(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Hi Sunsweet,
Any CC near your place with bus service? Cos I know my sister changed my nephew to a CC with bus service cos too rush for her to go pick him up and she can't bear to be late and he be the last child standing at the door with teacher waiting for mummy....

I should seriously start planning about who's going to be my baby's care taker. I was thinking of getting maid and ask my pil to help supervise while I'm at work. But then, my mil has indicated before she values a grandson much more than granddaughter. got phobia that if I'm carrying a girl, they might not love their grandchild so much and not want to help out... Think I a bit over panic & over drama also. The other day I was telling baby not to worry. If grandparents don't like you, mummy earns enough to feed and clothe you by myself......

Hi pprincess (pprincessbaobei),

I've stopped taking all other vitamins except recommended by gynae since pregnancy.

Now, I'm only taking calcium from GNC and Floron (prescribed by gynae). FYI, if you are unaware, Iron pills cannot be taken together with Calcium pills or milk. It will inhitbit body absorption of iron.

In my previous pregnancy, I took Obimin (prescribed by Gynae)

Fyi. I've recently created a blog to store and consolidate information with regards to pregnancy and kids. I'm lazy to re-search for it everytime on web, or dig from my computer. 8P It all happened when i need to dig out my first pregnancy info, cos of #2 coming.

I'm constantly updating it with information. If you are interested, you can visit http://mummymustknow.blogspot.com

Think it's useful to first time mummies or a re-cap for existing mmummies.

hi.. i am EnLi.. first time being mummy.. my hubby found this website for me, so i can share opinions with others mummies.. i am now more then 4 months.. at the moments, my tummy not so big.. but lately i can feel like something inside my tummy, but not sure whether its bb moving or not...

HI Enli,
Hee, welcome. Don't worry, Kitty & I can't tell if baby moving, gas etc either. You aren't alone.

I was looking at L'Occitane website cos wanted to find the price of a body polish my friends gave me. I saw this Grape Anti-Water Retention Gel product. Not sure if really good at reducing water-retention, if pregnant women can use and if affordable or not. I never bought L'occitane products, but have the impression that the products are not cheap. Anyone used this before?

Sigh... Feeling slight giddy... I need my iron.....

haha.. i cant wait to feel how does it feel when bb is moving inside.. everytime goes hospital do scanning, seeing bb grow each day.. i really feel so happy...

Hi lamagier, glad u are feeling better after taking the iron

Welcome Enli! It really brightens our day everytime we managed to see our bb. I'm oso excited cox gg for my detailed scan tmr
I try not to think much abt the gender. Scared bb playing with me....

kitty
sometimes when bb move i will feel abit itchy. but not everitime. sometimes when bb move abit more hard will haf the throbin feeling. so far i haven stretch tat much. so not much of the itchy feeling.

annie
i actualli haf been taking obimin previously. when i go to my private gynae they changed it for me. nw i change to KKH, they gimmie the obimin again. haha.

cheryl
i onli take vitamins given by gynae onli. check with KKH dr she say ok to take then i take. but mayb jus my own body not suitable for that.

lamagier

Water retention? Solve it by drinking more water rather than using gel. Coz water retention is coz of too much salt, u need to get to the root of the prob rather than solving it on the surface.

Hi mummies, my leg cramps are getting more & more frequent. I hav it every night for the last few days & i really hate it

Lamagier, u hav been exercising right? Does exercising help in reducing cramps?

Hi Kitty.. next month, i will be doing this ADC screening.. doc say might see bb gender liaw.. hehehe.. actually last few weeks, doc scan for me, but cant see the bb gender too clearly, like u say lor, scare the bb is playing with me.. hehehe...
my problems always go hospital is my blood pressure will become super high.. at home, i measure i am alright, but don know why once reach hospital, they trying to get my pressure, my pressure will become abnormal.. weird.. try to relax and sit there before taking, but i can feel my heart beat even more faster..
so far i am taking this vitamins intro by kkh's doc, the supplement name GANILIA and also i took this NEUROGAINPB extra lor...

Hi Mashy,
Cos I always hear ladies in 3rd trimester said bloated, very uncomfortable. Haha, I'm doing research in advance. In case take more water, swim, elevate legs, massage legs to improve circulation all can't help... Then resort to gel =p

Hi kitty,
I so far haven't got leg cramps yet. I think stretching helps the most. Exercise, if never warm down and stretch, will also give you tight sore muscle. I try to stretching every evening when watching tv. Bought a yoga mat to remind myself to stretch

Enli,
If it you take public transport and walk to the clinic. I found it I take public transport and walk to clinic from bus stop, blood pressure & heart rate increase. You didn't take any caffeine or sugar drinks before going clinic right?

Lamagier, i have my own car to KKH.. and i didnt take caffeine or sugar drinks before goin to clinic.. tat is why i feel doubt when my pressure goes abnormal everytime i measure at hospital.. tat day, doc ask me to stay in hospital for 4 hours to check my blood pressure. he wanted to make sure i am ok... result coming out saying i am just too excited when seeing doc and nurses... how to solve my prob from not getting so excited??

lamagier

don't worry, it'll go away by drinking more water. If it doesn't, then u will need to see your gynae to check if there's any other underlying prob.

And not everyone will get water retention. I didn't get any until after i deliver and during my confinement. It went away after i drank more water and put my legs up.

ya.. putting legs up is also very useful.. try to rest more and use pillows to put ur legs up.. try not to drink more water at night.. might help...

Enli,
The best way to overcome it is to buy yr own digital BP machine and monitor at home, write down all the readings on a piece of paper and show Dr during consultation.

Kitty,

Har... Now u alreadi experience cramps every night? Must be very frustrating..
Where's yr cramp? lower calf? Cse now when I sense the initial cramp at lower calf, I faster bent my leg, and can feel the tightness suddenly relaxes..

Kitty,
Another method that can use to try relief cramp if stretching unable to loose the muscle.
Apply hot towel to tense area and massage to loosen the muscle. Massaging also helps improve blood circulation, may reduce water retention =)

Massaging dry skin may cause friction and redness, so you may want to put a bit of moisturizer when massaging. Haha, help beautify leg at the same time.

Enli!
I am facing the same prop as you.Whenever i step into the hospital my BP seems to be high otherwise normal so i monitor at home and the readings i will show to the doc when i go for app. I am still trying to overcome the prob..

Enli, u muz be very excited to see yr bb everytime u go to hosp...hee

Cecilia & lamagier, my cramps is on my entire calf. Everyday take turns to cramp for diff leg. Did sleep well at all.... So it's better for me to massage my leg everyday to prevent cramps at night isit? I hav a yoga mat but still hav nt opened it for use before.

hi Kitty,
Hee, now can use your yoga mat liao.

Massage calf, especially back of your calf, about 1 hand distance away from ankle. It's the part where your calf muscle tapers off to the ankle. Got a accupunture pressure point there. You should be able to feel that the area is more tender then other areas on your calf when you apply pressure on it. Got pressure point behind your knees also. Can try massaging too.

Not good to massage foot cos got pressure point at foot linked to reproductive organs. My teacher never actually told me what that pressure point does , but best not to do anything that disturbs baby

Can use yoga if you want to sit on the floor too. I typically sit on the floor to watch TV, but sit for too long + hard floor will get tail bone pain. SO I sit on yoga mat or sit on cushion =p

janBB,
oic... keke... me put on a lot of weight... haha..eat too much food liaoz... me n hubby tc my ger after work... main caregiver in the am is my MIL... luckt thing is she sleep throughout lahz.. so, no worries on lack of sleep..

oh, btw... anyone koe anyone who r making the rice or red wine to sell?? those hm made ones where we can use during the confinment time??

Hi EnLi, congrats congrats. I'm also first time mummy. I only felt short sharp pain in my tummy, gynae said is my ligament stretching / pulling cos stomach expand. Initially thought is bb kicking and punching etc. excited for nothing although is painful, hahaha! Let's look forward to our quickening day

thanks all for the precious advices..
so far doc say i might have little water retention on my legs, so i try to remember myself when laying on bed, put my leg up.. might help i guess...
sometimes if sit too long, will feel my butt so painful and tired too...
a friend told me to go for a walk more often and see more greens, can make me feel better...

anyone heard about Single Umbilical Artery? Discovered my cord has only 2 blood vessels instead of 3 during my detail scan yesterday. The dr in charge there told me baby will still grow with just 2 vessels (1 artery & 1 vein) & baby should be fine as all other scans are normal. Went back and looked up the internet and realised the scary part about possible chromosomal/genetic abnormalities. Now I'm so worried as baby's neck was a bit thick during the Oscar test but blood test show low risk.

Had emailed my gynae abt the report. Waiting patiently for him to revert back to me as he's not in the clinic these 2 days for surgery
And my next visit is only 3 wks time.

<font color="ff0000">Hi mummies, I've got a good confinement lady who helped me out in Jan 08. She is pro BF and looking for assignments. Currently, she has assignment in Aug 09. I'm not an agent, not getting any commission, just helping a friend. She is currently in Singapore and doing an assignment at SengKang. She will be in Singapore until 16 Mar 09. Interested, please call Aunty Lezhuang at HP: 81567317. After 16 Mar, you can call her at her M'sia HP: +60127526609. Please let her know you are referred by Meishan. Wishing all mummies a smooth and happy delivery!

enli
my fren told me not to walk that often. mus walk, but not too much as will cause water retention. duno should walk or not to walk nw =x

babyethan
dun worriew so much. mayb is bcos doctor saw ur detailed scanning and there's no problem wif the baby tat's why ur dr tell u dun need to worriew and tat der's nothin wrong wif ur bb now. wait till ur dr repli u bah. dun tink so much.

Enli, pprincess,
Think Can walk lah. But pay attention to your body> too long and too tiring your body definitely will 'complain' (discomfort, leg bloat, back pain etc) then you know where your limit is =p

Sigh. my company just banned Hotmail. Hopefully they won't ban this forum

lamagier
company banned hotmail?! me also leh. bcos yesterdae internet access down. as they sae got virus in some part of the group. so they ban internet access. and then i can still access when they resume yesterday. but nw when i tried cannt go in animore!

pprincess,
Haha, we on the same boat. But I didn't have any internet interruption yesterday. Cross my fingers and hope they will put pack Hotmail access after they clear the virus bah...

pprincess,
haha. unlikely. I'm working on an island on the west side. But my company outsource the information service department to CSA. Maybe we use the same outsorce computer company =p

Any mummies working on the island?

lamagier
ohh. icic. hahas. me is working in healthcare group
working on the island is quite inconvenience for travelling right? used to work there for a period during my sch holidae many yrs back.

pprincess,
haha, I know got quite a few 'missy' in the jul09 forum.

Yah, quite a hassle getting to work cos need to clear checkpoint and increase travelling time. But my job pretty good and interesting, boss good too =p so no complains lah.

Hi Enli and pprincess,

You can walk, but listen to your body. Make sure your body dun over heat and keep your heart rate down. Usually walking is ok.

To check whether you have water retention, press your skin (say on tigh) down and release. If the pressed area din go back to it's original colour upon release, you have water retention. The longer it stays, the more water retention there is. That's how i measure during last pregnancy. 8P

Interestingly, for me, it get worst towards the last stage during my last pregnancy.

lamagier
gues the most impt 1 is colleague gd and boss gd. the rest can cincai abit lor. can survive can liaos
im not missy. jus working under the ops side. hees.

cheryl
i did try wad u told me. example bfore pressin is a bit pinkish. after pressin will turn white &amp; slowly recover back to pinkish. does it means tat ive a bit of water retenation? abit frighten abt that bcos my fren commented that my ankle seems swollen =x
i can walk, but not alot lar. lazy also =p but when i stand for sometimes i will feel cold in my head, break out in cold sweats and feel damn in my head. duno why isit like tat. isit normal?

pprincess,
OK break out in cold sweat not normal. I got that quite often before. GP took blood pressure, check ECG etc all cannot find anything wrong with me. Chinese sinseh said too much 'wind', gave me chinese med then was ok. You belong to the more 'han' body type issit? Your tounge normal got whitish coating?

My first trimester also a few times that. But now after take iron supplement feel a lot better. Your thalassemia blood test got show your haemogoblin count ok? My colleague was saying we not like ang mo take a lot of red meat everyday, so many Asian women got iron-deficient during pregnancy.

i am goin to kl on this coming april.. and now i am more then 4 months, by then, i guess i am bout 6 months.. i guess its ok if i travel by plane hor.. i have someone to accompany.. sg to kl is just 1 hour flight

Sometimes, i will feel my tougue become so bitter, just like the saliva become bitter like tat.. is tat normal or i was heaty? but just a while... then its ok..i don take red meat too.. so wat foods should i take to replace it?

lamagier
i never tell my doc abt that bcos i alwaes forget to and doesn happen so often so i hardly make myself stand tat long as i know i surely cannt tahan. will also feel like vomiting. i duno isit more han body leh. not veri into sinseh bcos i dun like the taste of their medication =x yea, normally haf whitish ting on my tongue area. i duno whether doctor got test me for the thalassemia not. i tested 2yrs ago, not sure this time still need to test? bcos i tink doctor never test thalassemia for me. onli full blood count as hep b and hiv test i jus did before i got pregnant.
i also miss my vits as previously after taking will vomit. slowly going back to take back my vits.

enli
as long as their air flight company allows u to go on board then nothin to worriew liaos =p i 2 months+ pregnant still take flight to vietnam for holidae, which dey normally sae bfore 3 months cannt bcos not stable. but i still go. hahas.