(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

CNY to everyone and wish all of us has a health bb in 2009

My clothes are getting tighter. And find the maternity shop out there are quite expensive. Anyone knows where I can get some nice pieces?

Hi hami

welcome here.
think there are a few good ones online... that we mention previously... cant remember when or by who but think you can read our previous posts if you like.

princess

hahha... i also got the same prob... from my first till now.... seems now is worse... :p so the nurse give up on me already.... she always say that i was in the healthcare line but am worse then all the other patients! hahah just thick skin a bit loh that way it helps... otherwise got lots of left over meds that you will throw away leh. hahah then waste more money. :p

hbb

i only notice that i did not take the meds when its time to visit the dr... then hubby will start to grouch coz there will be meds left on the kitchen counter. :p

hami
CNY to you
i was talkin abt this to my colleague also and saying that it is expensive. she say that she wear dress all the way for her 2nd pregnancy. mayb can be the same to save some money?
after pregnancy at least still can wear.

elijah's mummy
yea lor. alwaes end up throwing awae medicine. esp when i turn 12 weeks they change the vitamins. even more heart pain! at least ur hubby will make u remember to eat. hahahas.

I had my 16th week visit yesterday, and got my test results from the OSCAR. Results were normal according to the gynae. I guess my highlight is seeing my little one during every visit's ultrascan. We nudged my little one a few times to open up so we can find out the gender, but little one just want to keep it a secret from mummy and daddy. I love it how she/he always looks like she/he is waving at us or dancing away during u/s and oscar.

I have been given only Obimin from the gynae so far, and taking salmon oil supplements (my own) too. But geez, I so need to separate the two into 2 pill boxes, cos the smell of the fish oil really brings on nausea.

I'm tired and I want to drink brands chicken of essence. I'm 16 weeks but was told not too cos it will darken the bb skin. Anyone taking it during their pregnancy. Please let me know.

sam
glad tat ur baby is doing fine! for me, on everi visit is do the scan first. and then i will forget everiting that i wanna sae or ask bcos too happi after seeing the baby. haha. guess every parents jus too excited to see their baby on each visit

qiqi
actualli tat one is pantang. see whether u believe it or not lor. like dey sae when u got wound also cannt take too black colour stuff as ur wound will bcome black. it depends on everibodi. but i still take it thou. mayb can take plus bird nest to 'balance' it? hees.

pprincess, my fren said Dr Chua is recommended by her fren who works in kkh since she oso prefers female gynae. Will update u once she sees her next tues

Hi elijah's mummy,
Mine is Dr Yvonne Chan from TMC. Haha, maybe I'm also a bit tomboy type, so her no-nonsence personality suits me & the husband.

Hi Qiqi,
I took Brands Chicken Essence. Don't think baby will be black black lah. My sister had strong cravings for coke during her pregnancy but my niece is still very fair. I drink at least a cup of coffee everyday, but wound also not all the time will leave scar. Think it all depends on the type of wound and the healing process. Heard shouldn't get too much sun on wound cos will increase scarring.

Yeah we are all entering feb soon...think it will be an exciting mth for all mummies cox we shd be able to detect our bb's gender soon when we do our detailed scan this mth
Can't wait for it to come!

Re: Pre-natal Powdered Milk vs Weight Gain
Any mummies taking pre-natal formula milk & gaining weight fast? I started taking 4 weeks pregnant & stopped when I couldn't stand milk cos of MS. Realized I put on 2 kg then. Now appetite the same as before, taking supplements btu I never put on weight. Think the milk was what was causing me to put on weight faster than recommended

jaz

am the 99 cohort. think that cecelia is the 98 cohort.

princess

hahah... hubby only remind me on the day that we got to see the dr... so how to finish? hahah then always tell the nurse that i still have lots at home loh... then excuse that i have missy friends that give me multivits that are same as theirs.
but once i run out definitely get from them. :p

lamagier

that is good news! hahah then now i got a female dr in my list to tell to my friends who ask....
hahah the famous one that i know of at tmc is cr paul tseng.
very well recommended by both drs and nurses, as well as mummies themselves.

qiqi

hmmm ya that thought is a 'pantang' thing that old people say.... hahah can tell those who say that to you that can take bird's nest if that is the case.... hahah then ask them to buy for you. also heard that bird's nest is good for the baby. hahah i took lots of it for my boy.... was taking a soup spoonful daily from the time i was 5mths preggy till i delivered.
hahah better yet it really helped with my skin!

thanks ladies for ur input about c-section, natural and epidural. i think u guys have a point that c-section takes longer to heal, going natural would probably be a better choice if possible, with or without epidural.

elijah'smummy, does ur backache focus on a point or generally the whole back??? for me, it focus on a point, that's why i suspect it's from epidural. but if i have to go natural again, i would opt for epidural again, cos i dun think i can tahan pain.

I think there is a thread on bird's nest in the forums, some says it works for them and others advise not. I have been told by my mum, it brings on phlegm in the baby, and both my hubby and I had childhood asthma, so I rather not increase the chances of my baby developing it. I always feel it's a really painful experience for both the child and parent to do though. But I guess anything good can be taken in moderation.

kitty
i went google abit on Dr irene chua. got some gd feedback. but not alot. hope she is gd!

elijah's mummy
gd excuse u haf! i alwaes paiseh & jus smile smile when the nurse sae me. hahas. but no choice lar. realli hard to remember to eat lehs! i put in office also will forget. esp when too busy

sam
isit bcos dey sae too 'liang' ting cannt eat as will cause baby to be weak & have asthma? bird nest also considered 'liang' huh? bcos my fren all keep nagging me. sae cannt drink tea & coffee. cannt drink cold drink etc. then whenever go out wif them can onli drink plain water. when they tell me if drink cold water, will 'freeze' baby, then i tinkin why hot water wun 'scald' baby leh. hahah. im abit stupid.

elijah's mummy & coolkero
i was blog hopping one dae and this young mummy was firm on not using epidural. then the nurse sae she dun use cannot, bcos i tink jus started onli and she cannt tahan the pain. then she tell the nurse ppl sae use liaos epidural will backache. the nurse tell her 'which women dun haf backache?' quite true. but i tink tat if can avoid then avoid right? somemore i hear alot of them sae the needle damn big!

princess

the needle is not big like the blood donation ones just very long!!!

sam

the version i heard is that cant take before baby is 5mths, this is coz that is when baby's lungs are developing.... hahah then maybe they carry on with the saying coz then bird nest that we are supposed to be able to take is the pinkish in color one (think its called "xue yan")think can ask these at the shops but they are super costly.... my mum ships them in from HK for me to take... hahah my MIL says that this not good for baby cant take...(hahah then found out from relatives that she was saying wah so expensive why must buy for me to take...)so could it be a cost thing that is why alot of oldies say cant take?

hmmm i thought that birdnest was considered “ren/ fei" my mum fed me with birdnest to help with my asthma when i had childhood asthma.... cleared now though that is why she was feeding me with it during my first pregnancy too....her way of preventing my boy from it as we have a genetic history to it.

ppprincess
my gynae always ask me if i still have enuf supplements. So I'll just tell him I have enough cos I just bought from pharmacy. He's ok wif it. There's once he prescribed for me already. Then when the nurses gave me, I just tell them I don't want. They are all fine with it. So far, I'm only getting my dha pills from clinic.

haha... drink cold water will freeze baby... all the funny thoughts huh? Tell them, by the time cold water goes down our throat, into stomach n reach baby, will be warm up by our body temperature already... Hehe

qiqi,
I don't believe in it too. For my boy, I had bird nest from 2nd trimester all the way to delivery once a week. They say baby will be fair and have smooth complextion. Drank soya milk quite frequently. Also never drink coffee throughout. But when he was born, he was very dark even though both hubby and me are fair. But as he grows up, he becomes fairer. This time round, I drank a lot of chicken essence leh cos no time to go back to mum's place for tonics.

lamagier,
not sure if drink milk powder will gain more. Maybe some truth. When I had #1, weight gain was a bit little. Gynae asked me to drink milk powder. I just started drinking. Not everyday though. Last 3 wks, I put on almost 3kg. But I attribute it to the increased appetite plus the daily supper hubby bought back.

The thread I mentioned earlier on the bird's nest: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/351668.html
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/977252.html?

I have taken lots of Chinese remedies as a child to strengthen my condition, but considering that both parents have childhood asthma, I like to lower my chances of bringing it on. The discussion in the above threads mostly talks about the cosmetic benefits of taking bird's nest during pregnancy, but still an undelying belief that over-consumption (possibly too "liang") can trigger asthma or other allergy conditions. Other likely effect from taking bird's nest is that very often it needs to go thru some processing to clean up the dirt and other impurities in the bird's nest.

Nonetheless, it is a high-protein source which probably is not detrimental but always wise take anything too good in moderation.

There are by the way, lots of nutritional and tasty dishes for expecting mothers, most of them hidden away in the Chinese section of the library or found in the Chinese cookery section of shops like Kino. Most of then deal with cooking foods that are really basic like greens, fish, beans, and eggs etc, and improving the texture and taste of those foods to help with our tricky discomforts like nausea, constipation, deficiency in calcium, and anemia. There are also little pockets of knowledge such as common things like taking coffee and milk tea or beer, because such drinks contain tannin which combines with iron, the iron will thus not be easily absorbed by the intestines. Interesting reads if you are not put off by the amount of Chinese characters in the books, and definitely less dry than the English books on diet for expectant mothers, which feels very outdated.

elijah's mummy
i never see both needle before. but im scare of needle. so better dun. i still remb when i last went to KKH, they gimmie duno wad injection is on the tigh! end up cant walk for mani daes. not scare of pain, but scare of needle. haha. so haf to bear wif the pain & hope baby come out faster when its time.

babyethan
next visit bring my vitamins and tell my gynae i taking wad see need to change not. bcos switch gynae they might gif different kind of vitamins. but hope wun waste money!
chinese haf alot of funni funni thoughts. pantang & myths lor. but still try to avoid if can lar. bcos dey sae realli nt gd for baby. but too bad, sometimes craving is for cold drinks! hees.
drinking milk will gain weight? i got 1 tin, haven start drinkin yet. but it is also some kind of vitamins right? i find it rather troublesome to make the milk & drink. lazy me.

sam
went to read thru the thread on bird nest. abit too chim for understanding -.- have both positive and negative feedback. bcome more confused liaos!

i was also told birdnest might cause allergy n asthma
but my gf who is quite into TCm tell mi the asthma is cause by the feather in the bird nest.. so must clean them well if we wan to eat
not sure how true
but i guess eat in moderation is the best ans.

HBB
i jus nw went to the bird nest thread, dey sae tat some baby is allergy to the bird nest and duno wad antigen. so will cause them to haf asthma. so i also duno should take or not lor. confused. up till nw i dun take tonics bcos too exp for me. onli if my colleagues buy or cook then i will drink abit.
aniwae i jus nw call KKH again. they tell me the consult dun include scan and u/s cost $40-$70 onli. duno yesterday that lady tell me $150 pop from where. bcos i ask if DS how much, she sae between $130-$200.

pprincess
actualy i tink stuff liek birdnest
is just a bonus. i find it quite a waste of money also but dh insist on buyin some so i jus let him buy a bit
but seriously
i dun tink no eat tat will hav -ve or positive effect
so dun worry if u dun eat that ok
u can try eatin white fungus
its very cheap (few dollars a pack) and jus boil w red dates and a bit of wolf berry n rock sugar.
the lady at medical hall say is poor mans vrsion of bird nest and can eat weekly or twice a week. so u might wan consider eating that

im sure u eat it anot.. baby also come out nice nice one dun wory =)

i understand how u feel when tonic are realy ex cos i feel the pinch when i brew tonics also. afterall i dun work.. depend on dh alone v shiong.

the d/s test which include the scan plus blood test i lost the receipt but i rem it was near 4300, mayb cos also i did the thelasamia blood test as well that y cost a bit more
i tink if jus scan and no blood test (to hav better accuracy of the d/s risk) cost lesser mayb thats hw the 130 come from

i tink when u ask bout the pricing.. it varies between wat sort of patient u are like in TPS, normal clinic or general clinic

mayb they quote u the normal clinic charges. cos normal clinic like some of the ladies say dun scan every visit. so u pay as per scan bah?
but if u work in NUH.. then mayb easier for u to hav check up in NUH?

hbb

agree with your gf. its really the feathers that cause the prob.... must be super clean if we are to eat. hahah yaps birdsnest is really a bonus another good option is the white fungus/ frog vomit. these are coz of the high protein that they contain that is good for baby's growth. another is to take more collagen. think the item is called "her piao", price at crystal jade is 20 per pot.

elijah
so gotto realy spend effort in removing feathers if wan drinkbird nest hehe...

the hashima aka frog intestine or sth...
its not advisible to drink too much as its actualy very 'han' as advised by the lady fr the medical shop

her piao is fish maw rite?
sea cucumber also v high in collagen
all r very good for preggy hehe

hbb

hahah yaps you got it all! they are the supposed 'bu' items for all that are preggy.

princess

where do you stay? hahah we can share and share alike.

HBB
i got change appt and is at TPS so after tat then i ask the charges. so she is gifing me TPS charges i tink? 3 more weeks to my check up in KKH then see hows the bill like.
me nt workin at NUH. mess up liao. haha. me is under NHG group. not workin under ani hospital. more on the polyclinic side.

elijah's mummy
i jus nw ask my colleague she sae gd 1 dun even need to remove feather. jus need to soak in the water can liaos. she sae 1 piece per week enuff. take from 4 months onwards. for all her 3 children she all like tat take. sae bcos 4 months onwards then go to baby. take earlier is for us. birdnest so exp should save for baby mar. has.
i stae at cck. how abt u?

princess

i stay at tpy.
for the birdnest yaps not much to pick if its the really really good ones but those cost a bomb! yaps thats what my mum did for me too, cook 1 piece per week then i would make it last me a whole week by taking a spoonful daily (balance keep in clean airtight jar in the fridge) coz i feel that when taken in small amts then our body absorbs the birdnest better mah

I'm a Mar 09 MTB.

Am selling a SIMILAC MUM (700G), totally unopened can. Expiry date: Sept 09, selling it as my hubby bought too many cans and I can't finish it.

- The New Maternal Supplement for Pregnant & Breastfeeding Mums (Low Fat)
- Contacts DHA, folic acid, calcium, vitamin D, zinc, FOS
- Retail price S$21
- Collection at AMK or Bishan MRT
- Interested parties, pls pm me.

GET IT AT ONLY S$15!

elijah's mummy
isit? my fren see 20-30 per piece can liaos. birdnest so mani kind. scare later duno go to medical hall and ask them, they will 'tock' us bcos see we duno aniting.

elijah mummy
ya the good bird nest gt lesser feather..
the suan yan is actualy the loose pieces of nest they put together so after cookign they wun b such huge chunk as compare to the more ex one.. i but the uncle at hock hua told mi its ok one.

pprincess
20-30 per piece?
u mean $20-$30 is it? i tink about that price leh
cos if buy 2 liang free 1 liang.. total up is about 16 to 17 pcs. if 1 liang cost ard $150, so $300 for 3 liang(16-17pcs) is less than $30 bucks per piece actualy

I just came back from M'sia. Able to buy some baby clothes at quite reasonable price...ard RM12.90 for short sleeves with pants and ard RM17.90 for long sleeves with pants. Bought some cloth diapers also. So happy

Re: bird nest

Have been taking bird nest since my 12th week. Think should be ok to take as long as dun take too much.

Bought the bird nest from hock hua at $300+ for 3 liang. got ard 28 to 30 pcs. maybe the type i bought is the small type tat's y got so many pcs. Actually can buy 'yan bing' if you find 'yan zhan' is expensive. It's the diff way they processed the bird nest but the diff in price can be quite huge.

elijah's mummy
nono. is okie. dun need to b sorriew. jus askin

HBB
yupies, abt $20-$30 per piece lor. but buy so mani together also haf to fork out so much suddenly. heart pain. but kinda exp hor. mayb have to seek alternative liao.

beverly
if u got car and can drive in and buy more stuff then more bargain. i saw from 1 mummy she went to malaysia buy cot and all tat. veri cheap onli lor. but b careful when u go in hor. esp when u pregnant liaos
so yan bing & yan zhan is actualli the same? bird nest is realli chim. hahs.

Re: Posture
Just to share. i was reading obnline cos I find myself getting increasingly uncomfortable after wsitting at my work station for too long.... partly as I tend to slouch after working on computer for too long and I tend to cross my legs at the knees.

http://ezinearticles.com/?Posture-and-Pregnancy&id=113880
However slumping forward because of fatigue has it's own problem as it can be more difficult to breathe and slumping pushes the rib cage down onto the stomach. The compression reduces the space available for the stomach and stomach acid may be forced into the esophagus resulting in heartburn.

http://www.globalspine.net/pregnancy.html
As your pregnancy progresses you may find that sitting for long periods becomes increasingly uncomfortable. It is helpful therefore to keep changing your position, walking around frequently - at least every half an hour or so. It will also become increasingly difficult to stand up from a low, deep chair, causing unnecessary strain in your back and sacroiliac joints. Therefore try to choose an upright and firm chair to sit it, and you can support your lumbar spine with a small cushion, if required. Sit with both feet on the ground or with your feet raised on a foot stool. Never sit with your legs crossed at the knees, as this twists your pelvis and lumbar spine, as well as impairing the circulation in your legs.

lamagier
thanks for the information! ive also been feeling stiffness at the back since 1 week ago & thought that it is my usual back problem. but i think as working in office is very hard for us to walk around in the office, that cannot be done that much. like u, i also sit cross legs at the knees & always slouching. time for us to change our habit

Re: 3 full meals vs Many small meals
Have mummies here start to go on small-but-many-meals-a-day or still on 3 full meals a day? Cos I've been having 3 full meals a day so I can eat with the husband. But the past 2 days have been feeling like I have overate after meals and will puke. It still feels like its too early for baby to be compressing my stomach......

lamagier
i already switch to 3 meal a day for 3 to 4 weeks already cos starting to feel m/s is slowing down
if u feel u overeat mayb eat what u feel u can then the rest jus leave it.
for mi at certain times i cant fin 1 portion aso
strangely my appetite is not v good i dun even wan to snack

Hi HBB and lamagier, my appetite oso not that gd. In fact, nw i only eat things i like but i still snack a bit when i'm bored...

Haiz, i'm on mc today cox hav been very sick for the last few days. I feel so guilty nw everytime i ate med....wonder it is going to affect my bb...sob

kitty
my dh keep saying i eating too little
he feel i need to eat for 2 which is not right lor
tsk tsk

u told ur gp u preggy rite ? if u told him and he shld giv u sth safe to eat.
cos i rem medication got diff class one the class A oen is safe for preggy n BF mummy. so dun feel bad.. i understand how u feel so i try nt to fall sick aso

if u v sick and no eat medicine affect bb worse..
jia you ok drink more water to speed up recovery so no need eat med soon =)

HBB, do u still hav cravings now? Eat more of those you like, but muz be healthy food oso.

My GP knows i'm preg but i'm jus afraid that i will take longer time to get well cox the med given cannot be very strong oso. But more worried for the bb. Heard 4mths onwards watever we consume go to the kid, and purposely i get sick fr 4mths onwards. So sad

kitty
i got no craving one
funny hor!!
so logn as no sweet n salty thg can liao
but must eat rice!!!
but i limit myself 1 day eat 1 time rice onli cos scare v high in sugar hee

dun tink too much
u willr ecover v fast !!!
aft u recover rem take more fruits to boost ur immune so wun fall sick again
i keeping my finger cross i dunf all sick cos every oen ard mi is sick leh

kitty

don be guilty coz gps now adays are very careful so should be quite safe.

ahhh for me, my ms is back again.... having been dizzy and piking my guts out the last 2 days... not to mention my appetite is now safe to say down to zero!

then again... my boy is also sick an puking away.... hmmmm maybe should see a dr and check this bug out hur... :p

Kitty,
Take care. Don't get too upset over taking the meds, afterall, all mummies don't want to be sick and take meds. I also worry if all the flu, gastric pains med I have taken will cause harm to baby, but no choice. Really not well, still have to take in case illness spread.

Most important is to try to get well first so mummy body won't hurt the baby. Just before pregnancy I had flu and doc give not strong enough med, end up got lymph node infection... even worse.... Too 2 weeks of super duper strong anti-biotics to fight off the infection.

I usually check online all the meds which doctors & gynae provide. My pharmacist friend said it is still safe to take up to Class B meds during pregnancy.

Hi HBB
I have already drummed into the husband's head what I read in magazines... Preggy ladies need only 300 calories more a day, not eat for 2. It's the quality of meal that counts, not the quantity! If he buy too much food and I cannot finish, he will have to finish for me and end up his tummy will become bigger than mine =p

elijah mummy
quick brign ur boy to doc
scare got virus then spread to u not good!!!

lamagier ya lor i also read is 300 calories more
tats like 1 bowl of rice more onli... haiz MEN!!!
for mi is i eat v little last time before i preggy
liek 2 meal a day nia so now if i eat 3 meal a day consider more also
but of cos if i hungry i will continue to eat
dun deprive my bb hehe