(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Happy valentine's everyone.
Just came back from gynae. See baby fingers, arm, legs, baby cross leg, uncross leg =) Hee, finally can put my mind to ease liao. Baby still doing ok.

Elijah's mummy,
DO take care of yourself ok?

Re: Giddiness
Turns out that I'm also low on haemoglobin. Gynae put me on iron tablet every other day.

elijah's mummy
should rest more and yea, should stop carrying that much. i know of 1 mummy, she haf no.1 smaller then 1yr. and she is nw 36weeks pregnant. nearly haf pre term labour at 34weeks. after tat doctor told her cannt keep walkin around & carry her child. should rest more. else will gif birth earlier.

lamagier
i tink that should put ur mind at ease!

re: baby movement
i feel my 1st movement todae! haha. my baby is a active 1. and the feelin i jus cant describe. is like a bubble that burst in my tummy & abit itchy kinda stuff.

kittyng

yah... really got to think then.

lamagier

hahah... i really do seem problematic ah... :p yaps today hubby suddenly says that he would be the kitchen aid. hahah so did baking with him in the morning. hahah cant wait for dinner!

princess

yah my dr also telling me the same thing. :p but i cant stop my boy leh... he super sticky now... don even go with his poor daddy...

hahah.... its a joy right! to feel the baby is something out of this world!

Jillian & JanBB
Went for Mt A hospital tour today & I really love it! It's much more spacious than TMC & suprisingly the rooms r better & newer (eventhough TMC had just been renovated). The bathroom attached is great in design also. I told me hubby before the tour ended, I've made up my mind to deliver here although gotta give up for all FBI's benefit which I've signed up for. I find the nurses r friendlier too. Love that they have a chapel there which we could have a small prayer for baby on the departure day home. Everything just feel so right
--> I'm not advertising on Mt A, just my personal view.

mashy
Could kindly change my hospital to Mt A when u update your list next round? Thank u very much!

pprincess
Congrats on your Quickening day! So nice to have it falls on V's day.

HAPPY VALENTINE's to all mommies here!!!

Woah pprincess, Congrats on your quickening on Valentine's day! BB wants to celebrate together with you

lamagier, manage to see BB's gender?

I went for routine checkup today too, very happy to see the movements of my little one. Managed to see BB punching and stretching out legs, very fascinating and amusing
But still, didn't manage to see the gender clearly.

But I guess, knowing that BB is fine is all that matters right.

hmm, I think don't overdrink should be ok.

My gynae only advise strictly no raw/undercook food. The rest like watermelon, orange, even pineapple are ok, just take them in moderate.

I went for my checkup today. Happy to know that I'm not a thalessemia carrier. A relief to know. Now my gynae don't measure the length of baby anymore. Estimate the weight instead. Baby is 329g today..

Peanut,
Managed to see gender. but I'll wait till detailed scan when more confirmed before telling everyone =)

Yup, So fascinating to see baby move so much, especially when we can't feel anything at all!

coolkero
Yakult is perfectly safe & recommended for preggies as we tend to have constipation during this time. But I limit it to 2 bottles/day.

mashy
Xie xie!

thanks peanut, mashy and LS, glad to know can drink yakult. i used to drink everyday, but after pregnant havent touch cos dunno can drink, but seeing my hubby drink everyday make me wanna drink too, thanks for advice now i can drink with him. sigh, now i miss sushi.....

thanks kittyng, i am enjoying mine now, hahaha

sunsweet, i want sashimi leh, if dun see wont crave, but when see on tv then suddenly crave, hahaha. yah, now gotta settle for cooked sushi, as long as got the wasabi taste, can lah. but trying to ask hubby not to eat in front of me, hahahahahaha.

lamagier, when ur detail scan???

Hi coolkero,
My detailed scan on March 5th =). Doing it at gynae's clinic. urse said it's probably a long thing, so only can do it on weekday. So the husband will probably have to check with his boss if he can take leave, since he only started new work in jan....

Went cycling at East Coast with my friend and they've commented I seem to be getting fleshier but my tummy still not obvious. Sigh. All the weight went to wrong place, no wonder I still can squeeze into my normal clothes... Need to exercise more...

wah, lamagier, actually our EDD very near to each other. My detail scan on 14th March, an hr before visiting my gynae on the same day. The duration for detail scan should be less than an hr, the nurse wants me to bring the report along when visiting gynae.

Hope to join this thread as well as the EDD for my bb is like late July to 2nd August and chances I might have a mid-July bb is high as my ds was borned earlier too.

My detail scan will be on 9 March and till now we do not know the gender of bb yet as Dr does not want to tell us too early.

Hi Peanut,
I thought most detailed scan done by hospital clinic, but my gynae said it will be done by her.... Maybe that's why she's slightly pricey.... Package $800 starts at 18 weeks.

lamagier

What exercise more???? Aiyoh, pls, try to restrain yourself. U can exercise for all u like after u deliver. Now is not the time to slim down.

Mashy,
Hee, you sound just like my elder sister. I'm trying to control the activities, but get restless at home after too many days of inactivity =p but cutting back on the intensity. Walk instead of jog =p Coming sat go McRitchie tree top walk

A lot of website and books recommend 30min of light exercise daily for MTBs. Don't know how anyone could do that. I tried for 3 days (fri gym, sat cycle, sun swim). Now feel all tired out. Noo mood to move a single muscle today. Even not pregnant I also don't exercise everyday.....

lamagier,

Its natural for our body to store fats now cos you need the fats to produce milk for your lil one.

so please dun try to trim the fats, its just works of mother nature to prep our body to feed our young.

once u delievered, you can exercise all you can (but after your wound had recovered)

of cos not those lift weight kinda or those stretches that will over exert muscles.. cos you need your adbominal muscules to recover slowly as it had been stretch for almost 9 mths.. thus lifting anything more than the weight of your baby will only do harm e.g. sagging womb.. when i had no.1, I got a psyho-therapist to help me work out my muscles after natural delievery.

BTW, slowly our body will produce natural chemical which will loosen our joints for ease of natural birth.. so you have to be careful...or u might find yourself with sprains.. and many medication for muscle pull and sprains are not suitable for preggies.

My colleague who was a sportwoman b4 said her 1st kid took a long time to deliver and she end up requring Csect.. bec her pelvic muscles were too tight.. she couldn't dilate much after very long wait (15+ hour).

I cnt wait for my detailed scan n chk up next fri... it seems like a super long wait. How i wish i cn turn e clock. ;p Now, crazi mi wanting to push forward my scan n chk up earlier. haha!

Btw, how much weight gain do u all have so far? I tink mine is only abt 2 kgs or lesser. My stomach is not too big either. When i was expecting my boy, weight gain n stomach was rather fast. heehee!

Janbb
Ya lor.. my boy stubborn... refused to come out. So end up c-sect lor. Most likely 2bedded too cos already very ex to c-sect. Hehe... But always very tempted to go for 1 bedded. Got to keep justifying myself abt $$

Hi Sunsweet,
Sigh... guess I have to get use to & accept the extra 'meat' that comes along with baby... Can't imagine going through 15 hour of pain & waiting then end up C-sect...

Hi Sheryl,
I'm same weight since first gyane check up. Cos lots some weight when I was down with bad flu in Dec. Same thing here, can't wait till next gyane visit even though I just went 2 days ago.

lamagier

Actually u'll also need the fats for the breastmilk later. Don't worry, u'll slim down quickly after u deliver.

For cycling, u also need to be careful coz our balance is a bit off now coz of the bb. U also have to make sure your heartbeat doesn't get too fast.

Your bb is depending on u now for oxygen & food. So check b4 u do any exercise.

LS and mummies,
I agree TMC look very cramp compare to Mt A, though TMC look very classed
. I really wanna try out Mt A but hubby said TMC more specialized on bb for 'touch wood'...is it true ?

Any mummies has the bb start kicking ?? my bb started kicking at abt 17-18weeks, my friends said my bb kick so early ?
My stomach also very small, some ppl can't even recognized i'm pregnant
, i feel bad while on the train, they don't give me the seat

Hope bb is well and health though

hkbb

That's what i heard too that TMC is more specialised for neonatal care.

How come u never ask for a seat? That day i took the train, there wasn't any seats and I asked this guy who was sitting at the priority seat to let me have the seat. He got up without question.

In singapore, u have to ask. If u don't ask, no one will bother.

I felt my bb at 14 weeks. Just 2 days ago, i could see the elbow or something sticking out which made my tummy very sharp. After that it flattened back to its original position. BB already kicking when very young, it's just that some pp can feel early, some can't.

hkbb i tink its not early to start kicking at 17-18 weeks
actualy they start kicking very early
when i went for scannign at 11 week i can see my bb kickign int hr vigourously liao jus tat our tummy cant feel
i start feeling the kick ard 14 weeks
my friends say v early also but they say mayb cos i more sensitive(which is true.. im v sensitive to chg ard me as well) so i tink is normal for u to feel bb kicking now..
enjoy the kicks now.. cos soon it become 'punches' haa which is happenign to mi once a while.. jerk mi up when bb punch me haha

hkbb, my #1 I could feel the kick at week 15 and this time round around week 13, it was much earlier than #1. And when I did my scanning at week 10, bb was active, waving and kicking.

Now in my week 16 going week 17, can feel even more kicks.

Re: Baby movement
Wow, so many mummies can feel baby movement liao?

Haha, I can't really tell if weird feeling in my tummy is due to uterus stretching, gas or baby moving. Everytime I tell my husband I think baby move, he will come over, put his hand on my tummy and stare at it, feel nothing. So decided not to think too much about it and try to second guess myself. Sooner or later will have very distinct baby movement, can feel baby move all I want

mummies, i aso felt my bb moving ard wk 18 i tink. cnt rem the exact wk. now, as i type this post, my bb gal is kicking me. each time i feel her kicks, i am happy n relieved.
at least, i know bb is fine.

yesdae when my boy felt the bb kicking, he was so excited n say, "Mummy, mei mei is kicking!" he even went to tell my hubby abt it. bt when hubby touch, bb decided not to kick. haha!

anyway, do we hve to start counting e no of movements/ kicks bb is giving each day?

Hkbb, sometimes i get seats in e train. but sometimes i dont. i hate my morning rides to work now... there r ppl who just pretend to slp or not noticed there is a preggie woman standing in front of them. sigh!

Mashy, I think u r right that we hve to ask for seats. But, I am e shy type who dont dare to ask.

hi sheryl....wa u can feel ard wk 18 so good. i can only feel it recently at wk 20....few days back on Valentine day is the actual day i feel the baby's kicks n movement..happened that day is my gynae visit.

hahaa...now in office, whenever he moves or kick, i feel like talking to him or sing him a song, but i can't cos i am in office! wait my colleagues think i key-siao...hehee...

Re: baby movement
I think I felt my baby moved! I was lying on my bed before sleep last nite.. I just put both my hands on my lower tummy.. suddenly i felt like a bubble burst or a tap kinda feeling.. I tot was baby's movement, got so excited, but realised it was probably gas?
Then few minutes later.. i felt slight movement under my left palm.. i kinda stopped breathing when i felt that little ticklish movement under my palm and told hubby that i think its real this time.. Mummies, is the latter one baby's movement or the first one too? I'm confused...

Hi gals, I'm back. Grandma passed away last Tues. Went back Malaysia till yday.
Cried alot everyday, both legs swollen due to the long journey back. Now feel so tired with walking..
But MS totally gone this few days. In fact, my appetite became quite good. And my tummy is definately rounder and harder liao.

Lamagier,
Hw many weeks r u now dear?

Sheryl,
U mean the kick tat u felt now is so strong liao ah? I'm definately looking forward for it.

Hi Cecelia,
Hope you are feeling better. Take care. And hope your leg swelling will subside soon. My EDD is 5 days after you =p so i'm now into 17weeks

Thanks gals.. Hopefully I can still fit in my shoes tomolo when going 2 work.

Lamagier,

So we shall both look forward for the time baby reali give us one big kick..:p

Today is a sad day for me

1st: meet up friend for lunch, but she didn't realise I was pregnant but thought that I put on weight and look pale (like "huang lian po") huh! haven't give birth become old hag already

2nd: my hubby wanted to give me a lift home, I was so happy intially coz my bag was so heavy today, and have pulling feeling at the womb. But after awhile a client of my called and wanted to go for the appt & ask if can sent me to the client place instead of home? He was so angry and scolded me for wasting his time. I feel so mad. nw I'm trying to work as much as I can b4 tummy get bigger & I can't bring in any income but he is not supportive. it gives me an impulse to stop working and pass on all the financial burden to him, if men can get pregnant, I would pass the baby to him too.

sorry for all this negative msg. but I need somewhere to throw my fustration.

hkbb
Re: TMC or Mt A
Not sure about TMC more specialise or not

Re: bb's kickings
I felt the bb movement ard wk 15 but only visited my gynae ard 18wks plus. He asked me whether I could feel bb by then, I said yes. He never asked me when it started but he said to be able to feel ard 18wks plus is quite early. Did other mommies' gynaes check with u all when was your 1st bb's movement?

Re: Train seat
There was 1 time I nearly fainted in train so I asked a Malay lady in front of me to give up seat. She did give it up but with unhappy face. Later, she was talking to her fren sitting next to me in Malay (& she tot I dun understand Malay). She said "Aiyah, she asked me earlier then I give lah.." but later she saw her watch & said again, "Wahh, Boon Lay still so far away.. bla bla blah.." Very rude right?! I gave the seat back to her after 2-3 stops when I felt better but haven't reached my destination yet. She straight away sat back without saying anything. If I were her, I'd definitely say nevermind, just take the seat becos' someone who have asked for the seat, must be really in unbearable pain or uncomfortable liao.

SabSab,

I share ur frustration too! If not because my hubby's income alone can't manage the family. I got a 2 year old gal too. I wouldn't have continue work along!

Everytime I told him I got pain or not feeling well, he will just said ok u see dr take mc rest. He willl never like other caring hubbies who will tell their wife to stop working and take care of the pregnancy. Don even bother to suggest buy tonic for me. My mum staying in my hse only waiting for him to do so that why also didn't make any tonic for me at all.

I serving my probation and have been taking a lot of MC. I guess I will not meet their expectation and pass me probation period. Really got no face to go back work! Hubby tell me to endure till my maternity leave then after tat resign. I don't even know if I can pass my probation or not! My job is on sales basis,didn't meet target how to pass and entitle maternity leave?

poschin

thanks at least someone understand how I feel. I expect better treatment from him but don't if I asking for to much or he is giving to little.

but since u r pregnant under MOM law, they can't ask u to leave right? Maybe find out more from MOM in case.