(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Hi all MTBs,
Am surprised to see this thread and so many posts liao.... Congrats to all!

I just tested +ve too last Sun and both me and hb are very excited!

I have already booked a gynae appt and will be going to the gynae - Dr Chris Chong who had delivered both my nephew and niece. I actually already have a 2.5YO boy but would definitely not go to my previous gynae as I had a very harrowing experience.

Will come in often to chat with all of you when I'm available.

Lin, sorry, not able to help to recommend as I don't know of anyone from SGH. Am actually still on lookout for a gynae.

One of the hubby's friend suggested that I go to TMC. Did a search on available slots and since Dr. Lim one can slot in today, I just went to see him today but gosh..the wait is horrendous, had to wait for nearly 4 hours before my turn despite calling in before dropping over. Kind of scared of the waiting time. Might consider SGH.

Naivesg, I feel nausea 10 days before my period due. Think its really too early (but did read from net that some mums do experience early symptoms). I also have cramps. Checked with Dr. already and he says, some will experience that. Its normal. With regards to spotting, Dr. mentions its likely to be implantation bleeding. So no need to worry to much

hey mummies to be!

im nana expecting my 2nd
edd 2aug!! kindna excited! wee
Hope to meet more mummies here!lets share stories!

Gd morning gals!

galgl688, Oic...I think I am more or less settled on Dr Tan HK then.

Hi nana,
Edd 2 Aug too? Wah, so many mommies-to-be with the same EDD! Welcome!

Tomorrow Im goin for my first check up. Hope everything will go smoothly coz Ive been experiencing some pains on my left side of the lower abdoment. I hope its nothing...wish me luck...

will be back here only on Fri as will be on mc tmr...

Based on your last menses date, can I ask how do we actually calculate our EDD? If we know the date that we conceive, and use 40 weeks as a basis, is this more accurate?

I haven't gone to see doc yet. Booked appt only on 15 Dec as doc is out of town.

Sorry to intride and disturb. I am an Oct 08 mummy and I have a Medela PIS to sell.

My Medela PIS is the Medela PIS Metro Bag 2008. Its sold at $799 in Spore. Its inclusive of the following :-
- Messanger Bag with adjustable strap
- Removable motor unit in its own case
- Battery Pack (Batteries not included)
- Removable cooler bag
- 4 collection containers and lids
- 2 SoftFit Breastshields
- 2 valves
- 4 membranes
- Removable work surface
- Mesh storage bags

As the PIS was bought from US, the adapter is not compatible for use in Spore. I had to purchase the adapter in Spore at $75. Willing to sell them at $575. Used it only once. In brand new condition.

The price is really the best I can quote. If not, please suggest a price and we can discuss further.

wah, so fast got this thread liao ah..

My LMP is 23 Oct (like donkeymami), and according to those online calculations, due date is 7/8/2009.

Anyone experiencing symptoms? I am so tired leh... i need to build a platofrm at work, to stop my head from dropping onto table cos i wanna sleep all the time!!

and another symptom of pregnancy is the sore tender breast right? I'm getting that.. urgh, so sore!! and this morning a guy bumped into me in MRT.. i just froze there and grin my teeth in pain!!

And feeling so bloated now, dont feel like eating..

Havent gone to see a gynae yet, seeing one tonight..

can anyone share with me questions to ask ther gynae tonght? with regards to pregnancy, package, bills?

lin, i'm expecting some discomfort too.. but feels like gastric cramps and menstrual cramps.. but not localized in a certain area...

I so scared to stretch leh.. hee.. i stretch when i am tired, but i dare not stretch too much cos i scared if i will pull or stretch anything out of place or not.. hee..

babys, so u r in 4wks+ also? i hvnt schedule apptm wif my gynae yet..was thining to go nxt wk.

my breasts also vy tender but not sore (just more sensitive) so far not puke yet..oli hv giddy spells in the mrng & nauseas when brushing teeth in the mrng.

i think i am about 4 weeks... hahah.. (dunno how many yet, cos my cycle range between 30- 36 days..)

I was in china recently, and i couldnt stand certain smells... what smells very bad and strong to me, smelt ok to my husband. hahah.. Heng i declined the offer of a free foot reflexology in china man, cos i wasnt sure if i was preggie, good thing i reject.

donkeymami, this is ur number what child?

BabyS,

Oh ya, I always forgot abt the tender breasts until someone accidentally bumped into me! Ouch!!! My first pregnancy I didnt have tender breasts until my 2nd trimester...

hehe...aiyoh...I dont think its that critical rite until cannot stretchlah..maybe you may want to let your gynae know of the discomforts that you have, he/she will know better.

I remembered I had some cramps during the first few wks of my first pregnancy but after scanning Dr A Woodworth told me its nothing to worry abt. I juz hope its the same this time round...

Wch gynae r u goin to?

I do have cramps and pains here n there initially but after seeing the TCM and taking his herbs to "an tai" i seldom feel them liao.. but sore breasts bo bian la have to endure but soreness on and off still ok lah.. worst is sleepiness.. especially in a meeting, i fear that the moment i close my eyes i will just sleep liao.. so fighting hard to stay awake by drinking lotta warm water n munch on sour stuff lor.. any mummy has gd remedy to share on curbing sleepiness??

hm, i dun know why i dun feel very sleepy leh .. i still sleep very late at night ... hm, afternoon abit, but wont doze off... tats why i dun feel i am pregnant at all leh ...

hi everyone.. my gynae says i'm about 5 weeks pregnant. My AF was 9 oct, but ovulated late too. Wanna ask.. do we count 38 wks or 40 wks for EDD? i'm hoping my baby will be born 2 Aug... that'll be the best bdae present for me! =)

Good mrng gals!

Babys, hw's ur visit wif gynae yesterday? i was thinking to see my gynae this wk too.

Strawberryz, u can chk wif ur gynae when is ur EDD roughly? r u able to see ur bb's heartbeat when u visit ur gynae?

i went on Tue, cldnt see bb's heartbeat yet.l.. only saw the gestational sac and yolk sac. When i first say gynae last week, she only estimated based on my last period, which is not accurate cos i ovulated late

donkeymami.. i back in SG liao.. =)

I went to see dr woo bit hwa, Thomson Women's clinic (he has a private clinic in punggol too)...

he dd a u/s, but he says acnnot see sac.. he thinks he sees something, but too small cannot see. He says usually if pregnancy is too early, cannot see one. but he says since i did the home pregnancy test and am sure it was positive results (It showed a BIG FAT +) then i should be pregnant. haha.. he ask me to go back in 2 weeks time (should be about 6 weeks by then) and he gave me duphaston (an tai med)..

cheryl.. i also very sleepy. I felt a bit guilty that i was sleeping so much.. like not very productive, very lazy.. then i thought to myself, if i dont rest when i need to, wouldnt i feel even worse if something happens to baby becos i didnt rest?

So now i have no qualms about resting. haahhaha

Hi donkeymami.. my gynae estimated on my first checkup a week ago, based on the first day of my last period, which isnt accurate. i went again on Tue, only saw gestational and yolk sac, no heartbeat yet. guess i prob hv to wait a bit more, to hv more accurate edd

hi Strawberryz,

I thk heartbeat can oli detect ard wk7 onwards..as long as u see a yolk sac is good enuf

I thinking to see my gynae either tmr or Sat. I tested +ve last Sun, my LMP was 23 Oct.

oh... mine can only see one part that was a bit different from the rest... the rest of the area was darker, the spot where dr saw was lighter... but he didnt want to confirm anything too, which i agree with.. skarly is not sac and he say sac, just make us disappointed lor.

babys,

ur gynae scan for u from stomach or vaginal? if scan from stomach mayb not able to see anything yet as the moment cos bb is too young.

both ways also scan.... only the vaginal scan cans ee the little spot that looked a bit different..

donkeymami,
Me like you, my LMP is 24 Oct and dunno about EDD though the online EDD tool showed it should be sometime in 6 Aug or something. Have booked gynae appt only in mid Dec, as he is out of town now. Which gynae are you seeing?

luvbabe,

r u expecting ur #1 or #2? for me is #1 so abit gan cheong & wish to cfm wif gynae

my gynae is from Thomson Women's Clinic & his clinic at Bt.Gombak.

Hi BabyS,

I tried to sleep super early on weekdays like 9 plus pm.. on weekend i will sleep longer n take a nap as and when necessary lor coz resting more helps our bb to grow i guess ;-p

My current symptoms are sleepiness, occassionally nausea but not very bad kind, sensitive nipples and on off soreness of breasts, body aching at times, headaches on certain days.

Hi BabyS,

Cld u ask ur colleague where to get that mag pls? i so far saw motherhood and parenting nia.. Thks ya ;-)

she bought it from that bookshop, page one. I wanna go get a copy myself too..

Its $8, this issue is from October 2008 to march 2009..

i get a new symptoms almost everyday.. 1st was tiredness (which is still around), then loss of appetite, then increase in appetite, then today, giddiness..... on top of all that i get the tiredness, bloatedness and tenderness... all the ness.. hee....

i am having so much water retention/ bloatedness, that my clothes are very tight now leh....

cheryl,

i had abt the same symtoms as u like breast tenderness, nausea when brushing teeth in the mrng, backache & headache.

But i can sleep well at night..always wake up ard 5am then cant get back to sleep.

sigh ... i tink my tummy is starting to 'grow' liao thou my weight is dropping
a few shorts i alwasy wear at home now seems tigher than nefore.. gotto pull it really low to feel comfy

haa donkeymami
i jus realise i post in the wrong thread
so paiseh =p

anyway i gg gynae nxt thurs =)

Hi BabyS, thks for the info and i shall go check it out.

Hi donkeymami, i also got bloatedness my pants are getting tighter too.. only 6 weeks leh..really cannot imagine in more weeks down the road how big my tummy will be like lor..kekekekee... i every early morning 3am wake up go toilet leh then also cant go to sleep liao but i try to force myself to sleep la if not cannot stay at awake at work.

cheryl,

i thk i put on weights tat's why pants are getting tighter cos dun thk stomah will show so early..kekeke

for me i wake up not becos i wan to pass urine woh..jz dunno why i auto will wake up at 5am+ then hv prob to sleep again..last time not like this one..jz happened last few wks..ya i also force myself sleep again..but still cant

donkeymami, i forgot to mention that another symptom i had is burping coz alotta gas inside..hence the bloated feeling lor... i do urinate alot leh..anyone experience tat? isit a symptom too?

donkeymami, babys,
I will be seeing Dr Christopher Chong from Gleneagles (used to be from KKH). He also has a private clinic at Bishan, I think. He was my sis' gynae and really regretted not going to him for my #1. This will be my #2. I currently have a very active 2.5 YO boy to handle, plus am working.

I have lots of baby mags, Motherhood (subscribe for 3 years), Today's Parents, Young Parents, etc. If anyone interested, can let me know. Don't mind share share.

As for symptoms, I feel very bloated and kept burping, also will wake up suddenly at night, not to urine (unlike the previous one).

Am still able to fit into my current set of work clothes. Maybe if you gals are interested, we can go shopping for maternity clothes (next 2 weeks, coz will be clearing leave), as I have discount cards for Spring, Perfect Mum, Cloud Nine, Mothercare, etc. hee hee!