(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

reira

last time how i got round the tax was that the billing address, i put singapore while shipping address, i put the VPost address.

Mich
Ya, when cleaning his poo poo, more came out and shot right out.

mashy, *faint* i never had a boy before, so really cannot imagine having to dodge urine and poo... i have to conclude girls are slightly easier in this aspect ha ha

Guys scare of poo poo buy the mamy poko newborn with the poo poo pocket is good. As recommanded by my sis at least the poo poo won't touch bb. If too much poo a not sure la... :> heeeheee

Hi All Aug MTBs

I am new to this thread.. have been reading your postings which have been very informative

I still do not know the gender of my bb..

nick: Mrs Chin
EDD: 18 Aug
Doc: Dr Kee
Hosp: TMC
# of child: 0
No. of wks: 17

cherrios
I emailed the babyplus seller quite a few times to ask her about the product and shipment. the responses were quite fast. (within 1 hour)
I ordered last Thurs and he/she emailed to tell me that the parcel was posted via AU post on Friday. It will take 7 working days. Unfortunately, there's no shipment tracking for post.

Maybe you should email him/her again. Did you check that the payment got through?

just dropped the seller an email again. payment has went through already eh...we have used our paypal acct quite a couple of times so shouldn't have any problem..hmmm..only 1st time using ebay...abit skeptical..hehe.. hope the seller faster reply. *cross fingers*

Hey girls, about ordering online hor. If I ordered then immediately check my bank account.

The amount deducted is the amount in SGD right? They wont suddenly deduct anymore hor?

adeline

Thanks Cherrios

I am quite behind time i think, cos I have not started buying or preparing anything for the bb's arrival, other than going regularly to the doc to make sure bb is fine.

Is there anything i should be buying or preparing now that I am 17 weeks?

great! its comforting to heard that i am not alone..

But i am thinking of looking around for strollers.. any suggestions? i am totally lost with all the brands in the market.

Hi Donkeymami

Noted. Thks. Been to BKK for so many times, has never been to Platinium cos need to buy in bulk and I don't need so much....

Hi Adeline

Welcome to the thread...

I think I will be getting Aprica...or my SIL has a few extras, presents received. She might pass them to me .........
Meantime no harm shopping ard to see what is in the mkt.
Taka/Isetan sale coming up, you can wait till then to browse..i think its this coming Thurs

Hi Adeline

U can consider to take a look at hypermart and baby kingdom at Kaki Bukit. They have quite a number of range.

Its good to invest in bottles from Dr Brown. It prevent baby from swallowing air when sucking from the bottle...which is better...
Its bec of the structure of the bottle, that has an additional pipe in the middle of the bottle..
Just a recommendation

Adeline, no worries, I haven't buy much too, only some bb clothes cos got sale..hehe... me just started researching on the big ticket items too..

I would love to buy clothes for bb.. but i dun know the gender..
will have to wait till my detailed scan end of the month...

Anyone know where to get nice maternity clothes? Got a friend's wedding coming up and also need clothes for work..

Sl, platinum dun really need to buy in bulk, you can ask to mix and match, thats what i always do..you can ask them bulk purchase need hw many pieces and above, its usually 3 or 6pcs min and you can mix and match, dun need all buy the same design.
I love to shop at PLatinum, its so big I can shop there for 5days straight, and its aircon..hehe...

wow u gals are so fast. I was in meeting for one afternoon and boom, the thread moves so fast. I manage to scan through briefly.

reira:
No la, girl is safe, wun pee onto you. I think someone asked abt poo. Hmm, maybe I have to explain a bit. Going to be a bit gross. haha. If u total breast feed ur baby, the texture of the poo is very liquid, somethg like if we hv diarhoea. So if they poo out, it's like squeezing toothpaste out of a tube kind, comes out at one go, but then all over u, as it is watery. And when u clean baby, u sometimes have to lift bb up mah, then will face u more direct lor. I screamed so loud the 1st few times I kena. A newborn baby poos a few times a day, cos the stomach is very small. So sometimes, almost immediately after u change, bb may poo again.

My boy is total breast fed until he was 10 mths. So he's been pooing on an ave 2-3 times a day. He still does now. Although we tried to check with PD if it is normal, but PD says it is ok as long as he has been like that all along. But once u start formula, which is likely to be heaty, bb end up with other problems like constipation (depends on the type of FM). I hear some bb poo once a day or even alternate days. And texture will be more solid. And once u start solids after 6 mths, poo texture will become more solid too.

aiyo
so many post.. hahah...

JAc
my ger is turning 6mths tomorrow... hehe

SL
oh this is the 1st time i tried it on her.. she is okay with it.. she hated it when i put on hats for her when she was younger, now she seems to be okay with it coz i say "wahh so pretty" hahha.. i got a vainpot here.

bb clothes in bkk
can get at platinum (dun really need to buy in bulk), or pratunam (right in front of baiyoke sky hotel) or MBK.

my ger:
she is a naughty baby lar.. keke.. just now when eating ice cream, she kept crying when i din not feed her..

baby bottles
Dr brown one are good.. esp for colicky babies, another one will be NUK bottles, however ev bb have their own preferences..

Hi Cherrios

U can actually buy a brush from Daiso and it can wash the pipe. I buy that to wash my gal's water bottle straw.

Thks for your advise. Will sure visit platinum in future. Asking hubby to go next mth but hubby still considering as we had been there more than 8 times....

re: baby pee
my ger has done that on me 2 times liao.. as for boys, i think sometimes it helps to make them pee 1st.. else have to do things chop chop.. but i take my time de.. haha.. need to practise liao...

poo... i know my ger's timing liao and she poo ard 2-3 times daily.. and will "sing" each time she poo.. so i know when to change liao..

agree that mamy poko for Newborn n S is good coz of the poo poo pocket.. love it..

SL, wah..from daiso ah..maybe have to get my parents to buy before they come over...me was thinking of the bottles, like not many choices here, only Avent and Dr Brown more widely sold, NUK the range quite limited.

cherrios
depends on how often u wan to sterilise ur bottles. plastic ones will disintegrate fast if u sterilise too many times. unless u wan to use glass bottles.
also people use diff bottles to store EBM, so it really depends on ur milk supply.
i use 4 bottles (2 plastic 8oz 2glass - 1 8oz, 1 4oz) for feeding milk, 4 oz for water. i got ard 6 glass bottles from hospital to store my EBM last time.

dolcevita

I find cleaning the dr brown's bottles a hassle. It's important to wash them clean, so i'm going to get those conventional ones. My boy used Avent and didn't have any probs with colic. He has a good digestive system, farts and burps all the time. He even burps without us having to burp him.

This time, I'm going to try Pigeon's BPA free bottles.

mashy
hahaha.. agree that the bottles v mafan to clean.. coz must unassemble the "straw" part...

i sticking to NUK.. coz kiasu hb already buy bottles for #2... lol

wehre to find pigeon BPA bottles? at kiddy palace? they are cheaper than NUK? i tot of changing from NUK to cheaper brand for #1.

i was tinking to buy those storage cups to store the EBM...ya, i'm also worried abt my supply, so deciding whether to buy the pump after birth ma, but scared abit too late by then... me nv go look at those brushes eh..hehe..forgot bb bottles need brushes to wash.. :p alot of things to buy eh! are BPA free bottles better?

cherrios
some scientists believe BPA causes cancer thus better to get BPA free bottles. they believe that the chemical is released faster if bottles are heated. so in the long run, not good for babies.

depending on the brand of pump u get, if u getting medela de pump, u can buy their bottles to store EBM, thus u can pump directly into the bottles, store, reheat n give bb to drink. medela bottles are bpa free

oh yeah
RE:breast pump
was chatting with fjm jsut now, she mentioned her fren said that AMEDA pump is not bad n much cheaper than MEdela.. so i think i'll research on it.. n post my findings later

tas

U mean BPA free right?

can get at any dept stores. They're those in japanese packaging and looks a bit yellowish type. More ex than normal bottles so have to wait for sale.

Taslyn:ur girl so fair!!!!!my girl's to the tan side kakkakkakak.
Time for solids loooo for her

doe she still wake up durign the night?her late feed can add rice cereal in her milk,start wht 1 teaspoon 1st......but teat hoel must cut a little bigger
easier to suck

$5 good deal le!!!!!!!!me cant find those when there
wen to the platinum mall also so so...cant really bargain much

piggytoh:ya aus hv alot of dips cos hv market mah...here in sin maybe must go those oliver's supermarket etc then hv looooooo

NDgirl's:hee good good cos can recycle mah...if buy hv to buy almost all over again

TASlyn:pigeon bottles!!!!if TAKA hv BABY FAIR,u can see f they hv the recycle programme,bring any old bottles and buy new pigeon ones at 50 % off
so its a good deal

weishy
lol.. she is getting fairer loo.. prolly coz me n her daddy are fair.. lol..
yeah i giving her cereal now.. Nestle is sending me cereal dispenser! (haha this mummy cheapo, go sign up.. but i din expect them to send a courier to give me cereals, dispenser n milk powder)...

she does not wake up at night. her last night feed is 9+ then she will zzzz all the way til next morning..

TAKA FAIR:
they take any bottles?? my NUK plastic one v lok kok liao.. the paint is coming off.. haha.. can trade that 1 bottle there?

mashy
i dun hv isetan card ley...