/ numbness/ achy sensations..

sorta like carpal tunnel. to relieve the pain/ swelling, can do simple massage, like rubbing gently, to ease the retention, dont sleep with ur hands flexed.. For me, i now avoiding wringing towels dry.. cos the twisting effect hurts my hands. I am avoiding lifting things with it too.

the dominant hand will be more affected..

info from the net also says, it should ease off when baby is born, cos the retention will be gone and the hormones will be back to normal. It also says pple who are more prone to rentention, might get the hand pains more.. (me got retention in the legs..)

piggytoh: Isit? ok, i go dig out the 3 books to take a closer look again. Memory failing again, can't remeber so much things.

Janice/ cloudme: Ya, me too ..going on Thur evening to see what items on sale.

Here's the link on New Moms Exhibition
http://www.singaporeexpo.com.sg/index.php?option=com_events&task=event_details&id=206&Itemid=38

Metro Sale: http://www.singaporeexpo.com.sg/index.php?option=com_events&task=event_details&id=215&Itemid=38

I got enuff clothing liao. Was thinking to buy a stradding blanket/cloth ( or hooded watever-u-call it) or not.
U gals bot it? Was thinking if it is too hot to wrap the bb up like popiah? or can just use those white color nappy cloth?

Yen,
hahah it ok i also cant remember the if all the exercise is mentioned in the book but i remember see the correct way of gettin up

piggy/regg,
Ya, i did think of that but I oso dunno lor ... i asked him why and he just shook his head and said,'No..'

Ya, only me & bb (and my dog as well) will be moving to my mum's house. I thot it's ok since it's only gonna be a week. I'm not having a CL cos my mum will do it for me, which is why i thot it's practical for me to go over mah.

And lastly, the reason i din want to do it at my home is becos of my MIL. I do not want her to interfere in ANY OTHER WAYS on how to take care of bb. At least after a wk of staying over at my mum's place, i shld be more confident of taking care of bb and not give mil a chance to knock on my door and kaypoh abt why the bb is crying.

cloudme,
Why are we not suppose to travel during confinement?

hmmm..how do we actually know if our legs have water retention? my legs seem fatter though, but I got no idea isit fats or water retention...hehe...

morning all!

i'll be going for the baby fair too.. :)

pegsfur:
maybe you can suggest to ur hubby.. ask him to sleep over with u if u have an extra room? cause i think its better not to mover ard when u doing confinement.. i've seen some of my friends scream in pain cause confinement nv do properly..

Pegsfur,
man is like tt 1 they dun like it they wun tell u y jus say no my HB also like tt.. but to be fair if i were ur HB i be unhappy too jus imagine u gotta separate from ur wife n son straight after ur baby is borned i beieve he would love to see him every moment?
or u see if ur mums house have sufficient space to accomodate ur HB as well? if not ask ur mum to move to ur place for a wk?

Pegsfur, you might wanna let your hb knows that its easier for you to stay over at your mum's place during confinment. And I mean that one month. The 1st week will be very tiring so don't think you will have much chance to learn much.
Just ask your hb to come over and visit you when he is off work and go back at night lor.
Somemore without bb at home at night, he can rest well for work next day.

If you stay with your MIL during confinment hor, I think will have more unhappiness than now as whatever comments she makes will definitely make you pissed as we are more emotional during that period.

cherrios:
mine too.. when i wear my slipper.. those brickenstock type.. feel very tight when walking.. got one of those monobo shoe from tas/weishy but i lazy to go change the size.. :) but i heard if we walk more the water retention will sub side..

pegsfur:
cannot travel ard cause will have wind go in ur body.. den will become "fong shi" means raining dat time here pain there pain. and oso cannot carry heavy things too much.. for the womb to rest..

pegsfur,
the oldies were saying that u will come in contact with wind...etc...
and ur "lower body" is still weak from the delivery...

well...i belong to the old school of thoughts...
and i think it's important that u rest on bed or sit(minimal walking)

dollie,
Not possible for hubby to sleep over cos no more spare room.

piggy,
Ya .. i have a feeling he din want to seperate from bb (but not me!) but no choice mah. It's not as if he can't see the bb after work or wat ... hiaz ...

bear,
I tried telling him abt how tiring it'd be feeding bb and changing nappies etc all day thru to nite. He just said it lightly, "oh, everyone oso like dat mah ... just deal with it when it comes lor. I can help take care of bb oso wat"
As if it's really dat easy.

I think hor, it must be the breast feeding video we watched in Mrs Wong's class lah. In the video, the ang mohs make it seem so easy to breast feed bbs .... and all the bbs in the video never scream or cry de lor. He must have thot it's dat easy.

And for mil ... i'm 1000% sure she's gonna piss me off with her comments.

dolliepollie,
did you send your orders to my email? strange leh I dont remember seeing your orders

the waterproof mat can be used on in the cot or just put on the big bed.

thanks, babyS.

i also have some water retention in my feet, which is getting increasingly uncomfortable. i wonder if it'll get worse and how i'm going to cope another 4 months...

Pegsfur, my plan was also to travel to n fro either my mum's place or my MIL's place, but my husband thinks better for me to stay at home and have the help come to us. but i think it's very inconvenient for my mum / MIL...
we haven't discussed with the mothers yet, but i think better listen to husband, so that when i really need, husband will listen to me.

Pegsfur,
but see the baby after work only maybe not be sufficient for him n u really need help at nite maybe shd let him try out den he know how tough it is? also u say after 1 wk den u movin back to own house? which mean ur mum only help u to cook? i tink it would be better if ur mum can stay overnite to help u wor if not engage a CL would be the best option cos u need plenty of rest n less move about..

pegsfur:
the only way i tot of is.. maybe can ask ur mummy cook le den bring over.. if not u can stick to ur travel system but very xin ku de...

Janice:
if first day going den go during lunch lo.. should be not much ppl.. if go after work all the pregnant mummies will go with their hubbies den will have lots of ppl liao.. im going with one of my gfs.. hubby go reservist..

morning ladies :0

yen:me tot of writing during my last pregnacy
ie 1st or last cabin for elderly/mother with children and preggie ladies of cos till now also didnt......mayeb write to the minister better......smrt....dun think would care less.....

kikilala:
thambaokeat @ yahoo . com. this is the email i sent to.. but nvm la.. haha.. im doing more shopping now.. but i feel bad lei.. cause im like buying more and more and more.. i even look up to 1yr old liao. -.-"
**when u're back in sg.. i can come over help u pack all those things if u dun mind. :)

kiki,

u receive my email?

dollie:

i also thinking bout the same thing.. but those working ard expo will go cos i used to work ard der.. esp same time got metro sales.. if go after work i can reach ard 530 so duno how..thursday mood..

cherrios: U feel ur legs, if its swollen, the muscle should feel.. thicker. more spongy.. then u use ur finger tip to press on the muscle on ur shin area (nearer ankle). If after u press, and u see a indentation or can feel like theres a dent and it doesnt 'spring back' immediately, high chances its retention.

dollie, walking can help to reduce retention, but not too much, cos too much caused retention. U can take short walks, but must sit down often to rest k..

oegsfur: I agree. all those babies in the shows are like 'perfect' models lor.

My cousin in law was asked by MAH to help with a breastfeeding video (can see on MAH's inhouse channel)... she says the clip shown is about 5 mins. THe entire recording was 2 hours.... about 3.4 of the time my niece was crying or refused to latch.. hhaha.. so they only show the good 5 mins...

cannot scare of mothers to be mah..heee..

sunshine,
Exactly lor .. it'd be very inconvenient for my mum esp she still need to cook for my dad & siblings. Furthermore, my mum & family all getting so excited and looking fwd to this little one staying at their place, i can't bear to tell them bb not going over le

piggy,
He's working time is very flexible de. He can go where he wants once he is free, so it's not dat he can only see bb in the nite.

Ya, after 1 week i move back to my house. Den i'll be going over to mum's place in the morning, den come home at nite. It's quite impossible to stay at my place cos like i said earlier, she still needs to cook for my dad & siblings, and i dun have all the necessary cooking equipment in my hse since i seldom cook. Hiaz ... headache lah.

ladies:just a tot......both sides of my grandprents hv more than 10 children....(i;m sure some of urs also ) and just wondering if they hv all these luxury of resting at home la.....confinement food la....
of cos if we can afford why not
time to relax b4 really taking care of bb 24 hours.....

but if we cant of dun permits us to ,just go with the flow
things will turn out oki

many other factors will cause us to hv backache la....migraine la....etc....

babyS:
haha.. thanks.. im practically sitting down the whole day looking into the computer unless i go toilet, bath or make food.. so basically im rottinh at home. -.-"

pegsfur
last year during my sister's confinement, mymon will go over to her house every day to help. She also stays with her MIL

Tell you... its a BAD choice!
My sis's MIL dont know much about confinement stuff and cant cook lor but she still want to kapoh in the kitchen and according to my mon, can still comment about her style of cooking! (my mom knows alot about confinement and is a good cook)
Her MIL also dont allow my sis to eat ginger!!!

Aiyo... in the end the two old ladies stop talking to each other and her MIL will show black face when my mon is there. BTW, the two mons are still not talking to each other after 1 yr...

dont want to frighten you but be prepared lah... cos alot of stories like this already.

I'm also staying at my mom's place during confinement. told my dh that he can stay with his mon or come bunk in with my mom (its also very cramp) but he cannot control me and baby.
If not later I have post-natal blues worse ah!

pegsfur, agree with irene on staying at ur mum's place for the entire confinement month. Its physically tiring for u to be travelling up and down daily that month, plus all the breastfeeding and sleepless nights. Can u talk to ur hb another day? I'm sure he'll come round slowly over the next few weeks as u explain the benefits. The last thing u want is to have to deal with ur MIL at ur place!

mashy, hope C feels better soon... so heartpain to see them like that.

pegsfur: practical wise, its better to stay at ur mum's place... She's already so nice to help u with ur confinement, it would be nice not to tire her out further or change her routine (like cooking for ur siblings)

and since u dont have pots and pans, no point buying just for confimenet right.. besides pots and pans, your mum may require other things also..

maybe u try again slowly, to psycho ur hubby?

I think its cos he cannot take to the idea now of not having u and baby at home for 1 month.. he will miss u two lah.... =)

dollie: thats nice.. i would like that too. haha

Pegsfur,
cannot ask ur sibling to buy their own food? cos from wat i see ur confinement is v tough leh n not v gd... u really need ample rest n less movement..w/o sufficient rest may affect ur milk flow 1... maybe like the other gals say ask ur mum cook n bring over? cos i tink u dun need a lot of pot to cook also maybe can js ask ur mum to bring a few to ur house?
as for ur HB i tink wat he dun like is separate from the baby? imagine when u jus given birth u also hope the baby is alway in ur room rite? even though u got all the time with him durin the day time?

i think the reserved first & last cabin idea is brilliant!

in Japan, they have a ladies only cabin becos it's always very crowded and ladies should have to squeeze with men, esp gross men... heh.

janice: it's gd that u work nearby in the east-side, then u can go during lunch.

I will go after work, in the evening. Husb has his own activity.

weishy: Great minds think alike leh.. write to minister ar? but which minister in chg of this? I thinking of write to the forum page or chinese paper 'wo-bao'.