(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Wow, this is an active thread. so many posts in the morning.

LS, I envy your attitude. I agree with you "One day at a time". Sometimes, worrying too much also wont help matters. It may affect bb's mood as well. Well, things are fated at times. Some things are just not within our control. For now, we will all hope for the best... Hope a a safe & healthy pregnancy.

HBB, thanks for e info. Lets wait patiently for the next visit. Btw, when is your next visit?

Blessed09, I am expecting my no 2 now. I have been seeing Dr Ang for my boy n MC in Feb. Do update me after yr visit ok? Hee...

mypreciouskegan, thanks for e tip. may drop by e shopping centre soon to get my clarins oil. i heard that is gd!

kitty
dun tink bout it k...
mayb ur bb will guai guai during the trip.. my dh not ard last week and surprisingly everythg was fine din puke a single bit!

sheryl
my nxt visit is 11dec.. another ehhh 2 weeks plus hehe... that wil b my week 11 i tink.. .

btw i am usin the clarins oil too heard its v good hehe...

HBB, i hope so leh. I'm praying hard hard

Wah, i envy so many mommies here who are preg with 2nd kid. How can u all cope with fam & career at the same time?

mommies, maybe u can try drinking carbonated drinks like 7-up, sprite.. etc.. my gynea encourage me to take it cos i had experience severely vomiting and was lack of sugar. (that's y i offen feel giddy and worse fainted a few times).. So by drinking carbonated drinks, it actually helps me to intake sugar from these drinks.

LS

My MS also started at Week 8 for my #1 and lasted till week 16. I'm only at week 5 now, so still can't tell whether MS will come or not but probably will lah.

When I was feeling nauseous, I stuffed myself silly with bread. Whenever i eat, I'll feel ok. It's coz hungry and has active gastric juices that's why have MS. But that time i so silly eat white bread, made me up on 5kg after 1st trimester. So now, going to stick to wholemeal only.

bun u r right the carbonated drinks help esp those who hav low sugar level... i also drink them occassionaly since i hardly take in sugar hee

Hi LS,

I'm starting week 7 now and im crossing my fingers on MS. Like you, only mild nausea and sick but still bearable but i'm just not going to rule out MS totally.. Alot of Mummies said not to think about it and it will not come..

Re: Not telling pp until 2nd trimester

For me, i do it for practical reasons. Coz I don't wanna later if *touch wood* anything happen then i need to tell everyone who comes to congratulate me. So far told only my family & ILs.

Hi MrsC

like wise for me, pregnancy has not been a pleasant one during my first pregnancy. My MIL keep nagging at my hubby saying i've been thinking too much and tat's y i've got so bad ms. I did not get good support from my hubby's side, so is really saddening for me lor. But after the first experience, hubby has changed abit this time round, at least i don't feel lonely now. MS is really terrible feeling, but if there's support and encouragement from families, i think it would helps mommies to get over it in a better way..cheers ya

Hi mashy, sometimes is also good to let your superior know so that he/she will try to arrange light duty for you..

It's great to hear that i'm not the only one going through it... I will have to think positive things whenever worries tend to creep into my mind~
I have actually read that those who have MS, can try this method: before getting out of bed in the morning and sleeping in the night, can try taking in a glass of milk or a few pieces biscuits. And when you get out from your bed in the morning, dont rush.. Slowly get up and out of bed and you will feel better.. And inbetween every 2-3hrs, be it your hungry or not, you have to eat something which is light and not greasy.. This is to stop the gastric from producing alot of acidic juice and cause you feeling nausea. Have light meals and take in food which is not spicy and greasy so that your tummy wun feel burden. For some mummies, it might due to the the taste/smell of the mint toohpaste. With empty stomach, the taste and smell of the toothpaste will make you feel nausea. And for those who have dizzy spell, it's is advicable to carry one packet of chocolate or sweets in your bag as that will give you energy and sugar. Dizzy spell is sometimes due to a sudden drop in glucose level.
I hope this will help a little for mummies who are having bad MS.

Doris,

Thanks for your pointers..

Will keep them in mind...

I dun think I have those full force MS yet.. cos now abt 4-5 weeks.. ist the feeling of neausea but nothing will come out kind.

Eat too spicy (usually i can take very spicy) will have THE feeling.
Eat too much, will have THE feeling.
Dun eat, will have THE feeling.

so actually feeling quite lousy though nothing come out from the mouth yet lah..

Hi sunsweet

When i'm in week 5 and 6, I did have the feeling like you. And then in the end of week 6, Finally something came out.. And it was those gastic juice.. It taste sour.. and i felt terrible.. Then after that, till today, i wun feel nausea anymore..i think is becos i'll make sure i will have abit of food to take in every 2-3 hrs. But i will always feel nausea when i woke up in the morning with no intake of food and brush my teeth. I will only feel better when i have food enter ino my tummy..
Maybe you will be lucky enough to skip the full force of MS? There is about 15-20% of lucky mummies who skip MS throughout their pregnancy.. I feel that you try not to focus on it.. And whenever you feel slightly nausea, you bite onto something which is plain, and might be lucky enough to have the feeling gone~ Good luck ya!

HBB
Thanks for your advice! What brand of soda cracker r u taking now?

sheryl
I've bought Clarins too during my 1st pregnancy but yet to use it until now. You may try strawberry.net for the purchase. It's reliable & cheaper compared to counter price. But now is sale season, if you could get 20% disc @Metro etc, it should be around the same. I'll check with my gynae whether could start using it now. My next appt is this Wed. Hopefully could see bb's heartbeat! Really waiting for soooo longgg liaooo...

kittyng, mashy, MrsC
Thanks! Yeah, guess I gotta eat frequently. Indeed, I feel better now after taking my lunch just. So I'll just try to eat something in every 2-3hrs eventhough I dun feel like to.

JIA YOU!!!

bunbun i tink also depend on individual skin
gt ppl who use nothg and dun get stretchmarks and i alreday got stretchmarks w me for 10 yrs! hahaaa

LS i takign ehh khong guan one? u knw those old fashion cracker? in a plastic packing... square ones... i tink i might switch to the sugar coated one nxt rnd cos i realy gt prob eating this... and my body v low on sugar now

Ohh.. Sunsweet.. Since your 1st pregnancy, you are the lucky one, Maybe for this one, you are into luck again?! Try not to get too focus...

doris,

no leh i got pukey feeling liao.. just tat i am those kind difficult to puke one..

i will try to contain till buay tahan loh.

bunbun

haha, my little boss doesn't care whether i'm preggy or not. In fact, he's already biting other pp which i suspect could be due to my preg. I'm a SAHM. So no luck in being treated like a princess anymore.

Complaint abt MIL.

Haha, this is so common, i think it comes out esp during our preg. I'm unhappy with my MIL now coz she keeps thinking that my boy is so sickly becoz of what i ate or didn't eat during my preg.

mashy,

huh stickyness got to do with the food you eat during pregnancy?

well aren't most or all kids sticky to their main care giver??

sugar one i tink is 1 big pack
the non sugar one i tink they got the jacobs brand in a tin and inside is individually pack in 2s or 4s

sunsweet

hahah, not sticky. Sickly. Get sick easily. Hhahaha.

HBB

Don't eat too much sugar. Can get GD. I took a lot of raisins in my 1st trim, not knowing that it contains a lot of sugar. End up i gotta go for test for GD.

mashy i got no prob w sugar level
liek the other ladies mention cos of giddy spell i am encourage to take a bit more sugary stuff
esp when my daily diet does not hav any sugar at all
milo kosong n plain oats with no milk n sugar.

HBB

How do u know you've no prob with sugar level? I also didn't have any probs until my gynae said my bb too big, have to go GD test. Hahaha. Gd thing it's not GD. But it's still better not to take too much sugar. Or your gynae rec u take more sugar? Everything in moderation, if u don't take a lot of sugar in your diet, then should be ok.

U feeling giddy? Why not try chicken essence?

Hey sunsweet,
Same here, will hold the puking feeling and force myself to focus on other things till it died down.. haven reach the buay tahan stage yet and hope to to have it!

I'm taking those Meiji plain crackers, w a bit of saltiness makes it easier to stomach. Now i will buy those bread talk buns to munch on if i'hungry..

mashy i have low blood sugar all this while and my gynae do encourage me to take sweet thg becos in my diet there is no such thg as salt n sugar
i even got force to take salt water in hosp when i was hospitalised last yr cos my body lack of salt as well.

even raisin is too sweet for me.
i am resortin to sugar coat cracker becos i cant accept cracker int he 1st pl take mi 10 misn to fin 1 sq pc of cracker so the sugar one MIGHT help mi to eat it better.

i am drinking home made chicken essence 3 times a week but thats onli to help for the ms.
im not taking those bottled ones for now as they might contain herbs which is not gd for 1st trimester according to my sis gynae.

tat is y i also refraining from eating durian now also. nt tat i afraid of GD.. more liek i dun wan a big baby... i prefer my bb to b jus about 3kg is enuff...

HBB

wah, u actually got hospitalised due to lack of salt???? I have tons of it. haha. How come your diet is so lacking in sugar or salt? Were u like this since young? Sorry for probing, just kind of curious. It's ok if u dun wanna say.

I dont know how come some MIL just like to blame us when the kids are sick or anything which irritates them.. Dont they know that they are actually the one that cause the kids to either become sickly or when the kids are more naughty than in the inital stage if they are the one that is helping to look after the kids while the mothers are working inorder to earn money for the kids?

Saying about complaining about MIL, i also have things to complain eventhou i am now preggy with my 1st child. My SIL, brought her 2 kids for my MIl to look after.. And the elder one was so naughty!! So not listen to anyone.. Very stubborn and badly pampered! Whenever she wants something, my MIL will just give.. And end up, this kid was getting my nerve bursting!!! When i warned her not to go into my room (i did close my door), she purposely go into my room and play! And then worst is always take my snacks and eat(when i hide in my room)!! She scared i will scold, she ask my MIL take for her!!! I find that i dun have privacy at all lor! And then.. my MIL, always give her junk food eat.. Everything(Sweets, carbonated drinks,potato chips, chocolates, cakes, fried food & blar blar)!!! Give this child eat and eat and eat.. Now she dont even want to eat her decent meals! If she is sick, who cause it?! And the child is so pampered that whoever call her to keep her stuffs after playing, she will shout and scold the person! And then call my MIL to keep it for her!!! Who caused it?? Haiz.. I really dont know what should i do after i give birth to my BB.. The moment i imagine that my bb will be like that child, i feel like dying...

mashy
i do not take salty n sweet thg since duno when. i jus cannot endure those taste.
i use the minial salt in cooking..
and i dun liek sweet thg.. it give mi sore throat almost immediately. i am very allergic to sweet thg.

i got hospotalise for UTI and subsequently cos of the high fever they run a lto fo test on me and find out my body lack of salt and gave me salt water for a few days... aft discharge still ask mi drink at home which obviously i did not.. imagine the concentrated sea water liek taste.

so i hav no qualms bout giving in to my craving for instant noodles once a while becos i know my body lack of it tat y craving.

now that i am preggy my taste bud is so sensitive.. even the slightest thg also taste v sweet or salty for me.

best is eat in moderation..
i tink my idea of sgar biscuit is fine since other than that i realy have no other source of sweet intake.

dorisq

maybe u should consider an alternative on who to raise your child. Maybe a bb sitter? Or your mom? Or if u can, quit and be SAHM?

There's nothing u can do abt your nieces coz they're not your children. If your SIL doesn't do anything abt it, then it's her prob. U can't say anything if not u'll be labelled as meddling.

Plan for your child instead.

dorsiq
any other alternative to hav another bbsitter for ur bb?
my sis had the exact same fear as u.. soo.. she is stayin put at home not workign jus to look aft her son..

HBB

Wow, you'll love bb food next time. hahaha. ANd so easy can cook both your share and bb's share together coz bb's food also no sugar & no salt.

It's good that u can at least tolerate sugar biscuit. If not dunno how hor. So, u don't even drink Ribena? And no chocolates? Do u go out to eat coz outside food is usually rather saltish? Do u eat fruits then? coz fruits are sweet too.

opps must be my heavy eyelids makes me read wrongly..

my #1 is taken care by my MIL too.. i often insist my gal to keep her toys b4 going to sleep.. she will run away.. but I'll grab her back and get her to keep her toys together with me..

MIL dotes her as well.. but i told MIL no salty chips, plain crackers and bread ok.. MIL knows too much titbits = poor appitite during main meals.. so she also trys to refrain giving snacks excpet some frutis or the above.

my gal from young knows who she can whine to ask for something and who will her whining not work (i.e. daddy and sometimes mummy) so haha this thing i think is humana in born..

as the old saying goes... its grandparents job to dote grandkids, its parents job to teach the kids....

so never leave disciplining of the kids with the old folks..

btw mashy
GD is not soley becos of the sweet thg also
and doesnt mean bb big will get
cos my mum had GD also and my sis was not tat big.
its becos she liek to drink kopi with ice.
the killer is the iice added to coffee as far as we were told. . jus like durian in fridge will have higher chance of gettign diatebes than normal durian

mashy i do not take chocolate at all. except 85% and above those bitter ones which i hardly take either. ribena is always dilutes w alot of ice if i am taking it

i still do not know if i can stomach the sugar biscuit anot since i have not try.

and YES i like bb food.. cos saltless and sugarless. i hardly eat out.. if i eat out i am takign those spicy food.. cos onli those thg r not salty.
i onli take sour mango sour strawberries
so if uncle come n say v sweet, i def will NOT buy
watermelon is also consider v sweet to me.
durian must be the bitter one as well

sunsweet
i duno leh i onli know fr my mum she kenna GD bcos of the ice coffee.. cos she alwasy in hurry n ask for ice in coffee and aft tat she did get GD and doc told her dun add ice..
jus like my dad tell mi dun fridge durian if possible else higher tendency to kenna diabetes

HBB

ACtually, it could be coz it's hereditary that your mom has GD. It will also mean that she'll have a higher chance of getting diabetes next time so be careful with her diet.

Hahah, first time i hear pp eat only sour fruits. Sorry, just that it's such a rare thing. Everyone i know like their fruits sweet.

U must like sushi too since it's not sweet & saltish so long as u don't use the dip. But now cannot eat raw food....

HBB

Actually it's not the ice. U know why? Coz in order for the kopi to taste as nice as without ice, they have to add more sugar to the iced one. Those who take milo and ice milo will know. For the ice milo, they'll add at least twice the amt of sugar/milk to it to make it sweet, else the iced milo will taste very bland.

mashy
my mum got 4 kids
onli the 3rd pregnancy she kenna GD.
anyway now i hav chg their diet to low sugar n etc also

well alot of ppl also say nvr heard of ppl who liek sour fruits.. im the one.. in fact i got a few friends who r like me also.
sweet frutis give me nothg but trouble.. cos i will get nasty cough aft that,

so fruit stall uncle coem n say bao tian.. i will jus walk off cos i def wun eat aft buying.

mashy
my mum order NORMAL kopi fr coffeeshop but becos she rushing off and so she ask for ice later on.
so i do not think is the additonal sugar or milk

anyway its just my mum experience and im sharing it with e ladies
its ur call to believe anot =)