(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Hi zolldoll

I don't think is good to take crab during pregnancy lei, cos crab usually intake decompose food...
kao_dizzy.gif

i tried to guess my baby's gender myself, and for 2 times, i got it right. I look at the shape of my tummy : if it is 'sharp' and protruding, then is boy, if is not sharp, but more on the round and flat side, then is gal. Hope this method works for u too ^^

Actually im also keen to eat black pepper crab but MIL say cannot eat crabs due to old wive tale.. BB will be handful to handle ..

My tummy is more protruding or pointed at the belly button area..

my mum had loads of crab before she gave birth to me and I was fine :)))) That was what she told me, now that I'm expecting...

Hee, i heard of this old wives tale too. I took it when i was expecting my son, and he is really quite a handful now. But i got no choice, i seem to only have appetite when i take crabs. I can really eat alot ha ha..Now tummy still quite small so i think hard to tell protruding or round.

Babyethan, poshicon,

Congrats yar!! Must be reali thrilled!! Read that normally 2nd pregnancy, mommy are more sensitive towards movement. Can normally felt it at 15 weeks. 1st pregnancy like me will have to wait till abt 18 weeks.

Anyway, yday went for the Oscar cse my hubby insisted on doing. Never regret lar.. Also saw baby kicking vigorously inside, but can't feel it though.. :p So, me can't wait for the day man...

Yen,
I am born in 74. How abt u?

Koko,
Doc advised me to go for amnio test after bb belong to high risk cat. and after much consideration, I decided to go for it as I want to ensure my bb is normal and healthy. Moreover, the accuracy is 99%. Were you ask to do it as well?

Mashy
How you know that is bb's movement? I only know that once I finish a meal, my stomach is gonna to burst and feel extremely full up to my chest. It is such a uncomfortable feeling and now, I dun even dare to eat abit more. I am going into my 15th weeks soon n too hope to be able to feel bb's movement.

Hi MTBs

im from Aug'08 thread.. Selling away Clarins tonic oil as i am not using, only used 10% while i was preggie. Bought this about last yr June. Selling for $50 only

2061997.jpg

Mashy,

Wow! Yr #1 must be an atheletic. Ha Ha!
Pray Pray mine will be early too.. But it was really amazing when I saw the scan yday, just one month ago was only sac, now already kicking inside.. Feel like crying when I saw.

Sorry ah, 1st time mom. So beli emotional. Ke Ke!!

Hi Mashy and Cecelia,

When i went for my scan last week, i could not believe my eyes too. My baby seems to be jumping, even his body seems to be bouncing, and flapping his/her arms while lifting legs high up. All this only in the first trimester. My doc says my baby can do yoga ha ha..

Hi Cecilia,
Yah, pretty amazing to see baby move. I was too amazed to feel teary or anything. I'm going for OSCAR test on 15th, hopefully can see baby in more detail and see baby move.

MrsC,
I'm also a bit hesitant to take crab too, got dinner coming up.... Salted egg yoke with Sri lanka crab... (*drool*) Boss told me his wife took a lot of crab during pregnancy cos no appetite for anything else. His son has attention deficient problem (hyperactive). But then, he's also super high metabolism person, maybe that's just in his genes.

Shrimps also feed off algae, plankton and decomposing stuff. And shrimps also move a lot and always busy stuffing food in their mouth (I have shrimps in my home aquarium). But haven't come across anyone mention need to avoid shrimp.... That's why I can't really decided on eat crab or not....

And the fact that I'm still having my daily coffee. Feel guilty to my baby, try to make up to baby by being strict on other area of my diet. Always have phobia that something I unwittingly do now will affect baby permanently.... Not easy being mother.

Zolldoll,

Yar lor, very cute hor!! :p Now I really counting on the next visit. Wants to see baby progress more.. By next visit, baby would have some senses and feeling of the space around it le.

HI Katerine,

I'm also with SF LOH. My EDD is 23rd July, so far I'm only sch to go for Down syn test tis coming monday, but will be seeing doc next sat.

Actually, Dr. Loh is a very nice guy. You can ask him why he recommend you for the cardio test and is there anything that his worried abt that he doesn't wants you to know or is the cardio test a norm. His very frank and ready to answer your qs.

For my hubby n me, we always ask him lots of qs (since wait so long b4 get to see him, might as well ask to clear all ur doubts).

FOr my case, I did a detail ultrasound scan 1 month ago cos he is concerned that my baby position is too high (might be interstitial preg = baby position above and outside uterus). The result came out fine.

I believe for ur case its the same -- he just wanna play safe that any abnormality is detected early. So dun worry too much
yeh!

Cheers.

Cecelia,

Ya, me too. I look forward to the visits and wish it comes faster each time i leave the clinic. My cousin told me this old fashion way to see we carrying boy or girl. Take the rice method. Grab any amount and count how many rice. But i forgot even number is boy or girl or vice versa with odd number.

But seeing my bb so hyper makes me happy and more secure.

lamagier,

I ever had strong craving for crab too.. Till one day, I really cannot dahan, I went to buy crab myself without the knowldge of my hubby. After tasting that on that day, my craving for crab is totally gone now. Cse I have tasted it and felt contented le. In fact after tat I puked out everything due to my MS. :p

Cecelia,

i've asked my hub to take me for chili crab.. so one fine evening he brought me to this zhi char place said to have not bad chili crab.. but after my 1st mouthful of the sauce i got turned off.. cos i tasted peanut or peanut bits in the sauce and it was totally yucky to me..

so i have made my mind either long beach / jumbo seafood's chili crab otherwise just normal steam crave to stop the craving!

this time rnd my tastebuds and sense of smell gont heywired.. My usual pentene shampoo smell like watermelon shampoo to me.. so everytime i lather the shampoo on my hair i got to hold my breathe and quickly rinse it off..

same goes with the shower gel

i just feel it all smell really weird..

CNY coming.. i hope my usual goodies will not taste weird loh.. i already find the kuit bangkit not my fav anymore.. so far love letter still okie.. Just bought my fav sugee from bangawan solo.. keke

Cecelia,

But i try to stop my craving for orange juice though, although i fail at times.

To all mummies who like me crave for very very good delicious black pepper crabs. I went to this house of seafood in Yio Chu Kang, highly recommended by my colleagues and now i swear by it. I tried a few other places but none can be matched up to this place, even in terms of the size of the crabs and pricing and most importantly taste. It is a must try ha..

Kat

Dunno how to describe leh. Somehow you'll know. It's a bit like twitching like that. After the first few times, u'll know it's the kicking.

Cecelia
You're right abt that. My boy is very active. Even now. He was kicking like siao in my tummy, and now, he has potential to be a gymnast.

Sunsweet,

Totally agree with you regarding the change of smell. There's one time my hubby ate the chicken in a biscuit. End up, for the following days, I felt that he smelt like chicken, n shoo him away.. Ha Ha!! Now, I banned him from eating tat totally. Just dun like the "chicky" smell.. :p Then another occasion I was so craved for sakae sushi, who knows the moment I went in felt like puking after smelling someone's ramen soup. Then after the sushi, went to popular bookshop and find the whole place smelt like ppl farting. My hubby laughed and laughed.. Ke Ke!

Zolldoll,
Y wanna torture yourself? Just drink man.. :p Ha Ha! For me, I drank 100 plus, coke, sarsi, orange juice blar blar blar.. But only 2 - 3 sips, and I'm totally satisfied. I think it really helps to quench yr craving lei.. But waste money though. Cse after drinking a few sips, I will throw the whole thing away.

Mashy,
Can picture you slim slim.. Cse gotta chase after him everyday, burn alot of calories.. Ha HA!! My father always says, children active then normal, if keep quiet then tat's the time we must reali worry..

thanks lamagier, hope the tiredness will be gone in second trimester. btw any breastfeeding moms or those who plan to fully breastfeed? wanna ask if its better to pump out or latch on during nite time? will the baby refuse breast once they have bottle? my first daughter was on formula cos my mil didn't like breastfeeding, but now i'm not staying with her and would like to try breastfeeding.

coolkero

i am a breastfeeding mummy though now my milk supply has lessened (heheh due to the pregnancy)...
but well he still refused to totally wean of breastfeeding. i personally prefer to latch on all the time for the 1st month or so.... (i actually ignored all the comments about me not giving enough to the baby... etc)... this actually help as no one is able to see in actual fact how much milk you are giving baby and as long as there is healthy weight gained there is no worries. :p i also have to confess that as i am a sahm i find that pumping is a hassel especially in the 1st month, not to mention painful! also i would rather sleep at night then to think about pumping. my boy has never rejected the bottle nor my breast for that matter (sorry ah so explicit).

Hi ladies! A few nights ago I got a very strong intuitive feeling that this baby will be a boy, even though I have not done any detailed scan or any other 'games' to find out. (I'm 11wks going into 12wks, 1st baby.) This is even though I actually prefer a girl (of cos, the most important is healthy lah!). Anyone gets feelings like this too? If you could choose, would you rather have a girl or boy?

It'll be funny to find out the actual gender at my next scan, to see if I'm right! (Or wrong!)

elijah'smummy,
thanks for advice, can i ask how u survive the nite feeding? because i heard newborn drink about 2-3 hours interval, hehehe, how old is ur son now? i am woried, i dunno if i can handle total breastfeeding.

sunnyduck, our due dates are same, when is ur next scan? hope ur instinct is right...

coolkero

don think about it so much now and just go with the flow. hahah now is really just the time to enjoy your pregnancy and not think about what the future will bring but to enjoy every moment to its fullest! (this is what another mummy told me when i was first preggy with my boy
as for surviving.... hahah within the first week i taught hubby how to latch baby on to me at night and he was actually the one who woke and passed baby over... hahah i think he was more tired then me at the end of the day. also i slept at all times of the day as long as i was tired i did not really take notice of baby other then seeing to his feeding....left it all to the confinement aunty (who was very experienced) another thing that i did was to hide all forms of milk powder so that no one would be tempted to give baby any other milk then breastmilk. hahah

oh i can also give you an advantage of breastfeeding... hahah no need to bring any hot water, milk powder, milk bottles or water out. hahah now that we have started my boy on formula my hubby has been complaining.... it was so much easier when my boy was just a totally breastfed baby. hahah

poshicon
ya... my tummy like 5 mths preggy now. since this week, i have someone asking me if i'm preg in office. think i can't hide any further. On train, i also get people who offers seat. i guess sometimes it's the clothes we wear. some clothes make our tummy more prominent n people will know rather than guessing if really preg or fat.

i think there's some truth to apperance change if having a boy. for my 1st preg, i had a lot of pimples at 1 time. luckily nose didn't change. i had friends who expected boys n their nose was a bit rounder n more oily

coolkero
i want to fully breastfeed this time round and is aiming to total bf for 6mths. 1st one, i didnt read up much n supplement wif fm cos baby wants to latch on every hr during his 1st mth... too tiring. but soon i realise that it doesnt make a difference to give bm or fm. so at one point i was on tbf for sometime. only when i start work n supply drops, i supplement wif fm.

personally i also prefer to latch on at night. less of a hassle. my boy also did not reject the breast. in fact, he reject bottles. i got so worried cos i was going to start work soon.

re: breast pump
what pump did anyone used or intend to use? thinking of investing in a good one this time. thinking of Medela's PIS vs Ameda. I was using Swing. it was good but thinking of getting a dual pump this time to save more time. used a 2nd hand ameda before. but my supply seems to drop soon after. not sure if it's becos of the suction or cos it's 2nd hand n not as good anymore.

babyethan

heheh my dream pump would be the avent duo. hahah but with the price tag of 799...... hahha well am currently using the avent manual but am thinking to upgrade when no. 2 comes along.... i tried both the manual pumps for avent and medela and i would still rather stick with avent... (medela gives me swollen nipples when i try too hard. especially in the begining also when my supply has stabilized i find that i tend to have larger nipples after using the medela pump) but as with every pump everyone has a fave. my friend swears by her medela pis, her claim that it increased her supply by 3oz. but for me i curse it... too painful for me so am hoping against hope to get the avent duo.

oh also forgot to mention that with bf you don have to sterilize bottles and baby stuff at night also don have to wake and make milk just unbutton and latch on... hahah

elijah'smummy
i must say avent manual is good. i was using the advent manual n the swing at the same time... 1 on each side... keke. it's true that it's more comfy bcos of the petals. i get letdown very fast too. but tiring on hands leh. i got the manual pump when i found that my swing was failing me. supply dropped. after using avent, my supply actually increase. when i use both at the same time, i get more milk from the avent. does it mean avent more suitable for me? i was thinking of PIS cos it's dual pump n electric. didnt come across to consider duo. want to invest in a good one but don't know which is better for me. don't wish to pay a high price and end up wif a not suitable one.

is the duo good? i saw a mummy using it in a nursing room. but seems rather bulky to carry around.

Hi Katherine

My appt is oso 8am, so i will see u there. But wonder how come tey schedule us for same appt time...actually i was quite dilemna & confused then when the counsellor talked to me abt cvs and amnio. cvs can know the result earlier, shd be before cny whereas amnio the earliest to do is coincidentally on 28 jan, which is right after cny & gotta wait till mid feb for the result. anyway was more comfortable wif amnio so opted for it.

babyethan

hahah... i got to agree with you on the hands getting tired! hahah that was the reason i am no longer actively pumping after my boy was 7months. heheh just latched him on.

hmmmm. i must say that it was the same results for me too. i assumed that the avent was better for me (hehhe could not stand the painful nipples too)

hmmm, bad points about the duo. pump need electrical point to work, bulky to carry around, bag size and weight is that of a laptop bag x 2.

good points
fast and min noise, can be converted to manual, more comfy (in my opinion) due to the petals, fast late down with tried and tested remarks that even the manual is as good if not better then the hospital grade pumps

heheh maybe i am just pro avent coz i only have good things and experiences with it with my boy.

oh but for the milk teats my boy rejected all avent teats only took to nuk teats.
so i also had to get the min amt of nuk bottles. some nuk premium teats could be used together with avent bottles but not all. its a luck thing.

elijah'smummy
thanks. for me, medela still ok. no painful nipples. just that it's funnel is not as comfy as avent's. i really like that invention. if can combine both, how nice. think duo may not be workable for me. too heavy n bulky to lug around when start work.

my boy same as yours. reject all teats except nuk teats cos i start him on that. anyway, they say nuk teats are the closest to our nipples. so i always buy nuk teats to fit my avent bottles. for this #2, going to let him/her start on avent. much easier if got used to it.

hopper,
what was yr result like? mine was 1:1200+. dr told me it's normal n no need to go for amino. but realised that some of u gals here's normal ratio is in ten thousands. now i wonder if mine still considered normal. remembered someone posted a link on the results interpretation. care to share again?

So envious that u all can see yr bb moving during the scan. So far all my scans, my bb is sleeping so comfortably inside. Hope can see the movement the time i hav my appt

My hb oso encouraging me to do full breastfeeding. But i'm afraid it's quite painful. And i oso heard fr frenz that they were unable to squeeze out milk and in the end, it's blood instead. V scary...

Hi Sunnyduck,

Me same as u. Keep having this "hunch" that this will be a boy (my 1st pregnancy too). Even had 2 consecutive nights of dreams sometime back, of having a boy.

1st night - my newborn baby boy knows how to walk like a 1-yr-old kid, but din talk yet. I was really surprised at his ability to walk!

2nd night - I dreamt I have a 1+ to 2 yr old kid by the name of Lucas.

Hahaha... funny right? I must be thinking too much.

I heard that baby boys are very cute when they are at infant stage. Not sure if its true or not. Same as u, so long baby is healthy and normal, we are satisfied. But at the same time, I hope to give my in-laws the first grandSON.. at least something different since I already have 2 nieces in the family. Then I hope to have (must have) a girl for my 2nd one if this is boy. I always wish to have 1 boy 1 girl. More balanced.

But just hope if its really a boy, he wun be disobedient or overactive such that I cannot control him..I have seen such boys before and really dun like.

Hi Preciousthots,

Congrats and happy to know that we are actually having the same EDD!!! this world is so small isn't it? : ) When's ur next scan?

I have these to let go.

(1) Dunstan Baby Language DVD set Paid $60. Selling for $30.

(2) My Brest Friend in Dots www.mybrestfriend.com. Used for a month. Cover already washed. Paid around $60. Selling for $20.

(3) The Peanut Shell sling in Retro Pink (reversible) in size 2. Never used because baby doesn't like it. Washed once and there's a little run in colour. But very small patch. http://www.thepeanutshell.com/shop/baby_slings/reversible_slings/retro_pink_baby_sling
Paid around $80 for mine. Selling for $40.

Interested, email me at [email protected]. Thanks!!

wah elijah'smummy, you have a good hubby, you are very lucky. i guess with the second one, it's gonna be more challenging n tiring, rite? but u r so rite, if total breastfeed, then can save energy on cleaning bottles and when going out no need carry so many things. i'm considering a confinement lady this time round, and perhaps a massage lady also. can i ask how much is the market rate for confinement lady and massage lady???

babyethan, same like u, my aim is 6 months, i'll try with total BF, if cannot tahan, will supplement with FM. i'll pray hard i dun give up. hehehehe...

i just came back from great world mall and the zara there has maternity pants, cool...it's so fitting, i bought a pair of jeans ($129 kinda ex but i'm a jeans girl), but they also have working pants. u guys can check it out if pass by.

cecelia

You're right. If my boy quiet quiet means he's sick. And very sick. Sometimes even though he's running a fever, he can still run ard. Only when it's really very jia lut, then he'll lie down and not move much.

Just like to let you know that there are some great deals for this CNY at Maternity Exchange at Marina Square #03-108. They've got a new New Recessionista Rental Package - just $129 for 4 pcs, which is great for those who just want a few pieces, like for Chinese New Year! The package is valid for a year and each piece can be rented for 4 to 8 weeks. You can also buy brand new pieces or rent by individual piece.

Or if you're busy or lazy to step out, you can also shop online at
http://shop.maternityexchange.sg/shop/index.cgi. They're having 10% off new CNY styles for online purchases.

They've got lots of new maternity and nursing styles out, especially at their Marina Square flagship store. So, do pop by for a look!

More details can be found at http://www.maternityexchange.sg
or http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/

Happy New Year!

My oscar and blood test result back. My gynae told me my result is 1:250! In hundreds only not in thousands!Which he mention is slight risk of DS. So he advise me to do amino! This is my 2nd preg, and I'm only 31+ yrs old le!

He said that amino only done in 18-10 weeks. Now I'm 14 weeks, still got to worry for 4 weeks.

Any mummies can share their experiences?

hi poshicon,
i'm doing mine on 19 jan. but my gynae told me before 35 years old is about 1/300, so every 299 happy moms and 1 unhappy mom. and he also said if the test ok, then 80% shouldn't be a problem, but he will only advice to take amnio if u really want 100% or over 40 years old. i'll share more after the test...

Hi poshicon

this is also my 2nd preg. my risk is much higher than yours. my doc said amnio can be done after 16 wks and i am going for amnio on 28 jan. i have been worrying since 29 dec when i got the result. after tat its another long wait for the result.

1. BP for medela freestyle US import at half the price of Singapore medela freestyle set (already 3 mummies interested, pls PM me for info if interested)

2. Babymall online BP first batch ordered, still have mummies interested for second batch order, some USD more to hit 180usd, pls PM for info

3. Drugstore BP - Pls PM for info and also ready stock for california calendular cream at bulk purchase price, desitin creamy 4oz and first teeth enzyme toothpaste avail

4. Capella Strollers

Hi coolkero and hopper,

Thanks for sharing abt amino. I will likely to do it next mth after my gynae visit on 30 Jan.

I just heard fr my friend tat at 30 years old alry will start to have risk. Tat's y better give birth before 30 years old.

I definitely will go for the test despite there's a risk of miscarriage.

This news really make us need to mentally prepared for the worst outcome.

The worst outcome would be if really DS, will you still keep or abort the baby?

poshicon

i know that i don fit into this cat of mummies as i am actually a rather young mummy.

but here is my 2 cents worth, my opinion is that ds babies are more loving and though you have more work in looking after them in the long run, its still possible to adapt them into normal society though it takes more work and a much longer time. (got this opinion coz i have some friends with ds babies and they are some of the most polite babies that i have seen. the first to give up their seats to old people.... and so on.) friends comments on their kids are that these babies really live by example as with all babies but to a greater extent. others may stare at your baby alot but that is only because of their diff in looks. once they get over that they will come to love them on their own.