(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

hi Lamagier,

I too feel cold most of the time in both my pregnancy..

need my jacket all the time when i office + cold nights..

so I'm actually wondering how many ppl feels warm thruout pregnancy??

sunsweet

I felt warm thru out my 1st preg. But maybe coz i was preg in May, so it's the hottest periods. Even had heat rash and I was sweating like a pig.

Me too lamagier & sunsweet, i always feel so cold that i hav to sleep w/o fan. Haha then my poor hb has to suffer with me...

Hi HBB

I did asked my gynae and he said to eliminate any possibilities that bb's neck thickness to be due to any heart defects etc. So my gynae advised me to go for the scan. He is Dr SF Loh, a senior consultant in KKH. Anyone heard or use him before?

Beside the scan, I will be going for the amnio test too, scheduled on 28th Jan. This test will be done personally by professor John Tee. Seems that I will be going for alot more tests than any mummies in this thread.

I am actually quite worried about this scan. Dunno what to expect.

I had been scheduled to go for my scan on 15th Jan. Btw, I am in my 14 weeks plus.

Sunsweet,
I felt super warm thruout my first pregnancy. At home only wore underwear. Slept no need blanket, switch-on air con also hot. Ate all the heaty food also no problem. This pregnancy very different, feel cold and cant eat heaty food.

sunsweet

Oh yah, my boy also sweat like a pig. Even when he's a bb, he'll feel so hot and I can't even swaddle him. Since young he needed to have a fan blowing at him when he sleeps. I wonder if it's related to how i felt when i was preg with him. Now that I'm always feeling cold, maybe #2 will like to be wrapped up tightly.

Hi Sunsweet

I think this cardio scan will show even more detailed heart chambers and blood vessels. I really puzzled by this additional scan that I need to go through...haizz....

But guess I have no choice but to go through as I want to know bb is fine. Once I get more infor, I will share in this thread. I just pray that all results will be ok.

Humm... seems like a lot of 'cold' ladies. My aunt and my sister all complain hot and flushed during pregnancy, especially later stage... Maybe cold is really due to weather... ALso not sure. Just that the husband & SIL say warm and on the fan, but I still feel chilly...

Just a word of caution: Do not take tomic water, bitter lemon or anything with Quinine during pregnancy. Quinine is a Cateogory D drug. Sigh, I love bitter lemon. Took a few cans during first 1.5 months of pregnancy... Cross my fingers and hope nothing bad happens...

Now I feel like super bad mummy. Took so much flu med and all the bad stuff during pregnancy...

Katherine,
I was with Dr Loh for first pregnancy. I didnt go for any tests.
Why you need to do amnio test? Are you age > 35?

kat
oh i was with dr loh.. but i switch over to prof tee =p
i guess he must hav a reason to ask u to do so cos i tink in govt hosp they wun push u anyhow to do such scan or test bah

Katherine

Hope everything is fine. Maybe it's becoz either u or your hb has a thick neck. hehe. My hb has a super thick neck. So i think any tests would have been a prob coz it's in the genes. Hahah.

ohhh me too...feeling super cold at work and most of the times am wearing a jacket...at night also gets cold easily with air con on...

agree with tulips..being pregnant is not that easy...am still haveing my nausea, vomitting too...early morning feel super sleepy have been coming to work almost only at 10 or 11 plus..claiming time off most of the times...

Actually i feel warm at the moment..been taking fruit juice w ice...though not suppose to take too much cold drinks..

Kat,

Mine me asking are you at the higher risk age group?

I guess Dr. Loh would just want extra sure that your lil one is fine.

I do feel cold at work too even though my colleauges are complaining about hot.

And I always feel like have fruit juice and eat fruits. Not much craving now and not much appetite too.

Me finishing my first trimester soon. I like many of you, feel cold most of the time. And i have to sleep without the fan at night, so i really pity my son and hubby. But no choice lei as mine is ceiling fan.

I do not have much appetite from the beginning till now, and unlike my first pregnancy, i do feel very very tired and giddy at times. No actual vomitting though. I like sweet stuff, and i crave for black pepper crabs. I do not like fish and meats during this time.

Anyone has any ideas any issues with pregnant ladies taking cold drinks? Old folk's tale? Some people say can't drink, but my gynae recommends cold 100+ to relief MS. I've been drinking tons of ice cold 100+ since pregnant.

Hi ZooDoll,
Hopefully you'll outgrown it like me. My no appetite went away, now feel hungry all and keep snacking. Have to excert a lot of self-control to keep from snacking too much....

Blod pressure will dip and then increase through the pregnancy. Hopefully your giddiness is just part of that cycle and will go away soom

Ya, i hope so too. I feel like kissing the table of my work station everyday. So tired that i sleep very early these days at nights and still feel its never enough.

Actually my appetite is slightly better now, at least the 6kg i lost is gradually coming back. I also do not want to eat too much least i put on weight.

i cant take roomt emp water. if i take roomt emp water i will still feel v vthirsty aft 3 to 4 glasses so i need add ice cube
my gynae no say cannot
i guess in moderation bah.. unless u got prob like spotting n etc... then mayb try to drink lesser

the angmoh also drink cold water when preggy and they r fine..

Wow Zolldoll, u lose 6kg during 1st trim??? that's alot. I only manage to lose 1-2kg and now slowly gaining back....:\

I took cold drinks nowadays cos it tast much better...

Zolldoll,

wow blackpepper crab.. i sometimes crave for chili crab..so far i have taken those which i find not satifactory to my taste buds... i think i need them to be a bit more sourish..

i like food that's a bit sourish .. not sweet loh..

unlike my no.1 (gal) which i love spicy and sweet food.. haha

oh i have been drinking loads of cold ice cream soda just to digest and burb away...must change to 100+ as it shld be less sweet ; )

zolldoll,

wow lost 6 kg.. i think so far i've lost like 2kg.. and i'm at 12 weeks so i guess slowly weight will pile back..

I also like either very hot drinks or very cold drink.. room temp makes me want to puke.. weird weird rite?

sunsweet, its not weird, i puke if i take room temp water too...

i lost 3kg and in 12weeks now...guess the weight loss will return soon with a revenge..hahah..

I also feel cold in this #2 pregnancy. if i am not wrong, we will feel warm during e third trimster.

As for cold drinks, i think its ok if we take in moderation. my gynae says i can take cold drinks, bt the older folks believe too much of cold drinks is no gd!

Btw, any symptoms that we should be feeling during the second trimster? I supposed we should be more energetic n well during our second trimster... heard this is the best time of e pregnancy period. Bt, i am still feeling sleepy now even though its already 14 weeks. MS is subsiding gradually and appetite is as per normal. I have been telling myself not to eat too much, as in eat for 2. I am afraid i cant shed the extra kgs after pregnancy.

Hi Zolldoll,
You lost 6kg from MS?!?! Wah, better take care. Not easy growing a baby in our body...

Hi Sheryl,
I'm starting to lose faith in the "2nd trimester is best time in pregnancy". Maybe it just means you'll feel tired and crappy throughout pregnancy, 2nd trimester not as bad compared to others but still will not feel good. I've been feeling fatigue from week 3 till now liao and don't feel it fading off....

I think 100+ prob the best fizzy old drink to take since not overly loaded with sugar and can keep you hydrated, especially with all the MS.

Ya i lost 6kg, and everyone whom dont know my pregnancy thought i am on a diet. But i only need a few mouthfuls of rice for dinner and i am very full. Breakfast or lunch can never finish all my food.

I crave sweet stuff, unlike my first one which i crave for spicy food and durians ha..End up my son's poo poo always very smelly since he was born and everyone says because i took alot of durians when i was carrying. I also do not take milk at all cos i do not like the taste. And i keep having flu so i took alot of cough and flu pills which hopefully like doc promised its ok.

One thing i cannot stop is cold drinks especially orange juice which i have cravings for. I am such a bad mother, but i cant help it. Anyway to determine the sex of our baby before the detailed scan?

Thanks for all the encouraging words. I just received a call from KKH. They said my blood test result is out and the risk ratio for both babies is 1:12,998. Happy!
I must quickly go and see my gynae and ask her to explain liao.

HBB & Sunsweet,
You are lucky. I already had a few bad experience from KKH. Jia lat...
Sunsweet, I paid the same price even though it is the sonographer who did the scan for me

MrsC,
Thanks for the info. Will read the website and find out the details.

beverly
good to hear u gt good news

actualy how do u go about gettin the gynae themselve to scan for u? from wat i know its not really possible leh. hw much u paid for it? i paid 300plus and it was the sonar who did it for me.

Re: cold/hot

In office, I always feel very cold. At night, I can sleep without fan and air-con. But at times I feel hot inside me. I tend to drink lots of cold drinks recently. My mum always ask me to avoid raw and cold stuff (including cold drinks) but sometimes really beh tahan lor :p

HBB,

Actually altogether I went for FTS @ KKH 3 times (including my previous 2 unsuccessful pregnancies). But 3 times also different arrangement. First time is at TPS which the doctor did the scan for me. Second time at TPS also and 2 doctors (one junior and one senior) did the scan for me. Then this time, the FTS was done at ADC (level 2, women's tower) and no doctor is around during the scan. Till now I still do not understand how they arrange one lor.....

oh beverly
yes last time the scan for patient under TPS is done at the tps clinic itself. tat day the nurse told me so too. but she say nw chg liao all go to ADC... so i guess its new arrangement. TPS dun do such scan anymore

HBB and Bev,

My FTS was done my Dr Kenneth Kwek, Snr Consultant who is the head of maternal foetal medicine and peripartum unit.

For my no.1 my DS scan was done by Prof John Tee that was almost 2 yrs back..

Not sure if its my gyne who appoints the person to do the scan of its just that we take anyone who's available on duty for the day.

Hi MrsC and mbb2,
Sorry, just saw realize you girls asked me about the belly belt.
I got for $32.90 from mothercare at plaza singapura.
I have tried it once on my tighter jeans. It was ok, no popping out. I have not tried it with the cloth to cover the gap between the zip... cos tummy not big enough to need that one yet =p

Re: Food
Funny thing is, I still feel like a bit giddy and unwell, but get hungry and eat full meals now. Not sure does this mean MS is over. But bad thing is eat liao feel horrible cos giddy with full stomach....

Hi Sunsweet,

You are so lucky. Dr Kenneth Kwek is a very experience and nice doctor. I purposely asked the staff to book me under Dr Kwek for my FTS appt, but....still didn't manage to meet him lor. I really hope that Dr Kwek was the one who did the scan for me then I won't have so many ????? now. I still feel uncertain lor.

Hi Preciousthots,

How's ur last visit with Dr Jocelyn Wong? Everything fine?

Btw, I'll taking up the FBI Card. How about u?

am joining this thread. Please add me into your list:

Nick: Jen (jkam)
Birth order: #02
Gynae: Pro Tay SK
Hosp: SGH
BB gender: TBD
EDD: 22 July 2009

mrs c
for my 1st preg, i crave spicy & savoury food n i had a boy. this time round, same craving. oh no... don't tell me it's another boy.

i've also been drinking a lot of cold water eg ribena, fruit juices etc.

gals, today i think i felt my baby move in me. tummy suddenly 1 side feel a bit hard n can feel some movement in it. was so excited cos i really missed that feeling. but i was thinking how come this one, i feel so fast. i'm 15 wks preg today.

nanyethan
wah can feel liao?!? so fast! but i did hear say 2nd pregnancy can feel faster.. i am still waitin for mine to move haa i am suppose to b in my 15th week too hehe

yes. i was so excited when i felt it today. for my first preg, i only felt it when i was 5 mths preg... 1 mth after i know the gender. now i really hope to know the gender the wk before cny since by then would be 17 wks liao

I'm feeling cold most of the time too...

my massage-to-be lady told me to stay away from cold drinks cos it will make my baby cold...

Hi Katherine

I am oso gog for my amnio test on 28 jan, oso by prof john tee. may i knw wat time is yr appt? i may see u there.

btw, my FTS is done by dr kenneth kwek. he's very nice. he oso did the test for my first bb. but tis time, i need to go for amnio test. been praying hard everyday tat my baby will be fine and healthy.

I read in other threads that 2nd time mummies will tend to feel the bb movement much faster than 1st time mummies..hmm..think most of us are now anticipating both the movement and the gender as our MS fade away..

hi i'm in my 11th week, feeling tired all the time, must take nap at certain hour, and feeling gulity to my 5 year-old daughter who needs my attention also cos i have no helper. i dun remember feeling this tired last time, do u guys think it's age catching up on us? or it's just every pregnancy is different? please advice...

Hi Baby Ethan,

I also just felt movement on my tummy too!!I'm 14 weeks leh!

This my second pregnancy. Really everything speed up!Tummy now very big till like 5 months I think. Take MRT got pp gave seat to me.(But not always la!) Funny thing is during evening, tummy tends to be bigger than daytime.

Same as u.I craved for spicy stuff during my 1st preg when I have my gal. This time same too! Wonder if it's a gal again. And my hubby said I still look pretty and radiant like when I have my gal tat time. No change in appearance.Higher likely gal again!Ha HA!

It is true if got boy, appearance will confirm change a bit esp the nose?

Coolkero,
This is my 1st baby, but based on what I see from relatives and friends, each pregnancy seems to have very different feeling and cravings. My sister was fatigue and grumpy through her 1st pregnancy, but was feeling a lot better in her 2nd. Some friends of mine had the reverse. I guess no standard trend =p

Hi poshicon,
I wish people give up seat for me too.... but no tummy to show yet cos 1st pregnancy. hubby tummy bigger than mine....

Mashy,
Hmm, you are prob right. Its in the genes, more likely is my husband..haha..

Sunsweet,
I am 34 years old, thats probably one of the reason that puts me in high risk cat. I am just taking one step at a time, hoping that all results turn out fine.

Morning all ladies, have a great friday for those at work like myself and have a great weekend too. Me going to have black pepper crabs tomorrow as my cravings for it is too strong ha ha..

Hi Hopper
My appointment with Prof John Tee is at 8am. How abt yours? I am like you too, been praying that my little one will be fine.